Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Silk Tweed Sport Coat

From Bimini's End of the World Bar to the Poronui Ranch on New Zealand's North Island, wear our men's silk tweed sport coat in comfort with everything from khaki shorts to gray flannel trousers. The slubs and variations in the natural silk create a distinctive texture. And the classic patterns are subtle, giving the jacket endless versatility. Thoughtful tailoring features include inset pockets and our interior Orvis File System™ pocket design, with one pocket sized for airline tickets. This men's silk tweed sport coat has three exterior and four interior pockets. Pure silk. Dry clean. Imported.Regular even sizes: 38-48. About 31½" long in regular size large.Long even sizes: 40-54; 1½" longer in the sleeve and body.
Average Customer Rating:
4.504 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (137 reviews)
5 stars
98
4 stars
20
3 stars
11
2 stars
6
1 star
2
123 of 137(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Review 1 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
comfortable, casual, classic,
February 16, 2015
By: 4WDFlyfisher
from Ostrander, OH
"This jacket has held up nicely over a number of years of regular wear; the silk slubs have held intact; the elbows have not stretched; it wears well with the Orvis Ultimate Chinos and Montana Morning jeans; and it has proved serviceable for a wide range of occasions and uses. Comfortable in warmer settings when another jacket might be too insulating, but still comfortable in cooler environs. I consistently wear an Orvis size Large in my shirts, and a 44 Regular jacket, and the fit of this jacket is consistent with those sizes. Fabric has a very nice hand and drape."
Review 2 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
complimentary,
February 3, 2015
By: mike03m
"beautiful jacket, got several compliments the very first time I wore it."
Review 3 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Sports Coat,
January 27, 2015
By: ldmn
from West Texas
"This jacket looks great and fit perfectly.
I don't need to wear a jacket very often but this jacket looks like I can pair it with boots, jeans and/or slacks. I will wear it often."
Review 4 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A new 'Old Friend',
January 5, 2015
By: KentFreddy
from Kent
"Beautifully cut and well finished, this jacket was a joy to wear from the get go. Fits well and is so easy to wear. It goes with a casual or smart outfit and is at the front of my wardrobe."
Review 5 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Jacket,
January 3, 2015
By: Wilber1
from Wirral, UK
"Jacket is cut well and the fit was perfect 46R. I have had many positive comments on the style, appearance and quality. Zipped and buttoned inside pockets are spacious.
Delivery was speedy, especially coming direct from the USA before Christmas, well done Orvis.
Would highly recommend this jacket.
"
Review 6 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Satisfactory,
January 2, 2015
By: SwanseaJack
from South Wales
"This jacket has proved to be well-made, good-looking, and crucially, well-fitting. In spite of the purchase being made late in the year, the mild weather has allowed me to wear this essentially Summer jacket on a couple of occassions in December, with very satisfactory results."
Review 7 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality jacket,
January 2, 2015
By: Hampton
from Hampton
"Feel the quality in this silk weave jacket. Perfect fit, ideal for those casual coactions. Would recommend to anyone. As always a very high quality product from Orvis. excellent"
Review 8 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
what a bargain,
January 2, 2015
By: smartman
from london
"purchased this item in the Orvis sale.
Can't wait for summer, goes well with t-shirt and jeans
"
Review 9 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silk Jacket,
January 1, 2015
By: FishOwl
from Lincolnshire UK
"A very nice jacket smart enough for work but also smart casual for a meal out with friends.
Light weight material well styled, good pockets, and comfortable fit.
Even I look passable in it.
"
Review 10 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredibly Smart Jacket,
January 1, 2015
By: Glitterball
from Suffolk
"Firstly both my husband and I were extremely pleased with the very fast delivery of this item. The jacket of pure silk is very well made and of a beautiful shade of pale green. Very highly recommended."
Review 11 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pleased,
December 31, 2014
By: Limski
from NI
"Arrived quickly, fits well and exudes quality. It was so nice, so cheap, that my wife insisted on paying for it. Great."
Review 12 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Silk Tweed Sportcoat,
November 26, 2014
By: Ifly4glory
from Rogers, AR
"An excellent value in a well-fitting and reasonably priced jacket that can be worn with any trousers and any fancy patterned shirt that is in an appropriate color."
Review 13 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Men's Silk Sport coat exceeds expectations!,
November 17, 2014
By: PDXCustomer
from Portland, OR
"This sport coat fit my husband like a glove. The material is soft and hangs beautifully. Quite well made. We went in-person to the Orvis store to test the fit. While this particular coat wasn't carried in stock,.the staff was extremely helpful in facilitating the order."
Review 14 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful jacket,
November 4, 2014
By: silver152
from Far Hills,NJ
"My husband is thrilled with this new jacket! He says it is a great weight."
Review 15 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Jacket,
October 22, 2014
By: KBTT
from Denver, CO
"I love this jacket. Easily packable and attractive. Goes with everything. It has become my 'go to'"
Review 16 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Replacement item,
September 19, 2014
By: Goodman
from Huntington Woods, MI
"I needed to replace a silk summer sport coat I had purchased some time ago from Orvis and had worn out. The replacement is not exact, but is similar. It is perfect and I am very pleased with it."
Review 17 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Overall, seemed okay, but...,
September 8, 2014
By: Agaveazul
from Alexandria, VA
"I liked the material, and it was what I expected, but the cut was strange. I wear a 44L and ordered this size, but I saw right after taking it out of the box that something wasn't right. The cut was tight around the shoulders and baggy at the midrift. The arms were a bit long and the length was down past mid-calf.
I would recommend the coat for the fabric, but the craftsmanship wss wanting. I'm not sure a tailor could have fixed it, but maybe."
Review 18 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
classic sports coat,
September 2, 2014
By: gman696969
from Houston
"Classic sports coat.
Will go with kackiies or jeans.
Easy care wrinkle free.
"
Review 19 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Jacket,
September 1, 2014
By: CGodfrey
"From the perfect fit to the excellent fabric, just the right sport jacked for Fall."
Review 20 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I was looking for!,
August 6, 2014
By: SWPimple
from Chicago
"I never take the time to write these reviews, but I genuinely appreciate this coat! It's perfect for the business situations I have. It's downright upscale, but yet comfortable without the "dressy" feel. I really feel good in it. Feel myself in it!"