Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt

Our extremely popular original Montana Morning® sweatshirt is constructed of a hefty jersey-knit 10.5-oz. cotton/polyester-blend fabric, brushed to a soft fleece inside to keep you warm and comfortable outside. Ribbed waist and sleeve cuffs for wind resistance. Handsome Sahara-washed waxed-cotton poplin inside neck. Underarm gussets for freedom of movement. Side-seam pockets. Cotton/polyester. Washable. Imported. Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
10 of 14(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt
Review 1 for Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful feel…,
January 16, 2014
By: Southwestern
from Texas
"Color, fit, quality of fabric all wonderful. Partner was very pleased and wore it immediately."
Review 2 for Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
quality,
December 15, 2013
By: TheB
from hanover,nh
"Well made,functional and attractive; best sweatshirt or fleece I've owned."
Review 3 for Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Good Buy,
November 4, 2013
By: poptart
from Tennessee
"This sweatshirt is very comfortable and sharp looking. An essential point for me is not only the right color, but the preferred shade of the color. The shade of color is precisely as shown online. Thanks!"
Review 4 for Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
very nice, until...,
March 21, 2011
By: Tomonymous
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"something stains it. it's the same problem with all the montana morning line fabric - they are stain magnets. I have a total of 6 items made from this fabric, 2 are stained beyond hope, 2 were brought back with extensive washing and soaking in oxy. one lost vest was ruined just by a squirt of lemon juice that hit it from across the table. this line of products looks and feels great, but scotch-guard them before wearing. they do also shrink quite a bit and it mostly seems to be in the length."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamApril 7, 2011
Orvis contacted this customer and let him know we were sorry to hear he wasn't happy with his purchase. We thanked him for his honest feedback. We are always striving to improve the products we offer and learn a great deal from our customers; we have forwarded his comment on to our product developers, who will take it into consideration in future product refinements.
Review 5 for Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Save your money,
February 14, 2011
By: prudentbuyer
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"I ordered the blue and charcoal in XL. At least 10% shrinkage overall, including about 4" in length upon first washing which also doubled the stiffness of the garments. Good concept; poor execution, especially for the price and from this merchant."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMarch 1, 2011
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for the shrinkage problem he encountered with this sweatshirt. We greatly appreciate this feedback—we are constantly trying to find ways to improve the items we sell. Orvis has also forwarded these comments to our product developers so they can take this feedback into account when making refinements to this item in the future.
Review 6 for Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buy Two!,
March 6, 2010
By: Editor
from Fulton, Missouri
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought two of these great sweatshirts because my wife "appropriated" mine during a recent late-January trip to Sarasota, Florida and likes it so much she isn't giving it back. It was great for those long walks along the beach when the wind off the Gulf whips up and the temperature drops into the 40s-50s. Despite the Chamber of Commerce propaganda, it does get 'chilly' in mid-Florida in the winter.
And true to its name, we wear them during our summer vacations in Montana -- it's perfect for the "Montana Mornings" as well as cool Montana evenings.
So, my advice is "buy two!" You and your significant other will have one less thing to fight about!
"
Review 7 for Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great looking sweat shirt,
March 5, 2010
By: Martine1
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Looks great and fits well, green and orange-red are really nice colors and match the long-sleeved tees. Wish it were a little softer"
Review 8 for Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 27, 2010
By: jakespal
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a great sweatshirt. It looks good, feels good and is warm"
Review 9 for Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 27, 2010
By: Shot
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My husband has this sweatshirt in all the colors. He loves them and wears them all the time. We highly recommend this shirt."
Review 10 for Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
comfy shirt,
February 24, 2010
By: llachar
from Idaho
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"color was not as shown. purple is not that deep
runs a little small. EXTREMELY COMFY. NEEDS TO OFFERED IN BLACK.
"
Review 11 for Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
montana mornings,
February 22, 2010
By: sand786
from small town in central virignia
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"j have been buying these products (pants and shorts) for a number of years now and they are great.
in fact the montana morning sweat pants are my absolute favorite when i come home every day.
on top of that last month when the internal drawstring in one broke and i called customer service i had a new pair in my mail box in two days.
not only are orvis clothes great but orvis is a great company to do business with.
many thanks
sand
that is what i call going the extra mile.
orivis is a great company to do b"
Review 12 for Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
February 20, 2010
By: johnny5
"material to stiff...just not up to orvis quality....."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJune 24, 2010
Orvis contacted this customer and thanked him for his honest feedback. We were disappointed to hear this sweatshirt fabric didn't meet his expectations. We welcome customer comments and suggestions—we learn a great deal from our customers, and we are always striving to improve our products. Orvis will happily refund or exchange any purchase. We want our customers to be happy with all of their Orvis purchases.
Review 13 for Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
morning shirt,
January 15, 2009
By: gabriel
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I am extremely pleased with the shirts I purchased (3 total) from Orvis. They were better than I expected in fit, quality and appearance. The shipment was very fast and the one time I had made a mistake and needed customer service they were friendly, very helpful and seemed to have my best interst at heart.
I will purchase from Orvis again. (soon, I hope!)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not Up To Orvis Quality Standards,
December 13, 2008
By: Disappointed2008
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"The dye from this shirt stained my body.
I bought the shirt in the black color.
Wearing the shirt, I worked at my desk for a time and then noticed my hands were inexplicably filthy. I'd get up to wash and after a few hours of working at the computer my hands were dirty again.
At first I thought it was the lead pencil I was using to take notes. At the end of the day, the shower confirmed that it was my new Orvis shirt. The dye, transferred to my neck, arms, back and chest. While washing the dye literally ran down the drain in visible swirls. I had to use a brush with soap!
The clerk at Orvis did promptly refund the purchase price. Oddly, she did not ask why I wanted to return the item.
When I offered to explain my experience with the Orvis product it was as if the clerk did not speak English, or they could not understand what I was saying. They smiled and nodded but did not utter a word in response. I attempted to continue my explanation when finally the clerk turned and said, “I need you to sign here for your refund.”
An entirely strange scene. I do not think I will be returning to shop at Orvis any time soon.
Sincerely,
Disappointed
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamDecember 18, 2008
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for the fact that the color on the shirt bled on to whatever touched it. Orvis also thanked the customer for providing such constructive and valuable feedback. Orvis was happy to hear that they could take care of the refund for the customer and has passed all of his comments and concerns onto the buyer that way they are aware.