Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Lift Assist Dog Harness

Older dogs often want to get up and go, but hip problems, surgery, and muscle pain can sometimes make the getting-up part a challenge. Our easy-to-use harness cradles and supports your dog completely and comfortably—lifting from the chest, not the legs—allowing you to easily help him up into a standing position, steady him on the stairs, or ease entry and exit from a vehicle. Features comfortable, adjustable handles; constructed with seat belt-material strapping. In black/red. Nylon/microfiber/PVC. Washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.117 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (77 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
17
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
6
64 of 77(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Review 1 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helped me,
November 18, 2014
By: Beezeus
from Buggs Island, Va
"The 12 yr old dog I use this harness on has benefited. I can easily help him when he gets weak in the hips and after he gets started up the stairs all I have to do is grab the handles and I am able to help him up if he needs me to. There seems to be no issues with comfort, he has worn it since it arrived now going on a month."
Review 2 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a Blessing,
November 12, 2014
By: Pebbie
"Our 14 year old Golden Retriver has been wearing her Orvis harness much of the time since it arrived. Her hind legs are failing her, making it a struggle to climb the stairs in our two story home without assistance. The harness is attractive & makes her climb up stairs or into our SUV an easy transition both for our dog & my husband."
Review 3 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
November 10, 2014
By: DoggieGal3
from Fitzwilliam, NH
"This is a quality harness that is just about perfect to help my aging Lab
with her declining hips. It spreads the uplift over a wider area, thus is more comfortable for her than a towel just around the hip area.
"
Review 4 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
October 15, 2014
By: Sheree1
from Leeds
"We bought the large hip assist for Ty our 30 kilo elderly lab retriever when he started to get a bit wobbly. It worked fantastically as meant we could take some of his weight when walking and the harness was sturdy enough to pick him up to put him in the car. The harness sits on his chest and abdomen whilst still allowing him to urinate. It has adjustable straps so is quite a snug fit with sturdy straps and good quality detachable short handles.The harness has really come into it's own in the last few days as Ty has had an episode of vestibular disease making him very unsteady. The harness has meant we have been able to care for him at home and help him with rehabilitation. Overall the harness has allowed Ty to continue to enjoy walks and made it a lot easier to for us to help him. I would highly recommend this product to anyone with an elderly dog or a dog rehabilitating after illness."
Review 5 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helpful in Many Ways,
October 14, 2014
By: sleeman
from Hampton, VA
"My golden retriever had been struggling with her back and hind legs for weeks, and I was at a loss as to what else to do. Then a friend recommended this product. Not only has it made a difference the way it is supposed to -- in helping her up off a wood floor or up the steps to the house -- it seems to have helped stabilize her. She is just doing better overall. I don't know if it acts as a brace or it just gives her a sense of security, but it's working. Nothing else was."
Review 6 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Product,
September 25, 2014
By: barneysmum45
from Lancashire England
"This product enabled our very elderly dog to walk for a little longer and helped us to care for him in the last few weeks of his life. We sadly had to say goodbye finally to our lovely golden retriever last Friday but this superb lifting harness helped to support him and us in his final weeks. Well done , Orvis!"
Review 7 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It works,
September 24, 2014
By: snooty1212
from Green Bay, Wi
"Our 13 year old Akita mix has weak back legs and we have 5 steps from the garage into the house. She would sometimes not make it. This works because of the front strap. It does not allow harness to slip on her back on the way down or up the steps. I believe she knows we are helping her. It's not the easiest thing to put on with 1 person but I manage, that's why I only gave it 4 stars. It's very well made."
Review 8 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for my dog,
August 12, 2014
By: DogLover82
from Dallas, TX
"A friend of mine referred me to this product and I decided to give it a go.
My 130 pound French Mastiff is aging and is having trouble going up and down the stairs. We have wooden stairs and he had a bad slip and no longer wanted to even attempt he stairs, but this harness allowed us to give him more confidence and security and he started attempting the stairs again.
My dog actually weighs more than I do, but with the distribution of the harness under his body and the help of the handles, I have no trouble guiding him up or down. Overall, it's perfect for what I intended it for.
I do wish the straps were shorter or came with a second set of straps that were shorted or closer to his body to have an even better grasp.
"
Review 9 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thank you for real help for my dog,
August 11, 2014
By: Granny8
from Virginia
"Our 15 year old flat coat retriever has such a hard time with arthritis that he can't get into the car or go up stairs. With the assist jacket he can go on rides again and sleep upstairs by our bed again. It is a new lease on his life."
Review 10 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A must for older dogs,
August 7, 2014
By: Caretaker4dogs
from Central NY
"Having owned many dogs, this is by far the best method to maneuver my older dogs through the daily routine of stairs and outdoor therapy. Harness is untouched while doing their "business". Strong support under their chest and belly. No pulling straps. Very well made. The zipper on the back makes quick and easy access for my elderly dog that gets acupuncture for her failing hips. My veterinarian even asked where I found this! She loved it! If you've done the towel thing with your dog like I did, you'll LOVE this."
Review 11 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor Design and No Instructions,
June 26, 2014
By: LabLoverPittsburgh
"Very challenging to put on an infirm dog -- especially when instructions are not provided. While the harness is handsome and strong, it would be greatly improved if manufacturer could even indicate which end goes in the front -- it is not self-evident. Again, this is primarily a problem when the dog is infirm (14 year old lab!), and the person using the harness has had no previous experience."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not the best,
June 17, 2014
By: Hammster
from Cincinnati, oh
"I did not find this harness good for lifting my 100 pound lab. It was awkward to try to left with the long handles. I found another product that meets my needs better. On the plus side, it did seem to be quality made and constructed. I think it may be improved by having the material wrap under the dog's belly more. Maybe better suitable for a smaller dog."
Review 13 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for Boating,
May 28, 2014
By: BoatDog
from Rochester, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We have struggled for years getting our dogs on board our boats. Urging our rambunctious 65lb Fox Red Lab, "Ilse" up and down the steep ladder to the fly bridge is a major challenge. Every summer scratched arms and legs (ours) bear testimony.
This harness is exactly what was needed. My wife and I can each grab a strap, to raise or lower Ilse safely (for all three of us) on or off a boat, or up or down a the boat ladder.
"
Review 14 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love Love Love,
May 15, 2014
By: Rosemary123
"I bought this for my beloved dog Marlon who has cancer and can not use his left leg anymore. It not only helps him but it helps me. I do not have to bend over to help him up or down stairs.
When the time comes I will donate this to the Humane Society.
Thank you so much
Rosemary Flores Curry
"
Review 15 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SKEPTICAL at 1st, but then...,
March 7, 2014
By: Desfy
"I was skeptical at 1st, but then I noticed the zipper under the D-rings
I couldn't believe how easy it went on,this harness is VERY well made. The harness can control the dog quite well when it is fitted properly. I loved it even more when my 14yr old,weirdo,shy dog still did his business with it on. He won't with a jacket on. Even though the harness is sturdy enough to grab using just 1 strap will surprise the HECK out of anyone when used to traverse a staircase.TOP QUALITY! WORTH IT! So well balanced could double as a rescue harness.
"
Review 16 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy with the harness,
March 1, 2014
By: furparent
"My poor old dog has struggled for a while now trying to get up after laying down or even going down a few steps. We did the towel and scarf bit, but this works really well.
I wish the straps were a little shorter, but this makes his like a lot easier.
A bit pricey, but seemed so much better than others we viewed.
"
Review 17 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lift Assist Dog Harness,
February 23, 2014
By: Sally12
from East Greenwich,RI
"I bought the lift assist Dog Harness for my 12 year old Springer-Lab, Morgan. Our vet believes she may have a partially torn cruciate ligament. My vet recommended a lifting harness with handles toward the front and back. This harness fits the bill and it fits Morgan pretty well too, thanks to adjustable side straps. The handles are very ergonomic and my dog seems more confident when walking with the harness. Size large fits my 50 pound dog pretty well. A good purchase and a good investment."
Review 18 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Assist Dedvice,
February 12, 2014
By: Misha99E
from Ontario
"This harness is handsome, well-built, and useful. It is cumbersome for a single retired person to install on the dog, and cannot be easily put on when the dog is lying down. A second person helping would be ideal. Fabric including belts is strong.. Overall, I would recommend it to those who can manage the installation better than I can. I am sure a dog feels proud to wear this lift harness!"
Review 19 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thank you Orvis,
February 7, 2014
By: LaCroixBouey
from UK
"My elderly gentleman of a 35kg 14.5 year old labrador legs are going and breaking our heart. This is the 4th product we have purchased to help - the other 3 were useless and a waste of money. This product actually helps, not only can we help our old boy to keep mobile, but for the first time in months, I don't have back ache from 'heaving' him up. He is happier and so are we.
Although there is some criticism about the zip, in my opinion is another else wouldn't be secure enough, especially when you get to the size of our boy you need 'properly made'. When compared to any other products I have found, this one is streets ahead in design.
Thank you Orvis, you have e made us all happier and healthier!"
Review 20 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful purchase!,
February 6, 2014
By: potterp2
from East Lansing, MI
"This product has been a complete life saver with our dog who recently had surgery to repair a torn ACL. Not only does this help us get her in and out of the car, but up and down the stairs, and it also just helps us get her up and moving as we can lift her rear to get her started. This has been an amazing help, and I highly recommend it to anyone going through a similar surgery or situation.
We have a 50 pound Australian Shepherd and ordered the large - it fits perfectly.
"