Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clearwater 6-weight 9' Fly Rod

3⅝ oz. 9', 4-piece, Fly Rod for 6-wt. line.From Wisconsin smallies to Wyoming cutthroats, the Clearwater 906-4 Fly Rod is an extremely versatile tool built to handle large dries, heavy streamers and weighted nymphs. Cast with power and accuracy, without losing any feel, for a variety of species in rivers, lakes, or streams. Lightweight, yet brawny, the Clearwater 906-4 will cut through the wind, turn over large flies, and help you pursue the fish of a lifetime, all without putting a huge dent in your wallet.
Average Customer Rating:
4.87 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 of 23(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clearwater 6-weight 9' Fly Rod
Review 1 for Clearwater 6-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly rod,
July 17, 2014
By: Sacul
from Portage, MI
"One of the best fly rods I have ever used. I am going to be testing it out when I go to Alaska in August! I recommend orvis to all my buddies."
Review 2 for Clearwater 6-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rod,
July 16, 2014
By: QuabbinBob
"This is a great rod at a great price.
Light weight but rugged.
"
Review 3 for Clearwater 6-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good rod,
April 16, 2014
By: westbranch
from Naperville
"The whole Clearwater line is a cost effective choice. With a summer loaded with family events and a couple of trips (Midwest smallmouth and Yellowstone trout), I'm getting a few of these to make sure everyone has a rod in their hands. The midflex performance plus the heavier Clearwater line help bring newcomers into the sport by making casting as easy as possible."
Review 4 for Clearwater 6-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Outfit,
March 13, 2014
By: BRNC25
"I am completely new to fly fishing and had no knowledge about the sport going into my local Orvis store. After talking to the associates (one of them being the fishing manager) they recommended the clear water outfit.
After practicing my casting and fishing with it several times I am very happy with this outfit. Casts well and the reel is great as well, still can't believe how light the whole outfit is.
Since I have bought this outfit I have three family members who want to get into the sport and buy this set-up as well."
Review 5 for Clearwater 6-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rod Thus Far,
September 17, 2013
By: Batanga
from Kalispell, MT
"Hiked into a mountain lake last weekend here in Montana to try out my new Orvis rod. Was impressed by how well my new rod casted (6 wt Clearwater) in the windy conditions. Would not have been able to reach the fish with my old rod under those conditions. Caught several nice rainbows even after I was informed by a passing hiker that there were no fish in the lake!"
Review 6 for Clearwater 6-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best fly rod,
September 14, 2013
By: extremeflyfisher123
from Northern pike fishing on YouTube
"I've owned lots of fly rods in my life but this one is the best I hilly sugjest it I've cot big brook trout on it.
It's light smooth casting and with right practice you can pull in big fish with it you should totally get it.
"
Review 7 for Clearwater 6-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
orvis clearwater,
September 13, 2013
By: extremeflyfisher123
"if you want a good fly rod this is the one i have cot big rainbow trout brook trout and even small steel head with right practice you can hook and land big salmon and steel head this is the pol to by all the orvis poles are but this one is my favorit such a good pole!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Review 8 for Clearwater 6-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good fishing rod.,
July 12, 2013
By: SteveBC
from Vancouver, British Columbia
"This is a fine rod, it is well made and casts beautifully."
Review 9 for Clearwater 6-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellant,
July 1, 2013
By: Coserj
from Johnston, IA
"Great rod/reel combo. Excellant quality.Great action, light and well balanced. Nice travel case, only wish there was a built in reel case. I added alignment dots for easier assembly.When I ordered the outfit it was out of stock--customer service went an found one for me, Great Service."
Review 10 for Clearwater 6-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beyond Value Trout Bullwhip,
July 1, 2013
By: BrownBearMan
from Michigan
"This rod is exactly what I wanted and needed for the job. The job being bringing to net large meaty browns. It's sensitive, perfectly balanced and more than perfect.
I've attached the first brown bullet caught on the new rig."
Review 11 for Clearwater 6-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good value for money,
February 15, 2013
By: fyinfinn
from Sault Ste. Marie, ON
"Purchased this rod in used but mint condition and has met all my expectations. Very good quality for a mid-priced fly rod."
Review 12 for Clearwater 6-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great rod,
January 30, 2013
By: CathyG
from PA
"I was looking to replace a 10' rod that I had broken. Stopped in at a local Orvis shop thinking to check out the Clearwater 10-4 but it wasn't in stock. I was pleased to learn the 4 and 5 weights weigh the same so I bought the 5 weight and was immediately impressed by the feel and balance of the rod.
I easily cast a weighted multi fly rig with and without an indicator. Tossed a couple streamers I usually use with my 6 wt - no problem. Tried a dry fly and it cast like a dream.
The rod handles roll casts beautifully as well.
This rod performs like a much more expensive rod."
Review 13 for Clearwater 6-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
best,
October 21, 2012
By: sebbie
"the first time i used this it had great casting and super light its great and cheap."
Review 14 for Clearwater 6-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Fly Rod,
October 20, 2012
By: PT1505
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is an awesome rod! I bought it awhile ago and finally had time to take it out today, and I had an awesome time with it. I only fished the shore but a caught some pretty fish."
Review 15 for Clearwater 6-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best rod under $300,
October 15, 2012
By: FlyLegion
from Lodi , Ca
"This is a great rod. I have tried others but this is my favorite. Coupled with Orvis Gen 3 line and Battenkill Barstock, the pairing and balance is fantastic."
Review 16 for Clearwater 6-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great rod,
August 6, 2012
By: WJD01
from Doncaster England
"Just purchased a Clearwater 906 4 . Coupled with a Cortland 444 it cast and picked up line like a dream using drys and large lures and had plenty of backbone to handle some decent rainbows. So light there were no aches and pains after a hard day on the water."
Review 17 for Clearwater 6-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
orvis clearwater 9ft 6 weight,
August 6, 2012
By: bryo
from Belfast N.I.
"lovely rod casts a nice line only snag i have an orvis endura reel and it is not a very good fit onto the reel seat."
Review 18 for Clearwater 6-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just buy it,
May 22, 2012
By: RockvilleJayhawk
from Maryland
"This rod casts like a dream and has the chops to land a 15" largemouth."
Review 19 for Clearwater 6-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
4 pieces rod,
May 1, 2012
By: Miniwheat
from St-Jean Baptiste, Quebec
"I am an old fashioned flyfisherman and I have several rods of different weights. Lately I bought this Clearwater 4 pieces outfit 9' for 6 weight but I was worrying about the rod response since it is a 4 pieces rod. I am used to 2 pieces rods and I always said that if one piece rods existed, I'd buy one right away. I must admit that these 4 pieces rods have a very good response and I didn't feel any difference between my 2 pieces rods and this one. So I've changed my mind and now, I'll never hesitate one second to buy another one when the needs will ask for it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Clearwater 6-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Execellent Product,
March 26, 2012
By: rogerb1
from Exeter UK
"This rod is one of the best I have ever owned. The quality of the finish is first class, the action is good and it is very light to use. You can use it all day without feeling the slightest bit tired. For peace of mind the rod also carries a 25 year guarantee."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.