Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clearwater 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod

2⅞ oz. 7'6", 4-piece, Fly Rod for 3-wt. line.Tumbling mountain streams demand accurate casts and delicate presentations. Deliver miniscule dry flies gently with our Clearwater 763-3, the perfect fishing tool for small water and dense cover. With a soft action and forgiving stroke, you'll cast with ease, feel every head shake, and commune with fish in a way you never thought possible. From small freestone streams to meandering spring creeks, this rod can do it all, anywhere, at an amazing value.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Clearwater 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod
Review 1 for Clearwater 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Introduction into lightweight rods.,
September 24, 2014
By: DutchCanadian
from Edinburgh, Scotland
"I bought this rod in the spring, used it all year when the winds were light. Dries, nymphs and soft hackle spiders. Used primarily on many a small feeder burns of Scotland and a few small chalk streams in England. I love the feel of the rod, it has taught me so much about my casting stroke. As a big ex hockey player I tried to solve most casting issues with power, this 3 wt rod rewarded a slower softer cast with distance and gentle presentation. The rod does everything it says. And it looks good too, utilitarian, aesthetics centred on function. Catching a 2 pound wild brown trout in a stream no deeper than my knees was the highlight of a fantastic year, look forward to many years of enjoyment."
Review 2 for Clearwater 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic general purpose light weight rod,
July 12, 2014
By: Zeddediah
from Dallas, TX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I have had the 3 wt clearwater rod for about a year. I use it on small streams and ponds for bluegill (biggest at 10 1/2") and largemouth bass (biggest about 4#). I can comfortably cast flies as big as #2 gurglers, though that is pushing this little rod. The pictures below are of bass and bluegill caught using #6 wooly buggers and soft hackle imitations of damselfly nymphs. With the smaller flies I can easily reach 50+ feet, though most casts are shorter. This rod is fantastic. The only issues I have had was when a 3 foot gar jumped and broke the tip (my fault but Orvis honored their warranty) and the cork has suffered from seriously bad pitting. I filled it with wood dust/elmers glue mix, sanded it and stained it and it works as good as ever, though I am sure Orvis would have honored the warranty again. I highly recommend this rod."
Review 3 for Clearwater 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This Little Rod Is A Fishing Machine!,
June 7, 2014
By: DoctorA
from Bend, Oregon
"This is my 12th Orvis rod purchase in the past 30 years and I could not be more pleased with this marvelous fly rod. The new Clearwater taper is so close in performance to the mega-buck Helios that I no longer buy the expensive image rods... and the fish don't seem to care!
Matched with the right reel, this ultra-light 7.5' length rod is great for effortlessly throwing flies -- literally the perfect small-water trout rod. I fish in Oregon and Washington for trout, steelhead and salmon. This Clearwater 3-weight, along with my Clearwater 5-weight and a Clearwater 7-weight spey rod takes care of every species available to me in the Pacific Northwest.
These new Clearwater rods are absolutely the finest fishing tools available for the price. Rather than buying status gear, spend your money wisely on fishing trips... you'll be very glad you did."
Review 4 for Clearwater 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Clearwater 3-weight 7'6",
May 15, 2014
By: Michi
"Just got it and took it for a test. Overall, this is a very good looking rod, great finishing touches and elegant design. As far as casting goes, it behaves well and has more power than anticipated. However, it needs a bit more line than I had expected to load."
Review 5 for Clearwater 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly Rod,
April 21, 2014
By: Wormy1
from Canton, NC
"Just what I needed, to go along with my Clearwater 8'6 Fly Rod! Thanks for two great rods!"
Review 6 for Clearwater 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best 3wt Fly Rod for the Price,
December 27, 2013
By: TarponMaster77
from Tyler,TX
"I got this 376-4 Clearwater as a Christmas present and it has preformed flawlessly. I fished it in small Montana streams for small cutthroat and rainbow,but when I hooked a 23 inch cutthroat the back bone of this 3 weight kicked in. Although living in Texas, trout aren't in my area often. Bass are everywhere, and little bass are very fun on a 3 weight, throwing small streamers is a breeze. I thought that this was an amazing rod for the quality and the price and I plan on fishing it for a long time."
Review 7 for Clearwater 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A fair value...,
July 26, 2013
By: photopro2000
from Colorado Springs, CO
"I bought this fly rod to fish small Colorado creeks and streams. The action of this rod is very smooth allowing for the soft delivery of small flies with short casts of 20 feet or less. The rod does have the power for longer casts, if necessary, up to about 40 or 50 feet or so. Teamed up with a Battenkill II reel and Hydros 3 wt double taper fly line, this combination makes a killer small stream rod for small stream fish.
The reason that I only gave it 3 stars is the fit and finish of the components I feel are subpar. The cork used for the grip is especially bad. A rod in this price range is not going to have flor grade cork but the cork used is well below an acceptable grade for a $200.00 (essentially) rod. The finish put on the guides is often irregular barely covering the thread on one side of the guide while piling up a bit on the other side. This is, unfortunately, pretty typical, in my experience, of Chinese workmanship.
Would I recommend this rod to a friend? "Yes", with the recommendation that he/she examines several rods carefully before making a final selection."
Review 8 for Clearwater 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect little 3 wt,
July 14, 2013
By: mjag
from Utah
"I needed a three wt to compliment my 5 wt Access rod. Clearwater was everything I was looking for. Good looking. Good action. My friends that have TFO rods are jealous. I'm am 100% loyal to Orvis. #orvisforlife"
Review 9 for Clearwater 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 7, 2013
By: savagefly
"I received a 7'6" 3 wt. for Christmas as a mountain stream rod for the Smokies. Fantastic rod. This rod is easy to cast and, despite its short length, can cast better than my 9'0" 5 wt. made by a different company. Makes even the small bream in the pond near my house feel like monsters. Again, kudos to Orvis on a great rod with a great price."
Review 10 for Clearwater 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent rod,
May 25, 2013
By: PAFF
from Pennsylvania
"Have been using this rod all season and it can say it casts like a dream. Provides the ability to present gently to native brookies and to throw some size 2 and 4 wooly buggers across streams."
Review 11 for Clearwater 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for narrow streams,
April 5, 2013
By: ausablefisher
"The Clearwater 3 weight is great for narrow streams and rivers. you can get places that longer rods have trouble with. For example Under hanging branches and into cuts. OR short casting to close-by areas. It has great response and touch is awesome. It can land a range of trout form the small guys a to the 10-12 inchers and give everything a great ride"
Review 12 for Clearwater 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great rod at a GREAT price!,
March 27, 2013
By: TheTiger
from Johannesburg, South Africa
"Bought one of these in your NYC store, along with a Battenkill Bar Stock reel, in November last year as my small river rig. Came back to South Africa, and caught my first wild African Brown trout on it on my 3rd cast! Handled beautifully, everything you could want in a rod and reel."
Review 13 for Clearwater 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sweet feeling rod,
February 15, 2012
By: bigolrob
from Vermont
"I bought a 3 weight Clearwater rod, and am delighted with its performance! The lightweight and soft flex make it perfect for fishing the small streams which I love to fish. I am looking forward to years of fun with the rod, and enjoy the security of its 25 year guarantee."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Clearwater 3-weight 7'6" Fly Rod
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1