Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Lift Assist Dog Harness

Older dogs often want to get up and go, but hip problems, surgery, and muscle pain can sometimes make the getting-up part a challenge. Our easy-to-use harness cradles and supports your dog completely and comfortably—lifting from the chest, not the legs—allowing you to easily help him up into a standing position, steady him on the stairs, or ease entry and exit from a vehicle. Features comfortable, adjustable handles; constructed with seat belt-material strapping. In black/red. Nylon/microfiber/PVC. Washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.135 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (96 reviews)
5 stars
54
4 stars
21
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
8
80 of 96(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Review 1 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
questionable,
April 16, 2015
By: Ebonysmom123
from Rock Island, Il.
"I found it difficult to get the harness on my girl because of the arthritis, but it is VERY well constructed."
Review 2 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very useful,
April 2, 2015
By: Tanya1975
from Yorkshire UK
"The harness has been a great help with my old arthritic dog who also has hip problems . It helps me get him out and about and he feels secure as he is unsteady on his feet without it on . I have made some minor adjustments to it myself for it to fit better but expected this as they are standard size and all dogs are different shapes and sizes ."
Review 3 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
dog harness,
March 30, 2015
By: howly
from San Anrtonio, Texas
"This harness is fine and solves a problem for my older German Shepherd"
Review 4 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My almost 14 year old Golden,
March 23, 2015
By: goldenjava
from AR
"I bought this harness about 6 months ago as I've noticed that my aging Golden is going to have a hard time getting up the stairs to our bedroom. She won't sleep downstairs and barks till someone comes gets her. The harness is great as I think she now relies on it as support to move up the stairs without slipping. I think it gives her some confidence.
Downside to this harness is that it is rather hard to get it on. I've discovered once you get the zipper locked in on one end, it's difficult to fully zip it because the front end of the harness is down. I've resorted to putting it on, zip it only to secure it, then simply hooking the two rings with the buckle without zipping it all the way up. They should change it to velcro instead of a zipper, then it would get 5 stars. For a 70 lbs golden, the XL is needed otherwise it's too tight to go around the dog.
"
Review 5 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase for Senior Dogs,
March 4, 2015
By: Doodlebug03
from Nazareth, PA
"Best apparatus for our senior four legged friends. This product is so useful for the purposes intended, getting up from a laying position, up and down steps and getting into automobiles. It also serves a dual purpose, It relieves the owner from constantly bending over to assist in these activities. If you have back issues, this makes an immense difference. Product is easy to get on and off. Love it."
Review 6 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Life saver,
March 4, 2015
By: Es224
from Massachusetts
"This harness is a life saver for our 12 yr old lab. She with bad arthritis it was difficult for her to jump in and out of the car. We are now able to continue bringing her to work with us everyday. It takes a few minutes to get the harness on but is totally worth the effort."
Review 7 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bummer!!!!,
February 11, 2015
By: OSLOsDad
from Seattle, WA
"My 11 year old Golden Retriever is pretty sick with bone cancer in one rear leg and now arthritis, but he's still happy and wagging his tail. He weighs 77 lbs... the XL was too big and covered his parts so would not work. The L was too small around his body girth. What a good idea, gone bad. I paid overnight shipping twice... Worst experience I've had with the usual quality I find in turning to Orvis for my dog products. Envious of those who had better luck with the product!"
Review 8 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best lift assist ever,
January 13, 2015
By: Beda65
"This lift harness has been a lifesaver with our 12 1/2 yr lab. He has has two cry ate repair so his arthritis is bad and when we got a new SUV he would not climb the ramp anymore. This harness has been so wonderful in lifting him that on trips to the vet they have left him in in for X-rays and ultrasound since it is easier to lift him up for procedures without compromising his comfort. A wonderful product"
Review 9 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Labadorable Lift Assist,
January 5, 2015
By: Beth8
from Woodacre, CA
"The lift assist dog harness has made it easier for my 14 1/2yo labrador to walk up and down stairs and the ramp to the car. It goes on easily, adjusts easily and is strong enough to support an 85lb dog."
Review 10 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
No assist to my dog,
January 2, 2015
By: LAdams
from Scottsdale AZ
"This is too difficult to put on any dog, and completely covered and squished my male dog's private parts once I managed to get the harness on.
The straps need to buckle to the harness for easy on & off. The zipper is nearly impossible to use, Velcro or snaps would be much better.
The construction is very sturdy and of high quality, with the few tweaks mentioned above I think this would be perfect.
"
Review 11 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thank You,
December 31, 2014
By: Tim123
from Colorado Springs, CO
"I Initially thought my order wasn't going to get her before Christmas but you came through and I really appreciate it.
Thanks!"
Review 12 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So glad I got this.,
December 31, 2014
By: coloradocowgirl
from Lafayette, CO
"Lily, my 13 year old Weimaraner, is a dear and loved by many. As her arthritis has gotten worse there have been trips to the vet and adjustments in care so she can have the most comfort possible. I got this harness so I could help her if she had trouble climbing steps or getting into the truck. It works perfectly. It is very easy to put on (back zip is brilliant), though I leave her in it much of the time. Now if she needs help I can give her the lift she needs. The harness is steady and secure. Her weight is supported in a balanced way. This harness will help us be together longer with better quality time."
Review 13 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Assist Harness!,
December 23, 2014
By: 1912House
from Michigan
"We have a 14.5 year old smaller Anatolian Shepherd who has some spinal degeneration going on, along with other medical issues. Anatolians have a long back and we wanted a harness that uses his chest to spread out the "lift" from a harness. Many harnesses are bunched around the rear legs; not an option for our dog because he has such a long back and also digestive issues (we did NOT want to be putting pressure on his lower digestive system!). Some harnesses are focused on the front legs of a dog and again we thought this would not balance over the length of our dog. This harness is lightweight, with two detachable/adjustable rubber grip handles/nylon leads. The harness zips off along the spine, but our old dog just wears it all the time without seeming to notice it at all. This is a really good thing because if he needs to go out quickly, we can get the leads/handles snapped on and have him out the door in under a minute. We use the harness to help our dog down our back outside steps. We don't have to "lift" on the handles much - mostly it's just a safety measure. This harness is also great for getting large dogs in a vehicle. It seems that much of the time, older dogs can "almost" get into a vehicle and just need a little help."
Review 14 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Help for hips!,
December 16, 2014
By: NurseSue
from Virginia
"My German Shepherd has hip dysplasia and stairs are painful. This allows me to take some of the weight off his hips and yet I am not carrying my 93lb dog up the stairs. He is so much happier, and best of all... LESS PAIN!! Thank you ORVIS!!! GREAT product!"
Review 15 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A helpful harness,
December 13, 2014
By: TheKindDuckmeister
from Ceres, CA.
"We go through life and learn in small steps what is really important. My German shepard at 14 human years is a Saint. If i were just 10 % as good as he naturally is, I would be a Saint. The harness has been an invaluable peace of wonder, assistance, and mercy to help Tucker with his advanced stage of hip dysplasia. I don't have the back bone to put him down and Orvis has provided our friend and family a very Merry Christmas with the aid of the Harness. God Bless you all and much deserved happiness."
Review 16 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good support for older dog,
December 13, 2014
By: Bo121
from Duxbury, MA
"I purchased this harness so I could support my older lab getting up and down the stairs and in and out of the car. The harness is very well made and extremely sturdy. My lab is 11 years old, has both cruciate ligaments torn and repaired and has arthritis very bad. Great product."
Review 17 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A quality product,
December 13, 2014
By: Happydog4us
from Oxford, UK
"Our dog is 13 years old and has recently suffered a stroke so her age related physical weakness in the hips is now further compromised by a lack of balance. This harness has been a godsend. We can help her to get in and out of the car and climb stairs with minimal effort. It is easy to fit and remove, comfortable for the dog and is clearly a high quality product."
Review 18 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was a life saver,
December 11, 2014
By: CardiB
from Boise, ID
"I purchased a Medium for my 33 pounds Shibainu (he is larger than average). It fits fine on him. He was having Vestibular disease and could not stand or walk since he lost balance. It was very useful to support him. It help me to grab the harness to help him get out of the bed, or get him up.
Like some reviews say there was no instruction, and I put it on wrong, first but noticed that he Orvis logo was upside down. An instruction would be helpful. It could be on the website on the product page.
Also missing on the product page is informations with detailed measurements. You don't really know if the harness would fit on your dog till it arrives. All the dog has different body future so it's hard to decide by only weights. I would help if there are pictures of different size of harness with model dogs showing their measurements so that you could compare with your dog.
Some people don't like the zipper but I like it. It fits to his body closely and securely, and it is comfortable for him. It is fast to put is on and off too.
The long handles are useful when my dog needed a full support to walk but not good for him to sleep with or walk around by himself. I attached a short sturdy cord that I had at home and it was more useful as he got better. I grabbed that only when needed, and left it on all the time.
When I ordered, I needed it right way so I chose the Next Day shipping and it arrived in the evening of the next day. I was so happy to have the harness. It has helped me and my dog to get through the situation. He has been wearing all day and night since it has arrived."
Review 19 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Life saver,
December 2, 2014
By: Shannoc
from Appomattox, VA
"My Lab Shannoc has been been progressively getting worse. Now he cannot use his back legs and he weighs 80 pounds. This harness has given him the ability to stay with us an extra month. We had to order a size smaller than what his weight limit said to order because he is not so long and he was not able to urinate due to the long support underneath. It has been a life saver....."
Review 20 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helped me,
November 18, 2014
By: Beezeus
from Buggs Island, Va
"The 12 yr old dog I use this harness on has benefited. I can easily help him when he gets weak in the hips and after he gets started up the stairs all I have to do is grab the handles and I am able to help him up if he needs me to. There seems to be no issues with comfort, he has worn it since it arrived now going on a month."