Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Stand-Up Gun Case

Protect your gun from the elements on the clays course with this shotgun case and enjoy the convenience of a free-standing gun rack all in one. The case is carried over the shoulder and when set down, automatically remains upright for instant access to the gun. Outer sleeve protects the gun from the elements and the inner sleeve is padded to protect the gun from nicks and scratches. Our stand-up shotgun case is the ultimate in clays course convenience and gun preservation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
11 of 12(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stand-Up Gun Case
Review 1 for Stand-Up Gun Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very practical purchase,
October 14, 2013
By: Boghopper
"The stand-up gun slip i purchased has been reviewed by lots of other clay shooters . The stand keeps the gun out fo the dirt and takes 32 inch dt10 ."
Review 2 for Stand-Up Gun Case
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
two areas of problems,
January 25, 2013
By: upstream1
"Concept is very good and is comfortable and handy to use, except the stability is poor on non hard surfaces such as grass etc. and the inner case fabric is abrasive and will scratch the blueing on the barrels and the finish on the receiver."
Review 3 for Stand-Up Gun Case
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Unique Standing Case,
January 25, 2013
By: GoofyOnSafari
"I received a shotgun for Christmas and needed a means to store/protect it. I was looking for a means to have the weapon readably accessible but out of the way, and came across this case. With the removable inner sleeve, it's almost like getting two cases for the price of one. If I had anything negative to say about the case, it's that the support legs of the stand are somewhat thin and flexible. I would have preferred thicker, more rigid support legs for durability. Otherwise, it's a great case!"
Review 4 for Stand-Up Gun Case
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Plenty of room,
January 21, 2013
By: GreggM
from Birmingham, AL
"Case is larger & heavier than anticipated and made with solid material. I am pleased and it will serve as a good gun stand at the range"
Review 5 for Stand-Up Gun Case
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great product BUT not well thought out,
January 17, 2013
By: Hotrodbrando
from Wake Forest, NC
"This is an exceptionally well made case. The only problem is that it's too short. My Citori JUST fits in the case but the interior can't zip shut. It would if I took the chokes out. If you have 32" barrels or longer this wont work."
Review 6 for Stand-Up Gun Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Earned Its Spurs,
December 30, 2012
By: TexasGulfCoaster
"First, as you would expect of Orvis, it is very nicely made of high quality material.
The gun case is actually a padded,light gun case (removeable) inside a heaver, travel gun case (also removeable) strapped to a tripod platform. Similar mechanisms are on some golf bags. Reliable.
Gave them for Christmas. Liked the idea of a protected, barrel down shotgun rest.
Went out to shoot skeet on a 72 degree Christmas afternoon. A dry norther howled in with 25 mph sustained winds and 40 mph plus gusts. Scrambled to take in equipment but decided to test the case. Placed bets on how long it would take for the buttoned up case with gun to blow over. After a couple of hours or so, "calf rope" was called with the case still standing.
Impressive."
Review 7 for Stand-Up Gun Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent purchase,
December 28, 2012
By: temm
from spokane valley, wa
"receipent was very, very, very pleased with this item. Nice Christmas [present."
Review 8 for Stand-Up Gun Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Great Purchase,
December 28, 2012
By: dknow
from Brushton, NY
"Stand-up gun case performed as advertised. Provided firearm protection, and easy access during trap and skeet events. Highly recommended."
Review 9 for Stand-Up Gun Case
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
An Upstanding Gun Bag,
November 28, 2012
By: AussieHillbilly
from Downunder in Australia
"The Orvis Stand-up Gun Bag is one of the better purchases that I have made recently. Orvis are to be commended, its quality both in design and build are very good. I have rated it 4 stars because although it does everything it promises I believe that there could be a few improvements made to make it absolutely brilliant.
Firstly, although the bag stands quite nicely on flat ground on rough or uneven ground the bag can be a little unstable; this could be improved by making the spread on the legs a little wider. Secondly, the inner slip is lined with a cordura type finish which I believe is great on the outside of a bag but not so good on the inside (fortunately my old gun slip fits into the stand nicely so the internal slip provided has been relegated to the cupboard). Another minor issue is the strap; it is quite slippery and needs to be hitched up your shoulder when you walk – although this maybe because it is still very new and glossy. In any case I have replaced it with a strap off of an old slip that I had (so the supplied strap is now in the cupboard too). My final minor gripe is that the positioning of the strap on the bag means that the bag needs to be carried on the right shoulder or the stand mechanism hits you in the legs when you walk, I know that this is very minor but I prefer to carry my gun on my left shoulder.
I know that this review sounds very negative but all things considered this bag is really very good and is streets ahead of any other similar product that I have seen or owned. I guess I’m just a little disappointed knowing that if the issue raises were fixed this would be the best gun bag/stand ever created. As it is now it is a very good stand-up gun bag and it is very good value for money.......it’s just a pity I can’t say that it is great but it could be."
Review 10 for Stand-Up Gun Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gun gear,
October 8, 2012
By: Glenn2012
from Bourbonnais, Il
"I received the gun case and Lu it in use days late at the trap range. It's sturdy, functional, and held my Browning worry free even after several rounds with no melting or scorch marks like the last off brand I used. I love the double layers of protection and waterproof outer too"
Review 11 for Stand-Up Gun Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A real stand-up,
July 27, 2012
By: AvidUplander
from Casper, WY
"This is a very nice case, especially for the money. It is actually a case within a case, as there is a soft case inside the outer stand-up case. It's a little heavy to haul over hill and dell as is the situation with our local sporting clays course. If you shoot at a place with nice paths or golf carts, it's a nice case and work just like the golf bags that stand-up."
Review 12 for Stand-Up Gun Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very good design produce,
December 17, 2011
By: twobore
from New Castle,DE
"I think that your produce was design with the sporting cly and skeet shooter in mind,good work.Keep it up."