Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Lift Assist Dog Harness

Older dogs often want to get up and go, but hip problems, surgery, and muscle pain can sometimes make the getting-up part a challenge. Our easy-to-use harness cradles and supports your dog completely and comfortably—lifting from the chest, not the legs—allowing you to easily help him up into a standing position, steady him on the stairs, or ease entry and exit from a vehicle. Features comfortable, adjustable handles; constructed with seat belt-material strapping. In black/red. Nylon/microfiber/PVC. Washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.144 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (104 reviews)
5 stars
59
4 stars
23
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
9
87 of 104(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Review 1 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Saves the Day For Buddy!,
June 29, 2015
By: HighlyRecommended
"This product has made it possible for me to assist my 15 year old springer spaniel with using the stairs. The sturdy construction provides a comfortable fit and a strong zipper keeps the harness firmly around him. Four large metal rings attached to two sturdy handles allow me to give him the support he needs when he stumbles. So far, no falls!"
Review 2 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Seems fit for purpose and well made,
June 28, 2015
By: GinnyMay
from Wales, UK
"Was a bit doubtful whether the medium might be a bit large for our fairly dainty elderly cocker spaniel but it fits OK with the straps nearly fully tightened. Could have done with a diagram to show which way to put it on, not absolutely clear. After a short trial at home, I think it will be useful to help her up to our daughter's 4th floor flat, which is why I bought it (although not very big, she's too heavy for me to carry up 4 flights of steps, I'm fairly puffed just getting myself up there!)"
Review 3 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the money,
June 27, 2015
By: StuartW
from Manhattan, NYC
"Carrying a 100b 14 year old arthritic dog up and down stairs isn't much fun. With this harness it becomes easier for myself and most importantly my dog. It makes visiting places with stairs much easier, which means I can bring my friend to more places keeping him active and involved despite his age. Highly recommended."
Review 4 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
lift harness for older dogs,
June 27, 2015
By: lpn04750
from Attleboro Massachusetts
"I like the construction of the vest/harness and it is easy to get on and off. I do wish that it came with 2 handles to lift your senior citizen. It is a little awkward using a leash and a handle..."
Review 5 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Product,
June 2, 2015
By: Sandra316
from Little Falls, NJ
"Our Rio (rottie-chow mix) is 10 years old. She had ACL operations in 2008 and 2010. We tried something similar to this, but it was so much more a "contraption," we could not use it, way too cumbersome. THIS one is sleek, easy to handle, I might get another to keep upstairs so we are always prepared! It achieves exactly what I wanted. Intend to keep it on her more often than not, but right now weather is too warm. I think she actually likes the security of it when it's on, even without our using it. This is a real blessing."
Review 6 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good quality and sturdy harness,
April 30, 2015
By: MC25
"I bought this for my older dog to help him get into the car or up the stairs. It's not cheap but compared to other products it is very well made and sturdy. Once the straps were adjusted it's quite easy to put on as well."
Review 7 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great,
April 27, 2015
By: tripie
from dorset
"I bought this harness for my aged labrador .It is brilliant,for helping her up stairs or in and out of the car.The more I put it on her the easier it becomes.Only one small thing is it slips down her front legs so have added a small bit of strap,to hold in place."
Review 8 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
questionable,
April 16, 2015
By: Ebonysmom123
from Rock Island, Il.
"I found it difficult to get the harness on my girl because of the arthritis, but it is VERY well constructed."
Review 9 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very useful,
April 2, 2015
By: Tanya1975
from Yorkshire UK
"The harness has been a great help with my old arthritic dog who also has hip problems . It helps me get him out and about and he feels secure as he is unsteady on his feet without it on . I have made some minor adjustments to it myself for it to fit better but expected this as they are standard size and all dogs are different shapes and sizes ."
Review 10 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
dog harness,
March 30, 2015
By: howly
from San Anrtonio, Texas
"This harness is fine and solves a problem for my older German Shepherd"
Review 11 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My almost 14 year old Golden,
March 23, 2015
By: goldenjava
from AR
"I bought this harness about 6 months ago as I've noticed that my aging Golden is going to have a hard time getting up the stairs to our bedroom. She won't sleep downstairs and barks till someone comes gets her. The harness is great as I think she now relies on it as support to move up the stairs without slipping. I think it gives her some confidence.
Downside to this harness is that it is rather hard to get it on. I've discovered once you get the zipper locked in on one end, it's difficult to fully zip it because the front end of the harness is down. I've resorted to putting it on, zip it only to secure it, then simply hooking the two rings with the buckle without zipping it all the way up. They should change it to velcro instead of a zipper, then it would get 5 stars. For a 70 lbs golden, the XL is needed otherwise it's too tight to go around the dog.
"
Review 12 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase for Senior Dogs,
March 4, 2015
By: Doodlebug03
from Nazareth, PA
"Best apparatus for our senior four legged friends. This product is so useful for the purposes intended, getting up from a laying position, up and down steps and getting into automobiles. It also serves a dual purpose, It relieves the owner from constantly bending over to assist in these activities. If you have back issues, this makes an immense difference. Product is easy to get on and off. Love it."
Review 13 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Life saver,
March 4, 2015
By: Es224
from Massachusetts
"This harness is a life saver for our 12 yr old lab. She with bad arthritis it was difficult for her to jump in and out of the car. We are now able to continue bringing her to work with us everyday. It takes a few minutes to get the harness on but is totally worth the effort."
Review 14 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bummer!!!!,
February 11, 2015
By: OSLOsDad
from Seattle, WA
"My 11 year old Golden Retriever is pretty sick with bone cancer in one rear leg and now arthritis, but he's still happy and wagging his tail. He weighs 77 lbs... the XL was too big and covered his parts so would not work. The L was too small around his body girth. What a good idea, gone bad. I paid overnight shipping twice... Worst experience I've had with the usual quality I find in turning to Orvis for my dog products. Envious of those who had better luck with the product!"
Review 15 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best lift assist ever,
January 13, 2015
By: Beda65
"This lift harness has been a lifesaver with our 12 1/2 yr lab. He has has two cry ate repair so his arthritis is bad and when we got a new SUV he would not climb the ramp anymore. This harness has been so wonderful in lifting him that on trips to the vet they have left him in in for X-rays and ultrasound since it is easier to lift him up for procedures without compromising his comfort. A wonderful product"
Review 16 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Labadorable Lift Assist,
January 5, 2015
By: Beth8
from Woodacre, CA
"The lift assist dog harness has made it easier for my 14 1/2yo labrador to walk up and down stairs and the ramp to the car. It goes on easily, adjusts easily and is strong enough to support an 85lb dog."
Review 17 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
No assist to my dog,
January 2, 2015
By: LAdams
from Scottsdale AZ
"This is too difficult to put on any dog, and completely covered and squished my male dog's private parts once I managed to get the harness on.
The straps need to buckle to the harness for easy on & off. The zipper is nearly impossible to use, Velcro or snaps would be much better.
The construction is very sturdy and of high quality, with the few tweaks mentioned above I think this would be perfect.
"
Review 18 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thank You,
December 31, 2014
By: Tim123
from Colorado Springs, CO
"I Initially thought my order wasn't going to get her before Christmas but you came through and I really appreciate it.
Thanks!"
Review 19 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So glad I got this.,
December 31, 2014
By: coloradocowgirl
from Lafayette, CO
"Lily, my 13 year old Weimaraner, is a dear and loved by many. As her arthritis has gotten worse there have been trips to the vet and adjustments in care so she can have the most comfort possible. I got this harness so I could help her if she had trouble climbing steps or getting into the truck. It works perfectly. It is very easy to put on (back zip is brilliant), though I leave her in it much of the time. Now if she needs help I can give her the lift she needs. The harness is steady and secure. Her weight is supported in a balanced way. This harness will help us be together longer with better quality time."
Review 20 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Assist Harness!,
December 23, 2014
By: 1912House
from Michigan
"We have a 14.5 year old smaller Anatolian Shepherd who has some spinal degeneration going on, along with other medical issues. Anatolians have a long back and we wanted a harness that uses his chest to spread out the "lift" from a harness. Many harnesses are bunched around the rear legs; not an option for our dog because he has such a long back and also digestive issues (we did NOT want to be putting pressure on his lower digestive system!). Some harnesses are focused on the front legs of a dog and again we thought this would not balance over the length of our dog. This harness is lightweight, with two detachable/adjustable rubber grip handles/nylon leads. The harness zips off along the spine, but our old dog just wears it all the time without seeming to notice it at all. This is a really good thing because if he needs to go out quickly, we can get the leads/handles snapped on and have him out the door in under a minute. We use the harness to help our dog down our back outside steps. We don't have to "lift" on the handles much - mostly it's just a safety measure. This harness is also great for getting large dogs in a vehicle. It seems that much of the time, older dogs can "almost" get into a vehicle and just need a little help."