Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Lift Assist Dog Harness

Older dogs often want to get up and go, but hip problems, surgery, and muscle pain can sometimes make the getting-up part a challenge. Our easy-to-use harness cradles and supports your dog completely and comfortably—lifting from the chest, not the legs—allowing you to easily help him up into a standing position, steady him on the stairs, or ease entry and exit from a vehicle. Features comfortable, adjustable handles; constructed with seat belt-material strapping. In black/red. Nylon/microfiber/PVC. Washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.181 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (83 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
17
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
6
70 of 83(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Review 1 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Help for hips!,
December 16, 2014
By: NurseSue
from Virginia
"My German Shepherd has hip dysplasia and stairs are painful. This allows me to take some of the weight off his hips and yet I am not carrying my 93lb dog up the stairs. He is so much happier, and best of all... LESS PAIN!! Thank you ORVIS!!! GREAT product!"
Review 2 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A helpful harness,
December 13, 2014
By: TheKindDuckmeister
from Ceres, CA.
"We go through life and learn in small steps what is really important. My German shepard at 14 human years is a Saint. If i were just 10 % as good as he naturally is, I would be a Saint. The harness has been an invaluable peace of wonder, assistance, and mercy to help Tucker with his advanced stage of hip dysplasia. I don't have the back bone to put him down and Orvis has provided our friend and family a very Merry Christmas with the aid of the Harness. God Bless you all and much deserved happiness."
Review 3 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good support for older dog,
December 13, 2014
By: Bo121
from Duxbury, MA
"I purchased this harness so I could support my older lab getting up and down the stairs and in and out of the car. The harness is very well made and extremely sturdy. My lab is 11 years old, has both cruciate ligaments torn and repaired and has arthritis very bad. Great product."
Review 4 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A quality product,
December 13, 2014
By: Happydog4us
from Oxford, UK
"Our dog is 13 years old and has recently suffered a stroke so her age related physical weakness in the hips is now further compromised by a lack of balance. This harness has been a godsend. We can help her to get in and out of the car and climb stairs with minimal effort. It is easy to fit and remove, comfortable for the dog and is clearly a high quality product."
Review 5 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was a life saver,
December 11, 2014
By: CardiB
from Boise, ID
"I purchased a Medium for my 33 pounds Shibainu (he is larger than average). It fits fine on him. He was having Vestibular disease and could not stand or walk since he lost balance. It was very useful to support him. It help me to grab the harness to help him get out of the bed, or get him up.
Like some reviews say there was no instruction, and I put it on wrong, first but noticed that he Orvis logo was upside down. An instruction would be helpful. It could be on the website on the product page.
Also missing on the product page is informations with detailed measurements. You don't really know if the harness would fit on your dog till it arrives. All the dog has different body future so it's hard to decide by only weights. I would help if there are pictures of different size of harness with model dogs showing their measurements so that you could compare with your dog.
Some people don't like the zipper but I like it. It fits to his body closely and securely, and it is comfortable for him. It is fast to put is on and off too.
The long handles are useful when my dog needed a full support to walk but not good for him to sleep with or walk around by himself. I attached a short sturdy cord that I had at home and it was more useful as he got better. I grabbed that only when needed, and left it on all the time.
When I ordered, I needed it right way so I chose the Next Day shipping and it arrived in the evening of the next day. I was so happy to have the harness. It has helped me and my dog to get through the situation. He has been wearing all day and night since it has arrived."
Review 6 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Life saver,
December 2, 2014
By: Shannoc
from Appomattox, VA
"My Lab Shannoc has been been progressively getting worse. Now he cannot use his back legs and he weighs 80 pounds. This harness has given him the ability to stay with us an extra month. We had to order a size smaller than what his weight limit said to order because he is not so long and he was not able to urinate due to the long support underneath. It has been a life saver....."
Review 7 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helped me,
November 18, 2014
By: Beezeus
from Buggs Island, Va
"The 12 yr old dog I use this harness on has benefited. I can easily help him when he gets weak in the hips and after he gets started up the stairs all I have to do is grab the handles and I am able to help him up if he needs me to. There seems to be no issues with comfort, he has worn it since it arrived now going on a month."
Review 8 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a Blessing,
November 12, 2014
By: Pebbie
"Our 14 year old Golden Retriver has been wearing her Orvis harness much of the time since it arrived. Her hind legs are failing her, making it a struggle to climb the stairs in our two story home without assistance. The harness is attractive & makes her climb up stairs or into our SUV an easy transition both for our dog & my husband."
Review 9 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
November 10, 2014
By: DoggieGal3
from Fitzwilliam, NH
"This is a quality harness that is just about perfect to help my aging Lab
with her declining hips. It spreads the uplift over a wider area, thus is more comfortable for her than a towel just around the hip area.
"
Review 10 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
October 15, 2014
By: Sheree1
from Leeds
"We bought the large hip assist for Ty our 30 kilo elderly lab retriever when he started to get a bit wobbly. It worked fantastically as meant we could take some of his weight when walking and the harness was sturdy enough to pick him up to put him in the car. The harness sits on his chest and abdomen whilst still allowing him to urinate. It has adjustable straps so is quite a snug fit with sturdy straps and good quality detachable short handles.The harness has really come into it's own in the last few days as Ty has had an episode of vestibular disease making him very unsteady. The harness has meant we have been able to care for him at home and help him with rehabilitation. Overall the harness has allowed Ty to continue to enjoy walks and made it a lot easier to for us to help him. I would highly recommend this product to anyone with an elderly dog or a dog rehabilitating after illness."
Review 11 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helpful in Many Ways,
October 14, 2014
By: sleeman
from Hampton, VA
"My golden retriever had been struggling with her back and hind legs for weeks, and I was at a loss as to what else to do. Then a friend recommended this product. Not only has it made a difference the way it is supposed to -- in helping her up off a wood floor or up the steps to the house -- it seems to have helped stabilize her. She is just doing better overall. I don't know if it acts as a brace or it just gives her a sense of security, but it's working. Nothing else was."
Review 12 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Product,
September 25, 2014
By: barneysmum45
from Lancashire England
"This product enabled our very elderly dog to walk for a little longer and helped us to care for him in the last few weeks of his life. We sadly had to say goodbye finally to our lovely golden retriever last Friday but this superb lifting harness helped to support him and us in his final weeks. Well done , Orvis!"
Review 13 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It works,
September 24, 2014
By: snooty1212
from Green Bay, Wi
"Our 13 year old Akita mix has weak back legs and we have 5 steps from the garage into the house. She would sometimes not make it. This works because of the front strap. It does not allow harness to slip on her back on the way down or up the steps. I believe she knows we are helping her. It's not the easiest thing to put on with 1 person but I manage, that's why I only gave it 4 stars. It's very well made."
Review 14 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for my dog,
August 12, 2014
By: DogLover82
from Dallas, TX
"A friend of mine referred me to this product and I decided to give it a go.
My 130 pound French Mastiff is aging and is having trouble going up and down the stairs. We have wooden stairs and he had a bad slip and no longer wanted to even attempt he stairs, but this harness allowed us to give him more confidence and security and he started attempting the stairs again.
My dog actually weighs more than I do, but with the distribution of the harness under his body and the help of the handles, I have no trouble guiding him up or down. Overall, it's perfect for what I intended it for.
I do wish the straps were shorter or came with a second set of straps that were shorted or closer to his body to have an even better grasp.
"
Review 15 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thank you for real help for my dog,
August 11, 2014
By: Granny8
from Virginia
"Our 15 year old flat coat retriever has such a hard time with arthritis that he can't get into the car or go up stairs. With the assist jacket he can go on rides again and sleep upstairs by our bed again. It is a new lease on his life."
Review 16 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A must for older dogs,
August 7, 2014
By: Caretaker4dogs
from Central NY
"Having owned many dogs, this is by far the best method to maneuver my older dogs through the daily routine of stairs and outdoor therapy. Harness is untouched while doing their "business". Strong support under their chest and belly. No pulling straps. Very well made. The zipper on the back makes quick and easy access for my elderly dog that gets acupuncture for her failing hips. My veterinarian even asked where I found this! She loved it! If you've done the towel thing with your dog like I did, you'll LOVE this."
Review 17 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor Design and No Instructions,
June 26, 2014
By: LabLoverPittsburgh
"Very challenging to put on an infirm dog -- especially when instructions are not provided. While the harness is handsome and strong, it would be greatly improved if manufacturer could even indicate which end goes in the front -- it is not self-evident. Again, this is primarily a problem when the dog is infirm (14 year old lab!), and the person using the harness has had no previous experience."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not the best,
June 17, 2014
By: Hammster
from Cincinnati, oh
"I did not find this harness good for lifting my 100 pound lab. It was awkward to try to left with the long handles. I found another product that meets my needs better. On the plus side, it did seem to be quality made and constructed. I think it may be improved by having the material wrap under the dog's belly more. Maybe better suitable for a smaller dog."
Review 19 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for Boating,
May 28, 2014
By: BoatDog
from Rochester, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We have struggled for years getting our dogs on board our boats. Urging our rambunctious 65lb Fox Red Lab, "Ilse" up and down the steep ladder to the fly bridge is a major challenge. Every summer scratched arms and legs (ours) bear testimony.
This harness is exactly what was needed. My wife and I can each grab a strap, to raise or lower Ilse safely (for all three of us) on or off a boat, or up or down a the boat ladder.
"
Review 20 for Lift Assist Dog Harness
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love Love Love,
May 15, 2014
By: Rosemary123
"I bought this for my beloved dog Marlon who has cancer and can not use his left leg anymore. It not only helps him but it helps me. I do not have to bend over to help him up or down stairs.
When the time comes I will donate this to the Humane Society.
Thank you so much
Rosemary Flores Curry
"