Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Super Slim Shirt-Pocket Fly Box

Great new size addition to the Super Slim fly boxes. In two configurations. Reference cut 7 rows, 11 cut outs per row for 77 total. Or 6 compartment magnetic base. Recommended for nymphs and sparsely hackled or parachute dry flies up to size 16. 3"L X 4⅜"W X ½"D.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
38 of 40(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Super Slim Shirt-Pocket Fly Box
Review 1 for Super Slim Shirt-Pocket Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pocket Fly Box,
November 14, 2014
By: FatBoy1
"It doesn't hold a lot but thats the whole point. I travel a lot so I use this to keep a small number of flies with the Orvis Combi Rod set I have.
I just put the lot in the car and if I get a chance then out comes the rod & flies.... perfect!"
Review 2 for Super Slim Shirt-Pocket Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice compact box,
October 31, 2014
By: slips74
from Whitehouse, NJ
"Very nice little compact fly box, magnets seem to hold midges well"
Review 3 for Super Slim Shirt-Pocket Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Nymph Box,
August 20, 2014
By: TurkeyBum
from Alabama
"Nice product. I have several of the slit foam model in the small pocket size. They are perfect for nymphs but too thin for all but the smallest dry flies without crushing the hackles. I stuck two boxes together back-to-back with double-sided tape and now I can carry dozens of nymphs in a shirt pocket sized package about an inch thick. Great for when I want to fish light with a lanyard instead of a vest."
Review 4 for Super Slim Shirt-Pocket Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly Boxes,
June 11, 2014
By: Bear51
from Tulsa, Oklahoma
"These slim fly boxes from Orvis are the best . they are so much easier to carry in my fly vest taking up less room . And they function perfectly which is what you get with Orvis Products. Will be ordering some more for my brother's birthday coming up soon ."
Review 5 for Super Slim Shirt-Pocket Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Neat Little Box,
April 12, 2014
By: flymax
from Northern New York
"Works great when you only need a few specific flies and want to travel light."
Review 6 for Super Slim Shirt-Pocket Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great little Case,
March 31, 2014
By: JayRas
"The Super Slim Shirt-Pocket Fly Box was just what I needed. Didn't want to be bogged down with all my gear after a log day of great fishing, I took a few of my favorites flies and finished out the day until sunset. Great product!"
Review 7 for Super Slim Shirt-Pocket Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super fly box!,
January 15, 2014
By: Rdouglas
from Charlotte, NC
"I love the size and versatility of this fly box! It easily fits into the pocket of a shirt, pants, or waders and there's room for more than one. It even floats!"
Review 8 for Super Slim Shirt-Pocket Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like it!,
December 25, 2013
By: TerryH
from Corona, Ca.
"Perfect size for carrying some midges, nymphs, and small dries in my pocket while wading a stream. Very slim and compact. Well made and attractive."
Review 9 for Super Slim Shirt-Pocket Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Handy Box,
October 14, 2013
By: 12FliesPerWeek
from SW, CO
"This is a handy little box to hold your small and tiny flies. Nymphs, emergers and even small dries sit well on the white magnet. Clasp works well and box is very thin."
Review 10 for Super Slim Shirt-Pocket Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just the Right Size,
September 5, 2013
By: vwFlyGuy
from Tiverton, RI
"Purchased the seven row style and it is absolutely perfect. It not only holds those smaller flies as expected but does fit easily into a shirt pocket. WIth this size you could fit two in a pocket without difficulty. It is easy to open and close with just a snap."
Review 11 for Super Slim Shirt-Pocket Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good idea, but...,
August 1, 2013
By: KilgoreT
"Good concept, but the magnetic backing is too weak for me to trust it to hold flies in a breeze. For grins, I tested the fly-holding power of a few flat, flexible advertising magnets, and some were stronger than the one in this fly box."
Review 12 for Super Slim Shirt-Pocket Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great little fly boxes,
June 6, 2013
By: pitsfordman
from Northampton
"I've got several of these fly boxes now with different selections of flies in them. They are an excellent size for my waistcoat and shirt pockets. They are very light, slim, and have rounded corners, the magnets hold the dry flies securely enough. You can see the contents easily also which cuts down on time lost on the bank. The price is also afforded so the temptation is high with these things."
Review 13 for Super Slim Shirt-Pocket Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
May 21, 2013
By: flyfisher66
from Old Bridge, N.J.
"perfect for the minimalist, fits perfect in my small chest pack and the clear top makes it easy to see"
Review 14 for Super Slim Shirt-Pocket Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Minimal,
May 18, 2013
By: Dave41
from Round Rock, TX
"I love being able to go out on the water with one box of flies and one spool of tippet. This box securely holds plenty of flies, in a profile that's barely noticeable in a shirt pocket."
Review 15 for Super Slim Shirt-Pocket Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great nymph box,
February 11, 2013
By: Dawnwan
from Calgary Alberta
"This is one on the best boxes out there to store lots of patterns . The patterns for the day can be put in your pocket. Very efficient!!"
Review 16 for Super Slim Shirt-Pocket Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Extremely versatile & easily accessible,
January 30, 2013
By: JMCsr
from Bettendorf, Iowa
"Extremely versatile and easily accessible for those "quick and short into the stream" visits. Fits nicely into your shirt pocket, or a vest."
Review 17 for Super Slim Shirt-Pocket Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Compact Fly Box,
December 28, 2012
By: CSMW
"I love this fly box, I just slip it into a back pocket and go. I am a minimalist fly fisher, so I don't carry hundreds of fly's. This is perfect for my dry's, I have another slit version of this box for my nymphs."
Review 18 for Super Slim Shirt-Pocket Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best fly box ever,
December 27, 2012
By: Jmhall
from Beaumont, TX
"Great thin flybox fits right in the shirt pocket no sweat holds plentyof flies for a day on the water, and the magnetic base feature is great. Couldnt be any better."
Review 19 for Super Slim Shirt-Pocket Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best little fly box.,
November 30, 2012
By: TLSchiavone
from Phoenix, AZ
"A ORVIS fly shop turn me on to one when I was re-stocking some flies on the San Juan River in New Mexico. I love this little slim fly box so much I ordered two more online from ORVIS. The magnet backing holds your flies in place so you don't have to worry about losing them while opening the fly box or while grabbing a fly. Perfect size for shirt pocket, wader pocket, or waist pack. Most of us fly fisher are no longer wear the fly vest. These small slim fly boxes take up very little space.
Another Excellent ORVIS Product."
Review 20 for Super Slim Shirt-Pocket Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Neat Little Box,
November 9, 2012
By: flymax
from Northern New York
"I use this box when I know I only need a couple of different types of flies and will be traveling light. Instead of carrying multiple boxes I select only the few flies I know I will use. The magnetic bottom holds the flies in place well and it is thin enough to fit in my shirt pocket. Functional little item."