Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Rotary Vise

True rotary tying for under $100! Rotational vises offer the fly tier unlimited access to all sides of a fly, but such convenience has been expensive until now. Our new Delrin® and steel rotary vise is economically priced, with the essential features of far more expensive versions. Cam-operated jaw accepts hook sizes from 28 to 2/0, and the jaw is adjustable to allow both large and small hooks to be placed on the center axis with ease. Crank handle permits quick, precise rotation, and the fully adjustable tension mechanism allows resistance-free rotation. Vise stem is adjustable to a full 6½". ⅜" shaft. Vise clamp is padded to protect surfaces. Thread bobbin rest included..
Average Customer Rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
14 of 18(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rotary Vise
Review 1 for Rotary Vise
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good value,
March 12, 2013
By: squalicum2
from washington state
"As a lifelong fly tyer of modest means the chance to own a rotary vice is very nice. So far the vice has worked great on many flies from size 4 to size 16. table clamp is best i have ever used."
Review 2 for Rotary Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rotary Vise,
May 8, 2012
By: msds
from Laconia, NH
"Excellent vise - light weight, easy to use and a great value. After using a non rotary vise and trying this one, it was really fantastic. I have no reservations in recommending this item. It is light weight and easy to transport and install anywhere. It is a great all around vise for home or travel."
Review 3 for Rotary Vise
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Looked Good Turned out Bad,
April 23, 2012
By: fishstalker
from Orange ,CT
"The vise is poorly balanced very top heavy this cause a feel of unbalance when rotating. Also the clamp for the hooks is very weak. I sent it back poor design. Yes I am a mechanical engineer and perhaps more critical than others. However do yourself a favor and buy a better vise. I would recommend Renzetti I bought it from orvis and love it !!"
Review 4 for Rotary Vise
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good Travel Vise,
March 26, 2012
By: datongdave
from Exeter, NH
"I travel extensively overseas for work and I often take this vise with me to pass the time while in hotel rooms. Lightweight, this rotary vise is fairly well built, sturdy and functional. White it certainly isn't a beauty, the price is right and gets the job done. If you're new to tying or just need a virtual bullet proof vise as background, you could do worse than this Danvise"
Review 5 for Rotary Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great vice for the money,
September 26, 2011
By: culhanetyl
"this is a very functionable vice with a decent rotory function for less then a hundred bucks . have noticed that when tying 24 and under the jaws and cam device get in the way i do belive the maker has an extension to alleviate this problem. as to the issue with jaws breaking or bending. despite the fact that the majority of this vice is a very hard plastic from what i understand the cam mechanism is so strong that a lot of people over tighten the vice and break or bend their jaws. so make sure you are using the proper method for locking a hook in place and not the thompson ram it home modle as this vice will destroy its own jaws if you dont FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS"
Review 6 for Rotary Vise
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pretty Good Vise,
June 4, 2011
By: Shibainu
from Hawaii
"This vise is a great overall item for the money. I read the other reviews and think maybe the problem is either a quality control one or most likely some people are just asking too much of the vise. Been using this vise constantly for about two years and it's just like new. I tie both fresh and salt water paterns and use a heavy set of jaws made for the salt water patterns. I certainly don't ask the vise to go beyond design capabilities and so far it's done everything I have asked of it. Never had a problem, only successes."
Review 7 for Rotary Vise
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
May 4, 2011
By: TroutbumCT
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"I have been using this vise for ~2 years now. It has served me pretty well and is easy to use. A couple of months ago however the main assembly and the shaft seperated making it very hard to tie on. The issue was resolved by drilling straight through the junction and placing a bolt through."
Review 8 for Rotary Vise
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great vise with one disappointing surprise...,
April 28, 2011
By: zman112233
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"IT'S PLASTIC! I bought this vice because it looked like a nice sturdy metal vice. Turns out the vice is made of plastic! It's a great vice and overall I'm very happy, but you can imagine my confusion when I realized it was made of plastic. (A very sturdy plastic, but plastic none the less).
Overall, it's a great vice but know its not made of metal before buying it."
Review 9 for Rotary Vise
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Spend some extra $,
January 28, 2011
By: Able99
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"I bought this thinking it would be a great way to have a good look vice. The jaws on the item broke, I sent it back. The jaws on the new one broke again. So I sent it back again and upgraded to another brand that was only $100 more. Glad I upgraded. Orvis service was great throughout this back and forth. I will continue to buy from Orvis, but this product is not worth it."
Review 10 for Rotary Vise
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I guess I'm the exception!,
December 3, 2010
By: PaulS37
from North Carolina
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Top Rated? I guess I got the lemon! I like the idea of this vise and had high expectations when I first received it but, I was let down within a few weeks. I've been tying for several years on a regular basis. The metal jaws on this vise began to distort within tying less than 2 dozen flies. The final straw was when I clamped on a hook and heard/felt the jaw snap. I tied mostly size 18-22 small emerger patterns and a few size 10 buggers. Yes, I know how to adjust the jaw properly especially, after reading about other people breaking jaws on the Danvise. It didn't help. Obviously, the jaws were soft. Typical of this vise or did I get the exception/lemon? Your guess is as good as mine. I sent it back."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rotary Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
May 8, 2010
By: BKill
from Upstate NY
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Hands down the best vise to be had at nearly any price. For the price of one Regal ... two Danvises. One Dyna King Barracuda ... four Danvises. One Renzetti Master ... Seven Danvises. The best part is that this vise will do nearly everything any of the more expensive vises will do, and do so equally as well. Fantastic!"
Review 12 for Rotary Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Value,
March 19, 2010
By: Bitchcreek
from Richmond, VA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've been tying with this vise for several months now and believe me, if you're looking for a new vise, you can't beat this one with either function, or price."
Review 13 for Rotary Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
True rotary vise,
May 18, 2009
By: ilikefishing
from Orchard Park, NY
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a true rotary vise, it is very good quality and holds all sizes of flies. The only bad thing about it was that the vise jaws were not straight. One side was straight and the other was bent slightly so i couldnt tie siz 24-28 flies easily. But i called orvis and i am having a new one sent to me. but i cant say there was anything bad about it! so its a 5."
Review 14 for Rotary Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Vise,
May 6, 2009
By: Fly2Fish
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I echo all the other positive reviews of this outstanding value in a highly-featured vise. I would note only that the Orvis product description is incorrect in stating that it has a 3/8" shaft, which is pretty much industry standard. The Danvise instead has a 10mm diameter shaft, only slightly larger than 3/8" but larger enough that many (but not all) shaft-mounted aftermarket accessories will not fit without their mounting hole being enlarged. I found it easy to do with a 10 mm drill press bit, but others less perfectionist might do as well with just a rasp or rat-tail file."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Rotary Vise
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The best start.,
November 4, 2008
By: ChrisB
from Derbyshire UK.
"If you are just starting to tie or are a seasoned tier this vice is a good choice. Does the job better than a lot of far more expensive vices on the market.
It is a true rotary vice. Well built, good fly hold and sturdy. With the bargain price tag, you won't go far wrong with one of these.
"
Review 16 for Rotary Vise
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good buy!!!,
September 24, 2008
By: roby
from PITTSBURGH; PA.
"THIS VISE WAS RECOMMENDED BY MY TYING INSTRUCTOR ! THIS IS A VERY NICE PIECE OF EQUIPMENT/EASY TO USE AND WELL-MADE! I RECOMMEND IT HIGHLY"
Review 17 for Rotary Vise
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Best Vise for the $ and Tie More Flies,
June 23, 2008
By: Luv2Fly
from Richardson, TX
"The Danvise Rotary Vise is the best full feature rotary vise avaialable for the money. I have been tying with one for over 4 years and I'm very happy with it. I can tie size 24 Tricos and 2/0 Clousers with the greatest of ease. Tie more flies; use the money you save when buying this vise over vises costing twice as much on more fly tying material. One draw back to the head and jaw design is that it makes the tying area a little cramp."
Review 18 for Rotary Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vise,
June 3, 2008
By: flyman39
from nc
"Bought this vise after needing a new one for more years than I can remember. One great item. It's the best vise I have ever used and can not say enough good things about it. If you are trying to keep your costs down but want a rotary, this is the one for you !!!"