Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clearwater 4-weight 10' Fly Rod

3¾ oz. 10', 4-piece, Fly Rod for 4-wt. line.Experience the superior line control of a 10-foot rod with the Clearwater 104-4, the perfect rod for fighting the wind in Montana or Czech nymphing in California. Mending through a drift has never been easier. With amazing line pickup and power in spades, reach a level of line management you only wished was possible. The Clearwater 104-4 can dredge the depths with a streamer just as easily as it can drop a pale morning dun on the nose of a sipping rainbow. Versatile and strong, and at an amazing value, pick one up today and feel completely in control.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
13 of 14(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clearwater 4-weight 10' Fly Rod
Review 1 for Clearwater 4-weight 10' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superior Product,
September 30, 2014
By: OrvisFan123
from Murfreesboro, TN
"This is the best rod I have ever purchased. I have owned a Helios, a Superfine, and a T3. This rod beats them all for the price point. The rod shoots line like a dream. For the price, you just can't beat the rod. Way to go Orvis in keeping superior rods affordable."
Review 2 for Clearwater 4-weight 10' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wide River weapon,
August 19, 2014
By: McDonoughflyfisher
"Lived up the review I had read prior to buying it. Nice tip feel, and enough butt strength to handle bigger fish. Very good quality fit and finish for a rod in this price range. Light enough to cast all day, and powerful to be a real bug launcher. Should have purchased it sooner if I had known it was going to be this good."
Review 3 for Clearwater 4-weight 10' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keep on Purchasing,
July 9, 2014
By: PLo2014
from Birmingham, AL
"I just bought a Clearwater 4-weight 10' Fly Rod. This is my 2nd Clearwater and I plan on buying another one soon so that both of my boys have one. The flex, weight, response are all awesome. These rods will be used for generations."
Review 4 for Clearwater 4-weight 10' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensitive rod,
May 20, 2014
By: BigRainbows
from Colorado Springs, CO
"Purchased the New Clearwater rod for European nymphing and the rod has great action to feel the fish take the nymph. Loads and casts easily. This rod is even better than my 10' Access (but I'm a mid flex guy). Landed a 20" rainbow today in fast water without a hitch! Can't beat this performance for the price!!"
Review 5 for Clearwater 4-weight 10' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing,
March 26, 2014
By: NickA
from Cullowhee, NC
"This is my second orvis rod. I also have a 8'6" access rod. I purchased this rod to use as a Czech nymphing setup. Wow, never imagined it would be such a pleasure to fish, roll casting is a breeze. It weighs more, had I fished it for hours, I would be reaching for my access rod. But for a back-up, man this rod really pushes my primary for the first rod I reach for. My favorite orvis purchase thus far."
Review 6 for Clearwater 4-weight 10' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
VERY tip-heavy,
March 12, 2014
By: Cazador45
from Columbus, TX
"I just bought this rod for European style nymphing in NM 7& CO this coming summer. Removed the plastic wrap from the cork handle and installed a reel with a weight of 5 & 1/2 ounces including backing and a 4-weight FDT line. The rod-reel assembly balanced on the HOOK KEEPER, well above the palm swell. To make it to comfortably balance I had to hang on it a reel with a weight of 7 ounces. High-sticking a Polish nymphing rig would be EXTREMELY tiring with this rod rigged with a normal 4-weight reel & line. I'd return it if I hadn't removed the plastic wrapping from the handle. I tried the rod once on my pond with a 4-weight FDT line and it casts OK, but is very uncomfortable to handle because the tip pulls down putting stress on the user's wrist."
Review 7 for Clearwater 4-weight 10' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
June 21, 2013
By: flyfisher66
from Old Bridge, N.J.
"I purchased this rod mainly for euro nymphing and it has performed very well. A sensitive tip but with some strength in the butt section. Great price when compared with others."
Review 8 for Clearwater 4-weight 10' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
quality & value,
May 8, 2013
By: 2bear
"This is a fine rod, it is well made and casts beautifully. Nice surprise in this day and age of high priced rods. Great value!"
Review 9 for Clearwater 4-weight 10' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
November 9, 2012
By: cleboflies
"Great rod! Bought one and matched it up with the Hydros 3D WF line for a perfect combo. Great for small creeks and rivers using a czech nymph rig. Reccomended!"
Review 10 for Clearwater 4-weight 10' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Should Cost More,
May 28, 2012
By: MCO2
"I have a client that throws a 4 10 Helios for cicadas here in Lees Ferry. After casting the clearwater indoors I knew it would perform just a well. I kept this rod in the closet for two months waiting for drys. I couldnt wait any longer and gave it a try. This rod is awesome for the price, cast placement a dream. The normal rod is a 9' 5 but using this rod has me turned to it. Casting in the wind was no problem for this four weight I thought it would be a little weak but it preformed amazing. From other reviews if your high sticking with this rod your wasting its potential. I bought this for my personal rod and now will purchase one for my boat for clients. For the price and performance I cant go wrong putting it to use as much a possible."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Clearwater 4-weight 10' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Defination of Sweet,
May 12, 2012
By: Rollcast
"What a difference 1 foot makes. Casting is a snap...Keeping line off the water during drifts, guiding the fly through seams, high sticking, all so much easier. This rod is even great for dapping. Try it, you'll like it !"
Review 12 for Clearwater 4-weight 10' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great nymphing rod,
April 11, 2012
By: theguideSchultz
from NY, NJ, PA
"The feel of this rod is just as good as the looks, its has a pretty fast action but allows good control also. The reel seat could be little bit larger to accomodate my hatch reel without having to wiggle or work it in, but once it is in it seats nicely and doesn't move much. The rod comes with a great case to protect it and it's a four piece so my wife doesn't know it's any different from the other dozen or so rod cases I walk out the door with! Overall its a well priced rod for the performance. I give it 4 stars simply for the reel seat design could maybe be a little larger and more robust."
Review 13 for Clearwater 4-weight 10' Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great casting rlod,
March 23, 2012
By: jairod
"this is a great rod. in three casts i was casting in my neighbors garbage can clear across the street. so far so good."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Clearwater 4-weight 10' Fly Rod
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1