Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Silk Tweed Sport Coat

From Bimini's End of the World Bar to the Poronui Ranch on New Zealand's North Island, wear our men's silk tweed sport coat in comfort with everything from khaki shorts to gray flannel trousers. The slubs and variations in the natural silk create a distinctive texture. And the classic patterns are subtle, giving the jacket endless versatility. Thoughtful tailoring features include inset pockets and our interior Orvis File System™ pocket design, with one pocket sized for airline tickets. This men's silk tweed sport coat has three exterior and four interior pockets. Pure silk. Dry clean. Imported.Regular even sizes: 38-48. About 31½" long in regular size large.Long even sizes: 40-54; 1½" longer in the sleeve and body.
Average Customer Rating:
4.497 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (153 reviews)
5 stars
109
4 stars
23
3 stars
11
2 stars
8
1 star
2
137 of 153(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Review 1 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The sport I needed.,
May 21, 2015
By: BTSkater4all
from Chicago Illinois
"I needed a sport coat that would pack easily, travel well and still look good when unpacked. Also that could be word with or without a tie. I found the perfect coat with my silk tweed jacket from Orvis."
Review 2 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice coat, but...,
May 19, 2015
By: CapeExplorer
from Cape Cod, USA
"I immediately liked the coat upon opening the package and trying it on (42R). The coat fit nicely and has a good hand. If there is a weak point, it is the buttons. They were loosely sewn, and the top button fell off on the second wearing. Not quite the quality I expect from an Orvis product."
Review 3 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silk Tweed Jacket,
May 18, 2015
By: jafs
"I am so glad I ordered this jacket! It is light weight for summer type weather, and it pairs up with many different colored slacks."
Review 4 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First class quality sport coat,
May 5, 2015
By: hagan44
from Winchester, Ky
"Over many years I have ordered several sport coats from Orvis and they have all been of great quality. One in particular I liked so much and wore it out to only to order the same jacket several years later because I liked it so much. I am a banker and wear it to work, cocktail parties and even to church."
Review 5 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
silk tweed sport coat,
April 29, 2015
By: 4wheeler
from Beaver, Pa.
"Fits very well for a 40 long except the sleeves are still short.
Like the colors and materials."
Review 6 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Very disappointed,
April 29, 2015
By: Jimbob67
from Denver
"I have never been more disappointed in Orvis. The photo on their web site, even when magnified, shows a very nice conservative, tweedy jacket. When I received it, it actually have very aggressive (albeit small) checks!! Not at all as represented. Maybe if I were a used-car salesman I would keep it, but I returned it immediately!"
Review 7 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silk Tweed Sport Coat,
April 27, 2015
By: HoustonMark
from Houston
"Very nice and well made. I ordered a long and the sleeves were still just about a half inch too short but its good enough... most sleeves with Orvis are too short for me."
Review 8 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Versatile Jacket,
April 22, 2015
By: Summerguy48
from Worcester, MA
"While searching for a jacket for 2 upcoming summer weddings, one traditional, one "beach formal" I spotted this silk tweed sport coat and quickly discovered it will service both weddings, it looks great with a summer sport shirt and linen pants for one and with a tie and grey slacks for the other. I found several more shirts and pants (chinos and dress) already in my closet that also match well with this soft green tweed, it was a great versatile purchase for me, highly recommended for you too !!"
Review 9 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Every man,
April 6, 2015
By: Travelnow
from Annapolis, MD
"The coat may be worn by any man, of any age, in a variety of venues, without worry that it may not be 'my kind of style'. Wear with denim, cotton or wool slacks; solid or pattern shirt, and with confidence that it will not go out of fashion. It folds nicely in a carry-on suitcase. I went from plane, to graduation ceremony, to dinner without changing jackets. What could be better?"
Review 10 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice "Different" Look,
April 6, 2015
By: COLMac
from Franklin, TN
"Conservative but modern sports jacket. Love the look in the sage color selected. I dislike having no odd sizes (i.e., 43) and glad I ordered a 44 as these coats run a bit small. Haven't worn much yet but appears good value."
Review 11 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"Don't get what you see.",
April 3, 2015
By: Lafe
from Springfield, Ohio
"The sport coat pictured in the catalog shows a great looking jacket, and I made my purchase based on the photo and the description provided by Orvis. Unfortunately, when I received this coat I was very disappointed in its' looks and fit. The material seemed very flimsy and poorly constructed. The jacket was very tight in its' overall fit and the sleeve length was four inches above the wrist area after ordering a "Long." This jacket wasn't close to the fit, size and quality of other sport coats that presently hang in my closet."
Review 12 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit !,
March 31, 2015
By: Hootie5641
from Virginia
"Perfect for the weekend in the country or that business casual occassion."
Review 13 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
initial thoughts,
March 30, 2015
By: ralphkramden
from Indiana
"Have only had a chance to try it on. On first impression I like it. The material and craftsmanship are fine. I like the color. I like the pockets. I would like nicer buttons. My wife likes it and that is always important. But these are only first impressions."
Review 14 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great look,
March 24, 2015
By: sophiegirl
from ND
"Bought this for my husband. A great change from a plain black or navy. I decided on the tan which is super. Quality is superb. Runs true to size."
Review 15 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a pleasure,
March 11, 2015
By: Cooperwynn
from Phoenix, Arizona
"I have long wanted a "coat for all seasons" and this beautiful sport coat fits that order"
Review 16 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silk Jacket,
March 5, 2015
By: Kennagirl
from New Mexico
"My husband loves this jacket. It looks so nice. It is well-made and the fit is perfect. Orvis you have exceeded my expectations AGAIN."
Review 17 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
comfortable, casual, classic,
February 16, 2015
By: 4WDFlyfisher
from Ostrander, OH
"This jacket has held up nicely over a number of years of regular wear; the silk slubs have held intact; the elbows have not stretched; it wears well with the Orvis Ultimate Chinos and Montana Morning jeans; and it has proved serviceable for a wide range of occasions and uses. Comfortable in warmer settings when another jacket might be too insulating, but still comfortable in cooler environs. I consistently wear an Orvis size Large in my shirts, and a 44 Regular jacket, and the fit of this jacket is consistent with those sizes. Fabric has a very nice hand and drape."
Review 18 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
complimentary,
February 3, 2015
By: mike03m
"beautiful jacket, got several compliments the very first time I wore it."
Review 19 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Sports Coat,
January 27, 2015
By: ldmn
from West Texas
"This jacket looks great and fit perfectly.
I don't need to wear a jacket very often but this jacket looks like I can pair it with boots, jeans and/or slacks. I will wear it often."
Review 20 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A new 'Old Friend',
January 5, 2015
By: KentFreddy
from Kent
"Beautifully cut and well finished, this jacket was a joy to wear from the get go. Fits well and is so easy to wear. It goes with a casual or smart outfit and is at the front of my wardrobe."