Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clearwater 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod

3 oz. 8'6", 4-piece, Fly Rod for 5-wt. line.Perfect for everything from secluded brook trout streams to wind-beaten western freestone rivers, the Clearwater 865-4 is the ideal mid-sized trout rod. Strong enough to handle large foam-bodied flies, yet equally adept with tiny zebra midges, this rod can handle the paces, and excel while doing so. A great value at an unbelievable price, this rod is as versatile as it is functional. Take one with you on your next adventure. You'll always remember why you did.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 of 18(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clearwater 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod
Review 1 for Clearwater 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AMAZING!,
September 12, 2014
By: Raynsteps89
from Knoxville, TN
"This was my first "REAL" fly rod and I absolutely love it. Definitely worth the money. On top of the great rod Orvis has exceptional customer service! A 25 year warranty to repair or replace for $30 makes this rod even more worth the money. Especially since I just broke the tip off of mine this morning."
Review 2 for Clearwater 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great rod,
August 19, 2014
By: shartman32
from Wayne, PA
"Set this up for my son, and he almost didn't get it out of my hands. Really like the action of the rod and will definitely be using it as much as I can. This is the second Clearwater I've purchased and have been impressed with them both. My wife had hers on a trout trip to Montana and our guide told us how much he loves the rods as well. Nice work, Orvis!"
Review 3 for Clearwater 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Winning Rod,
July 31, 2014
By: mfdhappy
from Walla Walla, WA
"Great "fishability", quality, price point, warranty and service. What more could one want?"
Review 4 for Clearwater 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good price,
July 1, 2014
By: samm11
from NC
"good rod and great case with it rod cast good and is the best at 8'6'' for mid sized trout streams"
Review 5 for Clearwater 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fly rod,
June 15, 2014
By: GaryPL
from Roanoke VA
"The Clearwater 5-weight rod is very easy to use and is very compact ."
Review 6 for Clearwater 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent...,
May 15, 2014
By: muddlermike
"I went to the local fly shop in search of a 10ft, 4 or 5 weight. I tried a Hardy Greys 10ft that was ok. I knew about the Clearwater series but unfortunately the owner didn't have any 10fters in stock. So, I figured just to get a sense of the orvis' I would try out the 8'6". I was impressed right from the first false cast. Smooth, quick, light, and powerful. So I bought the 8'6" as well as ordered the 10ft 5wt. I fished the 8'6" last weekend on a local small stream and absolutely loved it! effortless roll casting. Despite feeling delicate and light it threw a 2 nymph-shot-indicator rig easily and fired a #6 weighted wooly bugger like a rifle. Yeah, I really like this rod. Can't wait to fish the 10 footer now..."
Review 7 for Clearwater 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality!,
February 4, 2014
By: LVEmkeWisc
"It is obvious that there is a high standard for quality at every level of Orvis gear, and this rod is no exception. Love it!"
Review 8 for Clearwater 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Best rod for the price,
December 15, 2013
By: Tombombadill
"This is a nice rod, Casts real nice as well. I think a clearwater II Reel is a bit heavy for it, (rod only waighs 3oz) I went with a BBS II (also 3oz)
I wish orvis would make a lighter reel for the clearwater outfits.
"
Review 9 for Clearwater 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Rod,
November 13, 2013
By: JosephEarl
from Henderson, TN
"Great rod at a good price. Excellent for novice fishers."
Review 10 for Clearwater 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Recommended,
August 22, 2013
By: skibumg
from Park City, Utah
"I've only had a chance to use it a few times on the Provo River, Utah. Action was excellent all the way from 10 inch browns to 18 inch plus fish. I primarily fish wet and the rod was comfortable and not stressful when casting up to four hours."
Review 11 for Clearwater 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great product for a beginner,
August 27, 2012
By: OliverW
from Greenwich, NY
"I was given a Clearwater Classic outfit for Christmas last year after my older (and nicer) rod bounced out of the back of my truck. 8'6" 5wt 4pc. The rod did everything it was supposed to and the reel was OK. This outfit helped me land my biggest freshwater fish of my life (5lb 24" lake trout).
I used the Reel as a backup because I really like my BBS III much more. Unfortunately while traveling the real seat bracket broke off of the clearwater reel. the next week, I broke the tip off of the rod while fumbling around in the boat. Luckily the folks at Orvis said that if I bring them into the store, I can get it replaced! Now I just have to get back to a store!
All in all, it is a good product for the beginner. When a rookie mistake breaks something, you aren't out big $$$."
Review 12 for Clearwater 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Rod,
August 23, 2012
By: HookedMarlin
from New Jersey
"I purchased this rod after accidentally leaving my Orvis streamline rod at a casting lesson. The clearwater rod, a 5wt 8'6, is a nice rod. It cast streamers quite well. I am new to the sport but the rod feels like quality (but then again so did the streamline). I brought in a 3 pound bass with it."
Review 13 for Clearwater 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Started out great...,
August 19, 2012
By: MattL
from Winooski, VT
"This is a continuation of the review I put on the 9' 5 wt. After just a short while of use, my reel seat came right off my rod while I was using it, sending my reel falling onto rocks one day (resulting in a dented spool) I quickly realized that the rod blank only extended about 1/4 of the way into the reel seat, and the rest was some sort of cheap cardboard-like composite material that they wrapped over the rod blank. It was crumbling and peeling apart like a banana. After finding out they won't cover return shipping charges, and warranty returns cost $30, I fixed it myself with epoxy. A week later as I'm routinely checking my rod for imperfections, I noticed one of the snake guides has a clean crack in it right before the thread wrap. Well, that was it for me.. I've fallen on my Hydros before and bent a snake guide and it held up, but to have these issues on the Clearwater rod without any actual physical damage done is unfortunate. I will be sending it back for in-store credit, and will pick up an Access when they go on sale. The reason for 3 stars is because the rod itself felt great aside from the issues I was plagued with. I'm also curious to see if the reel seat on the Access and my Hydros are cheaply made like that."
Review 14 for Clearwater 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Try one.,
June 22, 2012
By: scraggs
"I had a Clearwater II #4 8` 6" which was ideally suited to my type of river fishing (dry fly small to medium river). I was very happy with the rod until there was a mishap and the third section broke. I went along to my local Orvis shop at Bakewell and the rod was exchanged for the later Clearwater,the mkIII under the 25 year guarantee. What an improvement this is. Presenting a fly with this rod is a delight,no effort at all,and that comes from a trout fisherman who will not win any competitions for casting. Thanks Orvis. Thanks Bakewell."
Review 15 for Clearwater 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great rod,
May 14, 2012
By: novatrout
"This rod is excellent. The durability is superior, and here is why. i was fishing in Shenandoah national park, i was going up a steep bank, i tripped and fell down about 5 feet and landed right on my rod which was on two rocks and i landed on the part in the middle in the air. As i got up i braced myself for the worst, i was relieved even though i had taken a hard fall right on it, it didn't break. Not to mention it casts great. The line flies out. the 865-4 is a great all around trout model. You can't go wrong."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Clearwater 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3