Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes

These slim fly boxes come in two configurations. Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes hold 120 flies in cut reference foam. Eight rows, 15 slots. Or 8 compartment with magnetic base. Recommended for nymphs and sparsely hackled or parachute dry flies up to size 16. 5"L x 3⅞" W x ½" D.
Average Customer Rating:
4.688 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (77 reviews)
5 stars
59
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
77 of 77(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Review 1 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Slimline Quality,
November 13, 2014
By: Wacjac
from Newcastle UK
"I've bought 4 of these shirt and vest sized superslim fly boxes now - they are very well made and of the usual Orvis quality, should last for years. HOWEVER they arrive with an almost industrial strength glue attaching the display stand hook on them...it can be removed with white spirits or turps...complete overkill IMO however"
Review 2 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fly box,
November 3, 2014
By: Jwow
from Bozeman, MT
"The slim box is perfect for hip packs and have replaced a few of my bulkier c & f boxes.They are great boxes for all of my smaller fly patterns. I now have 5 of the slim boxes in my pack .They are perfect little boxes"
Review 3 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SuperSlim,
October 24, 2014
By: TNBud
from Smoky Mountains, TN
"I use this almost exclusively for trout flies. It is great for packing almost all the flies needed for a day trip. I use these for all small flies, size 10-20 dries and nymphs. These compact size of these boxes allows you to fit 3/4 boxes in a vest compared to 1 box of most other brands."
Review 4 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly Boxes,
October 17, 2014
By: shoelessTX
from Murphy, TX
"These slim profile fly boxes are fantastic. Very inexpensive for what you get. Thin, so they are easy to carry in your vest, check pack, sling pack or pocket. They are designed for smaller flies, but can accommodate larger flies if you are creative in spacing. I use them almost exclusively and have purchased for fellow fly fishing friends - we all love them."
Review 5 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect, compact fly box that floats!!,
September 9, 2014
By: Cjsf2f
from Saint Louis, Mo
"Great product at a great price. Fits all of flies."
Review 6 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly Box,
September 3, 2014
By: Jeremyazflyguy
from Taylor, AZ
"This fly box is slim and fits nicely in your pocket. I use it for my nymphs and it works great. I would recommend this product to a friend."
Review 7 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Fly Box That Works,
July 21, 2014
By: Donada
from Longmont, CO
"I like that it is magnetic, has 8 compartments, and is very thin. I like magnetic boxes because I find that flies are always getting loose in the other types of boxes. I use this box for nymphs and small dries and like that I can fit several in my pack."
Review 8 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super slim fly box,
July 17, 2014
By: Leppy
from Maryland
"Love these boxes. I have them in foam and magnet style. Handy to carry flies wet, midge, nymph and most drys. The slim size lets you carry several with less weight and less space taken up."
Review 9 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great slim box,
July 4, 2014
By: Redbone13
from North Carolina
"If you're carrying midges or small nymphs this is a fantastic box. It's easy to store and fits into any small area, pockets, vest, sling packs and you don't even know it's there."
Review 10 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More flies and less bulk,
June 27, 2014
By: Scout4
from Scottsdale Az.
"The new ultra slim fly boxes are terrific. All the guides on the San Juan are using them. More flies taking up less space in your vest making it much more comfortable without sacrificing anything. Big improvement!"
Review 11 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great space saver,
June 18, 2014
By: flyformerlyknownasprince
from Ohio
"The super slim fly boxes are a great space saver at only 1/2 inch in depth. With the 120 slots in the foam I was able to transfer all the flies from a traditional double sided box into one at one third of the thickness! Easy open and close tabs even when cold."
Review 12 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great size,
May 29, 2014
By: SilverTabby
from Folcroft, PA
"Good size, great design. Holds nymphs securely and with good spacing. Good for slim streamers too up to size 8. Not so great for bead head wooly buggers - a tad too slim. Been a minimalist for the last 30 yrs. and I don't carry much - this box for nymphing, old Perrine for my buggers, and a small 6-compt. for dries. I still use my OLD Orvis arctic creel. Holds all I need."
Review 13 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
See Through Flybox,
April 26, 2014
By: Aroids
from Parker, CO
"I've been looking for a compact fly box for midges. The boxes fit the bill perfectly. Small, lightweight and see through. Bought two first time because I trust Orvis Quality."
Review 14 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
April 12, 2014
By: Jchiarelli
from Bala Cynwyd, PA
"Slim case allows to organize well your flies, particularly nymphs by type, size etc"
Review 15 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Slim Fly Boxes,
April 6, 2014
By: AkMT
"No bulk, slide easily in the vest pocket, holds the flies very well."
Review 16 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best small flies box,
March 14, 2014
By: ricciola
from Florence , Italy
"This is the best fly box to storage soft flies from 16 to 30. It's really light and the transparent cover allows to inspect easily the content.
Finally I can bring with me hundreds of flies on the river ....and a light fishing vest too !
"
Review 17 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Slim,
February 20, 2014
By: StephenSapp
from Coeur d'Alene, ID
"Love this box. Super slim, holds small flies extremely well. Be advised that it's not going to hold larger terrestrials or streamers. Works great for it's purpose."
Review 18 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very useful,
February 11, 2014
By: Hardwik
from Ontario, Canada
"Nice fly box. I like that it is so slim and compact. It will fit in a shirt pocket without bulk. (I'm not always wearing a fishing vest) It has the micro slit foam which holds a lot of smaller flies nicely and the foam material doesn't seem to erode like some. Much more satisfying than older, more complicated boxes."
Review 19 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great box, on sale!,
January 16, 2014
By: BCMO
"Got this box for under $8, and it's a great value. Not much to tell other than that - it's got 8 magnetic compartments, and a nice sturdy feel."
Review 20 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smaller than a wallet,
January 16, 2014
By: Mangofish
from Rhode Island
"I should have ordered 10 of these. They are so compact and lite, and as many "flies" as ones has, you could put one in each pocket, maybe even two or three. GREAT!!! The fly fisher person CAN and will use these! GREAT Find!"