Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hydros® Strap Vest

Our men's adjustable vest is the perfect hybrid. Lighter than a vest, but more capacity than a chest pack. 28 total pockets with specific design functions for everything from fly boxes to thermometers. Adjustable suspension system allows custom fit. Padded air mesh shoulder straps provide the ultimate in comfort and breathability. Men's adjustable vest in putty. Nylon with DWR coating. Washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
23 of 24(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hydros® Strap Vest
Review 1 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great vest,
May 18, 2015
By: blk850ci
from Haverhill, MA
"Great vest! Has many pockets and is well thought out. You can't go wrong with this."
Review 2 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Adjustable,
May 5, 2015
By: Morgan44
"I need a vest that is adjustable not just for my shape but depending on how much i load it, which depends on the day and the river. This vest does it perfectly."
Review 3 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best vest I have ever had,
April 28, 2015
By: Biggradey
from Halifax PA
"This vest is awesome. It is very comfortable, all my fly boxes and other gear fit perfectly, and I really like the pouches in the rear for water bottles that you reach while you are wading without having to take the vest off."
Review 4 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good But Could Be Better,
March 31, 2015
By: Kris420
from East Yorkshire
"First off it appears to be well made and from quality materials, I guess time will be the test of that.
Functionality is good as far as pocket positions are concerned. Pockets are well,sized in general but it could have done with a couple of bigger tippet pockets for the bulkier 100m spools. The magnetic patches are good and hold nippers and small forceps well enough.The rear pockets could have done to have a couple of compartments higher up so that your everything doesn't slump down to the bottom. Not ideal if you go a bit too deep and you are trying to keep your spare jacket dry. It could have done with a few more D Rings. Amazingly there is nowhere to hitch a wading staff, given that this is a major piece of safety equipment for many anglers I find this very disappointing. For a premium brand and a product at a premium price I have to say that it could have been better. I would appreciate opinions from Orvis if they are willing.
"
Review 5 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
October 8, 2014
By: Rdurham
from Loveland, CO
"I purchased this for my husband for his birthday....he loves it!"
Review 6 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No.1 vest,
September 9, 2014
By: Dryflyman
from Edinburgh UK
"Delighted with this vest after great deliberation over similar brands of vests in this range. This is a first class vest which has been well thought out and obviously designed by anglers! How many pockets do you really need on a vest? This one has the right amount in the right places. The vest is adjustable for a very comfortable fit. The quality of materials and construction is superb. I would recommend anyone looking to buy a vest in this range to check this one out."
Review 7 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Yet,
July 8, 2014
By: piedmontpete
from Eden, NC
"After frustrations with a tackle pack style carrier and another vest, I upgraded to this vest. I tested it on 4 hard days last week and it felt comfortable, even with a water bottle and the net hooked on. More pockets than I needed, which is good! My shoulders were not sore toting it for up to six hours straight."
Review 8 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Vest,
June 17, 2014
By: Goalie
"This vest is comfortable and has plenty of pockets nicely situated."
Review 9 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Balance,
February 17, 2014
By: Flyfishmatt
from New Hampshire
"I have worn Simm's vest for the last 20 years. I noticed that the distribution of the pockets and weight was very high. It was always difficult to access the top pockets because it rode so high. I felt like the Michelin Man with four small fly boxes, fly dope, and two reel spools. I have been looking for a replacement for the last two years.
I finally found the right vest. This vest keeps everything close while providing more arm movement. The adjustable straps allow you to keep it high for deep wading or lower for stream fishing. I have tried back packs, slings and lanyards. None have provided the versatility of this vest. Just enough room for everything without the bulk or weight. I have been flyfishing for 35 years and this is the best thought out product I have tried. You should give it a look. I am 6'4" 235lbs and can fit into a large. Great product!
"
Review 10 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FINALLY, SOMEONE GOT IT RIGHT!!,
October 10, 2013
By: StreamerMan
"I've been flyfishing for 30 years, gone through many vests and chestpacks and never had enough large pockets to carry all my fly boxes. The ten large pockets in the Hydros vest is more than enough now. Have one left for my camera and one I have not yet filled. The magnets work great, plenty strong enough and the three tool pockets are nice, right where you want them. The two cargo pockets on the back are large enough for a light weight rain jacket, lunch, spare reels and spools and more. The weight of the fully loaded vest carries well. Very easy to put on and take off, even though I'm a size 2XL and wearing a sweater underneath. THIS ONE IS A WINNER!! I hope that it lasts as long as the other Orvis vests that I have owned."
Review 11 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HUBBY LOVE,
August 5, 2013
By: TVtootsie
from Kelowna, BC
"Well I got something right in the fly-fishing world ... got hubby this great vest and he loves it. It's lighter in weight than his old vest and has more pouches and pockets. He wants his fly-fishing partner to get one so more business for Orvis!! Thanks for the "hubby love" that I got for purchasing this great vest."
Review 12 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does exactly as advertised,
June 2, 2013
By: Bill3
from Williamsport, MD
"Do you get a vest, a waist pack, or a sling pack? I bought this product because sometimes I need the extra capacity of a vest. You know, lunch, a wading jacket, some water, and the bonus of having a place to hook your net. It's a quality product."
Review 13 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
One size doesn't fit all,
December 1, 2012
By: willow03
"Hubby wears an XL and this didn't even come close to fitting him. The quality is exceptional and the weight is perfect but it won't fit anyone who wears greater than a Large. I wish that came in size selections because I would instantly order another -- but alas, it doesn't. Back it goes. :("
Review 14 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I never planed to purchase...,
November 13, 2012
By: Andrey
"Until I put this vest on. It sits so comfortable on me that I could not say to myself no. Fishing trip after no doubt it worse the money."
Review 15 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lightweight and sturdy,
October 26, 2012
By: Wass1
from Bakersfield, CA
"Lightweight in my warm weather country. Very comfortable. Plenty of room for the fisher that carries everything, but perfect for the minimilist. Magnets for the tools a great idea. Stops the dangly-tanglies.The forceps magnet could be a touch stronger. I am 6 feet, 230 pounds and it adjusts perfect to my frame."
Review 16 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Vest,
October 24, 2012
By: Fancyboy
from California
"This is the most comfortable and usable vest/chest pack I have ever used. It carries a ton (even my water and a lunch) and is more comfortable than any other system I've used. A winner!"
Review 17 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Vest.,
September 17, 2012
By: Anonymous
"Excellent vest. Its utility purpose, comfort, design and great style suits all my needs and exceeded my exectations. It is my first choice for fly fishing."
Review 18 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great vest .... except,
August 10, 2012
By: Dugie
from Colorado Springs, CO
"The other reviews all cover the pros of this vest and I agree with them all. However, I'm 6'6" and weigh in at 240. I found the girth of the vest isn't sufficient to accomodate my 38" waist. I strongly recommend that they increase the side straps to allow additional inches for guys that are XXL. I will figure out a way to adapt. They need a size XXL or larger that will allow for winter fishing with more layers of clothing."
Review 19 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light and comfortable,
June 6, 2012
By: AceCurry
from Charleston, West Virginia
"Lightest and most comfortable vest I have ever owned. I can't wait to spend a full day on the water with this vest."
Review 20 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An excellent vest,
May 31, 2012
By: TroutVol71
from East Tennessee
"I'll not repeat what others have said regarding this vest, only add some new thoughts. I have not had any rear mesh pocket stiching issues, and I use that pocket for my water bottle. Hopefully, it will hold up. I, too, have tried every design on the market from old school vests to waist packs to sling packs, etc., and find the Hydros most comfortable system that I have encountered. I can almost forget it's there, but have everything I need for headwaters trout fishing, and the pockets are laid out well.
My only criticism is that the forceps slot is too loose to be of use. Bend over to net a fish and they slide out and are gone. The vest material and various flaps are too thick to make a good, handy clamp spot.
A very good vest. I'm considering getting a second one and putting it away for when this one wears out. My last favorite was held together by repair stitching, staples, paper clips, epoxy glue and prayers..."