Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod

3¼ oz. 9', 4-piece, Fly Rod for 5-wt. line.A 9-foot 5-weight fly rod is pretty standard fare in trout towns from Alaska to Maine, but our Clearwater 905-4 is anything but ordinary. Never before has there been such a quality rod at such an affordable price. With all-new profiles and tapers taken directly from our award-winning Helios technology, the 9-foot 5-weight Clearwater combines lightweight power with exceptional line control, resulting in a true multipurpose rod for trout bums and beyond.
Average Customer Rating:
4.738 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
41 of 42(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Review 1 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Rod,
July 21, 2014
By: BassBeach
"In the middle of my second year of fly fishing I decided to upgrade from the Okuma outfit I was given as a gift. The rod itself is excellent in look as well as overall feel. One thing I noticed was that I can better feel the line loading the rod and maybe because of this I have had no hang-ups while casting since I got this rod a month ago. While my old rod would be rendered ineffective with the slightest breeze, the Orvis Clearwater worked very well in the wind. My first day using it I caught 4 fish: 2 small bass, a chub, and a trout. No problems while bringing the fish in. I would like to try the rod on a fish with a little bigger size. The line comes out smooth as silk and I can let my fly get some more slack when floating it downstream with ease. The case is very nice and has individual sections for the rod pieces.
The only problem I had with the rod was my second day using it I noticed a small squeak coming from the top of the cork grip. The cork was sort of moving on the glue and made that noise. Very subtle but enough to irritate me. Now I HAD gotten it wet and the sound did go away as soon as it dried. Since then it has not returned and I have even gotten t wet again. Weird.
Overall though fantastic rod. The 25 year Guarantee makes it a steal and without it the rod would still be worth the money. Customer service is great too!
"
Review 2 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
June 25, 2014
By: FisherHill
"This Clearwater fly rod is my first upgrade from my very first fly rod that I got over 10 years ago. It is lightweight and the reaction is great! My only regret is that I only purchased the rod itself and not the whole outfit."
Review 3 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Combo,
June 16, 2014
By: SabotRound
from Manchester, VT
"Purchased the Clearwater 5 weight 9' Fly Rod with the Clearwater Large Arbor reel. Great combo with lots of action and ease of use from the drag to assembly! Great for Trout and bass as well!"
Review 4 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb Rod At A Bargain Price!!!,
June 7, 2014
By: DoctorA
from Bend, Oregon
"This is my 12th Orvis rod purchase in the past 30 years and I could not be more pleased with this marvelous fly rod. The new Clearwater taper is so close in performance to the mega-buck Helios that I no longer buy the expensive image rods... and the fish don't seem to care!
I fish in Oregon and Washington for trout, steelhead and salmon. The 9' length is perfect for throwing flies and also provides a nice reach for nymphing -- literally the perfect all-around trout rod. This Clearwater 5-weight, along with my Clearwater 3-weight and a Clearwater 7-weight spey rod takes care of every species available to me in the Pacific Northwest.
These new Clearwater rods are absolutely the finest fishing tools available for the price. Rather than buying status gear, spend your money wisely on fishing trips... you'll be very glad you did."
Review 5 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for a new convert,
June 2, 2014
By: JohnJ1968
from Brentwood, TN
"I finally decided to try fly fishing after years of spinner fishing. I bought the Clearwater for the orvis quality at a price point I could justify as a beginner. I'm so happy with the performance and feel of the 5 weight that I just ordered an 8 weight Clearwater to go after bass and take to the beach. I'm catching trout and making fairly accurate casts. The rod is very responsive. Reel is adequate but I will probably upgrade it in the future."
Review 6 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great rod,
May 27, 2014
By: Nicholas757
from Suffolk, VA
"I've used this rod just about every day and sometimes twice a day for the past two weeks and all I can say is that you won't be disappointed. I bought the 9' five weight rod and it has been great I've landed largemouth bass up to four pounds and am able to cast about 90'. This rod and it's 25 year no questions asked warrantee is a pair that can't be beat."
Review 7 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
order as expected,
May 21, 2014
By: iliniwek54
"I took the rod out of the case, put it together and tested it out. The action was as I expected, the quality of the rod was what I expected, and I was very satisfied with my purchase."
Review 8 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing,
April 28, 2014
By: baseball4life26
from Maryville Missouri
"Got this rod for my birthday, and have been fishing with a cheap rig for 3 years and thought it would be great to get a nice new rod. I asked for this one and have used it a lot. This is a great rod."
Review 9 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Never Looking back again,
March 27, 2014
By: TahoeFlyTim
from Lake Tahoe, Ca
"Love This Rod, last year is when i first started fly fishing other then just using bait. At the time i just bought a Cheap Rod setup to get the hang of it and after getting this setup, i don't know why i just never did it in the first place. it's so well balanced, soft but powerful feel to it has no problem casting in the wind. love the look and comes with a case which was a bonus for me so the son wont mess with it. Awesome purchase that doesn't break the bank either. Def. recommend"
Review 10 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this rod!!,
March 18, 2014
By: Jrodkeynum2
from Westminster, Md.
"This is a great flyrod for the money! No regrets here and orvis expedited the order flawlessly. Rod was at my door in three days. I am one satisfied customer! Would recommend this rod and orvis to anyone who is an avid fly fisherman or a beginner."
Review 11 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
clearwater rod,
February 25, 2014
By: LRfishing
"I am new to fly fishing, but after going several times and borrowing equipment, I was hooked. This is a great rod, flexible, easy to use. It is a great entry level rod."
Review 12 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Extremely Please,
February 6, 2014
By: Oldflyguy
from Florida
"Very happy with my 5wt outfit. Was allowed to upgrade the reel to Battenkill II. The casting ability exceeded my expectations ! I use this outfit for Bass but now also plan a Trout trip out west. Orvis is a great company to do business with!"
Review 13 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Value,
January 31, 2014
By: sminner
from Radford, VA
"The Clearwater 5 is an excellent value with superior finish and workmanship. Not exactly a starter rod, but probably not exactly right for purists either, but if you want an everyday 5 rod to get the job done, this is an excellent choice. I bought it for my son and he loves it. Now, I want one."
Review 14 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Rod for the Money,
January 30, 2014
By: deast
from Arkansas White River
"I bought this rod because I was one of the last people on earth still casting a 2 peice frly rod, or so it seemed.
The rod I'd used for many years is a faster action than the Clearwater, so it took a few casts to adjust. Once I got use to casting the Clearwater, I fell in love with it.
The lighter action made smaller fish feel bigger and I was still able to shoot a big wooly buggar in 25 mph winds.
Overall, I am very happy with this four peice rod. It performed well casting and handled good fish with ease. Now that I can get my rod in my wader bag, I'm not living in the dark ages anymore.
It's a great fly rod at a great price and I plan to use it for many years to come."
Review 15 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid, versatile value.,
January 22, 2014
By: DBFJr
from Granby, CT
"The Clearwater 5 wt., 9' rod was purchased last June as a traveling companion to my Orvis Western 2 wt. What a pleasant surprise!
By the end of November I realized that I had fished this rod for trout all season, to the exclusion of many others in my arsenal. The 5 wt. 9' format handles the transition from tiny nymphs/emergers to No. 6 Woolley Buggers, as long as you use the appropriate leader formula. I'd recommend the Clearwater series to anyone starting out in fly fishing, or as an economical back-up rod for traveling."
Review 16 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 21, 2014
By: Fuzzbuket
"Works for all situations, I have had no problems with this rod or reel. Response is great and sensitivity is unsurpassed"
Review 17 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Christmas Gift,
December 18, 2013
By: Toots1
from Kingfisher, Ok
"Bought this for my husband. He will be so excited. I had it personalized and still got it in time tor wrap and put under the tree"
Review 18 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best all around value and quality,
December 5, 2013
By: dreaming
"Would highly recommend this pole in new folks and old timers, covers a very wide spectrum and Orvis CO is first class in all aspects."
Review 19 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great rod for price,
October 15, 2013
By: Pghflyfisher
from Pittsburgh PA
"Just started fly fishing seriously again this year.
Was interested in the Clearwater combo after one of the guys I fish with let me cast his. Purchased the combo at the local Orvis shop and have not been disappointed. Casts great for a novice. I have a long way to go to but I believe this setup will take me there.
"
Review 20 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
August 9, 2013
By: croakeronthefly
from Virginia
"On this 5 wt alone, I have caught 3 kinds of trout, small and largemouth bass, bream, crappie, puppy drum, baby flounder, croaker, spot, carp, and even and a 24 inch striper. This is a great beginners outfit, but It'll last a lifetime and still be fun to use as an experience fisherman. The only problem is the line. This line works great for about a season, but one season of hard fishing, no matter how well you take care of the line, is about as long as it will last. I would not recommend buying this rod as an outfit. Buy the rod and reel separately, but spend a little more and get line specific to your use or just better line."