Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes

These slim fly boxes come in two configurations. Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes hold 120 flies in cut reference foam. Eight rows, 15 slots. Or 8 compartment with magnetic base. Recommended for nymphs and sparsely hackled or parachute dry flies up to size 16. 5"L x 3⅞" W x ½" D.
Average Customer Rating:
4.676 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (71 reviews)
5 stars
54
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
71 of 71(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Review 1 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Fly Box That Works,
July 21, 2014
By: Donada
from Longmont, CO
"I like that it is magnetic, has 8 compartments, and is very thin. I like magnetic boxes because I find that flies are always getting loose in the other types of boxes. I use this box for nymphs and small dries and like that I can fit several in my pack."
Review 2 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super slim fly box,
July 17, 2014
By: Leppy
from Maryland
"Love these boxes. I have them in foam and magnet style. Handy to carry flies wet, midge, nymph and most drys. The slim size lets you carry several with less weight and less space taken up."
Review 3 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great slim box,
July 4, 2014
By: Redbone13
from North Carolina
"If you're carrying midges or small nymphs this is a fantastic box. It's easy to store and fits into any small area, pockets, vest, sling packs and you don't even know it's there."
Review 4 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More flies and less bulk,
June 27, 2014
By: Scout4
from Scottsdale Az.
"The new ultra slim fly boxes are terrific. All the guides on the San Juan are using them. More flies taking up less space in your vest making it much more comfortable without sacrificing anything. Big improvement!"
Review 5 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great space saver,
June 18, 2014
By: flyformerlyknownasprince
from Ohio
"The super slim fly boxes are a great space saver at only 1/2 inch in depth. With the 120 slots in the foam I was able to transfer all the flies from a traditional double sided box into one at one third of the thickness! Easy open and close tabs even when cold."
Review 6 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great size,
May 29, 2014
By: SilverTabby
from Folcroft, PA
"Good size, great design. Holds nymphs securely and with good spacing. Good for slim streamers too up to size 8. Not so great for bead head wooly buggers - a tad too slim. Been a minimalist for the last 30 yrs. and I don't carry much - this box for nymphing, old Perrine for my buggers, and a small 6-compt. for dries. I still use my OLD Orvis arctic creel. Holds all I need."
Review 7 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
See Through Flybox,
April 26, 2014
By: Aroids
from Parker, CO
"I've been looking for a compact fly box for midges. The boxes fit the bill perfectly. Small, lightweight and see through. Bought two first time because I trust Orvis Quality."
Review 8 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
April 12, 2014
By: Jchiarelli
from Bala Cynwyd, PA
"Slim case allows to organize well your flies, particularly nymphs by type, size etc"
Review 9 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Slim Fly Boxes,
April 6, 2014
By: AkMT
"No bulk, slide easily in the vest pocket, holds the flies very well."
Review 10 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best small flies box,
March 14, 2014
By: ricciola
from Florence , Italy
"This is the best fly box to storage soft flies from 16 to 30. It's really light and the transparent cover allows to inspect easily the content.
Finally I can bring with me hundreds of flies on the river ....and a light fishing vest too !
"
Review 11 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Slim,
February 20, 2014
By: StephenSapp
from Coeur d'Alene, ID
"Love this box. Super slim, holds small flies extremely well. Be advised that it's not going to hold larger terrestrials or streamers. Works great for it's purpose."
Review 12 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very useful,
February 11, 2014
By: Hardwik
from Ontario, Canada
"Nice fly box. I like that it is so slim and compact. It will fit in a shirt pocket without bulk. (I'm not always wearing a fishing vest) It has the micro slit foam which holds a lot of smaller flies nicely and the foam material doesn't seem to erode like some. Much more satisfying than older, more complicated boxes."
Review 13 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great box, on sale!,
January 16, 2014
By: BCMO
"Got this box for under $8, and it's a great value. Not much to tell other than that - it's got 8 magnetic compartments, and a nice sturdy feel."
Review 14 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smaller than a wallet,
January 16, 2014
By: Mangofish
from Rhode Island
"I should have ordered 10 of these. They are so compact and lite, and as many "flies" as ones has, you could put one in each pocket, maybe even two or three. GREAT!!! The fly fisher person CAN and will use these! GREAT Find!"
Review 15 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very useful,
January 15, 2014
By: smallstreamguy
from Northern NJ
"I have several of these boxes. They just fit nicely in my pockets so I can go very lightweight when I do my small stream fishing away from the crowds. My boxes are filled mostly with caddis in all stages, some "provo" flies and quite a few nymphs, all from 14 to 18 for which these boxes are perfect."
Review 16 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
doubles the number of flies I can carry,
January 15, 2014
By: wildlifepro
from Colorado
"doubles the number of flies I can carry because 2 of these boxes take up the space of one regular box."
Review 17 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fits shirt pocket,
January 14, 2014
By: TJAJEA
from Quincy, il
"I already own three of these. Perfect to slip in your shirt pocket carries a lot of flies for a trip to the stream when all else is close at hand."
Review 18 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The name gets it right,
January 6, 2014
By: Revmlee
"Definitely a great space saver! I got one of each type - magnet for my midges and small nymphs and the regular foam slotted for nymphs and dries.
It is so light and slim that some of your dries like parachutes might not fit because the lid compresses them. Still, a great product."
Review 19 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
December 20, 2013
By: Samhock
"I bought the vest size with the compartments. It's great. I bought 3 more, two to give as gifts, and one more for me. I'm setting up to fish vestless and this is perfect."
Review 20 for Super Slim Vest Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fits in a shirt pocket,
December 13, 2013
By: firstfan
from Anchorage, AK
"This is a handy fly box. I am buying a couple more."