Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Zambezi® Twill Pants

Broken in for even more comfort, our 10-oz. pure cotton Zambezi® Twill is now softer than ever—thanks to a special vintage wash—without sacrificing any of its legendary toughness. Updated mock-leather pocket details adds durability. Triple-needle stitching in stress areas. Cut to Orvis chino specifications for an easy fit. In silver sage. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported. Belt not included. Even waist sizes: 32-46. Cuffed up to 34" or plain finished up to 35" at no extra charge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.684 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
34 of 38(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Zambezi® Twill Pants
Review 1 for Zambezi® Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wish I could get more.,
February 5, 2013
By: kmenlopark
"I loved these pants and had 3 colors and the shorts. But I lost some weight and apparently Orvis has discontinued this line.
Bring them back Orvis, I miss my favorite pants.
"
Review 2 for Zambezi® Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart but casual,
February 4, 2011
By: SystemicKid
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"It's not surprising these trousers are best sellers. They fit well and look smart and casual at the same time. The weave has a visible texture which some wearers might not like but I think it adds character and distinction. I am not sure about the mock leather inserts to the pockets but this is a very minor quibble. They feel bombproof, i.e. should last ages and feel well made."
Review 3 for Zambezi® Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Zambezi Pants,
February 4, 2011
By: toflyanytime3
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"My first review was rejected by Orvis for violation of the review code of conduct. I simply stated the facts but I will simplify to comply with their review requirements.
Like the pants, the way they wear, good heavy material.
Pants are of poor quality for the price, loose threads everywhere, and of the 6 pair i purchased three have had rear buttons come off in the first outing. The stitching around the rear pockets is poor and uneven.
I will keep the pants as they are a good cut for me and work well for a casual office. I will continue to sew the buttons on until they stay, and trim threads until they stop coming out.
The eternal return policy is great if you buy clothes that don't fit or don't work for you. Having to return clothes due to quality issues gets old. I order from Orvis for quality and convenience. Not because I can return them."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamFebruary 10, 2011
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and thanked him for his honest feedback. We greatly appreciate the feedback of our items as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve them. Orvis has also forwarded our customer's feedback to the product developers so they can be aware of his comments.
Review 4 for Zambezi® Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice Looking and Comfortable Pant,
January 4, 2011
By: dancingbear
from Tobyhanna, PA
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I purchased these pants because I liked the look and they are comfortable; however, the back pocket buttons were gone after the first wearing"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Service TeamJanuary 13, 2011
Orvis Customer Care contacted this customer to apologize that these pants did not hold up after the first wear. We appreciate this feedback and our product specialists will review this product for these issues. We did gladly offer to exchange or refund this purchase. We want every customer to be completely satisfied with every Orvis product. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the best in the business!
Review 5 for Zambezi® Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zambezi Twill Pants,
January 3, 2011
By: toflyanytime1
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I ordered 3 pair of these pants in late 2009 and enjoyed them very much. However, the pants began to shrink in length to the point they had changed a full inch in length. This first set of pants were also heavy, and too thick for southern summers.
I contacted Orvis in December of 2010 to explain my problem. They told me to ship them back, no questions asked. I did just that and ordered 3 additional pair, just a bit longer. Needless to say I am more pleased with these pants than the first in that the new garment wash process they use has really made these pants soft and extremely comfortable.
I plan to wash them at home rather than the dry cleaners to avoid the shrinking issue I experienced. At the end of the day Orvis came through on their return policy and an improvement to a already great pair of pants. Due to the soft and seemingly thinner nature of these pants I now plan to make them my year round work pants."
Review 6 for Zambezi® Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of many,
January 3, 2011
By: Navy1960
from Newtown Square, PA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"After ordering I checked my drawer and I have 5 pair of the Zambieze ! So I must have liked them. Rugged, wear and look well
Lyman"
Review 7 for Zambezi® Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Pants!,
December 31, 2010
By: regalseagull
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have been wearing these pants every time my wife pulls them out of the dryer! They are of superior quality; very durable. My father owns a similar pair, twenty years old... Orvis makes great pants. I was only disappointed by the fact that the price was reduced within two weeks of my purchase!"
Review 8 for Zambezi® Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rhino Tough,
December 30, 2010
By: FanoOrvis
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"These are my second pair of these monsters. They wear like iron and look great with flannels, sport shirts and sweaters, or even a casual sportcoat and turtleneck.
You have to have a pair in your wardrobe!"
Review 9 for Zambezi® Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Smart and hardwearing,
August 10, 2010
By: MiningAnalyst
from London, UK
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I have owned 6 pairs of these trousers. Originally bought as a hardwearing pant for work trips to Africa and Russia, in combination with my Rhinohide Travel Coat, they offer a smart comfortable fit for when the temperature rises and large pockets which can comfortably stow a wallet and phone plus a large bundle of local currency if the need arises! If I were to change one aspect it would be the durability/cut of the crotch which has split when taking high step-ups in 3 of my pairs (these were patched as they are old friends)."
Review 10 for Zambezi® Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really smart casual,
August 6, 2010
By: oldmountaineer
from Lancashire, U.K.
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have several pairs of these trousers and find them comfortable, durable and very good looking.With the right jacket they can be quite dressy and in summer I have worn them to work in a formal environment without feeling out of place.I would highly recommend them.They are my favourite Orvis trouser."
Review 11 for Zambezi® Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product,
June 16, 2010
By: WOODHEAD
from SMOKEY MTNS
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"looks good and is wearing well
after washing it is easy to iron
looking for 42 its alittle and i mean very little on loose
other 42 are too tight
for those looking for a great pants i fully recommend this product in both colors
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Zambezi® Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
why I didn't,
April 25, 2010
By: Morven
from West Yorks
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I went to my local Orvis store with these very much in mind. They fitted but felt uncomfortable and didn't look a class act. The leather is cheap and nasty.
Try the Khakis instead - that's what I bought"
Review 13 for Zambezi® Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best in your catalog.,
April 22, 2010
By: AnselLugubrious
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I own various men's pants ordered from the Orvis catalog. All are of good quality, and I like the different choices. Your outstanding items are the three Zambezi Twill pants you offer. These are made from heavy twill, heavy enough to be substantial but light enough for year-round wear. The absorbent cotton wicks perspiration away, yet holds its shape and resists wrinkles. The cotton is soft enough to feel nice and stiff enough on the surface to have a sharp look. It is appropriately pre-washed to preclude shrinkage: the pant legs don't change length when you wash them. The pants are fitted with a durable jeans-style brass button and faux leather pocket trim; they look sporty
and are rather dressy when cuffed. I wish that you'd also make them in forest green, walnut brown, pearl grey, charcoal, and sky blue versions.
Dark olive and navy blue would be nice, too. I would then buy them in those colors.
Their outstanding feature is the substantial twill that feels so comfortable, washes so neatly, and looks so classy. Please come out with those other colors soon! Okay? Also, start making Rhinohide with pleats.
"
Review 14 for Zambezi® Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pants,
April 14, 2010
By: toflyanytime
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"At first I thought the pants may be a bit heavy but after a couple of wearings they are just great. Love the feel and cut of the pants. The leather look alike trim is nice."
Review 15 for Zambezi® Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 12, 2010
By: PaulV
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Nice heavy weight pants with attractive leatherette accents."
Review 16 for Zambezi® Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best pants I own,
April 11, 2010
By: TomS
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"These are the best quality casual pants that I own. I have two pair and a third on the way. I wear them to work and invariably get favorable comments about them and inquiries about where I got them. They are comforatable and rugged without being stiff or bulky.
Fantastic product!
"
Review 17 for Zambezi® Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Pants I own,
March 29, 2010
By: BigR
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"All you need to know is that these pants are a must have. They are very comfortable, good looking, light weight and durable. I would definitely recommend them to anyone."
Review 18 for Zambezi® Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Long Pants,
March 21, 2010
By: Bulbmogul
from Toledo, Ohio
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bought these and have just fell in love with them. Just a pleasure to wear and they fit great. Right out of the bag they were soft and comfy. Surely a fine pair of longs."
Review 19 for Zambezi® Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zambezi Twill,
March 16, 2010
By: Magnahale
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I have just ordered another pair of Zambezi Twill trousers. I find them very comfortable and hard wearing.
In answer to a previous comment, I remove the buttons from the back pockets and replace them with "velcro" fastenings.
One point; would it be possible to supply these trousers in dark navy or similar colour ? Same applies to 14 pocket expeditioin trousers.
"
Review 20 for Zambezi® Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent pants!,
March 13, 2010
By: BostonBen
from Danvers, MA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I was interested in these pants and decided to take a swing by the nearest Orvis store. I was impressed and bought a couple of pair to try out. These are very high quality - excellent construction and material. As a previous reviewer noted, this is a thick fabric - not your run of the mill chinos. When I wore them I got several compliments, as well as found myself liking them more and more. I bought 2 more pair and am very happy with this product."