Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Silk Tweed Sport Coat

From Bimini's End of the World Bar to the Poronui Ranch on New Zealand's North Island, wear our men's silk tweed sport coat in comfort with everything from khaki shorts to gray flannel trousers. The slubs and variations in the natural silk create a distinctive texture. And the classic patterns are subtle, giving the jacket endless versatility. Thoughtful tailoring features include inset pockets and our interior Orvis File System™ pocket design, with one pocket sized for airline tickets. This men's silk tweed sport coat has three exterior and four interior pockets. Pure silk. Dry clean. Imported.Regular even sizes: 38-48. About 31½" long in regular size large.Long even sizes: 40-54; 1½" longer in the sleeve and body.
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (123 reviews)
5 stars
85
4 stars
19
3 stars
11
2 stars
6
1 star
2
109 of 123(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Review 1 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Jacket,
October 22, 2014
By: KBTT
from Denver, CO
"I love this jacket. Easily packable and attractive. Goes with everything. It has become my 'go to'"
Review 2 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Replacement item,
September 19, 2014
By: Goodman
from Huntington Woods, MI
"I needed to replace a silk summer sport coat I had purchased some time ago from Orvis and had worn out. The replacement is not exact, but is similar. It is perfect and I am very pleased with it."
Review 3 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Overall, seemed okay, but...,
September 8, 2014
By: Agaveazul
from Alexandria, VA
"I liked the material, and it was what I expected, but the cut was strange. I wear a 44L and ordered this size, but I saw right after taking it out of the box that something wasn't right. The cut was tight around the shoulders and baggy at the midrift. The arms were a bit long and the length was down past mid-calf.
I would recommend the coat for the fabric, but the craftsmanship wss wanting. I'm not sure a tailor could have fixed it, but maybe."
Review 4 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
classic sports coat,
September 2, 2014
By: gman696969
from Houston
"Classic sports coat.
Will go with kackiies or jeans.
Easy care wrinkle free.
"
Review 5 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Jacket,
September 1, 2014
By: CGodfrey
"From the perfect fit to the excellent fabric, just the right sport jacked for Fall."
Review 6 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I was looking for!,
August 6, 2014
By: SWPimple
from Chicago
"I never take the time to write these reviews, but I genuinely appreciate this coat! It's perfect for the business situations I have. It's downright upscale, but yet comfortable without the "dressy" feel. I really feel good in it. Feel myself in it!"
Review 7 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good quality item,
July 30, 2014
By: brycie
from Minneapolis, MN.
"I am pleased with the quality of this sport coat. It is very well made and the garment fits perfectly. A nice addition to my wardrobe as the tan color will provide a nice combination with brown or blue slacks."
Review 8 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Orvis Surprise,
July 28, 2014
By: NBJim
from Fredericton,N B., Canada
"The Orvis silk tweed sport jacket is outstanding. The workmanship, material and fit all speak to bespoke quality
As with all Orvis orders, the ordering was hassle-free, the packaging was first class and delivery most prompt. ."
Review 9 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product for summer!,
July 15, 2014
By: Bill62
from Langhorne,PA
"Fits many needs. Dressy enough to wear with a tie and casual with a polo and khakis or jeans."
Review 10 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snazzy Jacket,
July 2, 2014
By: Bigtrout2
from San Diego, CA
"This sport jacket is the ticket for casual to dress up. Coordinates with just about every hue of pant-an essential quality for someone who can't distinguish colors very well-and a bargain at the price. Another top pick from Orvis."
Review 11 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not what I thought,
June 27, 2014
By: fastfish
from Kirbyville, Texas
"It is checkered, not what I thought it would be. I don't know if they sent the wrong jacket or that I mis-read. Thw jacket is nicely made and I will be wearing it."
Review 12 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sport Coat,
June 25, 2014
By: jalove2shop
from Saratoga, NY
"I purchased this for my husband and he absolutely loved it. The fabric is beautiful and perfect for summer as well as other times of the year. We were impressed with the quality at the price."
Review 13 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great for dress or casual,
June 19, 2014
By: jimvette
from Royal Oak, MI
"Beautiful, sophisticated jacket that goes great with nice slacks and looks super sharp with jeans. Matching vest makes for a great addition to the look."
Review 14 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best looking summer sport coat I own,
June 17, 2014
By: MichaelRob
from Buffalo, New York
"Great look; goes with green,blue,yellow, white
just kidding
The catalog & online does not do this jacket justice; if I had not seen it in the store I would not have know to purchase
"
Review 15 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice light weight sports coat,
June 16, 2014
By: LMLM
from Charlottesville, VA
"Nice, light weight sports coat. Buttons could be more upscale - i intend to replace them for my husband with nicer buttons at some point, but the jacket is attractive and good value"
Review 16 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Picture better than real thing,
June 16, 2014
By: outdoornut
"I bought this jacket based on the quality picture shown on the web and in catalogs. However, the real thing seemed a little cheaper. Albeit I have neve owned a true silk/linen garment like this I was expecting a more refined/finished garment. Buttons seemed cheap for an expensive jacket too."
Review 17 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality not the best,
June 10, 2014
By: jmarcus0014
"Sent it back.
Fabric had issues making it uneven and with blemishes. Expected better quality for the price.
Fit was true to size but looked cheap.
"
Review 18 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Jacket,
June 5, 2014
By: Spike12
from California
"Jacket is exactly as advertised. The size was just as represented – meaning it fit right out of the box – hence no additional expense for tailoring. It is a great wardrobe addition for the warm weather-light weight but handsome hang! Great product. Thank you."
Review 19 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great looking & excellent value,
June 4, 2014
By: Richard46
from Gloucester, MA
"Beautiful coat and perfect fit (42R). Catalogue picture doesn't do it justice. Must see to fully appreciate weave and finish details. Very suitable for jacket and tie events as well as less formal moments."
Review 20 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
May 28, 2014
By: WallysFolly
"I enjoyed ordering this coat, but was disappointed that the white flecks in the pattern bothered me, it looked like a bird missed or hit. The return was easy and the credit to my card was quick."