Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clearwater 4-weight 8'6" Fly Rod

3⅛ oz. 8'6", 4-piece, Fly Rod for 4-wt. line.The perfect trout rod for any situation, the Clearwater 864-4 casts effortlessly, with a super-smooth action and excellent responsiveness. From serpentine meadow streams to large, rolling tailwaters, this rod will handle a variety of flies and conditions with a wonderful balance of strength and precision. No other rod on the market will match its value and versatility. This rod has adventure written all over it, stamped with approval from trout anglers everywhere.
Average Customer Rating:
4.929 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Clearwater 4-weight 8'6" Fly Rod
Review 1 for Clearwater 4-weight 8'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best fly fishing experience ever,
November 27, 2014
By: gahunter6128
from western north carolina
"the clearwater 4 weight 8'6" package is a dream ! I caught fish with my son the first trip, easily! I love the rod 's reaction time at the strike, its very smooth, and I was able to accurately cast wherever and however I wanted. I am very impressed, I'd fish this rod in much larger water than what I fish in and feel comfortable easily. I like the rod, reel, fly-line, essentially the whole package. It was one heckof of an investment in my fishing arsenal.
Its the best bang for the money of any package IVE EVER SEEN IN FLYFISHING.... It does what it says!
gahunter"
Review 2 for Clearwater 4-weight 8'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New rod for a chalk stream,
November 13, 2014
By: Philipdm
from Kent ENgland
"Very easy to use, I was able to easily cast to the far side of the river."
Review 3 for Clearwater 4-weight 8'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your buck,
September 24, 2014
By: Zyokes
from Orono maine
"absolutely phenomenal rod for the price. I have yet to hit the river and not pull something out with this rod and the best part is how incredibly affordable it is"
Review 4 for Clearwater 4-weight 8'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome customer support!!,
July 8, 2014
By: Dave604
from Lexington, KY.
"I usually don't write reviews but I had to in this case. I ordered a Clearwater rod and reel combo and promptly received my rod but noticed my reel wasn't going to get shipped until Aug 1st. mind you I bought this combo for a fly fishing trip to Colorado. This reel wasn't going to get shipped until after I was supposed to leave for my trip. So I went online to Orvis chat and spoke with customer support to tell them my dilemma. After that Orvis stepped up and found my reel in a local store and shipped the reel out just in time for my trip to Colorado. I cannot tell you how happy I am about my purchase and the customer support that I have received from my first purchase from Orvis. I will be buying from orvis again in the future. This combo is well built and an excellent outfit for anyone getting into fly fishing."
Review 5 for Clearwater 4-weight 8'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great flyrod,
June 17, 2014
By: RandyT
from Little rock, AR
"I've fished with this rod twice casts very smoothly, I like the way you can feel it loading. I'm new to fly fishing but feel like I made the right choice for this purchase. I would recommend this to other anglers."
Review 6 for Clearwater 4-weight 8'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
8'6 Clearwater 4 weight,
June 12, 2014
By: CaptainErnie42com
"A great rod for the chalk stream,especially when paired with the new Battenkill reel.
Strong enough to deal with 3lb wild brownies and flexible enough to present your size 16 dry flies.
"
Review 7 for Clearwater 4-weight 8'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome rod,
May 10, 2014
By: Mattroy336
from Bathurst, NB Canada
"i bought this rod for pan size brookies in eastern Canada. Rod has great action and makes every fish feel like a trophy!"
Review 8 for Clearwater 4-weight 8'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality a given!,
March 17, 2014
By: melboracis
"I was not disappointed when I unwrapped my Clearwater 4 weight. Not only is it light to the touch but also put together with what is obviously a great deal of attention to detail. I can't wait to move from casting to imaginary trout on my lawn to real fish in my favorite stretch of water!"
Review 9 for Clearwater 4-weight 8'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clearwater fly rod,
March 13, 2014
By: Zigz
from Roscoe, Montana
"feels great cant wait to get it out on the East Rosebud and catch some trout."
Review 10 for Clearwater 4-weight 8'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it!,
October 8, 2013
By: Eppalock
from Victoria, Australia
"I love my 5 wt, 10' Clearwater rod but wanted something a little lighter and shorter for streamwork and the 4 wt, 8'6" Clearwater is perfect for the job!!
I didn't think it would be possible, but the balance and the action in the 4 wt feels even better in the hand than my 5 wt.
Great rod and a quick and seamless process to have it shipped to Australia!"
Review 11 for Clearwater 4-weight 8'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT ROD!!,
May 26, 2013
By: NATECOFLYFISHER
from CO
"I have fly fished for the past 21 years (since I was 4) and I have never been disappointed with Orvis or their Clearwater rods. This is the best rod for the money and they have never let me down!
Thanks Orvis!"
Review 12 for Clearwater 4-weight 8'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceeded expectations,
October 22, 2012
By: LandDG
from Kansas City
"I ordered this Clearwater combo for my wife to use at the two day Orvis Fly Fishing school. Even though I waited until only a week before the school to order, it came in just 2 days. My wife loved the set up and caught her very first trout on the Clearwater rod and reel! Great quality for the price."
Review 13 for Clearwater 4-weight 8'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a Rod,
September 16, 2012
By: WilcoRox
from Denver,CO
"This is my first summer fly-fishing and after taking the Orvis 101 class I realized I like the 8'6" rod. I enjoy fishing on smaller rivers and creeks and this rod is a good size for that. This rod is very easy for me to cast, accurate and just feels good. I don't know much about fly rods but I know that feel is important and this rod feels great to me. With a 25 year warranty, I'm going to be fishing this rod for a long time."
Review 14 for Clearwater 4-weight 8'6" Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid Rod!,
May 10, 2012
By: NJTroutbum
from Haddon Heights, NJ
"I started out looking for a good solid 4-pc travel rod. Something that could take the place of my irreplaceable 2-pc Far-and-Fine bouncing around in the back of my truck all year. I came in thinking I was buying a backup, but found a very solid and well-built rod that I felt cast as good if not better than it's brethren in the higher grade models. It throws an accurate loop, is light and balanced in hand, and plays fish wonderfully. An exceptional rod at ANY price."