Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel

Finally a cast aluminum large arbor fly fishing reel that's lightweight enough to balance properly with your favorite fly rod and truly the best value fly reel around. Two years in design and development and with a powerful inline, Rulon® to stainless, stacked disc drag that can hold its own with high-performance machined reels, the all new Clearwater Large-Arbor costs significantly less than its machined cousins, but has not only the looks, but the guts of a higher-priced version. Easily converted to either left- or right-hand retrieve, the Clearwater fly reel has a positive click drag knob for consistent settings every time. Whether you're looking for your first large arbor, fishing on a budget, or want a spare or two in the bag, the new Clearwater Large-Arbor can handle anything a machined reel can and completely changes the game in die cast reels.
Average Customer Rating:
4.706 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (102 reviews)
5 stars
78
4 stars
19
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
100 of 102(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Review 1 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clearwater Rocks!,
October 8, 2012
By: bigsur
from Great Smokies TN
"This is my second recent purchase of an Orvis Reel. I purchased an Encounter for my back up reel and was impressed by the the smothness of the action and drag. I thought the Clearwater being machined would be a bigger improvment over my existing primary reel so orderd online and received shortly after. New line and backing the next morning after I received and on the stream in the Great Smokies that afternoon. Fished a small stream and a larger one and the Clearwater rocked on both, line fed clean and smooth and cranked on the retrieve smooth and quiet. Great reel for the money could probably charge more but don't tell Orvis I said that!"
Review 2 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good product for the price,
December 17, 2014
By: NFLAflyfisherWM01
from Northeast FL
"The Clearwater Large-Arbor reel is a quality reel, smooth operation and smooth drag operation. The first time I used the Clearwater I took a largemouth bass using an Orvis Access 10' sink-tip line, so I'm happy. The spare spools are reasonable priced, so adding a couple of different lines to your arsenal is easier on the wallet. Changing spools is a breeze. Overall, I'm please with the Clearwater reel."
Review 3 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice for the Price,
December 16, 2014
By: Minutiae111
from Minden, NV
"I think this reel is a best-buy value for the price. It is well built, has a nice drag system, and has the large arbor that I wanted."
Review 4 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best reel ever,
November 4, 2014
By: Daveyboy1979
from Québec, Montréal
"This is one of my favorite reel i have in my fishing vest! This reel look like a very costly one and have every must have quality ."
Review 5 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase,
October 27, 2014
By: trouthookup1
from California Delta
"This reel is great for those that want a reel that has enough drag for most fish in freshwater up to 15 lbs. Its durable and light. Probably the best reel for the dollar. Great beginer reel."
Review 6 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Reel Fantastic Deal,
October 22, 2014
By: woozyboy
from Flagstaff, AZ
"I could not believe the steal I received on this Clear Water LA reel. It feels good in the hand, the finish is great, the function is fabulous and again the price was incredible! Again thanks Orvis for offering superior products at an extremely good price."
Review 7 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Review of Clearwater Reel,
October 13, 2014
By: Baileyone
from Lavallette, NJ
"The Clearwater reel has performed flawlessly even in saltwater, as long as it is cleaned after this environment. Purchased the reel to go along with an 8 weight Clearwater rod that I have had for 13 years. Great product for the money."
Review 8 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brown Trout Enforcer,
October 3, 2014
By: DocSavage
from Madras, OR
"I purchased this reel for my recent trip to the Owyhee River near Boise, ID. I landed 27 browns up to 24 inches sight fishing with Size #20 Trico's and BWO's. The disc drag was excellent, and I had plenty of backing, and the performance overall was great. Couple that with Hydros DT line, and you have a recipe for a magical day on the river."
Review 9 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great reel...,
August 28, 2014
By: NHFisherman
from New Hampshire
"I have used this reel for 12 months now and have had no problems. The drag is smooth, the reel is tough. The black finish has held up after use on both shore (rocks) and boat (rails, floor, seats, etc). Did not lock up in winter weather ( down to 28 degrees or so ).
A great reel. I expect it will last a long time.
"
Review 10 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Buy!,
August 10, 2014
By: BHole
"Just got this reel as a replacement, love it! Large arbor is the way to go!"
Review 11 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid as a rock,
August 5, 2014
By: Howie408
"Granted this is only my second fly reel but it is a definite upgrade from my previous one. You cant beat the price point either. I recommend getting the reel with the line loaded by Orvis. Well worth the time."
Review 12 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value,
July 29, 2014
By: flyflyfly
from Louisville, KY
"As a first time, or backup, reel, this one is hard to beat.
Smooth, light, and will stop a fast moving car. Or a 2 1/2 lb Rainbow!!"
Review 13 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just don't drop it,
July 26, 2014
By: RandyT
from Little rock, AR
"I've used this reel for a couple of months now it matches up nicely with the Clearwater rod, giving the outfit a nice balance. I've caught several trout on this, the largest was 4# and the drag worked great. It appears the reel is well designed, but I dropped it when trying to get it in the reel seat and pitted the aluminum and the paint/powder coat. Cosmetic on!y and probably justthe nature of the cast aluminum. I would not consider this a design flaw though as the reel is tough where it counts ."
Review 14 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Quality Reel,
July 4, 2014
By: PolskaFisher
from New York
"I bought this reel along with the Clearwater rod. This is great little reel! You get the Orvis quality without breaking the bank. It's just what I was looking for. The mechanics of this reel are very smooth. Pair it up with a Clearwater rod & you have yourself a nice rig!"
Review 15 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Greet Buy!,
July 3, 2014
By: Dominic123456654321
from El Paso, TX
"Great quality fr the price. Very happy with my Clearwater II."
Review 16 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Reel,
June 27, 2014
By: Fly11
from Central PA
"Clearwater reel is outstanding. Matched with the clearwater rod it cant be beat. Just got the combo rod and reel today and took it out for a test drive very impressive!
Thank you Orvis for a great product that is also affordable! Worth every penny.
"
Review 17 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hat Trick,
June 13, 2014
By: SpiCam
from Arlington TN
"The large arbor reel is a good value for the light weight, ease of disassembly and drag setting, all simple to me. But paired with the Orvis installed backing and paired with the Clearwater line is a good combination of price competitive, quality products. Delivery time was excellent. I already had an Orvis 5 WT rod."
Review 18 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great reel.,
June 5, 2014
By: morgat11
from Reno, NV
"I have had the reel for 2 months now and have used it on my 5wt many times already. The drag is a good system and the quality is better than most other reels at the same price and one of my old ones that cost even more. I plan on buying a few more to outfit all my rods with."
Review 19 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Reel,
June 4, 2014
By: Flyboy77
from Washington the State
"The Reel arrived the day before we departed on a weekend long trout expedition. It performed flawlessly, the drag was smooth and easy to adjust, handling many trout in the 2 to 6 lb class. While this reel is not cheap it is a great value!"
Review 20 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reel was as expected,
May 21, 2014
By: iliniwek54
"The online advertising for this reel was accurate. I attached it to a rod and worked it a bit, all was as I expected."