Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clearwater 2-weight 6' Fly Rod

2½ oz. 6', 4-piece, Fly Rod for 2-wt. line.Placing tiny flies into tight spots has never been easier, thanks to the precision of our ultralight 6-foot, 2-weight Clearwater rod. Small stream enthusiasts appreciate its compact size and generous touch, not to mention its unbeatable price. Built for the explorer in all of us, the Clearwater 602-4 is the perfect fishing tool for those tucked-away streams and ice-cold mountain creeks swarming with eager brook trout. Strap it to your backpack, find a blue line on the map, and fish worry-free.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clearwater 2-weight 6' Fly Rod
Review 1 for Clearwater 2-weight 6' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool small stream rod.,
December 3, 2014
By: CharlieB
from Pittsburgh, PA
"I bought this rod to chase wild brookies in northwestern PA. It's a fine rod for short to medium casts in tight quarters. It has a nice, easy action just right for dries, small nymphs and dry/dropper combinations. It tracks pretty will without much wobble in the tip. Although it's not necessary when fishing an 8 foot wide stream it will cast out to 50 feet or so without collapsing. As you would expect, it does not handle heavy flies or wind well. All in all this is a pretty good rod for the money; it does just what it's supposed to do."
Review 2 for Clearwater 2-weight 6' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A perfect gift,
October 10, 2014
By: ShKh
from Los Angeles, Ca.
"I purchased this as a gift for a friend who is an avid fly fisherman. He was thrilled to receive it and is planning to use it this December at the San Juan River."
Review 3 for Clearwater 2-weight 6' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis rod review,
July 21, 2014
By: Mitcheld1
from Long Island ny
"Great light weight rod I would surly recommend it!"
Review 4 for Clearwater 2-weight 6' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Rod for bluegill (2wt),
June 19, 2014
By: VandyFan
from Venetia, PA
"Between work and family most of my fishing is trips with my daughters to the local lakes (really just big ponds) where we catch all types of sunfish (bluegill, perch, crappie, small-mouth) and have a good time. My 6wt and even my 4wt are over kill for this type of fishing and I have finally found the perfect rod for small sunfish. The response is great, I feel very light hits and every fish feels like a 1,000 lb marlin. If you are like me and only get to run out to the local pond for some day trips, treat yourself to a 6' - 2wt Clearwater."
Review 5 for Clearwater 2-weight 6' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Capable little rods,
January 6, 2014
By: SpanFly
from Mooresville, NC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This rod was sort of an impulse, however I'm glad I went with it. I've had an amazing time catching stockers one after another with this little rod but it also fishes my small wild creeks just as sweetly."
Review 6 for Clearwater 2-weight 6' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light and simple,
December 23, 2013
By: Guille
"This rod is excellent for small brooks.
It is so much easy to place the fly wherever you want.
"
Review 7 for Clearwater 2-weight 6' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sweet bit of kit,
August 1, 2012
By: FlyDrowner
from Norfolk, UK
"Bought this charming little rod on a whim when perusing the recent Sale, for casting at dace, rudd & chublets on the streams in Norfolk & Suffolk.
As soon as I unzipped the case & slid out the sections I knew it was going to be fun to use.
The case is extremely sturdy, if a tad heavy.
With the "China" sticker removed from the butt section, and the rod paired with an old Battenkill, it truly does look a pretty little thing.
The action is delightful and quite full; the stiffness in the butt, when compared to a Superfine, is not a problem, and quite comforting really. Casting a WF#2 is a dream.
On its first trip out it confidently pushed one of my own size 18 dry spiders smoothly out 20yds to tempt a 12oz chublet to take.
Casts as close as 5 yds were just as sweet.
With the odd chunky fish in my local waters it will certainly be fun to find out how it handles something bigger.
Highly recommended bit of kit!
"
Review 8 for Clearwater 2-weight 6' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What Fun!!,
July 19, 2012
By: JRobertOppenheimer
from Suburban New York
"Wy wife wanted a rod that was more about fun than art. Something that you could pick up on a whim and fish reflexively, focusing more on the early morning mist than on the four count rythm. This little Clearwater fits the bill perfectly. It's really small (to the point of being "cute) and pairs wonderfully with a Battenkill Bar Stock I.
The first morning we had it, we ran up to the local stream 5 minutes away and on the first 5 casts caught 2 fish (sunny and stockie brown). Like the larger Clearwaters, the action is smooth and predictable and the backbone strong. Fit and finish are good (once you scrape off the "Made in China" sticker). For little streams, I can't think of anything better suited.
She won't be using this on the Beaverkill in May but fot he little tributaries in the mountains of Vermont next month, this will be her go-to."
Review 9 for Clearwater 2-weight 6' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Rod,
July 6, 2012
By: Steelheadhtr
from Bend OR
"Great little rod for the price. Not as flexible down in the butt section as the Superfine Touch. Good choice if you want to make longer casts with a little bit of a faster action rod."