Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

PractiCaster

Practice fly casting anywhere including the comfort of your own living room with this practice fly rod. Practicaster perfectly imitates the cast and allows you to develop and improve the exact motion used in a real cast. You can immediately see results and understand the correct motion for perfect timing and loop formation. Two-piece rod in Helios olive with burgundy wraps, cork grip, and green line with orange fly for easy visibility. 47" overall length and comes in its own storage tube. Carry it anywhere, practice anywhere, and see immediate improvement.
Average Customer Rating:
4.743 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (206 reviews)
5 stars
161
4 stars
39
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
0
204 of 206(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PractiCaster
Review 1 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fun way to practice,
November 18, 2014
By: jpcromey
from Washington, DC
"Here's a product that can be used to practice casting indoors and during the winter. It works."
Review 2 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
November 14, 2014
By: Maoloop
from Como - Italy
"I am a TLT instructor and I use it when I have to explain the cast phases"
Review 3 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Practicaster,
October 28, 2014
By: thstanley50
from Florida panhandle
"The Practicaster is exactly what I was looking for. I can use it indoors or outdoors. It is a great buy for a reasonably good price. I will suggest it to all of my fly fishing friends."
Review 4 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Practicaster,
October 28, 2014
By: thstanley50
from Florida panhandle
"The Practicaster is a great value for a small cost. The quality is fantastic for such a good price. I use it indoors without damaging anything. I will recommend this item to all of my fly fishing friends."
Review 5 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Practicaster,
October 21, 2014
By: beatingtheman
from LaGrange GA
"Great quality product. Great balance and simulates a full size rod very well. Excellent choice for a novice or veteran fly fisherman."
Review 6 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great practice when at office,
October 8, 2014
By: LAFlyFisher73
from Ruston, LA
"I received my PractiCaster on time and its very handy. Excellent at work with the higher ceilings. I have had physical therapy patients wanting to practice also. Great practicing tool for kids. It also helps them on timing and coordination. Time to go to your Orvis fly fishing school. Thanks Orvis."
Review 7 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really surprising,
September 28, 2014
By: japicka
"I was really surprised at how much it felt like my real rod. First night I had the thing I went out into the back yard and it has so helped me with figuring out longer casts and not messing up the cast. First night I caught our cat, and both our kids with it ;-).
Overall really great for the price. (Especially when I had a $25 off coupon I had just gotten in the mail)"
Review 8 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great practice tool!,
September 26, 2014
By: TimPavuk
from Chicagoland
"I can't always get outside to practice my casting and this fills the void! Great for working on your form. All you need is a little room it a hallway. Orvis make it look like an actual rod wih nice wraps and a cork grip which just adds to quality. Really makes you want to be on the water!!"
Review 9 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Indoor cat-fishing,
September 24, 2014
By: Sisumaki
from Ohio
"I very much enjoy using the PractiCaster in the house. I knew when I bought it that the cats would like it too. What I didn't foresee was after they tire out and settle down, the line end must be placed in just the right spot to get them to 'bite' again. Great fun. Should keep my arm limber in the winter months."
Review 10 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Practice Tool,
September 16, 2014
By: SamuelCruz
from Greensboro, NC
"I bought this for my boss as a birthday gift and he absolutely loves it! He is an avid fly fisherman who loves to fish the Holston River in TN. He also has 2 boys, Jake and Ryley, and is using the practicaster to harness their casting skills. It's the best practice tool in his arsenal."
Review 11 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great practice tool,
September 8, 2014
By: SG211
"Great feel and provides the opportunity to get the Muscle memory turned back on after the off season."
Review 12 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Aid,
September 5, 2014
By: wayno221
from Olympia, Washington
"An excellent way to perfect your casting stroke when you can't be on the water."
Review 13 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for beginners,
September 3, 2014
By: Noviceflycaster
from Arkansas
"Great product, just as advertised. Helpful aid for improving loops and timing."
Review 14 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift!!,
August 26, 2014
By: Zanybuzu
from Medfield, MA
"Terrific learning/teaching tool for fly fishing. Provided hours of entertainment for family members as set up game of who could get closest to target. Translated beautifully to actual fly fishing. Thanks Orvis."
Review 15 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good,
August 20, 2014
By: Tubs112
from SoCal
"It's good but unfortunately on the second day the yellow hi vis indicator came off with normal use. I have high ceilings, it it wasn't hitting anything on the backcast yet it still came undone. Disappointing"
Review 16 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST FLY-CASTING TOOL EVER,
July 30, 2014
By: Ihuntfish
from San Antonio, TX
"I've tried them all...and the Orvis Practicaster is THE BEST FLY-CASTING TOOL EVER. I buy one for all the Beginner-Intermediate Clients I send on Fly Fishing Trips before they go when I give them a lesson."
Review 17 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surprising Casting Feel,
July 30, 2014
By: Lanternshine
"I thought this was going to be just a gimmick but I was pleasantly surprised. It really does feel and cast like the real thing. This is a good item to keep the casting rust away for that upcoming trip to Montana or anywhere."
Review 18 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It works.,
July 28, 2014
By: PriFly
"It works. Our cat loves it which also gives you a chance to practice hooksets."
Review 19 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good purchase to have to practice with,
July 16, 2014
By: Chanlove83
from Westville ,NJ
"Good purchase I'm glad I got it for my husband to practice with couldn't ask for anything better"
Review 20 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Little Teaching Tool,
July 9, 2014
By: HinVA
"Bought this to introduce my grandchildren to fly fishing and it really works great. I think it is a great idea and can be used almost anywhere."