Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Original Moleskin Waistcoat

Cotton moleskin, a soft yet rugged shorn-pile fabric, holds up against brush and blunts the wind. Supple, comfortable, and quiet while hunting red grouse in the shadow of the Munros, Scotland's highest mountains. A design copied from the wardrobe of Edward VIII, Duke of Windsor. This upland hunting waistcoat has four welted pockets and adjustable back belt for a personalized fit. Moleskin upland hunting waistcoat in lovat. 100% cotton moleskin with 100% cotton lining. Washable.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.536 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
51 of 56(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Original Moleskin Waistcoat
Review 1 for Original Moleskin Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Instant favourite!,
November 28, 2013
By: MIke123
from Lancashire
"Very well made, comfortable and good looking. This is a real quality garment that I am sure will last and look good for many years to come. I wasn't sure whether to order Large or Medium size (I am 6 foot tall and weigh 13 stones) but settled on Medium after checking the actual dimensions with the online assistant. Perfect fit!"
Review 2 for Original Moleskin Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice and warm,
November 28, 2013
By: BucksBirder
from Cumbria
"I got this product to keep my dodgy back warm it does a great job"
Review 3 for Original Moleskin Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
November 7, 2013
By: planeaddict
from UK
"Wife & Daughter hate it but I love it - its extremely comfortable and nicely made - just right for taking the chill off."
Review 4 for Original Moleskin Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
September 10, 2013
By: Phud
from Lancashire
"Top marks for a fabulous product. The fit was perfect,the colour was magnificent/and the texture was ultra soft, and yet felt it was strong enough to last many years. An impressive piece of workmanship."
Review 5 for Original Moleskin Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Orvis is like a box of chocolates...,
July 12, 2013
By: Bored
"...you never know what you're going to get...
The first Uplander that I purchased was huge on me, although a XXL was advertised as being at it's largest fit, a 52" chest. This one was more like a 55" , but having ordered an exchange, I now know that this waistcoat is oversized to accommodate layers underneath.
So, an XL arrived, but one side of the waistcoat at the front was slightly lower than the other side. At first I thought I was imagining it, but fastened up, there it was, annoyingly uneven. Once again I returned it after having spoken to a Customer Services advisor in order to explain the fault. The new one arrived very quickly, for which I am grateful, thank you Orvis.
Aside from the initial hiccup with this product, it is a very nice quality waistcoat, suitably weighty and substantial in its thickness. I am looking forward to wearing it when the chill sets in once again! I have a 52" chest (not waist) and the XL is a comfortable fit, but the adjuster at the back has to be pulled in quite a bit. The rear hem also curls up a bit (I thought it was due to the way it was packed, but it is not the case), something I have read in other reviews. This was not apparent on the XXL one initially received. It may need to be adjusted in time, after regular wear.
Overall I am pleased with the garment, but once again, there appears to be inconsistency in the quality standard of Orvis products that I have purchased so far, hence the title of this review. For the price, I would say the quality of each waistcoat should be identical from one garment to another. It is very frustrating receiving a product that one knows should be of great quality given the advertising, but having a feeling that I am about to be disappointed when I open the package, then experiencing a sense of relief when there are fewer than expected, or no flaws. Come on Orvis, sharpen up the quality control please, purchasing from you shouldn't be an ordeal."
Review 6 for Original Moleskin Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good vest and comfortable,
May 2, 2013
By: steineken
from Louisville, KY
"Purchased for all around use vest - something i can work in out in the fields, hunt in, but clean up and wear around town or out to dinner. This vest is a winner for all of the above. Nice vest, made well, fits well, looks and feels good. A little pricey, but overall def worth it, seems like it'll last for years. I really like it, and my wife likes the look of it too."
Review 7 for Original Moleskin Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finest waistcoat,
April 30, 2013
By: Bees123
from Suffolk, UK
"When this arrived I could tell by the weight alone that it was going to be a serious piece of clothing.
Upon getting it out of the bag I could see that it was beautifully tailored. It is made of excellent cloth with all the right ‘bits' in the design.
This waistcoat is to replace a worn out 25year old favourite and I know that it will do well.
"
Review 8 for Original Moleskin Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great casual addition,
March 18, 2013
By: JHolmes
from Virginia
"This vest is a great addition under a sport jacket on a cool day. It allow you to go out without an overcoat but is not so warm that it becomes uncomfortalble when indoors. It has a warm neutral color that matches everything and offers lightweight insulation as well as a multitude of pockets. It adds considerable versitiltiy to any casual wardrobe.The fit is roomy so it can worn over a sweater of flannel shirt with jeans but still comforrtably fit under a suit or sport jacket for that more dressy occasion."
Review 9 for Original Moleskin Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So good I bought it twice !,
February 14, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Lincoln
"I bought one of these waistcoats some years ago and found it great for work. The full back keeps you warm without hindering your arms and the 4 pockets mean that there is space for a pipe, pocket watch pens etc.
Unfortunately the first one is becoming a little tight. I would like to say it has shrunk but it is not the case, so I have treated myself to the next size up. It's a great piece of kit. I keep the new one for best, but I still wear the old one around the house and workshop as it has become on par with a favorite pair of old slippers. I have recently retired so Ithink the waistcoat will be great for summer flyfishing outings.
"
Review 10 for Original Moleskin Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
What's in a Name?,
January 31, 2013
By: Daglish
from London
"What's in a name?
(A comparative study of Orvis "Waistcoats".)
I have recently received one Original Moleskin Waistcoat and one Broken-in Moleskin Waistcoat. I decided to try them following my disappointment with having to return a Snake River Leather Waistcoat.
The reason for returning it was that at XXL 50-52 it should have been a snug fit on me. However in was like donning a marquee; it was huge. Obviously intended to be worn over several thick layers of clothing. Even then it would be big. I had hoped to exchange it for an XL 46-48 but was told that there are no more of these items , of any size, in stock, and they would not be available again: Hence my disappointment. Well you can imagine, after deciding that yes I would spend £259 and then actually handling the beautifully made garment, only to have to send it back.
So back to my current two purchases.. I bought them with a view to see which one I liked best, then return the other. Such a trap! Of course I fell in love with both of them, so here they will stay. They are both very well made and each has it's own distinctive feel.
The Broken-in version is much darker than the display photograph gives one to expect, but I actually like it this way. The three panel back is a nice feature and is preferable to the single panel back of the Original Moleskin.
A small gripe with the Broken-in item, is that the button holes are very tight over the buttons. I guess they will ease up in time but they could easily be right from the get-go.
I stand at six foot two and the length of both products is perfect, just to my trouser waistband. However other dimensions are not what I was expecting.
XXL 50-52 chest size, should have been snug on me; and indeed the Original Moleskin is just that, around the chest that is; the Broken-in version was more generously cut and would undoubtedly accommodate a 54 gentleman. However I can live with the relaxed fit, which gives me the option to wear it over really thick winter shirts. The unexpected dimension in both cases is the waist. The Broken-in version has no tapering to the cut and the other just a bare minimum. The result is with the adjustable belt fully relaxed a gentleman with a 54 chest and 54 waist could wear the Broken-in version, and a gentleman with a 52 chest and 50 waist could wear the Original Moleskin. I can only assume that Orvis's designers think that large chest sizes only exist on portly gentlemen. My problem is I measure up at 52 chest and 40 waist, so I have to really pull-in on the adjustable back-straps. As you can imagine, this leaves a deal of material gathered round the back, so some judicious ironing of a pleats is required to keep it in check. Perhaps the nice people at Orvis can in future include some mention of fit in all such garments? And please, please consider than some of us taper down from our chest size.
I have just ordered a washed Tweed Dress Waistcoat and will be interested to see if the word "Dress" means it will have some taper to it?
I also have my mind set on purchasing a Lambskin Munitions Waistcoat, next time my funds and impulses are in agreement. I just hope that by then they have not disappeared like the Snakes River garment. At this point I really need to say something to Mr. Orvis about the names and descriptions of this area of clothing.
A waistcoat hangs down to the waist, plus or minus a bit. And traditionally it is a garment for wearing under a jacket, so one expects it to be cut for that purpose. It is also traditional for a waistcoat to have an adjustable back belt.
Now the Lambskin Munitions Waistcoat hangs much lower than this, indeed it hangs at coat length. It has no adjustable rear belt and it is designed to be an outer garment, traditionally worn over a woollen pullover/sweater. The English have been wearing version of these for centuries, and they are not called waistcoats; they are Jerkins.
This brings me back to my disappointment of the Snake River Waistcoat, could it be that this fine but capacious garment, lacking an adjustable back-strap, was designed to be worn over heavy warm clothing, as an outer garment, as a Jerkin?
Perhaps Mr. Orvis can embrace the usage of the word Jerkin, then we will know if the item is cut to be worn as a outer garment or as an under coat garment. Thus avoiding terrible disappointments.
While I am on the subject of a correct and helpful description, I note the garment called an Estate Sweater Waistcoat. Now this has no front opening and is clearly not a coat, and does, I am sure, hang lower than the waist. Please Mr. Orvis this is not a waistcoat, this is simply a Sleeveless Pullover/Sweater.
Despite my pedantry, and a belief that an inaccurate name/description is no description of worth, I am none the less a real fan of Orvis products, or I would not keep buying them."
Review 11 for Original Moleskin Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice vest,
January 21, 2013
By: Bompah
from Montreal, QC
"My moleskin vest arrived in very short order. It is very smart looking, attractive and fits well. It is somewhat heavier than I expected, but I am still very happy with it."
Review 12 for Original Moleskin Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Returned Two,
January 16, 2013
By: JohnnyIII
from CT
"The first one came crumpled up in a plastic bag and looked like it had been worn and washed by some other recipient. I reordered and received the second - it was the same "Used" look, worn with pockets folded inside themselves, I thought I should dry cleaned it before it could be worn, but returned it instead. In short, a very poor presentation of a poor product, especially for the price."
Review 13 for Original Moleskin Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great waistcoat,
November 30, 2012
By: samoht
"Lovely old fashioned waistcoat with a proper back,none of this satin nonsense,so it's much warmer on a cold day-thank you Orvis"
Review 14 for Original Moleskin Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
warm and stylish,
October 17, 2012
By: georgedog
"I have been very pleased with this waistcoat which is very practical in keeping one warm but also looks good with a variety of jackets and outer coats."
Review 15 for Original Moleskin Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort Classic,
September 27, 2012
By: Jimbojet
from Manchester UK
"The Moleskin Vest I purchased has turned out to be really useful item of clothing. Worn with smart trousers a shirt and jacket it gives a sense of style, worn with jeans and t-shirt it lends a casual relaxed appearance.
Good looking, well made, good materiel's a classic.
"
Review 16 for Original Moleskin Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb, high quality product,
September 10, 2012
By: Keithfromkiddy
from Kidderminster, Worcestershire
"This is everything I wanted from a waistcoat, excellent fit, stylish, warm, good deep pockets and great for everyday wear."
Review 17 for Original Moleskin Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
quality product,
June 25, 2012
By: deln
from Lawrence, KS
"This is well tailored, with good quality moleskin cloth, reminiscent of my English moleskin breeks and trousers. Unfortunately, I had to return the item, as I am long-backed and it came-up a little short on me - above my waist-belt. A 'tall' size was not available. The vest was heavier than I anticipated and so it is probably best suited for fall/winter, rather than spring/summer. A small inside pocket would be a useful addition. Overall a truly excellent product, and I was disappointed to have to send it back. If you are not long-backed or 'tall', I would highly recommend this item, as an additional layer for fall/winter."
Review 18 for Original Moleskin Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
wrong size,
February 20, 2012
By: Smecky
"You should make these in a long fitting. I am six feet five and need a casual waistcoat!"
Review 19 for Original Moleskin Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Satisfied user, but . . .,
February 14, 2012
By: TheTinMan
from Chicago
"The vest was as advertised and I would recommend it. It could be improved, however, were it to have inside pockets for holding smartphones, pens, etc., as is common with most vests."
Review 20 for Original Moleskin Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable, Warm, Old World Style,
January 31, 2012
By: Natwhilk
"The quality of the vest is apparent in the stitching, the soft hand of the fabric, and the details, such as the strap loop on the back. The fabric is heavy, so it keeps you warm on a cold day; but it might be a bit too much under a regular sport coat. It should work great under a barn coat or something a bit roomier. I don't think it works as a dress up vest. It's more like a weekend or casual style."