Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Silk Tweed Sport Coat

From Bimini's End of the World Bar to the Poronui Ranch on New Zealand's North Island, wear our men's silk tweed sport coat in comfort with everything from khaki shorts to gray flannel trousers. The slubs and variations in the natural silk create a distinctive texture. And the classic patterns are subtle, giving the jacket endless versatility. Thoughtful tailoring features include inset pockets and our interior Orvis File System™ pocket design, with one pocket sized for airline tickets. This men's silk tweed sport coat has three exterior and four interior pockets. Pure silk. Dry clean. Imported.Regular even sizes: 38-48. About 31½" long in regular size large.Long even sizes: 40-54; 1½" longer in the sleeve and body.
Average Customer Rating:
4.528 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (163 reviews)
5 stars
119
4 stars
23
3 stars
11
2 stars
8
1 star
2
147 of 163(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Review 1 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sport coat,
July 16, 2015
By: PJ46
from Chicago, IL
"This is a very nice, summer weight sport coat. I ordered it in tan. Fabric, color and tailoring are excellent. It is cut a bit generously. I normally wear a 42, but ordered a 40 and it fits like it was tailored for me. I haven't warn it for any extended length of time, so I can't comment on how well it resists wrinkling."
Review 2 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quintessential Orvis Product,
July 13, 2015
By: gharwood
"The silk sport coat, a 44 long, fits like a sweet dream. Perfectly.
Typically, the online and/or catalog pictures surpass reality. This product is superior to the pictures. I own many Orvis shirts and other clothing. They are all a cut or four above other products.
"
Review 3 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very versatile jacket,
June 29, 2015
By: LSBR
from Stockton Springs, ME
"Intended to order the lighter color but went with the Sage at the last minute. No regrets! Extremely versatile color. Dimensions given me in "chat" session were very accurate, so the jacket fits my husband beautifully."
Review 4 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool silk jacket,
June 23, 2015
By: Francevisit2015
from Midwest
"I ordered an Orvis silk sport coat in Navy for a trip to France 2 years ago. It was easy to pair with other clothes. Dressy enough to fit in most places we'd go. Relatively cool and comfortable, easy to maintain. Got a silk tweed sport jacket in sage this year for a return trip. Looks good. Tailored but plenty of room through shoulders. Large inside pockets. Wrinkles a little more than man made fabrics, but has virtues of silk: will keep you warm when it's cold out and doesn't add much heat when it is warm out. Good value for the money."
Review 5 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silk Sport Coat,
June 19, 2015
By: TGMcD
from Pasadena
"Terrific product at a great price!
Since receiving the sport coat last weekend, I have worn it three times, and on each occasion have received compliments.
Thinking about getting another in the light brown color.
Thanks Orvis,"
Review 6 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good quality/well constructed,
June 18, 2015
By: Ronald1
from orth Carolina
"My wife insisted I purchase this garment because of the style and color. We were both surprised and pleased with the quality of the materials used and the excellent workmanship by the tailor."
Review 7 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Is it too hot outside for a coat?,
June 15, 2015
By: waverlyman
from Texas
"Texas summers are hot! This coat is just perfect for those events where I must wear a coat even though it is blistering hot outside. I like it, plus my wife tells me it is "smart" looking."
Review 8 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value,
June 4, 2015
By: Oscar107
"The actual Sports Jacket was just as shown on-line. Great buy for a great value."
Review 9 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 3, 2015
By: Allenb
from Bartlesville, Oklahoma
"Excellent quality as advertised. Came in great condition!"
Review 10 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase,
May 29, 2015
By: RRABOT
from Colorado Springs, CO
"Wow, really a great jacket. I is exactly what I was looking for in a sports jacket for business travel. I have worn it exclusively on two 2-week business trips. I keeps it's shape and looks good whether I wore it during the flight or had it folded in the over head."
Review 11 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The sport I needed.,
May 21, 2015
By: BTSkater4all
from Chicago Illinois
"I needed a sport coat that would pack easily, travel well and still look good when unpacked. Also that could be word with or without a tie. I found the perfect coat with my silk tweed jacket from Orvis."
Review 12 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice coat, but...,
May 19, 2015
By: CapeExplorer
from Cape Cod, USA
"I immediately liked the coat upon opening the package and trying it on (42R). The coat fit nicely and has a good hand. If there is a weak point, it is the buttons. They were loosely sewn, and the top button fell off on the second wearing. Not quite the quality I expect from an Orvis product."
Review 13 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silk Tweed Jacket,
May 18, 2015
By: jafs
"I am so glad I ordered this jacket! It is light weight for summer type weather, and it pairs up with many different colored slacks."
Review 14 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First class quality sport coat,
May 5, 2015
By: hagan44
from Winchester, Ky
"Over many years I have ordered several sport coats from Orvis and they have all been of great quality. One in particular I liked so much and wore it out to only to order the same jacket several years later because I liked it so much. I am a banker and wear it to work, cocktail parties and even to church."
Review 15 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
silk tweed sport coat,
April 29, 2015
By: 4wheeler
from Beaver, Pa.
"Fits very well for a 40 long except the sleeves are still short.
Like the colors and materials."
Review 16 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Very disappointed,
April 29, 2015
By: Jimbob67
from Denver
"I have never been more disappointed in Orvis. The photo on their web site, even when magnified, shows a very nice conservative, tweedy jacket. When I received it, it actually have very aggressive (albeit small) checks!! Not at all as represented. Maybe if I were a used-car salesman I would keep it, but I returned it immediately!"
Review 17 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silk Tweed Sport Coat,
April 27, 2015
By: HoustonMark
from Houston
"Very nice and well made. I ordered a long and the sleeves were still just about a half inch too short but its good enough... most sleeves with Orvis are too short for me."
Review 18 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Versatile Jacket,
April 22, 2015
By: Summerguy48
from Worcester, MA
"While searching for a jacket for 2 upcoming summer weddings, one traditional, one "beach formal" I spotted this silk tweed sport coat and quickly discovered it will service both weddings, it looks great with a summer sport shirt and linen pants for one and with a tie and grey slacks for the other. I found several more shirts and pants (chinos and dress) already in my closet that also match well with this soft green tweed, it was a great versatile purchase for me, highly recommended for you too !!"
Review 19 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Every man,
April 6, 2015
By: Travelnow
from Annapolis, MD
"The coat may be worn by any man, of any age, in a variety of venues, without worry that it may not be 'my kind of style'. Wear with denim, cotton or wool slacks; solid or pattern shirt, and with confidence that it will not go out of fashion. It folds nicely in a carry-on suitcase. I went from plane, to graduation ceremony, to dinner without changing jackets. What could be better?"
Review 20 for Silk Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice "Different" Look,
April 6, 2015
By: COLMac
from Franklin, TN
"Conservative but modern sports jacket. Love the look in the sage color selected. I dislike having no odd sizes (i.e., 43) and glad I ordered a 44 as these coats run a bit small. Haven't worn much yet but appears good value."