Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod

2¾ oz. 7', 4-piece, Fly Rod for 4-wt. line.Western spring creek anglers and small stream diehards readily admit that sometimes a little backbone is needed to land burly trout. Our Clearwater 704-4 is the ideal rod to provide that extra power without sacrificing the delicate presentations required by small, skinny water. This rod packs easily, weighs less than a cell phone, yet will turn the heads of most any trout you encounter, with a smooth action perfectly tailored for light flies and light tippets.
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod
Review 1 for Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great purchase,
April 7, 2014
By: wcu74
from genesee pa
"super rod 4wt 7ft ,also enough backbone to handle 6wt line
super for pa streams or larger waters of the genesee river, just a fun rod to fish with
no better rod for the same money
great orvis product
"
Review 2 for Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clearwater,
March 12, 2014
By: ZB12
"Promptly received my purchase, Clearwater 7 ft. 4wt., and the rod was great looking. A couple of friends said the same thing. Wasn't sure if I was going to keep it at that point. If it could throw a nymph rig well I would keep it. I used a #12 and #14. The line went 40 ft, with ease. I also tried a #16 dry fly. The outcome was also pleasing. The cost was very reasonable for the performance of the rod."
Review 3 for Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
better than expected,
March 11, 2014
By: nb2001
"Gave it four stars only because have not fished it yet."
Review 4 for Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best purchase,
February 10, 2014
By: RayJC
from Stuart,Fl
"Terrific fly rod for my fishing needs. Light weight and durable"
Review 5 for Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid Small Water Rod,
January 2, 2014
By: MountainTrout85
from Longmont, CO
"Another solid product from Orvis. The rod is a dream on the small stream. Allows for ninja precision presentations. Glad I invested in the rod."
Review 6 for Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the rod,
December 6, 2013
By: MO1971
"The Clearwater 4 wt paired with the Battenkill II is exactly what I was looking for. It is extremly light weight and casts like a dream. Perfect set up for small streams. I LOVE IT!!!!"
Review 7 for Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Stick,
May 21, 2013
By: Swamp
from GA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I bought this rod for small Appalachian Mt. streams. In a word it is GREAT. The short length allowed maneuverability and yet it could still knock out longer casts when the opportunity presented. Had my first shot at native brookies and the rod did not disappoint."
Review 8 for Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Almost 5 stars,
January 14, 2013
By: BbopChile
from Chile
"I bought this rod to be used in very very little streams, and must say it suits the pourpose. Leans toward the fast action side, so I experimented and stayed with a #5 line instead of #4. That let me cast using a very restricted forearm movement (between 11:00 and 01:00) and a short line, a must for dwarf streams that runs covered by bushes and trees.
I am no sniper, but the rod let me reach my usual accuracy with easy. Behaves very very well with casts 10f long, but holds itself with 30f casts under moderate wind.
Only caveat is the quality of the reel seat rear hood, which seems rather cheap.
Overall, a very good rod.
"
Review 9 for Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can there be a "Too Great"?,
July 10, 2012
By: konkowman
from Mendocino, CA
"gads,packed my new 4wt Clearwater to the middle fork canyon of the Feather River and had a blast! This rod far exceeded my expectations. If you backpack get this rod. The canyons trips will be better."
Review 10 for Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rod,
June 1, 2012
By: TroutMan56
from Port Byron, IL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Perfect rod for the small streams I fish. I actually had an opportunity to land 3.5lb rainbow so I know it can handle the big ones too."
Review 11 for Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
May 16, 2012
By: ColFrank
from Houston, TX
"I own T-3's, ZG's and Hydros rods and needed a small steam rod for going back east to some small PA streams. This new Clearwater performed far above expectations for an "inexpensive" rod and I quickly became a fan of the new rod. I then bought a 10 foot 5wt. Clearwater and it casts a 60' line with ease.
Well done Orvis with the Clearwater.
"
Review 12 for Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Short Stick,
April 8, 2012
By: Javelin
from Blakeslee, PA
""I always wanted a lightweight 7 foot rod. I already own an Orvis Helios, Hydros, Power Matrix, and T3 from 8 to 9 feet for 4 to 8 weight lines. When Orvis introduced the new Clearwater 7 foot 4 weight rod at a great price, I had to buy one. Armed with the new Hydros Superfine 4 weight WF line, I hit my favorite small trout stream confident and anxious to see what this rod could do. It cast both tiny and large flies from 15 to 40 feet without difficulty. I landed a feisty 14 inch brown trout in fast water with ease. Needless to say, I am quite pleased with my purchase. My only dilemma now is if I use one of my bigger rods on larger waters, or do I see what this 7 footer can handle. I can't wait to find out!'"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value,
April 3, 2012
By: Chum
"High quality given the price paid. 7' is perfect for smaller streams,"
Review 14 for Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sweet Rod!,
March 27, 2012
By: Castaway
from North Ga
"The last time I went small mountain creek fishing I was getting caught up left and right. My friend had a good laugh that day. So I went back to take on the Natives again and Ii brought my new Clearwater 7ft.. That rod casts so smooth and throws that line like nothing, Those fish didn't have a chance. This rod rocks! The price does not match the design qualities of this rod. Everyone should have a Clearwater in their line-up."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.