Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

LeashMaster® Training Leash

This dog training leash is an innovative solution that prevents unwanted jumping. A dog can generate seven times its body weight when pulling against a leash. The LeashMaster incorporates a lightweight graphite shaft, which provides the leverage needed to help you maintain precise control of your dog at all times, eliminate jumping, and keep your dog close while delivering commands. Attaches like a standard lead and features a comfortable foam grip. Dog training leash in black.
Average Customer Rating:
4.24 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
22 of 25(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for LeashMaster® Training Leash
Review 1 for LeashMaster® Training Leash
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Training leash,
March 5, 2013
By: Parkern
from Polson, MT
"This leash is very well made. I used it to work with my 11 month old dog to just get used to the agility equipment at a nice slow trotting pace. A regular leash does not work with the jumps and weave poles."
Review 2 for LeashMaster® Training Leash
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
not for small dogs,
February 18, 2013
By: JasmineAbby
from Troy NY
"Our dogs are both small terriers. One a mini schnauzer and one a mix. This was not a good size for them. Perhaps if the leash part was longer it would work."
Review 3 for LeashMaster® Training Leash
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great product,
January 16, 2013
By: Akers
from Spain
"This is a great product I tried it out on my excitable Labrador and work with rescue dogs in Spain so I will try it out with them."
Review 4 for LeashMaster® Training Leash
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great training tool,
January 16, 2013
By: Woodylover
"Not so great for walking leasurely with your dog if they are used to sniffing and using the restroom etc. but when propperly leash training your dog this is a great product. It works perfectly for my wife but is a bit short for me. I am 6'1"."
Review 5 for LeashMaster® Training Leash
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value and usefulness,
January 12, 2013
By: NobleLab
from Naples FL
"I like the variety of training uses that the website describes and illustrates. Make certain you review them and print them. Helpful aide."
Review 6 for LeashMaster® Training Leash
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Patience Need,
January 9, 2013
By: DaveAM
from Abbeville. LA
"This training leash is useful in teaching a young dog to heel and not to jump; however, the process still takes time, repetition and patience. Don't expect a cure-all."
Review 7 for LeashMaster® Training Leash
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dog Trainer,
January 2, 2013
By: MarinMomma
from Marin, CA
"Seems sturdy and looking forward to training with it."
Review 8 for LeashMaster® Training Leash
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great,
December 4, 2012
By: justme2u
"We like the training leash. It works well for our puppy who's learning to walk beside us."
Review 9 for LeashMaster® Training Leash
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
1 minute use!,
October 26, 2012
By: ingmaj
from Malaysia
"My dog (Rotweiler) pulled the rope from the rod in about 1 minute."
Review 10 for LeashMaster® Training Leash
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good value,
October 22, 2012
By: Sandman1
from North Central Minnesota
"I took my 3 month old lab for a walk nad had him heeling within a few minutes. This leash provides excellent control of the dog. The snap is on the heavy duty side."
Review 11 for LeashMaster® Training Leash
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
leash master,
September 12, 2012
By: rottilover
from Brandywine,MD
"I was so pleased to use the Leash Master. We have recently adopted an older blind dog. This leash is absolutely perfect in allowing him to walk with additional guidance. I am certain that the Leash Master would be very beneficial in discouraging jumping, as well. Thank you so much for providing a product that would have so many benefits to our dogs !"
Review 12 for LeashMaster® Training Leash
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GOOD TRAINING TOOL,
September 4, 2012
By: LEGALEAGLE
"JUST ADOPTED A BIG YELLOW AMERICAN LAB THROUGH ATLANTA LAB RESCUE. LOTS OF TRAINING WORK TO BE DONE AS HIS PAST IS UNKNOWN. THIS LEASH GIVES EXCELLENT CONTROL WITHOUT SO MUCH WEAR & TEAR ON ME"
Review 13 for LeashMaster® Training Leash
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Leashmaster,
March 23, 2012
By: K9Fi
from UK
"I would give this poduct 5* if it came with instructions! Where is the 'Learn More' tab mentioned? Not by the Reviews on my iPad."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMarch 26, 2012
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and thanked her for bringing this issue to our attention. We have now added the instructions for our LeashMaster® Training Leash to the Learn More tab.
Review 14 for LeashMaster® Training Leash
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
October 26, 2011
By: Duffsgal
from California
"I expected to have some instructions with this product, so that I use it effectively. But there are none! I intended to call - but you gave me this opportuntiy instead!"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Pet ExpertDecember 15, 2011
Orvis immediately contacted this customer and apologized instructions were not included in the original shipment. We promptly emailed a copy of these instructions to the customer. Also, the instructions for this product can be found under the "Learn More" tab for review.
Review 15 for LeashMaster® Training Leash
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great New Training Tool,
September 8, 2011
By: Anonymous
from Dartmouth, MA
"I have worked with my dogs in field and obedience and
can recommend the leash master as a great tool to gain proper control in many circumstances. I have seen this product through the inception to final product and can hightly recommend it.
"
Review 16 for LeashMaster® Training Leash
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works great for blind dogs!,
August 29, 2011
By: LuvsJackRussellTerriers
"This leash also works fantastic for blind dogs. It has been wonderful to help guide my little, blind Jack Russell when taking her places. A regular leash just did not give enough guidance. The minute I saw this leash in the catalog, I knew it was just what I needed! Maybe not what it was intended for, but works perfect to help guide blind or vision-impaired dogs."
Review 17 for LeashMaster® Training Leash
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic way to eliminate the dog walking you,
August 24, 2011
By: lcramer
"There's nothing worse than having your dog drag you down the sidewalk. Sure smaller dogs are easier to deal with but even my 35 lb dog is pretty strong and if she sees something she wants - away we go.
The LeashMaster is a great tool to help me control my dog on our walks. No more pulling or jerking. If you don't have the time or desire to learn loose leash walking with traditional leashes, I'd highly recommend using the LeashMaster. You'll immediately see results.
And if you're person into clicker training or positive reinforcement training, this leash doesn't go against those theories and has no harsh corrections."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for LeashMaster® Training Leash
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thank You, Thank You, Thank You!,
July 27, 2011
By: Rocky72
from Rhode Island
"I have a big,strong, 100 pound monster of a dog who loves to jet off at the first site of a rabbit or squirrel and drag me along for the ride. This leash gives a kind of leverage where Monster's pull can be easily counteracted. Also, he is heeling so well now that I no longer have to worry about pulling my shoulder out or hurting my dog's throat/neck area, which is a huge relief! Thank you, LeashMaster!"
Review 19 for LeashMaster® Training Leash
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easier on the dog, too,
July 27, 2011
By: GJKV
"This leash works like a champ even for those of us who are not trained dog handlers. The other beautiful thing about this product is that it puts much less strain on the dog's neck than a conventional leash, preventing injury to both the dog and the human."
Review 20 for LeashMaster® Training Leash
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT leash!!,
July 27, 2011
By: Kas1
"It's such a simple idea, I'm astonished it wasn't invented before--but it's a great dog leash, certainly for controlled walks (we live in the City), and absolutely for training."