Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clearwater® Large Arbor

Finally a cast aluminum large arbor fly fishing reel that's lightweight enough to balance properly with your favorite fly rod and truly the best value fly reel around. Two years in design and development and with a powerful inline, Rulon® to stainless, stacked disc drag that can hold its own with high-performance machined reels, the all new Clearwater Large Arbor costs significantly less than its machined cousins, but has not only the looks, but the guts of a higher-priced version. Easily converted to either left- or right-hand retrieve, the Clearwater fly reel has a positive click drag knob for consistent settings every time. Whether you're looking for your first large arbor, fishing on a budget, or want a spare or two in the bag, the new Clearwater Large Arbor can handle anything a machined reel can and completely changes the game in die cast reels.
Average Customer Rating:
4.707 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (75 reviews)
5 stars
57
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
74 of 75(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clearwater® Large Arbor
Review 1 for Clearwater® Large Arbor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clearwater Rocks!,
October 8, 2012
By: bigsur
from Great Smokies TN
"This is my second recent purchase of an Orvis Reel. I purchased an Encounter for my back up reel and was impressed by the the smothness of the action and drag. I thought the Clearwater being machined would be a bigger improvment over my existing primary reel so orderd online and received shortly after. New line and backing the next morning after I received and on the stream in the Great Smokies that afternoon. Fished a small stream and a larger one and the Clearwater rocked on both, line fed clean and smooth and cranked on the retrieve smooth and quiet. Great reel for the money could probably charge more but don't tell Orvis I said that!"
Review 2 for Clearwater® Large Arbor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice,
April 16, 2014
By: Jojodancing
from Johnson city tennessee
"I'm just starting out so I don't have much to compare to but this reel looks as good as any reel I've seen. It's very smooth the drag works great and I hope it last me a long time. I think for the money if you want a reel there's no other option unless you just want something that cost a lot because this is a very nice reel."
Review 3 for Clearwater® Large Arbor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best way to start a kid,
April 16, 2014
By: tolotom
from Stanley, Idaho
"This reel price is the real deal for starting a kid or an adult into fly rodding adventures, and one hec of a backup reel......"
Review 4 for Clearwater® Large Arbor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clearwater Large Arbor,
April 15, 2014
By: LuckyLeon
"Haven't had a chance to use this reel yet but it looks and feels great. I wanted a reel with a spare spool to use in Colorado. Have one spool with floating line and the other with a sink tip.
I'm basically a Saltwater Fly guy but have done well with streamers in freshwater. The reel compares well to what I'm use to in the Salt."
Review 5 for Clearwater® Large Arbor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Real great reel,
April 4, 2014
By: Steelhead13
from Akron, OH
"Purchased this for steelhead and it has not failed me, ever. It can hold as much line and backing as I want. Love the drag. It has been tested by many carp, steelhead, and trout. Thanks, Orvis!"
Review 6 for Clearwater® Large Arbor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tremendous value,
March 18, 2014
By: supertrout
from Killbuck, OH
"For the ridiculously low price of this reel you are getting an amazing value! Picks up line quickly and the drag is as good as that of a much more expensive reel I also own!
Service was great as always! Shipped and received within 3 days!!"
Review 7 for Clearwater® Large Arbor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clearwater reel does it for me,
March 7, 2014
By: Hoot53
"I have been fishing a Pflueger Medalist for the last thirty years but after seeing some of the large arbor reels now available I decided it was time to change. I reviewed and examined, in store , many of the reels now on the market. I decided the Clearwater was the best combination of price and quality available. I do not, as a rule, treat my reels and rods very nicely. I'm 5'6'' and when I change flies in the stream the reel and rod rest on the bottom, sand, rock, whatever. The Clearwater takes a beating and keeps on ticking. I've still got my old Pflueger but it is now in time-honored retirement"
Review 8 for Clearwater® Large Arbor
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent reel,
February 7, 2014
By: copperjon
from Stevensville, Mt.
"This my 2nd Clearwater reel. These large reels arbor are very good and work well for trout fishing here in Montana. I like the faster retrieve you get with a large arbor reel. Excellent quality for the price."
Review 9 for Clearwater® Large Arbor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
February 4, 2014
By: LVEmkeWisc
"Very smooth. The quality of this reel is obvious while using it and for a reasonable price."
Review 10 for Clearwater® Large Arbor
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Unmatched for the $$,
January 21, 2014
By: Piper69
from Springfield, MO
"Excellent for trout and most freshwater fishing in all but the most demanding circumstances. Balances well with most 8-9 ft rods, and has a good drag. Is a true large arbor design. I have reels that cost 10 times what I paid for this one, but none that are worth twice what this one is under routine freshwater conditions. It does a fine job for day in and day out trout / smallmouth / largemouth bass fishing.
Would probably avoid cheaper reels on salmon, steelhead, and salt water species though..."
Review 11 for Clearwater® Large Arbor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sea trout Smooth,
January 21, 2014
By: RockportLes
from Rockport, Texas
"A great reel for saltwater fishing. The weight is right for an all day fishing trip. The drag adjustment will wear out the big ones. Super!"
Review 12 for Clearwater® Large Arbor
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A best buy for beginners' 8-weights,
January 15, 2014
By: MJAinKY
from Burlington, KY
"Another great reel for the budget-conscious flyfisher. This large-arbor reel allows for lots of backing plus an WF8 or 9 line – just what we mid-westerners need for muskie or carp on the fly. The drag is smooth and easy to adjust and the finish is A-1."
Review 13 for Clearwater® Large Arbor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very happy,
December 18, 2013
By: FlyNoobie
from Tacoma WA
"Great quality, reasonable price, and awesome customer service. I was able to speak with a custmer service rep and he paired me up with right reel for my needs."
Review 14 for Clearwater® Large Arbor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good value.,
November 12, 2013
By: Jono1
from Berkshire
"I had a Battenkill Disc Reel which I found to be too small to hold the line and it caused memory on the line.
The Clearwater Large Arbor Reel I have found a vast improvement both on memory and retrieval. Very good real for the price.
This is second reel of this type I have purchased . I have the IV as well."
Review 15 for Clearwater® Large Arbor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best fly reel so far,
November 5, 2013
By: Dapperjon
from Tewkesbury Gloucestershire UK
"The Clearwater Large Arbor does everything that I ask of it. It's good to look at, very well made, has a nice sensitive drag, is light weight for it's size. I like it so much I have bought another from the Burford Shop."
Review 16 for Clearwater® Large Arbor
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reel,
October 21, 2013
By: Glock
"For a first fly reel this large arbor is just fine. Bought for bass and perhaps some redfish or other fish found in the flats of Florida. Not sure about the drag system yet, but learning. Would like some different instructional videos just on the use of reels. Sure like the large arbor and caught my first bass on it today with great success."
Review 17 for Clearwater® Large Arbor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tough!,
October 20, 2013
By: SalmonSlayer
from Bennington, VT
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Tough reel. I spent a week in Pulaski catching 7-15 pound steelies for a week straight and this reel held up to some serious abuse. Put all your drag concerns away. This drag is amazing. More than what I needed. For the price you can't find a better reel."
Review 18 for Clearwater® Large Arbor
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Only one issue,
October 11, 2013
By: Plowman
from Noblesville, IN
"The LA IV appears to be a great reel & caught many large King Salmon this past week. My big issue is that if you plan to use the chuck n duck method, Amnesia line tends to slip between the reel and spool causing the line to wrap around the top post of the reel and locking it up tight resulting in you breaking off your fish and setup. Not sure if this is a design issue or a flaw with my reel. If you are not running Abnesia type line I would certainly consider this reel."
Review 19 for Clearwater® Large Arbor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Reel, Excellent Price,
October 8, 2013
By: scottiej
from Finger Lakes
"This reel is of high quality and came at a price that can't be beat. The drag is smooth and reliable and has aided me in bringing a few nice steelhead, browns and salmon in from the Lake Ontario tribs in Western New York. Also fantastic that it was set up ready to go with line and free backing since I ordered line at the same time. I would definitely recommend this reel."
Review 20 for Clearwater® Large Arbor
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent delivery service, as usual,
August 14, 2013
By: Iconoclast
from Australia
"As ever with Orvis, everything arrived on time and well packaged. I haven't used the reel or full sink line yet but I expect them to work as well as the other Orvis reels and lines I have used in the past. Just wish the Aussie dollar was stronger and the shipping costs not so high; alas for the tyranny of distance."