Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel

Finally a cast aluminum large arbor fly fishing reel that's lightweight enough to balance properly with your favorite fly rod and truly the best value fly reel around. Two years in design and development and with a powerful inline, Rulon® to stainless, stacked disc drag that can hold its own with high-performance machined reels, the all new Clearwater Large-Arbor costs significantly less than its machined cousins, but has not only the looks, but the guts of a higher-priced version. Easily converted to either left- or right-hand retrieve, the Clearwater fly reel has a positive click drag knob for consistent settings every time. Whether you're looking for your first large arbor, fishing on a budget, or want a spare or two in the bag, the new Clearwater Large-Arbor can handle anything a machined reel can and completely changes the game in die cast reels.
Average Customer Rating:
4.694 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (111 reviews)
5 stars
85
4 stars
20
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
0
109 of 111(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Review 1 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clearwater Rocks!,
October 8, 2012
By: bigsur
from Great Smokies TN
"This is my second recent purchase of an Orvis Reel. I purchased an Encounter for my back up reel and was impressed by the the smothness of the action and drag. I thought the Clearwater being machined would be a bigger improvment over my existing primary reel so orderd online and received shortly after. New line and backing the next morning after I received and on the stream in the Great Smokies that afternoon. Fished a small stream and a larger one and the Clearwater rocked on both, line fed clean and smooth and cranked on the retrieve smooth and quiet. Great reel for the money could probably charge more but don't tell Orvis I said that!"
Review 2 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed,
March 20, 2015
By: 1BG1
from Singapore / Houston
"I purchased the Hydros Bonefish #8 line (which was on sale) together with this Clearwater large arbor reel via online. The reel is to match my existing Encounter rod setup, which is a great setup by itself, just needed a back-up reel for my upcoming trip to Maldives.
While I had the chance to wet the line last weekend, on practise case, I realised that a section of the line had its coating peeling off and I can feel the roughage of the line when its running through my hand. Am not too sure if this was due to handling during line loading (in the shop) or deterioration of this line which was on sale.
A little disappointed, and I hope the line will last through my trip in Dec."
Review 3 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Reel,
January 27, 2015
By: RedBluff
from Allendale, SC
"This reel was purchased in combination with the 9' Clearwater rod. Great combo for my 12 year old for the rest of his life! We can change line and be able to switch from fresh to saltwater. We are very pleased."
Review 4 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect gift!,
January 6, 2015
By: mcpatty
from Alabama
"Our son can't wait to hit the water soon and put this gift to good use!"
Review 5 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Bang for the Buck,
January 5, 2015
By: Deanshunt
from Park City Utah
"I have fished with the Clearwater reels for over a year now from the Patagonia river in Argentina and the Green River of Utah to the Kenai River in Alaska. Fish from 1lb to 20lb and the Clearwater reel has never let me down. it has performed flawlessly and for the money I feel like it is a great value. I have not found a reel in that price range that will preform as well!!! I am sold."
Review 6 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Quality,
January 2, 2015
By: Bill1968
from Coral Springs, Fl.
"I purchased this Frequent Flyer combo to take along on our trips to the Smokey Mountains. I think anyone would have a hard time beating the value price and quality. This combo performed flawlessly and I'm very happy with my purchase."
Review 7 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid reel. Solid Value.,
January 2, 2015
By: Mtn2Sea
from Seattle
"I've purchased this reel twice now. Once for me and once for my Brother as a gift. Great reel for the $$$ plus cheap spools! I've giving it 4 out of 5 only because it's a little heavy, but that's a minor complaint for the value."
Review 8 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid and Light,
January 1, 2015
By: Edd42
"Wonderful, I'm Just getting into fly fishing for the first time and I ordered the Clearwater combo on a friends advice, without knowing a thing about casting I opened it and went straight to the yard in the middle of winter and was casting semi effective in no time, with a little help from my friend. When I ordered the combo I made a mistake on my shipping address when I entered it online and one quick call and they fixed it in seconds. Wonderful customer service. anxious for the spring. The reel is very sturdy and the drag has the most wonderful sounding drag ive heard yet."
Review 9 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Bass Reel,
December 24, 2014
By: dstriplett
"All you need for fighting large hard fighting bass and big smallmouths. Drag is amply smooth for these situations and easily adjustable during the fight. Large arbor makes line retrieves fast and efficient. Highly recommended."
Review 10 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good product for the price,
December 17, 2014
By: NFLAflyfisherWM01
from Northeast FL
"The Clearwater Large-Arbor reel is a quality reel, smooth operation and smooth drag operation. The first time I used the Clearwater I took a largemouth bass using an Orvis Access 10' sink-tip line, so I'm happy. The spare spools are reasonable priced, so adding a couple of different lines to your arsenal is easier on the wallet. Changing spools is a breeze. Overall, I'm please with the Clearwater reel."
Review 11 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice for the Price,
December 16, 2014
By: Minutiae111
from Minden, NV
"I think this reel is a best-buy value for the price. It is well built, has a nice drag system, and has the large arbor that I wanted."
Review 12 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best reel ever,
November 4, 2014
By: Daveyboy1979
from Québec, Montréal
"This is one of my favorite reel i have in my fishing vest! This reel look like a very costly one and have every must have quality ."
Review 13 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase,
October 27, 2014
By: trouthookup1
from California Delta
"This reel is great for those that want a reel that has enough drag for most fish in freshwater up to 15 lbs. Its durable and light. Probably the best reel for the dollar. Great beginer reel."
Review 14 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Reel Fantastic Deal,
October 22, 2014
By: woozyboy
from Flagstaff, AZ
"I could not believe the steal I received on this Clear Water LA reel. It feels good in the hand, the finish is great, the function is fabulous and again the price was incredible! Again thanks Orvis for offering superior products at an extremely good price."
Review 15 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Review of Clearwater Reel,
October 13, 2014
By: Baileyone
from Lavallette, NJ
"The Clearwater reel has performed flawlessly even in saltwater, as long as it is cleaned after this environment. Purchased the reel to go along with an 8 weight Clearwater rod that I have had for 13 years. Great product for the money."
Review 16 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brown Trout Enforcer,
October 3, 2014
By: DocSavage
from Madras, OR
"I purchased this reel for my recent trip to the Owyhee River near Boise, ID. I landed 27 browns up to 24 inches sight fishing with Size #20 Trico's and BWO's. The disc drag was excellent, and I had plenty of backing, and the performance overall was great. Couple that with Hydros DT line, and you have a recipe for a magical day on the river."
Review 17 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great reel...,
August 28, 2014
By: NHFisherman
from New Hampshire
"I have used this reel for 12 months now and have had no problems. The drag is smooth, the reel is tough. The black finish has held up after use on both shore (rocks) and boat (rails, floor, seats, etc). Did not lock up in winter weather ( down to 28 degrees or so ).
A great reel. I expect it will last a long time.
"
Review 18 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Buy!,
August 10, 2014
By: BHole
"Just got this reel as a replacement, love it! Large arbor is the way to go!"
Review 19 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid as a rock,
August 5, 2014
By: Howie408
"Granted this is only my second fly reel but it is a definite upgrade from my previous one. You cant beat the price point either. I recommend getting the reel with the line loaded by Orvis. Well worth the time."
Review 20 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value,
July 29, 2014
By: flyflyfly
from Louisville, KY
"As a first time, or backup, reel, this one is hard to beat.
Smooth, light, and will stop a fast moving car. Or a 2 1/2 lb Rainbow!!"