Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

PractiCaster

Practice fly casting anywhere including the comfort of your own living room with this practice fly rod. Practicaster perfectly imitates the cast and allows you to develop and improve the exact motion used in a real cast. You can immediately see results and understand the correct motion for perfect timing and loop formation. Two-piece rod in Helios olive with burgundy wraps, cork grip, and green line with orange fly for easy visibility. 47" overall length and comes in its own storage tube. Carry it anywhere, practice anywhere, and see immediate improvement.
Average Customer Rating:
4.751 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (185 reviews)
5 stars
146
4 stars
34
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0
183 of 185(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PractiCaster
Review 1 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good purchase to have to practice with,
July 16, 2014
By: Chanlove83
from Westville ,NJ
"Good purchase I'm glad I got it for my husband to practice with couldn't ask for anything better"
Review 2 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Little Teaching Tool,
July 9, 2014
By: HinVA
"Bought this to introduce my grandchildren to fly fishing and it really works great. I think it is a great idea and can be used almost anywhere."
Review 3 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fun,
July 7, 2014
By: ColonelPutt
from Redditch UK
"This thing is fun, fun, fun, great for casting practice, great for teaching the Grandson how to cast, it’s just fun to play with…"
Review 4 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great fun learning tool,
July 5, 2014
By: Bigcabezon
from Santa Cruz, CA
"This is the second Practicaster I have purchased.The first was for a friend who loved it. This one is for my granddaughter (4 years old) to learn the basics of casting. She was casting a fair line in just one hour. She will be trout fishing with me this summer. Can't wait."
Review 5 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
June 19, 2014
By: Oldpjs
from Massachusetts
"The orvis practicaster is a great toy for working on your casting stroke. Nicely priced, and quick setup make this easy to use anywhere and anytime you feel like throwing some tight loops. Also, great for teaching first time fly casters like my kids."
Review 6 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simplest but most useful to learn,
June 18, 2014
By: swilcanbridge
from Yokohama, Japan
"This device is simple but most useful for beginners to learn the theory of casting fly rod.
As this doesn't require the large space, You can use it even at your home.
I am happy for what I paid even by importing from U.S.A."
Review 7 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Drive your cat crazy!,
June 12, 2014
By: YukonKid
from Fairbanks, Alaska
"Everything it says it to be! Great rod for practice casting. Only complaint is that there should be a lot more line as this rod shoots line like a dream. I guess that there would need to be some kind of reel if it had more line, Lots of fun!"
Review 8 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Extremely Helpful,
June 10, 2014
By: bowtiefishing
from Portland, OR
"This has been a wonderful practice tool for my casting. I have been able to practice during lunch breaks at work and even in my own living room. It is easy to use and has helped me focus on placement and presentation. I have been able to see the improvement each time I hit the river! Thanks so much Orvis!"
Review 9 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PractiCaster,
May 28, 2014
By: slomo
from Jefferson City, MO
"Excellent product for kids to use. Fun with cats as well."
Review 10 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
grandkids starting young,
May 19, 2014
By: rogerclark13
"purchased 1 as an experiment and then 2 additional. teaching my grandkids at a great sport. i have fun with it also...thanks"
Review 11 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Useful beginners tool,
May 17, 2014
By: Michael1
from Germany
"I have to disagree politely with some other reviewer´s opinion here. The yarn is heavy enough and more than that to use this practicing rod instead of a real fly rod in house. That is its main and only goal!
Furthermore, I was pleasantly surprised how well it works and it is much better made compared to the other product out there that I have seen in use (the yarn ripped of after 5 minutes there).
"
Review 12 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nice product,
May 6, 2014
By: joebook
from San Clemente, CA
"Great for getting your fishing fix around the house. my 9 year-old son and I take turns setting our "dry" fly down, usually on is or mom. Great family fun!"
Review 13 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great practice tool,
May 6, 2014
By: raykru
from Cleveland, OH
"I am a beginner and after taking the fly fishing 101 and 201 with Orvis, this has helped keep up practicing the casting techniques learned during those classes. I can use this around the house and at work."
Review 14 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Practi caster,
May 5, 2014
By: thePhishwittnes
from Edmonton AB
"Bought for my self and to teach the wife a few new tricks! Loved it enough I bought one for all the guys from the wedding party as a thats for coming."
Review 15 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
April 29, 2014
By: cyhuskr
from Des Moines, IA
"The practicaster is great for tuning up prior to the season! I like the fact that I can practice indoors when the weather is bad. The practicaster mimics the loading of the rod during casting and is improving my accuracy."
Review 16 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PractiCaster,
April 28, 2014
By: drdough71
from "Mother Lode", California
"The practice caster rod & included "string" truly provide a good idea of the plane one should be causing the line to travel in. This makes it easy to then progress onto practicing with a real pole for the real thing. I will be using this practice casting pole set up to usher both my young son and my wife into fly fishing!"
Review 17 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good Learning,
April 23, 2014
By: popoffsky
from Belgium
"As it is a little too short , it requires attention and concentration to operate , and doesn't forgive any mistake .
A very good learning !"
Review 18 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great products,
April 18, 2014
By: FlyAl
"Highest quality, rod feels so life like, could almost fish it.
Works really well,,,,, another plus, drives the wife nuts, landed it in her tea a couple of times.
"
Review 19 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The cat finally has a purpose!,
April 18, 2014
By: Kabob1865
from Oklahoma City, OK
"I got the Practicaster for Christmas this year, but my house is too small to use it. I took the Practicaster to my office this week because we have a long, tall hallway....and a Himalayan office cat named Ivy. I've never enjoyed playing with a cat until now. Ivy is your classic, non-social, uninterested-in-humans, smug, know-it-all cat. Actually, Ivy's nature is very similar to a fish. If you don't present the 'fly' just right, the cat has no interest, but when you drop the dry, fuzzy fly 12 inches from her paw she crushes it, wraps the leader around her paw and and bends the rod. I can work on my roll casting when I miss the cat, or do an around the corner mend into an office if Ivy gets spooked. If I've lost the cat's attention, a couple quick strips of the line instantly engages her. Since there is no hook she usually breaks off. Though I have been tempted, I haven't stooped to the level of tying on catnip Powerbait. I am a sportsman, after all. If you have access to a cat, you need this rod."
Review 20 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for when you can't use a rod,
April 14, 2014
By: upkrugerk
from Negaunee, MI
"If space is a problem for you and you want to practice your casting, this is perfect. Better with high ceilings indoors or if you have a backyard that is too small for a rod and reel. Just fun too. Great for all ages."