Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clearwater 5-weight 7'6" Fly Rod

2¾ oz. 7'6", 4-piece, Fly Rod for 5-wt. line.When the situation calls for short casts, heavy flies, and a reserve of power, look no further than the Clearwater 765-4. Ideal for tossing weighted flies in big, stained water, this workhorse of a rod remains lightweight, agile, and smooth enough to effectively fish dries. Search for large trout and even largemouths, turning over poppers and streamers with minimal effort. The Clearwater 765-4 will punch flies under overhanging limbs, around brush, and against undercuts, thanks to its shorter design and powerful action.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 12(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clearwater 5-weight 7'6" Fly Rod
Review 1 for Clearwater 5-weight 7'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A dream come true,
June 22, 2015
By: Loxrat
from Loxahatchee, Fl
"I fish a lot of canals in the So Fla area and many of them are over grown, this rod helps me keep my flies out of the thick stuff that's sometimes above me. It throws big deer hair poppers and heavy weighted flies like there's no tomorrow. It's sweet compact let's me be able to keep it in my truck hidden till I see a good looking spot to try while on my way from work. The Dartmouth bass are a breeze on it and the hard brawling peacock bass have met their match, thanks a lot guys for putting this great rod out there for guys like me."
Review 2 for Clearwater 5-weight 7'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect canoe rod,
May 24, 2015
By: gonefloatn
from St Louis mo
"After reviewing all the different rod options and price points this is the one I chose. I wanted to try a shorter rod without dropping alot of money for something I may not like. I have several rods from a variety of manufacturers and this instantly has become my favorite.When purchasing a rod you receive an email to post a review for a chance to win free items but I did not want to post a review until I had put it to the test.Guess I waited to long to post the review, The link has been cut. Since receiving this rod on Chrismas eve 2014 I have caught several hundred fish with it. Crappie, Largemouth Bass, Small Mouth bass, Bluegill, Sunfish, Carp, and Trout. This rod works well in tight places. It loads well at short distances and easily casts 60+ feet.
This rod offers the ability to throw extremely tight loops with great accuracy. It has performed above all expectations at Meramac State Park,Courtois, Huzzah and Meramac Rivers as well as large lakes in the area. This is the perfect rod for a canoe. I have seen reviews about this rod breaking. I would not be afraid of this issue as I have caught mine in the cieling fan 3 times and as mentioned caught several hundred fish. This rod is solid and well built. Not sure where the reviews about no hook keeper comes from. Mine has one. I would love to have a Recon or a Helios but I have to say this rod is fantastic at any price. 30 years of fly fishing and this is my go to rod. I purchased this as a combo with the clearwater reel. Its a a good looking lightweight outfit.I do recommend upgrading the line it comes with to a better quality line.
"
Review 3 for Clearwater 5-weight 7'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT ROD FOR TH PRICE,
March 31, 2015
By: msdby
from Basalt, CO
"I purchased this for my grandson. I had a Clearwater rod man years ago and was astonished how improved the current model is. It is surprisingly light for a 5 wgt and the action is smooth and limber, surprising to me in a four piece pack rod. Its a very good rod for a reasonable price."
Review 4 for Clearwater 5-weight 7'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Rod for Great Price,
September 9, 2014
By: CBiscuit
from Boone, NC
"I bought this rod unsure if I would be happy with it. I can honestly say i have used it many times and consistently find myself saying "man I am glad I bought this". I mad it a combo with a Battenkill 3 reel and have seen awesome success. I have the 7'6 5wt rod which I fish small wild streams and larger rivers and in both areas this rod has done great. Great rod and even better with an affordable price."
Review 5 for Clearwater 5-weight 7'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
September 3, 2014
By: JOJA
from Portland, OR
"I ordered the Clearwater 7'6" 5 weight set up and it is a nice set up. I know many fisherman that use the rod Clearwater and are catching fishing all day long."
Review 6 for Clearwater 5-weight 7'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Rod,
June 27, 2014
By: Fly11
from Central PA
"Clearwater rod is outstanding. Matched with the clearwater reel it cant be beat. Just got the combo rod and reel today and took it out for a test drive very impressive!
Thank you Orvis for a great product that is also affordable! Worth every penny.
"
Review 7 for Clearwater 5-weight 7'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stunned,
June 14, 2014
By: mickfist
from Boston MA
"I started fly fishing in Vermont roughly five years ago. I was spoiled with the main branch being a 10 minute drive and learned how to fly fish on Orvis equipment. I always had the mid priced great rods and reels from Orvis. I have used Trident, TLS, Helios, and mostly fished the Superfine Troutbum. I moved form Vermont and sold a lot of my equipment off. Now I live in Boston and I wanted to fly again. I bought this rod to not spend a lot of money and surpassed all my expectations. I can not believe how easy this rod is to cast, In my opinion this feels no different from a lot of the rods I used before. Quality is unreal. Always is with this company. I still have a zero gravity 3wt that I never got rid of. I brought them both out today on a lake and I will always be using the Clearwater from now on. Do not over look this rod for its price. I wish I would have fished these since the start, I would have saved a lot of money and would have been very comfortable."
Review 8 for Clearwater 5-weight 7'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What I Expected,
May 30, 2014
By: BBAR1
from Prince Albert Sask Canada
"Bought this rod for stocked trout lakes in Saskatchewan Canada.Fished with it for 2 days out of small boat.Worked well nice finish,light weight 4 piece packed well.Fishing was poor but will be better next.(Nice Rod) BK"
Review 9 for Clearwater 5-weight 7'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New pack rod,
March 12, 2013
By: sierrafishin
from Eastern Sierras, CA
"I picked up this rod today from Orvis Store #78. Test casting went well, and I liked how this rod would load with just 10' of fly line out, and it laid out a long cast just as well.
This 4 piece rod fits great in my pack. I'm looking forward to hiking streams and with no worries about casting in the afternoon wind!
This is a sweet casting tool!"
Review 10 for Clearwater 5-weight 7'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Rod,
July 24, 2012
By: Angelo87
from NJ
"I have only been fly fishing since this past December. My 1st fly rod combo was the old version of the clearwater 2-piece and I love that rod sadly my rod broke into 3-places from my car door during a storm. Orvis sent me the new version 7'6'' 4-piece 5wt and guy's it's so much better I'am casting 60ft with ease making tighter loops, farther roll casting. Only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because it's a little more stiffer than the older rod but it's still a wonderful rod! Thank you Orvis!"
Review 11 for Clearwater 5-weight 7'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great birthday,
June 18, 2012
By: didier
from Belgium, Bastone
"in US (Woodmere), I paid a visit to one of your store and my wife offered me a ClearWater 7'6" for my birthday.
Back in my country, I went with my son on a big lake known for his trophy trouts to try the rod.
Trouts were just catching below the surface. I saw a little water motion 5 meters away from me, the rod played its game and the little nymph exactly landed in the middle of the small circle..
then started the rush, the time stopped....after 10 minutes, the Trout came to surface and I saw it ..big, I have never seen such a big one...
my son came with the net, too small...and another rush...finally, we successfully landed it on the grass ....75 centimeters...before releasing it to the water...
trust with the the rod and the reel made me really enjoyed such a kind of one time life event....thanks a lot...
"
Review 12 for Clearwater 5-weight 7'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this rod,
April 22, 2012
By: Hooodman
from Bluff City, TN
"I love this Rod, I have just started fly fishing with my son and he talked me in to using this rod the other day.I fell in love with it i had less trouble casting then with my cheaper rod and caught several more fish then the previse days. The feel of the rod is great and again I had less trouble casting....would recomended a longer rod if you plan on landing big trout."