Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clearwater 9-weight 9' Fly Rod

3⅝ oz. 9', 4-piece, Fly Rod for 9-wt. line.Wade into the surf, dodge the incoming breakers, and launch baitfish patterns into the foam with the Clearwater 909-4, the perfect rod for mid-sized saltwater and large freshwater species. Strong enough to stand up to even the roughest conditions and toughest fish, but light enough to cast all day, it's perfect for when you need to punch flies into the wind and turn over bulky flies, all without wearing out your arm. Swirling stripers and shimmering steelhead don't stand a chance against its power, smooth action, and fish-turning ability. Saltwater reel seat with cork-and-EVA foam fighting butt.
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
13 of 16(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clearwater 9-weight 9' Fly Rod
Review 1 for Clearwater 9-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clearwater Package,
July 28, 2014
By: markpb93
from San Jose CA
"I recently purchased the Clearwater rod/reel/ line package as a 'backup' on my boat for striper fishing. For the value this rod and reel are outstanding! The 9wt with the large arbor reel work beautifully chucking large flies to Stripers and LMB! The Clearwater is now my 'go to' despite having much more costly rods from other manufactures on the boat. Well worth the money, looks great and will last a lifetime!"
Review 2 for Clearwater 9-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Sat Water Fly Rod,
June 16, 2014
By: Ecke
from Sandy Hook, NJ
"This is the first time that I've used an Orvis Clearwater rod and I found it to be an excellent saltwater fly rod. I caught a five pound blue fish and it played beautifully. I would recommend this rod to any avid salt water fly fisherman."
Review 3 for Clearwater 9-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wife loves it,
May 10, 2014
By: Mattroy336
from Bathurst, NB Canada
"Bought this rod for my wife. She loves it. Makes casting for her small frame simple and easy. I also use to fish for striped bass on the flats. Sends big flies a great distance with ease. Very solid rod!"
Review 4 for Clearwater 9-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
February 20, 2014
By: FuriousFly
from Florida
"I absolutely love this rod! Has plenty of back bone for the saltwater fishing that I do, and has stood up to all the stuff I have put it through. The only thing that I don't like is how big the shipping guides are, i thought it would be more like the 8wt which is a very minor thing. All in all Great product, and highly recommend!"
Review 5 for Clearwater 9-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Value,
January 16, 2014
By: StripersOnFly
from Massachusetts
"Excellent rod, and excellent value. Highly recommend."
Review 6 for Clearwater 9-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
First impression,
November 20, 2013
By: venomsped
from Mass
"The Rod is very light it almost feels like it would not be able to take on big fish. I guess I will find out its might when I take it striper fishing. I did have to exchange my rod because the cork butt section was not the best quality and look like it was going to flake off. The top part cork was in good condition. I will give a second review once it sees some action."
Review 7 for Clearwater 9-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First fly rod,
October 21, 2013
By: Glock
"Have only owned this rod for a week or so and along ways away from being a great caster, but this rod is a dream. I bough a 9w for large bass and also salt water in the area and behold, in spite of so-so cast I caught 4 nice bass today. My very first on a fly rod, and I am hooked. Thanks Orvis."
Review 8 for Clearwater 9-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Gets the job done, needs the 25 year warranty,
October 4, 2013
By: Troutistotle
from Boston, MA
"The rod gets the job done when its healthy. Reel seat components are cheap for the price of the rod. The money spent on the rod is more reflective of the buy-in for a 25 year warranty than performance. I have nine weight rods that cost 1/2 amount that cast better, they just go in the trash when they break because they dont have the warranty Orvis provides. I purchased the clearwater for a trip on the Salmon river NY. Fished 3 days with a nine weight and already sent it in for repairs after less than 20 good workouts. Orvis stands by its warranty which makes the purchase worth it, but shipping costs for repairs will become brutal if this becomes a frequent event. I sport a lot of Orvis gear, and this was my first problem with any of their equipment which caught me off guard. It may have been a defective rod from the beginning"
Review 9 for Clearwater 9-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Got broken in the middle of casting,
September 8, 2013
By: RickyW
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I got this for fishing striper on June 2013.
I went to shore this morning and it got broken in the middle of casting.
I have gone fishing only 5 times with it since I bought and caught only a couple of fishes.
I washed every time after I went fishing and kept it in the case not to get any damage.
I DO NOT recommend this very cheap quality but the price is $225.
"
Review 10 for Clearwater 9-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Lovely, but....,
May 11, 2013
By: Triton
from Hampshie
"Beautiful rod, light, cast like a 7wt. Has a lovely "feel". Unfortunately, on the second trip with it, after successfully landing carp to double figures, the tip section broke immediately above the joint while playing an 8lb mirror.
The reason I've still given it 3 stars is down to the exemplary Orvis customer service at the Stockbridge shop. It will not put me off buying Orvis again.
"
Review 11 for Clearwater 9-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What's not to like,
March 22, 2013
By: Scotch1
from Midwest
"I've got 4 Clearwater rods, now, all beauties, and this last one, a 9' size 9, is the lightest of my muskie fly rods. It's matched with 250 yds. of 30 lb. backing, a no.9 sink-tip line and a bite-proof leader, all on a big Orvis Mid-Arbor Access V reel (ditto on a spare spool). Now, what's not to like about that? Wow, that's fishing, if you know what I mean."
Review 12 for Clearwater 9-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
9-wt Great for salmon,
October 18, 2012
By: Jekyll
from Salmon River, NY
"I bought a 9-wt for salmon and caught over 350 in 4 days. The rod worked great both casting and fighting Chinook salmon. The cork leaves a bit to be desired. Lots of voids in the cork and the cork is becoming loose (but that is after 350 large salmon). Nice and light and it balances well with a Hydros-V reel ."
Review 13 for Clearwater 9-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
breaks very easy,
October 11, 2012
By: pipeman
"Bought this rod for salmon fishing.broke first rod on first fish. got a replacement only to break it on third fish.Traded it for a acess rod. hope next year is better."
Review 14 for Clearwater 9-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value,
May 31, 2012
By: fionn
from Scotland
"Difficult to believe how light this rod is yet it lifts and casts a line beautifully. I used the 9' model for bonefishing in The Bahamas, combined with a Hydros Large Arbor V. They drew admiring looks from guides and fellow anglers. Yet another high quality product from Orvis."
Review 15 for Clearwater 9-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid performance-- w/Value,
May 15, 2012
By: Wibo
from NE PA
"This attractive fly rod casts beautifully and also has the backbone to handle large fish ------it is a great value for personal use or for a gift."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Clearwater 9-weight 9' Fly Rod
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1