Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Silk Tweed Sport Coat

From Bimini's End of the World Bar to the Poronui Ranch on New Zealand's North Island, wear our men's silk tweed sport coat in comfort with everything from khaki shorts to gray flannel trousers. The slubs and variations in the natural silk create a distinctive texture. And the classic patterns are subtle, giving the jacket endless versatility. Thoughtful tailoring features include inset pockets and our interior Orvis File System™ pocket design, with one pocket sized for airline tickets. This men's silk tweed sport coat has three exterior and four interior pockets. Pure silk. Dry clean. Imported.Regular even sizes: 38-48. About 31½" long in regular size large.Long even sizes: 40-54; 1½" longer in the sleeve and body.
Average Customer Rating:
4.495 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (91 reviews)
5 stars
64
4 stars
15
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
2
80 of 91(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Review 1 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality PLUS,
April 21, 2014
By: BakersIsland
from Palermo,Maine
"A great travel sports coat-beautiful lining with super pockets.
I'm a size 43,however I ordered a 42 as most Orvis items tend to run on the large side. Fits perfect. The sleeves are about a half inch too long but easily fixed.
Very satisfied. You will be to.
"
Review 2 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casual AND Fashionable,
April 16, 2014
By: Lymehunter
"Good fit and true to size, but could have used 1/2 " extra in the sleeves to be a proper Long. Nicely lined and well tailored for the price. Will work for about 9 months at 95% of the Clubs you will visit this year --- if you're like me you'll stretch it through Thanksgiving. A good all-rounder.in silk."
Review 3 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
stylish jacket,
April 15, 2014
By: alfoglen
from Pocatello, ID
"This is my new summer sport jacket. It's lightweight and stylish. I like the color, which goes well with the olive microfiber pants I ordered to go with it."
Review 4 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warrior Wear,
April 15, 2014
By: BRTruckee
"This is a classy coat which can be worn with or without a tie, with jeans or Bermuda shorts and travels well."
Review 5 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silk tweed jacket,
April 11, 2014
By: Spif
from Tennessee
"I ordered this jacket as a birthday present for my Significant Other, and it is beautiful! Very nicely made with a zippered pocket inside as well as a buttoned pocket. The fabric is soft and perfect for a spring/summer jacket, which will look great with dress slacks as well as khakis and even jeans. Versatile."
Review 6 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST SPORTSJACKET EVER,
April 9, 2014
By: BOBMEL
"SO STYLISH AND PRACTICAL GREAT WITH JEANS AND FOR TRAVEL !! HAVE SAGE COLOR AND WILL BUY OTHER COLOR"
Review 7 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silk Tweed Sports Coat,
April 4, 2014
By: content4j3l3
from Vienna, VA
"This is a great coat. It's light weight. It does not wrinkle, and surprisingly, it fit without alteration.
It's quite versatile...looks great with a wide range of pants from blue jeans to wool gaberdine.
I looked long and hard to find this coat and would recommend it highly."
Review 8 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Sport Coat,
March 31, 2014
By: psa8kid
from Rochester, NY
"I've been looking for ages for a well-made silk sport-coat for traveling that I can dress up or dress down, and this fits the bill. Beautifully tailored, it looks just as good with jeans as it does with dress slacks. It'll be an indispensable part of my wardrobe. Thanks Orvis!"
Review 9 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Sport Coat,
March 30, 2014
By: Woolman
from Ontario
"Bought this smart looking jacket for business travel. When carefully rolled and place in a duffle the jacket emerges only displays a few wrinkles. A quick touch up from a travel steamer and the jacket looks like new every time."
Review 10 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stylish,
March 28, 2014
By: TomBor
from Midwest
"This sport coat is well tailored and generously cut. It has a very nice lightweight fabric. Ideal for travel."
Review 11 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My 2nd One,
March 28, 2014
By: RXP46
from Ohio
"Simply a great jacket It is well suited for either casual or dress wear. Goes with jeans, chinos or dress slacks, and a variety of shirt colors. It is comfortable over a wide temperature range. Nice inside pocket features. I now have one in each available color."
Review 12 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice sport coat,
March 28, 2014
By: Iam4uk
from Lexington, KY
"The fit is good and the quality is what I would expect out of Orvis. The price is right. The coat needed a slight ironing out of the box, but that is to be expected"
Review 13 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable and unique,
March 17, 2014
By: Philbird
from Richmond, Virginia
"Purchased this jacket before a long business trip, wanted something that could move from business casual to just casual. Colors are just vibrant enough to have a bit of an edge; I certainly stood out from my usual colleagues (bankers all). Very comfortable, and it fit well."
Review 14 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sport coat,
March 17, 2014
By: Kaibab
"Got this for my son for his birthday - he loved it!"
Review 15 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sartorial Splendor,
March 13, 2014
By: Brummell75
from Birmingham, AL
"I literally unpacked the jacket and put it directly in my suitcase for a one week trip to California. It is the perfect weight, style, color and texture; and I honestly think you should start charging more for such items, except to people who write exceptional reviews like this one. I received many compliments on the coat, but as you know, Californians sometimes have unusual tastes."
Review 16 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Quality, Nice Fabric,
January 15, 2014
By: CPLK
from Cape Cod, Massachusetts
"Nice summer/fall weight jacket. A bit darker than pictured. Excellent construction and material. Sized appropriately."
Review 17 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Class Act,
January 5, 2014
By: Tozl
"A very beautiful jacket, super stylish but not garishly flashy. Nicely made. Can go anywhere."
Review 18 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sport coat,
November 11, 2013
By: DStanard
from Houston TX
"For some time, I have wanted a lighter sport jacket to wear to certain functions around town. Houston is rather warm most of the year, and wool is just too much for me. This coat fits great and looks like a million."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Jacket,
September 25, 2013
By: TMcG
from Franklin, TN
"The silk/tweed (Tan) material looked different than the photo, but I still love it. Nice weight- looks great with Jeans or Khakis."
Review 20 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sport Coat,
September 3, 2013
By: Executive
from Southern Maryland
"The sport coat looks great and fits great. Very well made and smart looking."