Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes

These slim fly boxes come in two configurations. Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes hold 120 flies in cut reference foam. Eight rows, 15 slots. Or 8 compartment with magnetic base. Recommended for nymphs and sparsely hackled or parachute dry flies up to size 16. 5"L x 3⅞" W x ½" D.
Average Customer Rating:
4.716 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (88 reviews)
5 stars
69
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
88 of 88(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Review 1 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes,
April 29, 2015
By: ColoradoBob55
from Colorado Springs
"These boxes take up far less room in my vest than the klunky ones I've been carrying for years. I bought these so I could carry fewer flies in the stream but have just as much choice in what I used. They worked great and for the money, these boxes are just about the best thing going."
Review 2 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Small Fly Box,
April 3, 2015
By: FlyFisherMann
from Midwest City, OK
"This box works great for holding small nymphs and midges. Fits nicely in your vest, chest pack, or shirt pocket.The magnetic bottom holds flies securely and the 8 sections can keep flies sorted by pattern or color."
Review 3 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Small Fly Box,
April 1, 2015
By: Dougie87
from Pittsburgh Area
"Purchased this box for all of my small flies that I just purchased. Works perfectly. I'm impressed with the detail. It will also work well for short trips to the stream. Can fit into my front pouch, or backpack easily."
Review 4 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
March 31, 2015
By: StickII
from Dallas, TX
"Nice fly box. Size fits in your hand easily, and easy to open. I got the eight compartment, and the open compartments work well for me to pick out flies."
Review 5 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatile Box,
February 26, 2015
By: flymax
from Northern New York
"I have been using these boxes in various sizes for a few years now becasue they are slim and take up minimal space in my vest or pack but they also work great with my portable fly tying kit. I stock a magnetic sectionaled box with a specific hook type and range of sizes. I.e. barbless dry flies sizes 10-22. This way instead of sorting through multiple packets of hooks I have what I need in a few magnetic boxes."
Review 6 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just the job,
February 3, 2015
By: Besthebeast
from Oxford, UK
"Like many fly fisherman I'm a magpie when it comes to flies: I collect pretty, shiny, drab, novel - anything that might work. So a small fly box is the ideal aide memoire that 'less is more'.
This box is neat, well constructed and slim line - ideal for imitative wet patterns, small nymphs and buzzers. I like the clear lid too - you can keep your hands warm until you decide what to use next!
An excellently thought out piece of kit."
Review 7 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thin is better,
December 23, 2014
By: StephenJB68
from Louisville, Ky
"Love this flybox.
Fits in shirt pocket as well as jeans pocket.
Slides in where seemingly no more room in the vest.
"
Review 8 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good nymph box,
December 8, 2014
By: jswaters
from Missouri
"Nice box for small nymphs, midges, and scud imitations. Magnet could be stronger but overall not a bad box for the price. Size is perfect for pockets or small chest packs."
Review 9 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
slim box,
December 8, 2014
By: flingafly
from Nazareth, PA
"I moved my small flies to this box because it allows me to see what flies are in it and the slim design makes it easy to carry."
Review 10 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Slimline Quality,
November 13, 2014
By: Wacjac
from Newcastle UK
"I've bought 4 of these shirt and vest sized superslim fly boxes now - they are very well made and of the usual Orvis quality, should last for years. HOWEVER they arrive with an almost industrial strength glue attaching the display stand hook on them...it can be removed with white spirits or turps...complete overkill IMO however"
Review 11 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fly box,
November 3, 2014
By: Jwow
from Bozeman, MT
"The slim box is perfect for hip packs and have replaced a few of my bulkier c & f boxes.They are great boxes for all of my smaller fly patterns. I now have 5 of the slim boxes in my pack .They are perfect little boxes"
Review 12 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SuperSlim,
October 24, 2014
By: TNBud
from Smoky Mountains, TN
"I use this almost exclusively for trout flies. It is great for packing almost all the flies needed for a day trip. I use these for all small flies, size 10-20 dries and nymphs. These compact size of these boxes allows you to fit 3/4 boxes in a vest compared to 1 box of most other brands."
Review 13 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly Boxes,
October 17, 2014
By: shoelessTX
from Murphy, TX
"These slim profile fly boxes are fantastic. Very inexpensive for what you get. Thin, so they are easy to carry in your vest, check pack, sling pack or pocket. They are designed for smaller flies, but can accommodate larger flies if you are creative in spacing. I use them almost exclusively and have purchased for fellow fly fishing friends - we all love them."
Review 14 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect, compact fly box that floats!!,
September 9, 2014
By: Cjsf2f
from Saint Louis, Mo
"Great product at a great price. Fits all of flies."
Review 15 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly Box,
September 3, 2014
By: Jeremyazflyguy
from Taylor, AZ
"This fly box is slim and fits nicely in your pocket. I use it for my nymphs and it works great. I would recommend this product to a friend."
Review 16 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Fly Box That Works,
July 21, 2014
By: Donada
from Longmont, CO
"I like that it is magnetic, has 8 compartments, and is very thin. I like magnetic boxes because I find that flies are always getting loose in the other types of boxes. I use this box for nymphs and small dries and like that I can fit several in my pack."
Review 17 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super slim fly box,
July 17, 2014
By: Leppy
from Maryland
"Love these boxes. I have them in foam and magnet style. Handy to carry flies wet, midge, nymph and most drys. The slim size lets you carry several with less weight and less space taken up."
Review 18 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great slim box,
July 4, 2014
By: Redbone13
from North Carolina
"If you're carrying midges or small nymphs this is a fantastic box. It's easy to store and fits into any small area, pockets, vest, sling packs and you don't even know it's there."
Review 19 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More flies and less bulk,
June 27, 2014
By: Scout4
from Scottsdale Az.
"The new ultra slim fly boxes are terrific. All the guides on the San Juan are using them. More flies taking up less space in your vest making it much more comfortable without sacrificing anything. Big improvement!"
Review 20 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great space saver,
June 18, 2014
By: flyformerlyknownasprince
from Ohio
"The super slim fly boxes are a great space saver at only 1/2 inch in depth. With the 120 slots in the foam I was able to transfer all the flies from a traditional double sided box into one at one third of the thickness! Easy open and close tabs even when cold."