Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel

Finally a cast aluminum large arbor fly fishing reel that's lightweight enough to balance properly with your favorite fly rod and truly the best value fly reel around. Two years in design and development and with a powerful inline, Rulon® to stainless, stacked disc drag that can hold its own with high-performance machined reels, the all new Clearwater Large-Arbor costs significantly less than its machined cousins, but has not only the looks, but the guts of a higher-priced version. Easily converted to either left- or right-hand retrieve, the Clearwater fly reel has a positive click drag knob for consistent settings every time. Whether you're looking for your first large arbor, fishing on a budget, or want a spare or two in the bag, the new Clearwater Large-Arbor can handle anything a machined reel can and completely changes the game in die cast reels.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (119 reviews)
5 stars
93
4 stars
20
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
0
117 of 119(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Review 1 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clearwater Rocks!,
October 8, 2012
By: bigsur
from Great Smokies TN
"This is my second recent purchase of an Orvis Reel. I purchased an Encounter for my back up reel and was impressed by the the smothness of the action and drag. I thought the Clearwater being machined would be a bigger improvment over my existing primary reel so orderd online and received shortly after. New line and backing the next morning after I received and on the stream in the Great Smokies that afternoon. Fished a small stream and a larger one and the Clearwater rocked on both, line fed clean and smooth and cranked on the retrieve smooth and quiet. Great reel for the money could probably charge more but don't tell Orvis I said that!"
Review 2 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Reel,
May 27, 2015
By: JustinN
from Republic, MO
"This is mounted on my Clearwater 8'6" 4wt rod and looks great on it. Everything about the reel feels really nice and finished. It looks great and functions fantastically.
It is labeled a Large-Arbor Reel, but really doesn't seem all that big. Overall a great reel for the price."
Review 3 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Reel, As Good as a Mirage,
May 12, 2015
By: EdM1950
from Elkton,MD
"Great reel. I have two Clearwater IV and one Clearwater II reels and the drag is smooth and reliable. The spool moves almost frictionless when the drag is set low.
One of the best buys I've made from Orvis.
"
Review 4 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 27, 2015
By: BobSimo
"I bought this as part of the rod and reel combo and am very pleased with it. I have only been Steelhead fishing with it but it has held up great!"
Review 5 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clearwater reel,
April 17, 2015
By: Johnmc88
from Monroe, NY
"This is my 3rd reel. Love the performance, drag performs flawlessly when fish is on the reel"
Review 6 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Reel,
April 14, 2015
By: Learnerflyguy
from Toronto, On
"Fished a few times, caught my first and only brownie and enjoyed the experience with the reel."
Review 7 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best value,
April 8, 2015
By: Fishymon
from Driggs, ID
"I've paid more and got less for reels in the past. This smooth drag system, quick retrieve, weight ratio & excellent design is the best value I've found. I used it in Alaska with salmon ripping line off all day long and it stood up like a champion. Rinsed the salt off & new lubricant, it still performs like the first time out of the box. You won' be disappointed or loose fish to a poor drag system. Cheers-"
Review 8 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Still the Most bang for the buck,
April 6, 2015
By: Kokopelli26
from Des Moines WA
"This is my third Clearwater reel for which I have 7 spools loaded for instant line change. Well made, good drag, quick and easy spool change for my arthritic hands. Still the most reel for the $."
Review 9 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very good,
March 31, 2015
By: RevSum
from Richmond, Va
"The reel looks great, and I look forward to trying out on shad this spring on the James River."
Review 10 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed,
March 20, 2015
By: 1BG1
from Singapore / Houston
"I purchased the Hydros Bonefish #8 line (which was on sale) together with this Clearwater large arbor reel via online. The reel is to match my existing Encounter rod setup, which is a great setup by itself, just needed a back-up reel for my upcoming trip to Maldives.
While I had the chance to wet the line last weekend, on practise case, I realised that a section of the line had its coating peeling off and I can feel the roughage of the line when its running through my hand. Am not too sure if this was due to handling during line loading (in the shop) or deterioration of this line which was on sale.
A little disappointed, and I hope the line will last through my trip in Dec."
Review 11 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Reel,
January 27, 2015
By: RedBluff
from Allendale, SC
"This reel was purchased in combination with the 9' Clearwater rod. Great combo for my 12 year old for the rest of his life! We can change line and be able to switch from fresh to saltwater. We are very pleased."
Review 12 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect gift!,
January 6, 2015
By: mcpatty
from Alabama
"Our son can't wait to hit the water soon and put this gift to good use!"
Review 13 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Bang for the Buck,
January 5, 2015
By: Deanshunt
from Park City Utah
"I have fished with the Clearwater reels for over a year now from the Patagonia river in Argentina and the Green River of Utah to the Kenai River in Alaska. Fish from 1lb to 20lb and the Clearwater reel has never let me down. it has performed flawlessly and for the money I feel like it is a great value. I have not found a reel in that price range that will preform as well!!! I am sold."
Review 14 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Quality,
January 2, 2015
By: Bill1968
from Coral Springs, Fl.
"I purchased this Frequent Flyer combo to take along on our trips to the Smokey Mountains. I think anyone would have a hard time beating the value price and quality. This combo performed flawlessly and I'm very happy with my purchase."
Review 15 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid reel. Solid Value.,
January 2, 2015
By: Mtn2Sea
from Seattle
"I've purchased this reel twice now. Once for me and once for my Brother as a gift. Great reel for the $$$ plus cheap spools! I've giving it 4 out of 5 only because it's a little heavy, but that's a minor complaint for the value."
Review 16 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid and Light,
January 1, 2015
By: Edd42
"Wonderful, I'm Just getting into fly fishing for the first time and I ordered the Clearwater combo on a friends advice, without knowing a thing about casting I opened it and went straight to the yard in the middle of winter and was casting semi effective in no time, with a little help from my friend. When I ordered the combo I made a mistake on my shipping address when I entered it online and one quick call and they fixed it in seconds. Wonderful customer service. anxious for the spring. The reel is very sturdy and the drag has the most wonderful sounding drag ive heard yet."
Review 17 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Bass Reel,
December 24, 2014
By: dstriplett
"All you need for fighting large hard fighting bass and big smallmouths. Drag is amply smooth for these situations and easily adjustable during the fight. Large arbor makes line retrieves fast and efficient. Highly recommended."
Review 18 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good product for the price,
December 17, 2014
By: NFLAflyfisherWM01
from Northeast FL
"The Clearwater Large-Arbor reel is a quality reel, smooth operation and smooth drag operation. The first time I used the Clearwater I took a largemouth bass using an Orvis Access 10' sink-tip line, so I'm happy. The spare spools are reasonable priced, so adding a couple of different lines to your arsenal is easier on the wallet. Changing spools is a breeze. Overall, I'm please with the Clearwater reel."
Review 19 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice for the Price,
December 16, 2014
By: Minutiae111
from Minden, NV
"I think this reel is a best-buy value for the price. It is well built, has a nice drag system, and has the large arbor that I wanted."
Review 20 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best reel ever,
November 4, 2014
By: Daveyboy1979
from Québec, Montréal
"This is one of my favorite reel i have in my fishing vest! This reel look like a very costly one and have every must have quality ."