Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Encounter Large Arbor Reel

The all new Orvis Encounter Large Arbor is a value-priced fly reel with the all the credentials of a much higher-priced large arbor. Made of a molded composite, the Encounter is extremely lightweight, but the inline, Rulon to stainless, stacked disc drag system is the most powerful in its price class making it the budget fly reel. Easy right- and left-hand conversion with a positive click drag knob to allow for consistent drag settings. For the budget-minded angler or a first fly reel, the Orvis Encounter Large Arbor is a no-compromise option.
Average Customer Rating:
4.688 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (77 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
16
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
75 of 77(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Review 1 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Large Arbor Reel,
December 16, 2014
By: Biff444
from Steamboat Springs, Colorado
"For the price this reel is an excellent addition to quick selection of floating and sinking lines. Much quicker to change out the whole reel when the fish more from deep feeding to surface feeding."
Review 2 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good budget reel,
November 14, 2014
By: Islaytolondon
from London
"It isn't the sexiest design in the world, but its a good practical reel. I've used it for salmon on a spate river, and had a crack at some sea bass. Seems pretty versatile."
Review 3 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Encounter LA Reel,
November 14, 2014
By: Taylormade66
from Netherlands, europe
"Beautiful reel , really good value for money, robust in construction , supe lightweight and a perfect addition to any fisherman's collection !"
Review 4 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Reel,
November 9, 2014
By: acricky
from Apollo Beach, Florida
"An excellent reel does the job of much more expensive reels. Better to spend your money on a higher end rod and line. I don't bother with spare spools I just buy another reel. I own 5 of them and just ordered another. Magic."
Review 5 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thanks, Orvis, for high quality at a bargain price,
October 1, 2014
By: BobLePecheur
from Northern California
"I like machined billet as much as any man, but in my opinion it's unnecessary for most fly reel applications. After all, there's a lot of composite in handguns these days.
I've had my Encounter II for a couple years now, paired with a high-end 6-wt rod. Caught a lot of fish, big and small. This thing is bulletproof -- I like never having to baby it. The money I saved on the reel and extra spools paid for another nice rod.
My only, small, complaint is that setting the drag takes more finger torque than it should."
Review 6 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great low cost reel,
August 9, 2014
By: terryraber
from N. Ga. Mountain Streams
"While I would prefer a smaller diameter spool, the reel is very light and quiet, the drag works great."
Review 7 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Encounter Large Arbor Reel,
June 20, 2014
By: SpokaneBill
from Spokane, WA
"Received on time and perfect condition. Can't wait to get the line on and hit the rivers."
Review 8 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Reel,
June 5, 2014
By: GeauxFishing
"I like this reel so much that I purchased a second one! An excellent value and performance."
Review 9 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great beginner,
April 23, 2014
By: roadrash7622
from Denver, CO
"I am a beginner with a fly rod and bought a more exspensvive ($100) reel and the click mechanism stopped working right away. The drag mechanism and bearings aren't enclosed or sealed so as soon as I got the reel wet it began acting up, re-lubricating it didn't help much and I couldn't even get an extra spool for it. This reel is way better for a beginner. It is much smoother than the more expensive reel. I was sceptic about the composite material it is made from, but despite very little flex in the spool when about 15 pounds of tension is put on the line it holds up pretty well."
Review 10 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice reel,
April 11, 2014
By: 870expressmag
"very well built, very solid, drag is smooth, very happy, mated well with my redington ct 5wt"
Review 11 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great reel - its tough!,
April 10, 2014
By: Garioch
from Aberdeenshire, Scotland
"I bought the IV specifically for use on the coast/rocks for saltwater fishing for Pollock, Mackeral and Sea Trout. It has also been teamed up with a 7 weight Access and used for streamer fishing for large brown trout.
I love the reel. It does not matter if I bash it off a rock or lay it down on a concrete jetty, it takes all the knocks with ease.
It really sits nicely on the Access too, balancing it well.
Well worth buying as a proper "knock about" reel if you dont want to damage your more expensive Battenkills and Access reels."
Review 12 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Built for abuse,
April 4, 2014
By: Steelhead13
from Akron, OH
"This reel is awesome! You don't have to worry about it getting scratched while rigging up your rod. You don't have to worry about it breaking if you drop it. Watch the video they have here and you'll see what I'm talking about."
Review 13 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent sea reel,
April 2, 2014
By: ianmandyb
from Buckinghamshire UK
"I used the reel for sea fishing because it is moulded. I just purchased another spool for my Bass fishing shooting head."
Review 14 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not used yet,
April 1, 2014
By: Alwaysask
from WI
"The feel of the reel while loading backing and line was telling of tight tolerances. I bought two, one each for a lefty and a righty kid. Time will unveil the durability and performance of the reels (and dad's patience)."
Review 15 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ready for anything !,
March 28, 2014
By: Mainebigfoot
from In rivers and streams of Maine
"Now when I'm fishing for Salmon on East Grand Lake this spring I can switch from a floating fly line to a sinking line by simply switching the spool on my Encounter Large Arbor Reel . This will make my fishing fast and easy for anything the fish are doing . I am very please with the quality of this Orvis reel!"
Review 16 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
quality and priced right!,
March 21, 2014
By: BigTimeYukon
from Whitehorse,Yukon .Canada
"Just received this reel and already I can tell that this is a step above the rest.Even with the impact resistant plastic this reel does not have a "plastic cheap" feel. Being a lefty switching retrieve sides was a snap ...literally just pop out the slip bearing and flip it around snap back together and your off fishing! Great reel Ovris I'll be adding more to my arsenal.
-Jon
BigTimeYukon
"
Review 17 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This Is A Great Reel!,
January 25, 2014
By: cyangler
from Northeastern Massachusetts
"The first thing that impressed me was the aesthetic consideration put into the design. Both functionally and in appearance. Next I would have been surprised, if this weren't an Orvis product, at how close the tolerances are, no slop whatever. And in line with that, the fantastic disc drag mechanism provided in this price point. Truly, a great value in a large arbor reel. On top of it all, the spool wound up holding more backing than the conservative estimate given by Orvis. Once again, Orvis has provided a great product at a great price."
Review 18 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't Go Wrong With Orvis,
January 15, 2014
By: SlummingForTrout
from Ontario Canada
"I'm vary impressed for the price. Its robust and the drag is smooth."
Review 19 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great reel,
January 2, 2014
By: akfisher
from Homer,AK
"Used this reel on Sockeye and Silver Salmon in Alaska and have nothing but praise for it, in fact, purchased another one for my daughter. Great drag system,enough to stop a red heading down the Kenai R. The price is right too!"
Review 20 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent reel,
December 20, 2013
By: Wildbrownie
from Amersham England UK
"The Encounter is an excellent reel for the money. I purchased it because it is moulded plastic which is perfect for sea fishing. It is not of the same quality as my BLA's but they are three times the cost. For the money it is perfect for a beginner or someone like me who doesn't want to ruin expensive reels with sea water. Off to buy a spare spool or three cheap at £23 each."