Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel

Finally a cast aluminum large arbor fly fishing reel that's lightweight enough to balance properly with your favorite fly rod and truly the best value fly reel around. Two years in design and development and with a powerful inline, Rulon® to stainless, stacked disc drag that can hold its own with high-performance machined reels, the all new Clearwater Large-Arbor costs significantly less than its machined cousins, but has not only the looks, but the guts of a higher-priced version. Easily converted to either left- or right-hand retrieve, the Clearwater fly reel has a positive click drag knob for consistent settings every time. Whether you're looking for your first large arbor, fishing on a budget, or want a spare or two in the bag, the new Clearwater Large-Arbor can handle anything a machined reel can and completely changes the game in die cast reels.
Average Customer Rating:
4.724 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (127 reviews)
5 stars
100
4 stars
21
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
0
125 of 127(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Review 1 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clearwater Rocks!,
October 8, 2012
By: bigsur
from Great Smokies TN
"This is my second recent purchase of an Orvis Reel. I purchased an Encounter for my back up reel and was impressed by the the smothness of the action and drag. I thought the Clearwater being machined would be a bigger improvment over my existing primary reel so orderd online and received shortly after. New line and backing the next morning after I received and on the stream in the Great Smokies that afternoon. Fished a small stream and a larger one and the Clearwater rocked on both, line fed clean and smooth and cranked on the retrieve smooth and quiet. Great reel for the money could probably charge more but don't tell Orvis I said that!"
Review 2 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good deal,
July 24, 2015
By: arfarf
from Springfield, OR
"good solid reel that I can swap which side it reels on"
Review 3 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Reel,
July 22, 2015
By: RioDaz
from Jackson, WY
"I'm impressed with this reel- I bought the Clearwater package as a backup 4weight (not to mention I had just broke the tip off my long time Orvis 6 weight!). So far, so smooth- and love the large arbor."
Review 4 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Looking forward,
July 10, 2015
By: Squinty
from Oregon
"Haven't used the reel on the water yet but it seems great practicing in the back yard."
Review 5 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value reel,
July 9, 2015
By: AndyBom
from Sturbridge, ma
"This is an great fly reel at at an excellent price. I have 2 of these for my 8wt rod. The drag is nice and smooth I was able to land a 36" king salmon in NY last year, also makes for a great large/smallmouth reel. And for anyone the still fly trolls with streamer flys for trout and landlocked salmon in new egland this reel is perfect. Overall a nice versital reel for a budget fisher"
Review 6 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fantastic reel,
July 1, 2015
By: Brian78
from Vermont
"Great quality product for the money. Just used it for the first time and fished 2 full days which included some bad weather. The reel performed flawlessly, and I like the large arbor, I can reel up the line fast."
Review 7 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice for the price,
June 19, 2015
By: Jerry74
from Springfield, Va.
"Bought an LA II because I wanted to take my 6wt trout rod to Belize - along with my heavier gear - to play with bonefish, and was looking for a large arbor reel that didn't cost a mint. It seemed to work as well as my more expensive reels. The drag was steady with linear adjustment and the retrieve was smooth. Couldn't find a thing wrong."
Review 8 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very nice reel,
June 5, 2015
By: TwoKatz
from Calgary
"Already using the reel.. It is really light and works very smooth.. The drag system works well on the rainbows in the Bow river."
Review 9 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Quality,
June 5, 2015
By: Troutiowa
from Iowa
"Was a little nervous buying a stamped reel. The quality and finish are excellent. I will have no reservations of buying another Clearwater reel."
Review 10 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Reel,
May 27, 2015
By: JustinN
from Republic, MO
"This is mounted on my Clearwater 8'6" 4wt rod and looks great on it. Everything about the reel feels really nice and finished. It looks great and functions fantastically.
It is labeled a Large-Arbor Reel, but really doesn't seem all that big. Overall a great reel for the price."
Review 11 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Reel, As Good as a Mirage,
May 12, 2015
By: EdM1950
from Elkton,MD
"Great reel. I have two Clearwater IV and one Clearwater II reels and the drag is smooth and reliable. The spool moves almost frictionless when the drag is set low.
One of the best buys I've made from Orvis.
"
Review 12 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 27, 2015
By: BobSimo
"I bought this as part of the rod and reel combo and am very pleased with it. I have only been Steelhead fishing with it but it has held up great!"
Review 13 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clearwater reel,
April 17, 2015
By: Johnmc88
from Monroe, NY
"This is my 3rd reel. Love the performance, drag performs flawlessly when fish is on the reel"
Review 14 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Reel,
April 14, 2015
By: Learnerflyguy
from Toronto, On
"Fished a few times, caught my first and only brownie and enjoyed the experience with the reel."
Review 15 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best value,
April 8, 2015
By: Fishymon
from Driggs, ID
"I've paid more and got less for reels in the past. This smooth drag system, quick retrieve, weight ratio & excellent design is the best value I've found. I used it in Alaska with salmon ripping line off all day long and it stood up like a champion. Rinsed the salt off & new lubricant, it still performs like the first time out of the box. You won' be disappointed or loose fish to a poor drag system. Cheers-"
Review 16 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Still the Most bang for the buck,
April 6, 2015
By: Kokopelli26
from Des Moines WA
"This is my third Clearwater reel for which I have 7 spools loaded for instant line change. Well made, good drag, quick and easy spool change for my arthritic hands. Still the most reel for the $."
Review 17 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very good,
March 31, 2015
By: RevSum
from Richmond, Va
"The reel looks great, and I look forward to trying out on shad this spring on the James River."
Review 18 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed,
March 20, 2015
By: 1BG1
from Singapore / Houston
"I purchased the Hydros Bonefish #8 line (which was on sale) together with this Clearwater large arbor reel via online. The reel is to match my existing Encounter rod setup, which is a great setup by itself, just needed a back-up reel for my upcoming trip to Maldives.
While I had the chance to wet the line last weekend, on practise case, I realised that a section of the line had its coating peeling off and I can feel the roughage of the line when its running through my hand. Am not too sure if this was due to handling during line loading (in the shop) or deterioration of this line which was on sale.
A little disappointed, and I hope the line will last through my trip in Dec."
Review 19 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Reel,
January 27, 2015
By: RedBluff
from Allendale, SC
"This reel was purchased in combination with the 9' Clearwater rod. Great combo for my 12 year old for the rest of his life! We can change line and be able to switch from fresh to saltwater. We are very pleased."
Review 20 for Clearwater® Large-Arbor Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect gift!,
January 6, 2015
By: mcpatty
from Alabama
"Our son can't wait to hit the water soon and put this gift to good use!"