Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod

3¾ oz. 9', 4-piece, Fly Rod for 8-wt. line.If you had to buy one highly capable, yet extremely affordable, big-game rod to cover saltwater, salmon, and steelhead, the Clearwater 908-4 would be your best bet. Strong and responsive, and created with both fresh- and saltwater anglers in mind, it is adaptable to any number of situations, from snook and redfish to largemouth and coho. With a reasonable price, and a performance equal to that of rods twice as much, the Clearwater 908-4 is an inexpensive and practical way to venture into a new fishing arena. Saltwater reel seat with cork-and-EVA foam fighting butt.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
18 of 20(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Review 1 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Rod snapped,
April 6, 2014
By: jdcii
from Northeastern, Ohio
"Bought rod combo in the morning, took out to do some practice casts, the very first cast, the rod snapped just below the second connection of the second section. Disappointed and now I wait. Will post more once I am actually able to use it."
Review 2 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent rod for the price,
February 20, 2014
By: halito
from tulsa Oklahoma
"Just finished with this 8 weight Clearwater rod fishing for bonefish in the Bahamas. . I have a 5 wt Clearwater rod for years and have been very happy with it.
This fly rod excelled and handled very well. It stood up well. It is very light and handle wind without any problem. I was able to get my fly where it needed to be without any question. In my opinion the best rod for the price and warranty."
Review 3 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Saltwater Gear,
January 21, 2014
By: RockportLes
from Rockport, Texas
"Fishing fresh water trout streams around the country with my 4 and 5 wt. Orvis rods has been great. This Clearwater rod has been the best gift ever for the Rockport flats fishing. The Speckled Trout are great to catch. Can't wait to hook up a high end slot Redfish. Thanks to my wife and to Orvis. Ontario's Sutton River is next on my list."
Review 4 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointment,
November 6, 2013
By: TheFlyguy123
from Upstream Milwaukee, WI.
"Bought the clearwater rod. The rods casting ability is beautifully smooth, but on the first fish i hook on to, broke on the set. For a rod at this price, i expected toughness. The rod didn't deliver. I wouldn't recommend even if there is a no questions replacement warranty."
Review 5 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Verdict is still out.,
October 9, 2013
By: Buffalophil
from Orlando, FL
"I was in the market for a fly rod for saltwater and steelhead fishing. I searched long and hard and thought this rod was the best quality and price for what I wanted to do. I took it out for the first time on a fishing trip this weekend and as I am assembling it...snap...one of the rod sections broke in half. Never got a chance to use yet so that's why I rated it average. Waiting on my replacement which should take...3-6 weeks :(. When I receive my new one and get a chance to actually use it, I will write a follow up review."
Review 6 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
September 26, 2013
By: Falcmerlin
from Michigan
"The rod was a gift to my daughter, I got to try it out last night. Now I have to get another one for myself. It handles so much better than mine."
Review 7 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rod,
July 1, 2013
By: Billyco
from MA
"I was apprehensive with going for a four piece rod, but there was no reason for concern. Took the rod on the flats for stripers the day after I received it. First cast was into a stiff breeze using a short haul - laid out all the line on the deck. I just looked at the rod. Reminded me of the first time I hit baseball with an aluminum
bat. Powerful rod.
"
Review 8 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Outfit- Hands Down,
April 12, 2013
By: bonefishcity
"This outfit displays the clear superiority in the quality of the rods that Orvis sells. This rod is fantastic, easy to load and can shoot a mile. With accuracy too. I took this out bonefishing one day and it performed better than I could have ever asked it to. If you are even thinking about it, stop, and buy it, it will be the best decision you've made this year."
Review 9 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great first fly rod!,
March 20, 2013
By: MrRight1
from Madison, WI
"This is my first fly rod. It's great and feels great in the hand. The 8wt 9ft rod is extremely light and sensitive! Using it mostly for steelheads and other bigger salmon!"
Review 10 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best Rod Ever,
February 28, 2013
By: Boroughs
"When I was little I started fly fishing and I loved it. My brother had an orvis rod so I was wanting one. For my birthday I asked for the Orvis clearwater rod and reel. When I got it immediately new that it was quality. I love the rod it feels amazing and all the parts where as they said "quality made""
Review 11 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Landed an 18 lb steelhead,
February 12, 2013
By: fishfly
from North Bend, WA
"Great rod. Used this to land an 18 lb steelhead in strong current. Rod held up just fine. Excellent value."
Review 12 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great all around outfit,
February 2, 2013
By: oombasasa9
from Wisconsin
"Fished carp, bass and redfish with this great rod and reel. Comfortable to cast all day with with great accuracy. Love this rod and the price."
Review 13 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rod for king salmon!,
October 29, 2012
By: JerryH56
from Brackney, Pa
"Rod was delivered in just a couple days as promised. Took the next day off and went salmon fishing on the Salmon River, NY. I was in to fish all day long, the rod was exactly what I was hoping for. Light enough to feel every little tug on every run, yet flexible and strong enough to tire out 15-20 lb fish on 10lb leaders. I love my new rod!"
Review 14 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clearwaters are great rods and affordable,
October 18, 2012
By: Minidriver
from Wheaton, IL
"I bought a 5 wt for my daughter when we headed to the Orvis FF in Ashville. The instructor couldn't believe the quality of the rod for the price. When it came time for an 8wt because I wanted to catch pike in Canada, I bought the 8wt. It is a great rod, easy to use and for the price, who could beat it. I am going to convince my brother in law to get a clearwater once I teach him to fly fish."
Review 15 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
line & backing connection,
September 16, 2012
By: vokinzer
"I've bought this combo and did not check the connection between main line & backing so the first battle with salmon - and I lost fishing line. The result: spent extra money for fishing line and etc"
Review 16 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great casting rod 8wt 9ft clearwater,
August 16, 2012
By: norcalsmitty
from california
"wow i love this rod no problem hucking big weighted bugs for carp and making long accurate casts cant wait to fish the cali surf. thanks orvis"
Review 17 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rod !!!!,
May 18, 2012
By: 4EVERORVIS
from Kentucky
"This rod is the real deal!! Cast like a dream and feels solid at the same time. I wondered if I would be able to "feel" the action of the fly on this rod, but I can say that it still has enough sensitivity for my style fishing! Get this rod, you won't regret it!"
Review 18 for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great rod! Great price!,
April 12, 2012
By: KimInCascade
from Cascade, CO
"Just got home with this rod. With it, I bought the Hydros V large arbor reel. I needed a great rod & reel for fishing lakes out of my canoe (pike!), and have been looking at this online for a few weeks.
My fly-shop had it! I took it out to the casting ponds to check it out, and... OMG! It's FABULOUS! It feels great in my hand, and on the second cast, was putting it right into the rings at the far end of the pond! hahah! LOVE IT! Bought it on the spot!
I've also got the Hydros 3wt rod, the HELIOS 5wt (BEST 5wt on Earth!), and the Hydros 6wt rod. I love them all, and along with my new Clearwater 8-wt, these are all my 'new' children! *smile*
Orvis simply makes the very best rods and reels! I love all of my Orvis products, and I've got lots!
You will NOT be disappointed with the Clearwater 8-wt rod, nor the Hydros V reel. I also got Orvis line on this reel... the power-taper, I think. But honestly, from someone (a woman, no less!) that owns the Helios and Hydros rods, this Clearwater rod is fabulous! And surprisingly inexpensive, for what you get! The feel is great, just like my more expensive Orvis rods, and casting accurately is a breeze!
I would highly recommend this rod/reel/line to anyone needing an 8-wt. In fact, I've tried many rods, from the "other big names in fly fishing", and Orvis is simply the best. The very best!"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Clearwater 8-weight 9' Fly Rod
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2