Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Short Hopsack Travel Jacket

It's much wiser to keep your tickets, passport, and credit cards close to you rather than in a separate bag. Our classic hip-length travel jacket for women in all-season, wrinkle-resistant hopsack features two zip-secured inside pockets and a full lining. Polyester/wool. Dry clean. Made in USA.Sizes 6-20; about 21" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.79 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 of 19(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Short Hopsack Travel Jacket
Review 1 for Short Hopsack Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket!,
June 21, 2014
By: TXPeggySue
from Houston, TX
"A great three-season jacket with a flattering cut and no wrinkling! It always looks fresh and pressed. I liked the red one so much, I bought the other colors!"
Review 2 for Short Hopsack Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Classic,
May 12, 2014
By: Cloe
"This is a beautiful jacket! The inside is just as nice at the outside. I love the zipper pockets and open pocket. The collar is a perfect shape. My only disappointment was reading 55% polyester. I would have thought it would be 100%. Finding made in the U.S.A. helped to redeem that feature."
Review 3 for Short Hopsack Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a perfect choice,
February 12, 2014
By: Patthecat
from New York, NY
"I need a short jacket as I am petite and love the inside pockets!"
Review 4 for Short Hopsack Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great for travel,
July 8, 2013
By: RottieGirl
from Magnolia, TX
"I'm a petite, the sleeves are a "little" bit long...the reason for only 4 stars. It's still cute enough for me to keep and have the sleeves taken up. I'm sure I will get lots of wear out of it."
Review 5 for Short Hopsack Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect travel piece,
March 19, 2012
By: adoena
from western Ohio
"Since purchasing this jacket in black three years ago, it has proved it's wearibility many times over. I HAD to have a navy one also. The pocket system is handy for needed
documents,cash, ect. No wrinkles and the tailored look always bring compliments and questions as to where I got it. Of course the answer is Orvis, as it usually is.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Short Hopsack Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Super jacket!,
February 2, 2012
By: Malyna
from Saskatoon, Canada
"Bought the black jacket last year and the navy this year even though I would truely appreciate pockets on the outside the cut is fabulous. If the jacket came in wool I would be thrilled!"
Review 7 for Short Hopsack Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic in Soft Color,
May 19, 2011
By: ClassicShopper
from Southern CA
"I studied other reviews before I ordered.
The little "off" kind of red is exactly what I looked for. Although the classic red and black combo looks good on me with my black hair; they look too high contrast for my liking, too dressed up.
I welcome the muted red for a change and for an all together softer look. I think it is infinitely more versatile. I paired it with black chiffon circle skirt and it is dressy without being stuffy. The hopsack texture and softer colors made it look right with chinos/ khakis where a bright true red might not blend so well. Since I don't have a career outside of the home, I like to dress quality without looking like a business woman. This jacket allows me to be both dressy and comfortable.
Petite 4 is perfect for me, still have room for layering. I might have to take in the sleeve by an inch or so but that is minor. I love the length that it is not too long. The cut is slightly boxy but that is part of the design which lends itself to dressing up and down more. The quality is impeccable, I love the pockets inside; and I think it good value for the price."
Review 8 for Short Hopsack Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love this jacket!,
April 20, 2011
By: zippiegal
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I needed a travel blazer with inside pockets for an upcoming trip to England. Couldn't find anything locally, and most of the others I saw online had pockets so small as to be unusable. I had to guess at the sizing, and I worried it wouldn't come in time, but it got here as promised and looked fabulous right out of the box. Perfect fit, love the styling. Only downside, it's pretty pricey."
Review 9 for Short Hopsack Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket but what happened to the longer style,
March 1, 2011
By: Anonymous
from Virginia
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"In my career I have to wear business attire - suits or blazers. I have this jacket in two colors and love it! It does not wrinkle and looks great all day.
I also have the same style but in a longer version. Orvis carried it for years and they were/are GREAT. I have 4 of them! My black one has now warn out and I need another longer version of this jacket. PLEASE bring it back!!!"
Review 10 for Short Hopsack Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loved the jacket,
March 18, 2010
By: Shelley9
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This jacket is just as described, and just as described by other reviewers. The size is right on, I normally take a size 10 top, it is a size 10. I am tall, yet the length was just right, to the waist, sleeves weren't too tight and binding - the whole jacket is very comfortable. I like the red, it is a very soft color and will go with many things in my wardrobe."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Short Hopsack Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great blend of professional & casual!,
January 27, 2010
By: DrDee
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This jacket is great for going to a professional meeting or a casual get-together. It fits comfortably. It is a comfortable medium weight. The only reason that I assigned 4 instead of 5 stars to the "Meets Expectations" criteria is that my perception of "Red" is USA Flag red, red light red, caution red, fire engine red, Johnny Walker red... whereas, Orvis red, in my perception, seems to be a significantly lighter red. And, I need RED. I will be purchasing the Navy and the Black in this same style. I wish they had Army tan or khaki. It is a practical style and weight."
Review 12 for Short Hopsack Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fine investment,
January 15, 2010
By: Nona
from Boston
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is nice, crisp, well-tailored piece that can be dressed up or down, while remaining a secure haven for passport, etc. I plan to use it with everything from a skirt and camisole to slacks and a tee shirt. The fabric weight is moderate and appears to be useful year-round. These characteristics make the jacket a fine investment."
Review 13 for Short Hopsack Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase Ever,
July 29, 2009
By: sarahann
from Adirondacks, Upper New York State
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I ordered this jacket when it was out of stock. Orvis was kind enough to search until they found it in a store in Texas and then had it shipped immediately...Whooooo great service....This jacket fits like a glove and it is the fit that is its most out standing feature. In addition it looks so expensive, very professional and stylish. The material is absolutely beautiful, workmanship is outstanding, detail with the inner pockets is an extra plus. Never wrote a review before but I just had to tell anyone debating about getting this jacket that it is well worth every penny. If you want a classic , stylish look ,here it is."
Review 14 for Short Hopsack Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great jacket,
July 23, 2009
By: pinecamp
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I just recieved this jacket and love it. It will definately be with me for years, it has classic design and will not go out of style. I only wish they made a brown one."
Review 15 for Short Hopsack Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent choice,
April 19, 2009
By: Publisher
from Midwest
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is an outstanding jacket that can be worn with slacks, skirts or jeans. The inside pocket is a real bonus and it never wrinkles. I have both the red and the black and am now purchasing navy."
Review 16 for Short Hopsack Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great jackket to take anywhere,
January 2, 2009
By: Deannaofvcz
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have an older version of this jacket and was excited to see they still carry it. I'm purchasing my second - I think that speaks spades for the jacket. It doesn't wrinkle and has all the great feature of inside pockets that men usually get and we don't.
Happy Travels"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Short Hopsack Travel Jacket
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.3 / 5
4.3 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 3