Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Encounter Large Arbor Reel

The all new Orvis Encounter Large Arbor is a value-priced fly reel with the all the credentials of a much higher-priced large arbor. Made of a molded composite, the Encounter is extremely lightweight, but the inline, Rulon to stainless, stacked disc drag system is the most powerful in its price class making it the budget fly reel. Easy right- and left-hand conversion with a positive click drag knob to allow for consistent drag settings. For the budget-minded angler or a first fly reel, the Orvis Encounter Large Arbor is a no-compromise option.
Average Customer Rating:
4.71 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (93 reviews)
5 stars
72
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
90 of 93(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Review 1 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A GREAT REEL,
July 30, 2015
By: Shrinkrap
from London, UK
"Recently bought this reel to replace a very old one. It does exactly what it says. Large arbor, excellent drag system, lightweight, and a fair price. What more could you want?"
Review 2 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best value in fly reels,
June 2, 2015
By: Davesflybench
"I've been sold on Orvis reels since purchasing my CFO IV and Battenkill III many years ago. They served me well, but as I started building fly rods for family and friends, I started looking for a quality reel at a reasonable price so I could give them a complete outfit. The Encounter Large Arbor was the answer! It's performance is equal to or better than reels three times the price. Along with gifting them, I also use them. They are lightweight, tough, left/right crank, and the dual drag is smooth and reliable, and they look great. I've given away several and have 4 in my "inventory" for nieces and nephews Christmas gifts. It is the best value in fly reels I have ever seen. I highly recommend them."
Review 3 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Spools Unavailable,
May 29, 2015
By: Adriano
from East Sussex
"The reel is fine, however, if you need to purchase additional spools for different lines, think again as they are no longer available."
Review 4 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Encounter reel,
May 28, 2015
By: Neil1962
from Wales
"Disappointed no spare spools are available to purchase however overall I am pleased with the quality and value for money of the encounter large arbor reel."
Review 5 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
5th Reel can't be bad,
May 5, 2015
By: cleuney
"This is the 5th encounter reel I have bought.
More tha adequate for any trout you are likely to encounter on any reservoir in the Midlands
"
Review 6 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Encounter LA II no longer available,
April 23, 2015
By: Devildad
from Malvern, PA
"I have a IV that I use for fishing Strippers. It is great, good design and fine drag. However I am greatly disappointed that Orvis is no longer offering the Encounter LA II. I wanted to buy one for my wife and I have been told that they will no longer be available, shame. I was also told that an extra spool for the LA IV is no longer available. Shame"
Review 7 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Price Is Right,
April 20, 2015
By: jeffmtnman
from Eastern Pennsylvania
"First attraction was the price but this reel is a winner all around. Light weight, smooth drag. Love the clickable drag setting."
Review 8 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Large Arbor Reel,
April 1, 2015
By: Dr8wt
from Pittsburgh, PA
"I recently bought this reel for my son as his first fly reel - initially I purchased the larger reel (which was a little big for his rod) but the staff at my local store was awesome and helped me do an exchange for the smaller one.
Initially, I bought this thinking it would be more durable and could withstand a lot, being polymer - because I didn't want my 12 yr old to beat up an expensive reel. When it arrived and I had it spooled up for him I was very surprised - it has a great feel - it's a nice weight to compliment a 5/6 rod and has a has a smooth drag that's comfortable to and easy to adjust. There's no play in the spindle and it has a smooth retrieve...
Overall it seems like a great little reel that's good looking, durable and won't break the bank. I'm definitely going to buy another for myself as an everyday reel that I won't mind fishing hard and beating up some -"
Review 9 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great newbee reel,
March 23, 2015
By: Song
from Carmel, IN
"Just like other Orvis fly fishing gear, valuable for your each penny. I used once last Saturday, feel no problem to fight with a 7lb grass carp with this reel. I probably will get the light one for pan fish fishing as well."
Review 10 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
it's just so good,
March 4, 2015
By: ruger461
from Enid OK
"Preface, I am a beginning fly fisher. Put this Encounter II reel on a Clearwater 9' 5wt rod and just love it. It will take a long time for my skill to develop enough that I will be able to even see the difference in this reel and a more expensive one. I can't believe the quality for the price."
Review 11 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly What I Expected!!!,
February 26, 2015
By: Butch81
from Smith River, Ca
"This is a Large Arbor Light weight reel with everything it takes to fight and land Salmon and Steelhead!!!
You can't go wrong with Orvis.
"
Review 12 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent drag,
February 26, 2015
By: SkyeSalmo
from Isle of Skye, Scotland
"I now have 3 if these reels, absolutely superb. I use them for salmon fishing at home in scotland, last year I used one for Bonefish in Mexico, the drag handled Bonefish runs all day long without a problem.
Nice fast retrieve too.
Stop thinking about buying one and just add it to your basket, you'll not be disappointed.
"
Review 13 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality product,
February 21, 2015
By: oldyankee
from Western Massachusetts
"I just received my Orvis Encounter Large Arbor fly reel today. The reel is lite-weight and has a smooth drag. The line capacity is what I was looking for in a large arbor reel. I can put 250 yards of 20lb backing on with my Orvis Trout WF6F line. The reel is very durable (see video) and looks good."
Review 14 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Encounter Large Arbor Reel,
February 6, 2015
By: redeyehawk
from No. Swanzey, NH
"!7 fly reels have passed through my hands over time. Five of them are still with me...four are Orvis reels... the Encounter is one. This graphite reel is one tough, yet precise example of what I call "the pick of the litter". I like the numerous "vents" in the spool and frame, to dry and drain. I like the push-button spool release and the traditional spool-shaped handle. The drag is smooth and well protected. I will be buying another and would put the Encounter reel at the top of the gift list for anyone.Thanks for a classic."
Review 15 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Encounter LA 11,
January 28, 2015
By: Bibio
from N.Ireland
"Great value, well made lightweight reel. Impressive in the hand and a joy to use on the rod."
Review 16 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid upgrade from big box cheapies,
January 9, 2015
By: RandomGuy
from South Carolina
"Been using a fly rod for bluegill since I was a kid, always with cheap big-box store combo setups. This reel is a huge upgrade over those, at just a slightly higher price"
Review 17 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Large Arbor Reel,
December 16, 2014
By: Biff444
from Steamboat Springs, Colorado
"For the price this reel is an excellent addition to quick selection of floating and sinking lines. Much quicker to change out the whole reel when the fish more from deep feeding to surface feeding."
Review 18 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good budget reel,
November 14, 2014
By: Islaytolondon
from London
"It isn't the sexiest design in the world, but its a good practical reel. I've used it for salmon on a spate river, and had a crack at some sea bass. Seems pretty versatile."
Review 19 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Encounter LA Reel,
November 14, 2014
By: Taylormade66
from Netherlands, europe
"Beautiful reel , really good value for money, robust in construction , supe lightweight and a perfect addition to any fisherman's collection !"
Review 20 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Reel,
November 9, 2014
By: acricky
from Apollo Beach, Florida
"An excellent reel does the job of much more expensive reels. Better to spend your money on a higher end rod and line. I don't bother with spare spools I just buy another reel. I own 5 of them and just ordered another. Magic."