Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hydros® Strap Vest

Our men's adjustable vest is the perfect hybrid. Lighter than a vest, but more capacity than a chest pack. 28 total pockets with specific design functions for everything from fly boxes to thermometers. Adjustable suspension system allows custom fit. Padded air mesh shoulder straps provide the ultimate in comfort and breathability. Men's adjustable vest in putty. Nylon with DWR coating. Washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.737 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
18 of 19(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hydros® Strap Vest
Review 1 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No.1 vest,
September 9, 2014
By: Dryflyman
from Edinburgh UK
"Delighted with this vest after great deliberation over similar brands of vests in this range. This is a first class vest which has been well thought out and obviously designed by anglers! How many pockets do you really need on a vest? This one has the right amount in the right places. The vest is adjustable for a very comfortable fit. The quality of materials and construction is superb. I would recommend anyone looking to buy a vest in this range to check this one out."
Review 2 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Yet,
July 8, 2014
By: piedmontpete
from Eden, NC
"After frustrations with a tackle pack style carrier and another vest, I upgraded to this vest. I tested it on 4 hard days last week and it felt comfortable, even with a water bottle and the net hooked on. More pockets than I needed, which is good! My shoulders were not sore toting it for up to six hours straight."
Review 3 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Vest,
June 17, 2014
By: Goalie
"This vest is comfortable and has plenty of pockets nicely situated."
Review 4 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Balance,
February 17, 2014
By: Flyfishmatt
from New Hampshire
"I have worn Simm's vest for the last 20 years. I noticed that the distribution of the pockets and weight was very high. It was always difficult to access the top pockets because it rode so high. I felt like the Michelin Man with four small fly boxes, fly dope, and two reel spools. I have been looking for a replacement for the last two years.
I finally found the right vest. This vest keeps everything close while providing more arm movement. The adjustable straps allow you to keep it high for deep wading or lower for stream fishing. I have tried back packs, slings and lanyards. None have provided the versatility of this vest. Just enough room for everything without the bulk or weight. I have been flyfishing for 35 years and this is the best thought out product I have tried. You should give it a look. I am 6'4" 235lbs and can fit into a large. Great product!
"
Review 5 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FINALLY, SOMEONE GOT IT RIGHT!!,
October 10, 2013
By: StreamerMan
"I've been flyfishing for 30 years, gone through many vests and chestpacks and never had enough large pockets to carry all my fly boxes. The ten large pockets in the Hydros vest is more than enough now. Have one left for my camera and one I have not yet filled. The magnets work great, plenty strong enough and the three tool pockets are nice, right where you want them. The two cargo pockets on the back are large enough for a light weight rain jacket, lunch, spare reels and spools and more. The weight of the fully loaded vest carries well. Very easy to put on and take off, even though I'm a size 2XL and wearing a sweater underneath. THIS ONE IS A WINNER!! I hope that it lasts as long as the other Orvis vests that I have owned."
Review 6 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HUBBY LOVE,
August 5, 2013
By: TVtootsie
from Kelowna, BC
"Well I got something right in the fly-fishing world ... got hubby this great vest and he loves it. It's lighter in weight than his old vest and has more pouches and pockets. He wants his fly-fishing partner to get one so more business for Orvis!! Thanks for the "hubby love" that I got for purchasing this great vest."
Review 7 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does exactly as advertised,
June 2, 2013
By: Bill3
from Williamsport, MD
"Do you get a vest, a waist pack, or a sling pack? I bought this product because sometimes I need the extra capacity of a vest. You know, lunch, a wading jacket, some water, and the bonus of having a place to hook your net. It's a quality product."
Review 8 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
One size doesn't fit all,
December 1, 2012
By: willow03
"Hubby wears an XL and this didn't even come close to fitting him. The quality is exceptional and the weight is perfect but it won't fit anyone who wears greater than a Large. I wish that came in size selections because I would instantly order another -- but alas, it doesn't. Back it goes. :("
Review 9 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I never planed to purchase...,
November 13, 2012
By: Andrey
"Until I put this vest on. It sits so comfortable on me that I could not say to myself no. Fishing trip after no doubt it worse the money."
Review 10 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lightweight and sturdy,
October 26, 2012
By: Wass1
from Bakersfield, CA
"Lightweight in my warm weather country. Very comfortable. Plenty of room for the fisher that carries everything, but perfect for the minimilist. Magnets for the tools a great idea. Stops the dangly-tanglies.The forceps magnet could be a touch stronger. I am 6 feet, 230 pounds and it adjusts perfect to my frame."
Review 11 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Vest,
October 24, 2012
By: Fancyboy
from California
"This is the most comfortable and usable vest/chest pack I have ever used. It carries a ton (even my water and a lunch) and is more comfortable than any other system I've used. A winner!"
Review 12 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Vest.,
September 17, 2012
By: Anonymous
"Excellent vest. Its utility purpose, comfort, design and great style suits all my needs and exceeded my exectations. It is my first choice for fly fishing."
Review 13 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great vest .... except,
August 10, 2012
By: Dugie
from Colorado Springs, CO
"The other reviews all cover the pros of this vest and I agree with them all. However, I'm 6'6" and weigh in at 240. I found the girth of the vest isn't sufficient to accomodate my 38" waist. I strongly recommend that they increase the side straps to allow additional inches for guys that are XXL. I will figure out a way to adapt. They need a size XXL or larger that will allow for winter fishing with more layers of clothing."
Review 14 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light and comfortable,
June 6, 2012
By: AceCurry
from Charleston, West Virginia
"Lightest and most comfortable vest I have ever owned. I can't wait to spend a full day on the water with this vest."
Review 15 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An excellent vest,
May 31, 2012
By: TroutVol71
from East Tennessee
"I'll not repeat what others have said regarding this vest, only add some new thoughts. I have not had any rear mesh pocket stiching issues, and I use that pocket for my water bottle. Hopefully, it will hold up. I, too, have tried every design on the market from old school vests to waist packs to sling packs, etc., and find the Hydros most comfortable system that I have encountered. I can almost forget it's there, but have everything I need for headwaters trout fishing, and the pockets are laid out well.
My only criticism is that the forceps slot is too loose to be of use. Bend over to net a fish and they slide out and are gone. The vest material and various flaps are too thick to make a good, handy clamp spot.
A very good vest. I'm considering getting a second one and putting it away for when this one wears out. My last favorite was held together by repair stitching, staples, paper clips, epoxy glue and prayers..."
Review 16 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Almost Perfect,
May 24, 2012
By: Swingflies
from Downingtown, PA
"I wanted to share two sides of the story.
First and foremost, the vest is very practical and manages the load effectively and evenly.
I've tried waist packs, sling packs and chest packs but can't seem to get comfortable.
I fish with traditional rods and spey rods and I'm not one to carry a ton of gear. I find the pockets well designed. I even use the zippered chest pockets to hide nippers, forceps and a sharpener keeping them out of the way when I swing flies. The box pocket on the right side is just large enough to handle a Bugger Barn, my choice for Spey Flies. Inside mesh pockets are too small for larger tippet spools but convenient for other accessories. Back pockets will handle rain jacket, lunch, water and a camera. Finally, with the front zipped, if you unclasp the sides, you can swing the entire vest around for easy access to the back pockets.
Now the only disappointment. After 2 days on the water, the stitching on the small rear mesh water pockets popped. I think that the banding should be more elastic to provide more give. Making the repair is disappointing.
Overall, the functionality and comfort offset this problem.
"
Review 17 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nearly perfect,
April 15, 2012
By: cameroia
from Aberdeen, Scotland
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"An excellent vest/pack, with well laid out & ample pockets, and comfy when fully laden.
Bought this from Orvis store in Banchory to replace my old vest. Wanted something light, but with space to carry water, sandwiches, raincoat as well as all my tackle - I often have long days on the river, walking a few miles, and like to carry provisions. Tried various backpacks, vests, waist packs before choosing this one.
This vest packs all my stuff - the rear pockets can easily hold a 1.5 litre hydration bladder, a 0.5 liter coffee flask, spare jacket or fleece, food - and yet is comfortable and doesn't feel like i'm weighed down.
Plenty of small front/inside pockets - ideal for keeping keys/permits/scale sampling kit/boxes etc separate and therefore quickly located.
Still getting to grips with front fly box pockets - a pair on each side, one zip opens to the left, one to the right - but i guess my hands will get used to them quickly - but the pockets are the right size for me (my fly boxes are usually 6" wide).
love the 6 tippet holders on the inside - ideal for storing & sorting tippet by X.
there's a pair of magnets, one either side - one keeps my nippers tidy, the other i've found handy for holding a fly when changing over - surprisingly useful.
The side straps allow for adjustment to the amount of clothing i'm wearing - handy in scotland where we can go from snow to sunshine in a few hours.
the over shoulder straps - i've got them pulled to the max - a minor niggle here, that the tag end has no where to go - i've had to fold and tuck it back under itself, but it seems to stay put.
the waist buckle - again, the tag end flaps about - i've added an elastic band and tucked the tag into that - small design change to add a loop to do that would have been a nice touch.
Only disappointment - I've had this vest for one week now, used it 5 times, and already the stitching has come away from one of the small rear mesh pockets, so i'll have to get that repaired. Hmm, not so robust for a product that cost £125.
However, that niggle aside, a great product. My last vest served me for 7 years; hope I get as many years of service from this one too."
Review 18 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Product,
February 28, 2012
By: Riverraider
from Eau Claire, WI
"This was little more than I would like to spend but well worth it! The vest is very comfortable, durable and light weight. The adjustable shoulder straps allows int to be worn in all conditions. Over a heavy winter jacket or a summer T shirt."
Review 19 for Hydros® Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pockets, pockets, pockets,
December 29, 2011
By: ellie0727
from South Alabama
"Item wasa just as promised. Many pockets, great for fly fishing."