Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Silk Tweed Sport Coat

From Bimini's End of the World Bar to the Poronui Ranch on New Zealand's North Island, wear our men's silk tweed sport coat in comfort with everything from khaki shorts to gray flannel trousers. The slubs and variations in the natural silk create a distinctive texture. And the classic patterns are subtle, giving the jacket endless versatility. Thoughtful tailoring features include inset pockets and our interior Orvis File System™ pocket design, with one pocket sized for airline tickets. This men's silk tweed sport coat has three exterior and four interior pockets. Pure silk. Dry clean. Imported.Regular even sizes: 38-48. About 31½" long in regular size large.Long even sizes: 40-54; 1½" longer in the sleeve and body.
Average Customer Rating:
4.497 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (145 reviews)
5 stars
103
4 stars
22
3 stars
11
2 stars
7
1 star
2
130 of 145(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Review 1 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Every man,
April 6, 2015
By: Travelnow
from Annapolis, MD
"The coat may be worn by any man, of any age, in a variety of venues, without worry that it may not be 'my kind of style'. Wear with denim, cotton or wool slacks; solid or pattern shirt, and with confidence that it will not go out of fashion. It folds nicely in a carry-on suitcase. I went from plane, to graduation ceremony, to dinner without changing jackets. What could be better?"
Review 2 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice "Different" Look,
April 6, 2015
By: COLMac
from Franklin, TN
"Conservative but modern sports jacket. Love the look in the sage color selected. I dislike having no odd sizes (i.e., 43) and glad I ordered a 44 as these coats run a bit small. Haven't worn much yet but appears good value."
Review 3 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"Don't get what you see.",
April 3, 2015
By: Lafe
from Springfield, Ohio
"The sport coat pictured in the catalog shows a great looking jacket, and I made my purchase based on the photo and the description provided by Orvis. Unfortunately, when I received this coat I was very disappointed in its' looks and fit. The material seemed very flimsy and poorly constructed. The jacket was very tight in its' overall fit and the sleeve length was four inches above the wrist area after ordering a "Long." This jacket wasn't close to the fit, size and quality of other sport coats that presently hang in my closet."
Review 4 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit !,
March 31, 2015
By: Hootie5641
from Virginia
"Perfect for the weekend in the country or that business casual occassion."
Review 5 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
initial thoughts,
March 30, 2015
By: ralphkramden
from Indiana
"Have only had a chance to try it on. On first impression I like it. The material and craftsmanship are fine. I like the color. I like the pockets. I would like nicer buttons. My wife likes it and that is always important. But these are only first impressions."
Review 6 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great look,
March 24, 2015
By: sophiegirl
from ND
"Bought this for my husband. A great change from a plain black or navy. I decided on the tan which is super. Quality is superb. Runs true to size."
Review 7 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a pleasure,
March 11, 2015
By: Cooperwynn
from Phoenix, Arizona
"I have long wanted a "coat for all seasons" and this beautiful sport coat fits that order"
Review 8 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silk Jacket,
March 5, 2015
By: Kennagirl
from New Mexico
"My husband loves this jacket. It looks so nice. It is well-made and the fit is perfect. Orvis you have exceeded my expectations AGAIN."
Review 9 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
comfortable, casual, classic,
February 16, 2015
By: 4WDFlyfisher
from Ostrander, OH
"This jacket has held up nicely over a number of years of regular wear; the silk slubs have held intact; the elbows have not stretched; it wears well with the Orvis Ultimate Chinos and Montana Morning jeans; and it has proved serviceable for a wide range of occasions and uses. Comfortable in warmer settings when another jacket might be too insulating, but still comfortable in cooler environs. I consistently wear an Orvis size Large in my shirts, and a 44 Regular jacket, and the fit of this jacket is consistent with those sizes. Fabric has a very nice hand and drape."
Review 10 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
complimentary,
February 3, 2015
By: mike03m
"beautiful jacket, got several compliments the very first time I wore it."
Review 11 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Sports Coat,
January 27, 2015
By: ldmn
from West Texas
"This jacket looks great and fit perfectly.
I don't need to wear a jacket very often but this jacket looks like I can pair it with boots, jeans and/or slacks. I will wear it often."
Review 12 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A new 'Old Friend',
January 5, 2015
By: KentFreddy
from Kent
"Beautifully cut and well finished, this jacket was a joy to wear from the get go. Fits well and is so easy to wear. It goes with a casual or smart outfit and is at the front of my wardrobe."
Review 13 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Jacket,
January 3, 2015
By: Wilber1
from Wirral, UK
"Jacket is cut well and the fit was perfect 46R. I have had many positive comments on the style, appearance and quality. Zipped and buttoned inside pockets are spacious.
Delivery was speedy, especially coming direct from the USA before Christmas, well done Orvis.
Would highly recommend this jacket.
"
Review 14 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Satisfactory,
January 2, 2015
By: SwanseaJack
from South Wales
"This jacket has proved to be well-made, good-looking, and crucially, well-fitting. In spite of the purchase being made late in the year, the mild weather has allowed me to wear this essentially Summer jacket on a couple of occassions in December, with very satisfactory results."
Review 15 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality jacket,
January 2, 2015
By: Hampton
from Hampton
"Feel the quality in this silk weave jacket. Perfect fit, ideal for those casual coactions. Would recommend to anyone. As always a very high quality product from Orvis. excellent"
Review 16 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
what a bargain,
January 2, 2015
By: smartman
from london
"purchased this item in the Orvis sale.
Can't wait for summer, goes well with t-shirt and jeans
"
Review 17 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silk Jacket,
January 1, 2015
By: FishOwl
from Lincolnshire UK
"A very nice jacket smart enough for work but also smart casual for a meal out with friends.
Light weight material well styled, good pockets, and comfortable fit.
Even I look passable in it.
"
Review 18 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredibly Smart Jacket,
January 1, 2015
By: Glitterball
from Suffolk
"Firstly both my husband and I were extremely pleased with the very fast delivery of this item. The jacket of pure silk is very well made and of a beautiful shade of pale green. Very highly recommended."
Review 19 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pleased,
December 31, 2014
By: Limski
from NI
"Arrived quickly, fits well and exudes quality. It was so nice, so cheap, that my wife insisted on paying for it. Great."
Review 20 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Silk Tweed Sportcoat,
November 26, 2014
By: Ifly4glory
from Rogers, AR
"An excellent value in a well-fitting and reasonably priced jacket that can be worn with any trousers and any fancy patterned shirt that is in an appropriate color."