Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Lift Assist Dog Harness

Older dogs often want to get up and go, but hip problems, surgery, and muscle pain can sometimes make the getting-up part a challenge. Our easy-to-use harness cradles and supports your dog completely and comfortably—lifting from the chest, not the legs—allowing you to easily help him up into a standing position, steady him on the stairs, or ease entry and exit from a vehicle. Features comfortable, adjustable handles; constructed with seat belt-material strapping. In black/red. Nylon/microfiber/PVC. Washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.016 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (62 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
16
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
5
51 of 62(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Review 1 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SKEPTICAL at 1st, but then...,
March 7, 2014
By: Desfy
"I was skeptical at 1st, but then I noticed the zipper under the D-rings
I couldn't believe how easy it went on,this harness is VERY well made. The harness can control the dog quite well when it is fitted properly. I loved it even more when my 14yr old,weirdo,shy dog still did his business with it on. He won't with a jacket on. Even though the harness is sturdy enough to grab using just 1 strap will surprise the HECK out of anyone when used to traverse a staircase.TOP QUALITY! WORTH IT! So well balanced could double as a rescue harness.
"
Review 2 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy with the harness,
March 1, 2014
By: furparent
"My poor old dog has struggled for a while now trying to get up after laying down or even going down a few steps. We did the towel and scarf bit, but this works really well.
I wish the straps were a little shorter, but this makes his like a lot easier.
A bit pricey, but seemed so much better than others we viewed.
"
Review 3 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lift Assist Dog Harness,
February 23, 2014
By: Sally12
from East Greenwich,RI
"I bought the lift assist Dog Harness for my 12 year old Springer-Lab, Morgan. Our vet believes she may have a partially torn cruciate ligament. My vet recommended a lifting harness with handles toward the front and back. This harness fits the bill and it fits Morgan pretty well too, thanks to adjustable side straps. The handles are very ergonomic and my dog seems more confident when walking with the harness. Size large fits my 50 pound dog pretty well. A good purchase and a good investment."
Review 4 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Assist Dedvice,
February 12, 2014
By: Misha99E
from Ontario
"This harness is handsome, well-built, and useful. It is cumbersome for a single retired person to install on the dog, and cannot be easily put on when the dog is lying down. A second person helping would be ideal. Fabric including belts is strong.. Overall, I would recommend it to those who can manage the installation better than I can. I am sure a dog feels proud to wear this lift harness!"
Review 5 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thank you Orvis,
February 7, 2014
By: LaCroixBouey
from UK
"My elderly gentleman of a 35kg 14.5 year old labrador legs are going and breaking our heart. This is the 4th product we have purchased to help - the other 3 were useless and a waste of money. This product actually helps, not only can we help our old boy to keep mobile, but for the first time in months, I don't have back ache from 'heaving' him up. He is happier and so are we.
Although there is some criticism about the zip, in my opinion is another else wouldn't be secure enough, especially when you get to the size of our boy you need 'properly made'. When compared to any other products I have found, this one is streets ahead in design.
Thank you Orvis, you have e made us all happier and healthier!"
Review 6 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful purchase!,
February 6, 2014
By: potterp2
from East Lansing, MI
"This product has been a complete life saver with our dog who recently had surgery to repair a torn ACL. Not only does this help us get her in and out of the car, but up and down the stairs, and it also just helps us get her up and moving as we can lift her rear to get her started. This has been an amazing help, and I highly recommend it to anyone going through a similar surgery or situation.
We have a 50 pound Australian Shepherd and ordered the large - it fits perfectly.
"
Review 7 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
January 15, 2014
By: Peyton22
from lagrange park, il
"Love this product! It has really made getting my dog up the stairs easier."
Review 8 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's worth it!,
January 2, 2014
By: Koko7375
from Fort Lupton, CO
"My 12 year old dog, Duke has multiple issues in his neck, spine, hips, and hind legs. I have been looking for a lift assist harness that would help him while not aggregrativing his other issues and the Orvis Lift Assist Harness fit the bill. the under padding provides support for his belly and spine without putting too much pressure on his hip and shoulder joints. Although is was a real tough battle to get the harness on my old boy, once on, it has given him confidence and a new lease on life. It took many attempts over the course of a few days to for him to finally allow me to put it on him. Now that it's on, we both love it! I do not take it off of him because we are always on the go. I have not experienced the issue of urine dripping on the under padding of the harness for my male dog like others mentioned in their reviews. He now wants to walk and hike like he did when he first adopted me 10 years ago. I highly recommend this product."
Review 9 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OMG - this product is AWESOME!!,
December 22, 2013
By: Norene
from Hampton, VA.
"We were heartbroken that our beautiful golden retriever Mollie was no longer willing to walk up the stairs to our condo - purchased this product and it is ABSOLUTELY the best money I've ever spent! It not only works beautifully (and with ease - love that it is lightweight) but I swear it has helped her regain her confidence that she CAN walk up and down those steps - now I barely lift on the rings and off she goes - this is an absolute MUST BUY!!"
Review 10 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog Harness,
December 22, 2013
By: NHPAWS
from Hampstead, NH
"My 16 year old lab-shep mix has used this harness for the past year. It has given her the support and me the confidence to take her for the walks she loves. I have tried other harnesses this one by far is the best! Thank you Orivs for having a product that helps my elderly dog."
Review 11 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of life changer,
December 19, 2013
By: AnonymousName
from Portland Oregon
"Our twelve year old collie recently suffered a stroke -the vet's best guess about what happened- and lost the ability to negotiate stairs independently. I ordered the Lift Harness for her after researching many possibilities offered online. When it arrived, I found it to be perfect for our grand lady! A bonus is how the zipper is constructed so as to prevent her fur from getting caught in the zipper. Now she is able to go up and down the steps to the yard and our backs appreciate the relief from carrying her!"
Review 12 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
needed more info,
December 16, 2013
By: RunningMomma
from Colorado
"I was so excited when I saw the photo of this harness, thinking that it was just what we needed for our old golden. It might still work out, but I was disappointed that there was NO instructions, no suggestions for how to ease the dog into using it, and not even a picture. I had to look for my catalog to even begin to figure it out. I hope we will learn to use it correctly, as it is quite expensive and we need the help!"
Review 13 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
helping hand,
December 13, 2013
By: 2collielover
from wisconsin rapids, wi
"I wish I would have had this harness a few months ago when my 70 pound collie was having trouble walking. this will help a lot if and when we need help in the future."
Review 14 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant Product,
December 6, 2013
By: Misto
"This excellent harness has given my elderly golden retriever a new lease of life. She is very happy to wear it and I think appreciates that it means she doesn't have to struggle so much and of course it makes it so much easier for us to give her a hand. It is very well made and easy to fit. Highly recommended."
Review 15 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Did Not Fit,
November 20, 2013
By: Z3nyatta
"I bought this for my 13 year old Golden Retriever when he began to lose the use of his back legs. Sunny weighed about 75 pounds. This product seemed to be the best of the products available however it didn't even come close to fitting him. We had to send it back. An improvement might be to have adjustable buckle fasteners rather than a zipper."
Review 16 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
What a great idea,
October 15, 2013
By: MrAustin
from Austin TX
"After looking at this product, the first thing that comes to mind is being able to use this lift your furry friend on and off of a boat! Dog life vests are OK for this but not very rugged..more designed to float than lift as they should be..a combination of a good life jacket and the lift harness is a great idea"
Review 17 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
please bring back XL size!,
July 22, 2013
By: mflah29
from MA
"please don't discontinue this item! we have been relying on this for 4-5 months for our 100-lb., 13-year old black Lab. It is sturdy, reliable, and has given him the confidence to get up the stairs given his aging back legs. Even when he can't do much work himself to get up the couple of stairs in and outside, we are able to securely lift and guide him up. our dogwalkers also use this. due to heavy use we had some fraying on the bottom which I fixed with duct tape, and we want one to have on hand as backup. we would be really having a hard/near impossible time without this. he will not do a ramp so a ramp is useless. thank you for offering this and PLEASE don't discontinue this item unless you plan to replace it with another similar product. Thank you!"
Review 18 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sturdy Product,
July 22, 2013
By: Osc1
from Bellevue, WA
"Very well made product, it is very sturdy and it appears that it will last for a long, long time. The only improvement I would suggest is to change the top closure from a zipper to, perhaps, snaps or other type of closure for quicker application."
Review 19 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy to use harness,
July 1, 2013
By: AlaskanHusky
"This lift assist harness has proven very helpful in caring for an older dog after surgery. It will also be useful for getting the dog in & out of the car after recovery from surgery. Initially, it was a bit confusing due to the lack of any kind of instructions included, but once we determined front & back, etc., it has been easy to get the dog in and out of the harness, even after surgery. Very happy we obtained this harness prior to surgery."
Review 20 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
June 6, 2013
By: puomike
from Hanford, CA
"Our 13 year old Aussie has some arthritis in her back legs and has trouble with steps, although she does quite well on flat ground. We had an RV trip planned and knew we had to take her in and out many times a day to do her business. This means 4 steps up or down each time. Her hind legs just don't have enough strength to get up the stairs and going down they are almost "along for the ride" as she powers down with her front feet. Lately it has been very stressful to her getting in and out of the RV even though we know she loves to always go with us.
So, enter this wonderful harness! Ovis got it to us the next day, exactly as promised. Getting the dog into it the first time was a little work for all of us, but once it was on, she made no effort to pick at it to get it off. I was a little concerned when I lifted the rear strap and her body lifted in the middle (as if the rear strap was at her center of gravity). But, using the two straps on the two hookup points (front and rear as in the Orvis webpage photo) we were able to easily assist Brandy, at about 40 pounds, either up or down the steps. You easily get a feel for how much tension to apply upwards on each strap, and pulling a bit forwards on each strap, with each step going up stairs. And you lift, but kind of hold back (holding down the speed) as she descends the stairs.
We could immediately tell that she had gained a lot of confidence in getting in and out of the RV and we felt so much better about her not working too hard or hurting herself.
We left the harness on one time for about 5 or 6 hours after she'd gotten used to it a few times and she made no efforts to "get rid of it". And, after a bit of trouble the first time we put it on, she now knows it's there to help her and she almost makes it easy for us to get it onto her.
We also tried the harness to get her into and out of our Honda CR-V car. She has never liked to be picked up, so getting her into or out of the car after she couldn't do it on her own, was a chore. Now we put the harness on, let her get a running start, and weeeee we're flying as we pick her completely up with both straps and "fly" her into the hatch at the back of the car. We "fly" her out the same way (less the running start) and it's a lot less stressful on all of us!
What a great product!"