Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod

3¾ oz. 9', 4-piece, Fly Rod for 8-wt. line.If you had to buy one highly capable, yet extremely affordable, big-game rod to cover saltwater, salmon, and steelhead, the Clearwater 908-4 would be your best bet. Strong and responsive, and created with both fresh- and saltwater anglers in mind, it is adaptable to any number of situations, from snook and redfish to largemouth and coho. With a reasonable price, and a performance equal to that of rods twice as much, the Clearwater 908-4 is an inexpensive and practical way to venture into a new fishing arena. Saltwater reel seat with cork-and-EVA foam fighting butt.
Average Customer Rating:
4.382 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
30 of 34(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Review 1 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
customer service good quality control not good,
June 26, 2015
By: jeremyjoel
from pennsylvania
"Right out of the box the clearwater reel was bad,orvis is sending me a replacement. The 8wt rod has no hook keeper even though it is pictured with one on the website. Orvis said their saltwalter rods do not come with a keeper. They offered to install one but its not worth the hassle sending the rod back. This is my first orvis purchase and not real impressed with the quality"
Review 2 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best in Class,
June 5, 2015
By: Smalliesam
"I've owned a Clearwater 8 wt for 5 years now and couldn't be more pleased. Had an issue early on with the reel seat and Orvis customer service was quick to respond and replace the rod. Since, this rod has been put through the paces by this avid river smallmouth fanatic. The rod is lightweight compared to most in it's class and can push a big popper or nasty streamer through gale force winds on open water with relative ease. Floating for smallies is not always an easy gig and it's proven itself to be extremely tough getting bounced around, inadvertently bent under trees, cast across and wrapped with line, etc. It's a fine fighting tool as well and I would highly recommend this rod to anyone on a budget who's looking for an 8 wt."
Review 3 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
clearwater ploe,
April 27, 2015
By: tribal
from north umpqua,oregon
"l got the 9'8w clearwater pole and went fishing up the north umpqua river and caught a beautiful coho salmon, i'm just learning how to fly fish, so it's a big plus for me,, the pole handled great, the casting was so smooth, and the reel stood up to the 33 inch, 20 + pound fish, drag worked supreme,, i'm very happy and will be using this pole a lot this season ,, and will refer this to my friends and any fly fisherman out there,, so get the pole,, GET BENT and FISH ON,,, !!!!!!"
Review 4 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 27, 2015
By: BobSimo
"I bought this as part of the rod and reel combo and am very pleased with it. I have only been Steelhead fishing with it but it has held up great!"
Review 5 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Stuff,
February 24, 2015
By: VABeach
from Virginia Beach, VA
"Great rod for anyone. Casts great and doesn't break the bank. Overall a great rod."
Review 6 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Greatest Rod Ever,
January 27, 2015
By: RedBluff
from Allendale, SC
"I bought this rod for my 12 year old son. We had an issue with the cork handle but Orvis fixed immediately. This rod and the 25 year guarantee are all my son will ever need."
Review 7 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
October 27, 2014
By: trouthookup1
from California Delta
"If you are looking for that great beginner rod or for client use this is a perfect rod to get. Handles great and casts great. It feels all the needs for my client and beginners that I take out striper and bass fishing."
Review 8 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Good Combo,
October 11, 2014
By: RedFish71
from Richmond Hill, GA>
"Purchased this rod with the Clearwater reel. I'm very pleased with the rod and reel. It has performed well on Reds. The service from Orvis has excellent."
Review 9 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointing,
October 5, 2014
By: WYMIFlyGuy
from Michigan
"After reading through some of the other lower ratings involving rod breaks right out of the tube on the first set it's obvious there's a flaw in the production of these rods that are made overseas. First steelhead of the season, snap. Second rod, snapped while setting up.
Glad I'm in a position where I was able to fish some extra rods, but it is still extremely disappointing and frustrating when you're put in that position. Upon receiving my third clearwater it was sold to my local buddy's fly shop. Don't think I'll be trusting any more fish to Orvis rods.
"
Review 10 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Quality,
September 4, 2014
By: mjfarrow
from Houston, TX
"Beautifully constructed and very well balanced. Great rod and reel combo at a sane price! Perfect for someone who is as hard on equipment as yours truly."
Review 11 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Unreliable at this weight,
July 31, 2014
By: johnshea
from Houston, TX
"Firstly, I'm a very satisfied owner of a 6-weight Clearwater combo. The lighter rod performed very well for Trout, Grayling, and even Chinook; so purchasing the 8-weight was a no-brainer for me.
I'm very disappointed in the reliability of this model. My first rod broke right out of the tube on the first cast. After a quick replacement, the second snapped in half while setting the hook on the first fish."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceded My Expectations,
July 28, 2014
By: Machinist06605
from Bridgeport, CT
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This was an online shopping experience where the product felt better in my hands than it appeared in photos. The quality of the (reels) aluminum casting is outstanding; nicest aluminum cast reel I've ever seen. Converting back to left hand retrieve was very easy (I made the mistake of selecting RH thinking right handed and not seeing the retrieve part). The only issue I have with this outfit is the hook keeper pictured in the description did not come on my rod. Kind of a bummer because it was a selling point for me."
Review 13 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Clearwater outfit,
May 16, 2014
By: Rubiatta
from Akron, OH
"Great price point, quality material, everything works as it should. Perfect setup for the intermediate fisherman looking to crack into fly fishing. The 25year warranty makes this a no-brainer."
Review 14 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great salmon rod,
May 10, 2014
By: Mattroy336
from Bathurst, NB Canada
"This is my go to Atlantic salmon rod. Makes a day on the rivers of Eastern Canada that much better. Action and feel of this rod is great!"
Review 15 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Rod snapped,
April 6, 2014
By: jdcii
from Northeastern, Ohio
"Bought rod combo in the morning, took out to do some practice casts, the very first cast, the rod snapped just below the second connection of the second section. Disappointed and now I wait. Will post more once I am actually able to use it."
Review 16 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent rod for the price,
February 20, 2014
By: halito
from tulsa Oklahoma
"Just finished with this 8 weight Clearwater rod fishing for bonefish in the Bahamas. . I have a 5 wt Clearwater rod for years and have been very happy with it.
This fly rod excelled and handled very well. It stood up well. It is very light and handle wind without any problem. I was able to get my fly where it needed to be without any question. In my opinion the best rod for the price and warranty."
Review 17 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Saltwater Gear,
January 21, 2014
By: RockportLes
from Rockport, Texas
"Fishing fresh water trout streams around the country with my 4 and 5 wt. Orvis rods has been great. This Clearwater rod has been the best gift ever for the Rockport flats fishing. The Speckled Trout are great to catch. Can't wait to hook up a high end slot Redfish. Thanks to my wife and to Orvis. Ontario's Sutton River is next on my list."
Review 18 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointment,
November 6, 2013
By: TheFlyguy123
from Upstream Milwaukee, WI.
"Bought the clearwater rod. The rods casting ability is beautifully smooth, but on the first fish i hook on to, broke on the set. For a rod at this price, i expected toughness. The rod didn't deliver. I wouldn't recommend even if there is a no questions replacement warranty."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Verdict is still out.,
October 9, 2013
By: Buffalophil
from Orlando, FL
"I was in the market for a fly rod for saltwater and steelhead fishing. I searched long and hard and thought this rod was the best quality and price for what I wanted to do. I took it out for the first time on a fishing trip this weekend and as I am assembling it...snap...one of the rod sections broke in half. Never got a chance to use yet so that's why I rated it average. Waiting on my replacement which should take...3-6 weeks :(. When I receive my new one and get a chance to actually use it, I will write a follow up review."
Review 20 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
September 26, 2013
By: Falcmerlin
from Michigan
"The rod was a gift to my daughter, I got to try it out last night. Now I have to get another one for myself. It handles so much better than mine."