Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel

Finally a cast aluminum large arbor fly fishing reel that's lightweight enough to balance properly with your favorite fly rod and truly the best value fly reel around. Two years in design and development and with a powerful inline, Rulon® to stainless, stacked disc drag that can hold its own with high-performance machined reels, the all new Clearwater Large-Arbor costs significantly less than its machined cousins, but has not only the looks, but the guts of a higher-priced version. Easily converted to either left- or right-hand retrieve, the Clearwater fly reel has a positive click drag knob for consistent settings every time. Whether you're looking for your first large arbor, fishing on a budget, or want a spare or two in the bag, the new Clearwater Large-Arbor can handle anything a machined reel can and completely changes the game in die cast reels.
Average Customer Rating:
4.679 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (131 reviews)
5 stars
101
4 stars
22
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
0
127 of 131(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Review 1 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clearwater Rocks!,
October 8, 2012
By: bigsur
from Great Smokies TN
"This is my second recent purchase of an Orvis Reel. I purchased an Encounter for my back up reel and was impressed by the the smothness of the action and drag. I thought the Clearwater being machined would be a bigger improvment over my existing primary reel so orderd online and received shortly after. New line and backing the next morning after I received and on the stream in the Great Smokies that afternoon. Fished a small stream and a larger one and the Clearwater rocked on both, line fed clean and smooth and cranked on the retrieve smooth and quiet. Great reel for the money could probably charge more but don't tell Orvis I said that!"
Review 2 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's a great reel,
August 20, 2015
By: EdM1950
from Elkton,MD
"I used my Clearwater II on a feeder stream to the South Fork of the Arkansas River in Colorado a month ago for wild trout. It performed admirably. It worked as well as my son's large arbor Batten kill and better than his best friend's Sage reel. I have three of them, one for trout, two Clearwater IV reels for salmon and saltwater and I like them all."
Review 3 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Poor Salesmanship,
August 20, 2015
By: Ron56
from Jacksonville, FL
"I was given a Clearwater outfit as a parting gift from a board of directors. They knew I liked fly fishing so they called Orvis, supposedly a upscale company and purchased a complete outfit with my name written on the rod. I am blown away that the Orvis salesperson would sell someone a mis matched outfit especially when they customer was having it personalized with a persons name on it! The rod is a 10wt and the reel is a 8wt as they do not make a 10wt in the Clearwater series. The reel is borderline large arbor and just too small for a 10wt! When I called Orvis, the person I spoke with was un apologetic and offered very little to fix the problem other than for me to just use a 10wt line on the small reel. Makes you wonder about Orvis!"
Review 4 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Extra Spools Unavailable,
August 12, 2015
By: ReadR
"I was interested in a Clearwater reel/rod combination package, but I am glad I checked on the availability of extra spools before buying.
I would expect years of service out of an Orvis reel, but the utility of such is severely limited without extra spools.
I wish Orvis would quit jumping around with its reel offerings."
Review 5 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Reel For A Good Price,
August 2, 2015
By: Juvi1624
from Philadelphia
"I have 2 of these reels, actually I suspect 3 of them because my first setup I ever bought was the encounter combo and with the reels sitting beside each other they look identical except 1 says clearwater and 1 says encounter. But I've never had any problems with any of them and have recommended the clearwater line of rods/reels to almost all my friends before. This is a great way to get into fly fishing without spending a thousand dollars on equipment.
My 1 and only complaint, and why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5, is that they no longer sell extra spools for it so I had to purchase 2 whole reels for my 4 wt and 6 wt setups. But since the guy at the store knew that I had bought multiple combos from them he hooked me up pretty good on the price so can't complain too much. But if anyone from Orvis is reading this, please start selling extra spools again."
Review 6 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good deal,
July 24, 2015
By: arfarf
from Springfield, OR
"good solid reel that I can swap which side it reels on"
Review 7 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Reel,
July 22, 2015
By: RioDaz
from Jackson, WY
"I'm impressed with this reel- I bought the Clearwater package as a backup 4weight (not to mention I had just broke the tip off my long time Orvis 6 weight!). So far, so smooth- and love the large arbor."
Review 8 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Looking forward,
July 10, 2015
By: Squinty
from Oregon
"Haven't used the reel on the water yet but it seems great practicing in the back yard."
Review 9 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value reel,
July 9, 2015
By: AndyBom
from Sturbridge, ma
"This is an great fly reel at at an excellent price. I have 2 of these for my 8wt rod. The drag is nice and smooth I was able to land a 36" king salmon in NY last year, also makes for a great large/smallmouth reel. And for anyone the still fly trolls with streamer flys for trout and landlocked salmon in new egland this reel is perfect. Overall a nice versital reel for a budget fisher"
Review 10 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fantastic reel,
July 1, 2015
By: Brian78
from Vermont
"Great quality product for the money. Just used it for the first time and fished 2 full days which included some bad weather. The reel performed flawlessly, and I like the large arbor, I can reel up the line fast."
Review 11 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice for the price,
June 19, 2015
By: Jerry74
from Springfield, Va.
"Bought an LA II because I wanted to take my 6wt trout rod to Belize - along with my heavier gear - to play with bonefish, and was looking for a large arbor reel that didn't cost a mint. It seemed to work as well as my more expensive reels. The drag was steady with linear adjustment and the retrieve was smooth. Couldn't find a thing wrong."
Review 12 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very nice reel,
June 5, 2015
By: TwoKatz
from Calgary
"Already using the reel.. It is really light and works very smooth.. The drag system works well on the rainbows in the Bow river."
Review 13 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Quality,
June 5, 2015
By: Troutiowa
from Iowa
"Was a little nervous buying a stamped reel. The quality and finish are excellent. I will have no reservations of buying another Clearwater reel."
Review 14 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Reel,
May 27, 2015
By: JustinN
from Republic, MO
"This is mounted on my Clearwater 8'6" 4wt rod and looks great on it. Everything about the reel feels really nice and finished. It looks great and functions fantastically.
It is labeled a Large-Arbor Reel, but really doesn't seem all that big. Overall a great reel for the price."
Review 15 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Reel, As Good as a Mirage,
May 12, 2015
By: EdM1950
from Elkton,MD
"Great reel. I have two Clearwater IV and one Clearwater II reels and the drag is smooth and reliable. The spool moves almost frictionless when the drag is set low.
One of the best buys I've made from Orvis.
"
Review 16 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 27, 2015
By: BobSimo
"I bought this as part of the rod and reel combo and am very pleased with it. I have only been Steelhead fishing with it but it has held up great!"
Review 17 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clearwater reel,
April 17, 2015
By: Johnmc88
from Monroe, NY
"This is my 3rd reel. Love the performance, drag performs flawlessly when fish is on the reel"
Review 18 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Reel,
April 14, 2015
By: Learnerflyguy
from Toronto, On
"Fished a few times, caught my first and only brownie and enjoyed the experience with the reel."
Review 19 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best value,
April 8, 2015
By: Fishymon
from Driggs, ID
"I've paid more and got less for reels in the past. This smooth drag system, quick retrieve, weight ratio & excellent design is the best value I've found. I used it in Alaska with salmon ripping line off all day long and it stood up like a champion. Rinsed the salt off & new lubricant, it still performs like the first time out of the box. You won' be disappointed or loose fish to a poor drag system. Cheers-"
Review 20 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Still the Most bang for the buck,
April 6, 2015
By: Kokopelli26
from Des Moines WA
"This is my third Clearwater reel for which I have 7 spools loaded for instant line change. Well made, good drag, quick and easy spool change for my arthritic hands. Still the most reel for the $."