Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod

3¼ oz. 9', 4-piece, Fly Rod for 5-wt. line.A 9-foot 5-weight fly rod is pretty standard fare in trout towns from Alaska to Maine, but our Clearwater 905-4 is anything but ordinary. Never before has there been such a quality rod at such an affordable price. With all-new profiles and tapers taken directly from our award-winning Helios technology, the 9-foot 5-weight Clearwater combines lightweight power with exceptional line control, resulting in a true multipurpose rod for trout bums and beyond.
Average Customer Rating:
4.706 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
33 of 34(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Review 1 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Never Looking back again,
March 27, 2014
By: TahoeFlyTim
from Lake Tahoe, Ca
"Love This Rod, last year is when i first started fly fishing other then just using bait. At the time i just bought a Cheap Rod setup to get the hang of it and after getting this setup, i don't know why i just never did it in the first place. it's so well balanced, soft but powerful feel to it has no problem casting in the wind. love the look and comes with a case which was a bonus for me so the son wont mess with it. Awesome purchase that doesn't break the bank either. Def. recommend"
Review 2 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this rod!!,
March 18, 2014
By: Jrodkeynum2
from Westminster, Md.
"This is a great flyrod for the money! No regrets here and orvis expedited the order flawlessly. Rod was at my door in three days. I am one satisfied customer! Would recommend this rod and orvis to anyone who is an avid fly fisherman or a beginner."
Review 3 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
clearwater rod,
February 25, 2014
By: LRfishing
"I am new to fly fishing, but after going several times and borrowing equipment, I was hooked. This is a great rod, flexible, easy to use. It is a great entry level rod."
Review 4 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Extremely Please,
February 6, 2014
By: Oldflyguy
from Florida
"Very happy with my 5wt outfit. Was allowed to upgrade the reel to Battenkill II. The casting ability exceeded my expectations ! I use this outfit for Bass but now also plan a Trout trip out west. Orvis is a great company to do business with!"
Review 5 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Value,
January 31, 2014
By: sminner
from Radford, VA
"The Clearwater 5 is an excellent value with superior finish and workmanship. Not exactly a starter rod, but probably not exactly right for purists either, but if you want an everyday 5 rod to get the job done, this is an excellent choice. I bought it for my son and he loves it. Now, I want one."
Review 6 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Rod for the Money,
January 30, 2014
By: deast
from Arkansas White River
"I bought this rod because I was one of the last people on earth still casting a 2 peice frly rod, or so it seemed.
The rod I'd used for many years is a faster action than the Clearwater, so it took a few casts to adjust. Once I got use to casting the Clearwater, I fell in love with it.
The lighter action made smaller fish feel bigger and I was still able to shoot a big wooly buggar in 25 mph winds.
Overall, I am very happy with this four peice rod. It performed well casting and handled good fish with ease. Now that I can get my rod in my wader bag, I'm not living in the dark ages anymore.
It's a great fly rod at a great price and I plan to use it for many years to come."
Review 7 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid, versatile value.,
January 22, 2014
By: DBFJr
from Granby, CT
"The Clearwater 5 wt., 9' rod was purchased last June as a traveling companion to my Orvis Western 2 wt. What a pleasant surprise!
By the end of November I realized that I had fished this rod for trout all season, to the exclusion of many others in my arsenal. The 5 wt. 9' format handles the transition from tiny nymphs/emergers to No. 6 Woolley Buggers, as long as you use the appropriate leader formula. I'd recommend the Clearwater series to anyone starting out in fly fishing, or as an economical back-up rod for traveling."
Review 8 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 21, 2014
By: Fuzzbuket
"Works for all situations, I have had no problems with this rod or reel. Response is great and sensitivity is unsurpassed"
Review 9 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Christmas Gift,
December 18, 2013
By: Toots1
from Kingfisher, Ok
"Bought this for my husband. He will be so excited. I had it personalized and still got it in time tor wrap and put under the tree"
Review 10 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best all around value and quality,
December 5, 2013
By: dreaming
"Would highly recommend this pole in new folks and old timers, covers a very wide spectrum and Orvis CO is first class in all aspects."
Review 11 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great rod for price,
October 15, 2013
By: Pghflyfisher
from Pittsburgh PA
"Just started fly fishing seriously again this year.
Was interested in the Clearwater combo after one of the guys I fish with let me cast his. Purchased the combo at the local Orvis shop and have not been disappointed. Casts great for a novice. I have a long way to go to but I believe this setup will take me there.
"
Review 12 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
August 9, 2013
By: croakeronthefly
from Virginia
"On this 5 wt alone, I have caught 3 kinds of trout, small and largemouth bass, bream, crappie, puppy drum, baby flounder, croaker, spot, carp, and even and a 24 inch striper. This is a great beginners outfit, but It'll last a lifetime and still be fun to use as an experience fisherman. The only problem is the line. This line works great for about a season, but one season of hard fishing, no matter how well you take care of the line, is about as long as it will last. I would not recommend buying this rod as an outfit. Buy the rod and reel separately, but spend a little more and get line specific to your use or just better line."
Review 13 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Talk About A Good Investment,
August 6, 2013
By: BrookTroutGal
from Bozeman, MT
"When I was looking to buy a new fly rod I kept a lot of things in mind. I wanted a rod good for backpacking trips- something lightweight and compact. Not only does this rod fall perfectly into those categories, but it performs amazingly. It loads easily and is easy to manipulate. It's overall a well put together system; rod, reel, backing and line and all. I have been extremely pleased with it. The only con I have noticed thus far is that it does not have dots on the ferrules to align when piecing it together."
Review 14 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great rod!!!!!,
July 31, 2013
By: Bassmaster
"I just got the Clearwater rod to replace my old streamline and I love it! My cast have gained distance and accuracy! The 5 weight performed great for bass and big trout! This was the best rod I have ever used!"
Review 15 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best all around rod I own,
May 25, 2013
By: PAFF
from Pennsylvania
"This rod is the best all around rod I have. I have used this rod to catch trout, carp, bass, and small pike, and it has handled all fish and presentations fantastically."
Review 16 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid buy,
May 23, 2013
By: Dpossley
"Great action, well balanced, light but durable. Very nice travel case that I can toss in the back of my truck."
Review 17 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Rod!,
May 2, 2013
By: bowhuntpa1
from Pittsburgh PA
"I bought the 9 ft 8wt Combo and the 9 ft 5 wt combo. These combos are everything that Orvis said they were. Easy casting and very strong. I would buy these combos again."
Review 18 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fast and Light,
April 16, 2013
By: mthole
from British Columbia Canada
"Great rod fast action and light weight.Only wish it had alignment dots on the ferils. For easier assembly."
Review 19 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Doesn't get much better!,
April 5, 2013
By: WarmSunshine
from Liberty Lake, WA
"I am in awww of my new fly rod! I've only been fly fishing for two years, but I can tell this rod and I will have a great love affair for years to come!"
Review 20 for Clearwater 5-weight 9' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointment,
March 31, 2013
By: trout1234
"After getting this rod for christmas I was excited to finally get to use it, as it has been very cold where I live and everything has been iced over.
I've used this rod 5 times in the last week and tonight marked the 6th time using it. I was in complete shock and disappointment when tonight I hooked a large trout and my rod snapped at the very bottom where it's suppose to be the strongest. I've had my other non-orvis rod for 19 years with no problems at all, but I use this 6 times and it snaps on me. Very poor quality rod and would not recommend this rod or any orvis rods to anyone. I've fished with many rods in my time but never have I witnessed such a poorly made rod. Very disappointed.
"