Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Encounter Large Arbor Reel

The all new Orvis Encounter Large Arbor is a value-priced fly reel with the all the credentials of a much higher-priced large arbor. Made of a molded composite, the Encounter is extremely lightweight, but the inline, Rulon to stainless, stacked disc drag system is the most powerful in its price class making it the budget fly reel. Easy right- and left-hand conversion with a positive click drag knob to allow for consistent drag settings. For the budget-minded angler or a first fly reel, the Orvis Encounter Large Arbor is a no-compromise option.
Average Customer Rating:
4.718 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (85 reviews)
5 stars
66
4 stars
16
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
83 of 85(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Review 1 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great newbee reel,
March 23, 2015
By: Song
from Carmel, IN
"Just like other Orvis fly fishing gear, valuable for your each penny. I used once last Saturday, feel no problem to fight with a 7lb grass carp with this reel. I probably will get the light one for pan fish fishing as well."
Review 2 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
it's just so good,
March 4, 2015
By: ruger461
from Enid OK
"Preface, I am a beginning fly fisher. Put this Encounter II reel on a Clearwater 9' 5wt rod and just love it. It will take a long time for my skill to develop enough that I will be able to even see the difference in this reel and a more expensive one. I can't believe the quality for the price."
Review 3 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly What I Expected!!!,
February 26, 2015
By: Butch81
from Smith River, Ca
"This is a Large Arbor Light weight reel with everything it takes to fight and land Salmon and Steelhead!!!
You can't go wrong with Orvis.
"
Review 4 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent drag,
February 26, 2015
By: SkyeSalmo
from Isle of Skye, Scotland
"I now have 3 if these reels, absolutely superb. I use them for salmon fishing at home in scotland, last year I used one for Bonefish in Mexico, the drag handled Bonefish runs all day long without a problem.
Nice fast retrieve too.
Stop thinking about buying one and just add it to your basket, you'll not be disappointed.
"
Review 5 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality product,
February 21, 2015
By: oldyankee
from Western Massachusetts
"I just received my Orvis Encounter Large Arbor fly reel today. The reel is lite-weight and has a smooth drag. The line capacity is what I was looking for in a large arbor reel. I can put 250 yards of 20lb backing on with my Orvis Trout WF6F line. The reel is very durable (see video) and looks good."
Review 6 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Encounter Large Arbor Reel,
February 6, 2015
By: redeyehawk
from No. Swanzey, NH
"!7 fly reels have passed through my hands over time. Five of them are still with me...four are Orvis reels... the Encounter is one. This graphite reel is one tough, yet precise example of what I call "the pick of the litter". I like the numerous "vents" in the spool and frame, to dry and drain. I like the push-button spool release and the traditional spool-shaped handle. The drag is smooth and well protected. I will be buying another and would put the Encounter reel at the top of the gift list for anyone.Thanks for a classic."
Review 7 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Encounter LA 11,
January 28, 2015
By: Bibio
from N.Ireland
"Great value, well made lightweight reel. Impressive in the hand and a joy to use on the rod."
Review 8 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid upgrade from big box cheapies,
January 9, 2015
By: RandomGuy
from South Carolina
"Been using a fly rod for bluegill since I was a kid, always with cheap big-box store combo setups. This reel is a huge upgrade over those, at just a slightly higher price"
Review 9 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Large Arbor Reel,
December 16, 2014
By: Biff444
from Steamboat Springs, Colorado
"For the price this reel is an excellent addition to quick selection of floating and sinking lines. Much quicker to change out the whole reel when the fish more from deep feeding to surface feeding."
Review 10 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good budget reel,
November 14, 2014
By: Islaytolondon
from London
"It isn't the sexiest design in the world, but its a good practical reel. I've used it for salmon on a spate river, and had a crack at some sea bass. Seems pretty versatile."
Review 11 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Encounter LA Reel,
November 14, 2014
By: Taylormade66
from Netherlands, europe
"Beautiful reel , really good value for money, robust in construction , supe lightweight and a perfect addition to any fisherman's collection !"
Review 12 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Reel,
November 9, 2014
By: acricky
from Apollo Beach, Florida
"An excellent reel does the job of much more expensive reels. Better to spend your money on a higher end rod and line. I don't bother with spare spools I just buy another reel. I own 5 of them and just ordered another. Magic."
Review 13 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thanks, Orvis, for high quality at a bargain price,
October 1, 2014
By: BobLePecheur
from Northern California
"I like machined billet as much as any man, but in my opinion it's unnecessary for most fly reel applications. After all, there's a lot of composite in handguns these days.
I've had my Encounter II for a couple years now, paired with a high-end 6-wt rod. Caught a lot of fish, big and small. This thing is bulletproof -- I like never having to baby it. The money I saved on the reel and extra spools paid for another nice rod.
My only, small, complaint is that setting the drag takes more finger torque than it should."
Review 14 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great low cost reel,
August 9, 2014
By: terryraber
from N. Ga. Mountain Streams
"While I would prefer a smaller diameter spool, the reel is very light and quiet, the drag works great."
Review 15 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Encounter Large Arbor Reel,
June 20, 2014
By: SpokaneBill
from Spokane, WA
"Received on time and perfect condition. Can't wait to get the line on and hit the rivers."
Review 16 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Reel,
June 5, 2014
By: GeauxFishing
"I like this reel so much that I purchased a second one! An excellent value and performance."
Review 17 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great beginner,
April 23, 2014
By: roadrash7622
from Denver, CO
"I am a beginner with a fly rod and bought a more exspensvive ($100) reel and the click mechanism stopped working right away. The drag mechanism and bearings aren't enclosed or sealed so as soon as I got the reel wet it began acting up, re-lubricating it didn't help much and I couldn't even get an extra spool for it. This reel is way better for a beginner. It is much smoother than the more expensive reel. I was sceptic about the composite material it is made from, but despite very little flex in the spool when about 15 pounds of tension is put on the line it holds up pretty well."
Review 18 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice reel,
April 11, 2014
By: 870expressmag
"very well built, very solid, drag is smooth, very happy, mated well with my redington ct 5wt"
Review 19 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great reel - its tough!,
April 10, 2014
By: Garioch
from Aberdeenshire, Scotland
"I bought the IV specifically for use on the coast/rocks for saltwater fishing for Pollock, Mackeral and Sea Trout. It has also been teamed up with a 7 weight Access and used for streamer fishing for large brown trout.
I love the reel. It does not matter if I bash it off a rock or lay it down on a concrete jetty, it takes all the knocks with ease.
It really sits nicely on the Access too, balancing it well.
Well worth buying as a proper "knock about" reel if you dont want to damage your more expensive Battenkills and Access reels."
Review 20 for Encounter Large Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Built for abuse,
April 4, 2014
By: Steelhead13
from Akron, OH
"This reel is awesome! You don't have to worry about it getting scratched while rigging up your rod. You don't have to worry about it breaking if you drop it. Watch the video they have here and you'll see what I'm talking about."