Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod

2¾ oz. 7', 4-piece, Fly Rod for 4-wt. line.Western spring creek anglers and small stream diehards readily admit that sometimes a little backbone is needed to land burly trout. Our Clearwater 704-4 is the ideal rod to provide that extra power without sacrificing the delicate presentations required by small, skinny water. This rod packs easily, weighs less than a cell phone, yet will turn the heads of most any trout you encounter, with a smooth action perfectly tailored for light flies and light tippets.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 of 24(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod
Review 1 for Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Rod - Clearwater,
July 15, 2015
By: JPLfish
"I cannot wait for my tip to Colorado in two weeks to try out this new rod! Upon receipt, it looks great and feels great.
The ordering process was very efficient, and the support via the chat box was very good.
"
Review 2 for Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
works for me,
July 10, 2015
By: breakaway
from Tulsa, OK
"I've had the rod for a few years now and have caught thousands, yes thousands of fish with it. It broke once after a fifty fish day for which I got a warranty repair for a fee,and a considerable wait. However this does not detract from this being my favorite rod for catching trout, bream and some unintentional bass and catfish from my kayak. I don't use premium line and the rod still casts and roll casts like a dream. For what I use it for the rod performs great. I'd be lost without it."
Review 3 for Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this rod,
July 7, 2015
By: Joshrx2010
from Alabama
"Being new to fly fishing, this rod is quite a step up from the one I started with from a big box store. One cast and you know the difference between having a quality rod and not."
Review 4 for Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
spring creek awesomeness,
April 16, 2015
By: Thomas1854
from Colorado
"Took this rig out over the weekend for some early spring creek action. It is definitely the right purchase for the smaller waters and casted great in tight quarters. Buy it."
Review 5 for Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rocky Mountain Spring Creek Gem,
December 24, 2014
By: ColoradoLiving
from Denver, CO
"If you need to fly fish small streams with tight quarters while being able to cast effectively with a heavy breeze or wind this rod is a gem. Power, control and great back bone for such a short rod."
Review 6 for Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great rod,
August 11, 2014
By: Boone286
from Boone, NC
"The 4pc 4wt rod is perfect for the tight mountain streams I fish. Easy to pack in to the back water streams and the compact size allows me to get deep in through the rhododendrons where most others would pass up."
Review 7 for Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good performance,
July 22, 2014
By: RussianFly
from Exeter, RI
"Overall the rod performs well. I caught about 10 wild brookies on my first outing on dry flies. My only issue is that the reel seating feels like it's made of a flimsy metal. Maybe this is to cut down on weight, but I like a very solid reel seat. Overall I do love the way the rod handles. For the price it is a great small stream rod."
Review 8 for Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Small Stream Rod,
July 4, 2014
By: PolskaFisher
from New York
"I bought this rod & paired it with a Clearwater reel. I needed a small stream rod, researched everywhere & ended up with this rod( & reel) and I'm glad I did. The length is really what I was looking for. 7' is perfect for small streams & 4wt is ideal. At least it's been good so far. Caught some small Trout & small Bluegills & the rod handles great. It's lightweight & at 7', you're not whacking branches walking to your fishing hole. Very pleased!"
Review 9 for Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good small/medium water stick,
June 15, 2014
By: ChrisS
from Ohio
"This rod casts great for the price. While it runson the fast side, it is a true 4 wt, and is happiest in that grain window. It will accept a 5 wt WF line, which works great for throwing 2/0 bass poppers, but overlining it can lead to some loop collapse if you botch the cast timing even a little bit.
I'd rate it on the fast side of a traditional mid flex.
Has enough backbone to really put the wood to fish if you have too, and is soft enough to protect long light tippets. If you need a good eastern trout rod, thi is it."
Review 10 for Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 10, 2014
By: BugSlingerTJ
from Beckley, WV
"In one word I can describe this fly rod. AWESOME. It's perfect for the smaller streams that I fish in West Virginia, and also has enough backbone to cover the larger throws as well. Recently landed a 5 pound 5 ounce Brown with the rod on the Elk River. This rod is easy maneuverable, and is capable of landing large trout. I thoroughly enjoy it."
Review 11 for Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great purchase,
April 7, 2014
By: wcu74
from genesee pa
"super rod 4wt 7ft ,also enough backbone to handle 6wt line
super for pa streams or larger waters of the genesee river, just a fun rod to fish with
no better rod for the same money
great orvis product
"
Review 12 for Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clearwater,
March 12, 2014
By: ZB12
"Promptly received my purchase, Clearwater 7 ft. 4wt., and the rod was great looking. A couple of friends said the same thing. Wasn't sure if I was going to keep it at that point. If it could throw a nymph rig well I would keep it. I used a #12 and #14. The line went 40 ft, with ease. I also tried a #16 dry fly. The outcome was also pleasing. The cost was very reasonable for the performance of the rod."
Review 13 for Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
better than expected,
March 11, 2014
By: nb2001
"Gave it four stars only because have not fished it yet."
Review 14 for Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best purchase,
February 10, 2014
By: RayJC
from Stuart,Fl
"Terrific fly rod for my fishing needs. Light weight and durable"
Review 15 for Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid Small Water Rod,
January 2, 2014
By: MountainTrout85
from Longmont, CO
"Another solid product from Orvis. The rod is a dream on the small stream. Allows for ninja precision presentations. Glad I invested in the rod."
Review 16 for Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the rod,
December 6, 2013
By: MO1971
"The Clearwater 4 wt paired with the Battenkill II is exactly what I was looking for. It is extremly light weight and casts like a dream. Perfect set up for small streams. I LOVE IT!!!!"
Review 17 for Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Stick,
May 21, 2013
By: Swamp
from GA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I bought this rod for small Appalachian Mt. streams. In a word it is GREAT. The short length allowed maneuverability and yet it could still knock out longer casts when the opportunity presented. Had my first shot at native brookies and the rod did not disappoint."
Review 18 for Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Almost 5 stars,
January 14, 2013
By: BbopChile
from Chile
"I bought this rod to be used in very very little streams, and must say it suits the pourpose. Leans toward the fast action side, so I experimented and stayed with a #5 line instead of #4. That let me cast using a very restricted forearm movement (between 11:00 and 01:00) and a short line, a must for dwarf streams that runs covered by bushes and trees.
I am no sniper, but the rod let me reach my usual accuracy with easy. Behaves very very well with casts 10f long, but holds itself with 30f casts under moderate wind.
Only caveat is the quality of the reel seat rear hood, which seems rather cheap.
Overall, a very good rod.
"
Review 19 for Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can there be a "Too Great"?,
July 10, 2012
By: konkowman
from Mendocino, CA
"gads,packed my new 4wt Clearwater to the middle fork canyon of the Feather River and had a blast! This rod far exceeded my expectations. If you backpack get this rod. The canyons trips will be better."
Review 20 for Clearwater 4-weight 7' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rod,
June 1, 2012
By: TroutMan56
from Port Byron, IL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Perfect rod for the small streams I fish. I actually had an opportunity to land 3.5lb rainbow so I know it can handle the big ones too."