Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clearwater 7-weight 10' Fly Rod

4 oz. 10', 4-piece, Fly Rod for 7 wt. line.For most steelheaders and warmwater anglers, line control and casting distance are of the utmost importance, and the Clearwater 107-4 is the perfect rod for the job. The added length provides astonishing mending ability and more than enough power to turn over hefty flies and corral larger fish. Ideal for most light saltwater and steelhead applications, and perfectly suited for float tubing, the Clearwater 107-4 is a unique, versatile, and shockingly affordable alternative to some higher-priced specialty rods. Saltwater reel seat with cork-and-EVA foam fighting butt.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clearwater 7-weight 10' Fly Rod
Review 1 for Clearwater 7-weight 10' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My favorite rod!,
April 4, 2014
By: Steelhead13
from Akron, OH
"I bought this a few years back and it has become my favorite rod. It loads great and mending is practically effortless. Bought it for Great Lakes steelhead and carp and it has not let me down. Great product for the price and I would recommend it to anyone Thanks, Orvis, for this rod."
Review 2 for Clearwater 7-weight 10' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointing Step Down,
March 13, 2014
By: 4SeasonAngler
from Madison, Wi
"I owned three other Clearwater/Rocky Mountain series rods. All were excellent rods and outstanding values. This new series of Clearwaters is a considerable step down in quality from its predecessors.
This 10-7 has a mushy, whippy, spineless action. The taper is completely indiscernible in the cast thus making it unpleasant to cast and a poor choice for novices who should be feeling the cast in order to time it. Moreover the rod loads poorly ( I cast it with Orvis 7# Saltwater line) and yet lacks power in longer presentations or with sink tips.
Very, very disappointed and hope the line improves.
"
Review 3 for Clearwater 7-weight 10' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best bang for your cuk,
February 22, 2014
By: dealm9
from Cleveland, OH
"This rod is a luxury to use and for the price you can't beat it. I used a cheaply made rod before this and the difference was incredible. Works great on Steelhead Alley!"
Review 4 for Clearwater 7-weight 10' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rods works really good,
February 11, 2014
By: Ramli
from Singapore
"The rods works really well,casting makes smooth and perfect with the flexible tips,thanks,really love the rod a lot."
Review 5 for Clearwater 7-weight 10' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Rod,
December 30, 2013
By: H2OMan
"Just got back from the Rogue River. I had a fortunate day with my guide on a drift boat landing several steelhead and couldn't have asked for more from a rod. It's an excellent rod with great line control for casting long nymph set-ups, mending and managing steelhead in the 5-7 pound range."
Review 6 for Clearwater 7-weight 10' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good workhorse,
June 11, 2013
By: Jimjam666
from Adelaide, South Australia
"I specifically wanted a 10 foot 7wt to fish estuaries wading and also to use in my boat for Bream and Mulloway in South Australia. These fish average between 2 to 10 pounds. The rod is perfect, especially when clearing high bankside cover. It also allows you to tame windy conditions. Don't stray too much past 5/32oz heads though. Cheers from Down Under."
Review 7 for Clearwater 7-weight 10' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Workhorse!,
February 9, 2013
By: FlybumMedia
from Cleveland, OH
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have been using the Clearwater rods for many years. As a guide on Steelhead Alley, I have spent my fair share of time on the water with clients. Nearly every client I have fished during that time has used a Clearwater rod. They are very solid sticks that can hang with the best. I have never (knock on wood) had a rod break on me....which is one of the few rods I can say that about. These are workhorses! I encourage anyone wanting a solid rod on a budget to go straight to this rod! You won't regret it!"
Review 8 for Clearwater 7-weight 10' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clearwater 107-4,
November 1, 2012
By: ndspecial
from Ottawa, ON Canada
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Took this rod to test it out on some Atlantic Salmon. And it worked out perfectly. Can't wait for winter steelhead."
Review 9 for Clearwater 7-weight 10' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Rod and Reel,
January 15, 2012
By: FlyFisher25
from 20 Mile Creek, PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased this rod and Battenkill Bar Stock IV reel combo for steelhead. Fishing in 31 degree weather with ice forming on 7wt line, the Wonderline stayed supple, reel operation was smooth, and rod made percision casts. When I hooked fish, reel drag and rod flex kept fish under control. Landed 27" steelhead and had a satisfing 2 day trip."