Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Bolster Futon Dog Bed

We added a plush, wraparound bolster to our wildly popular Futon Dog Bed, making it cosier, more secure, and ideal for dogs who love to curl up when they sleep. Crafted with tufted Berber™ fleece on top and microfibre on the bottom, this revolutionary bed features spun-polyester-filled chambered liners inside, which provide a plush sleeping surface that won't shift or clump as your dog settles in. The cover incorporates zips on both ends, making reassembling the bed after washing fast and easy. Simply remove the bed from the bolster for the perfect vehicle or travel bed. Cover is removable and washable.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
26 of 27(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bolster Futon Dog Bed
Review 1 for Bolster Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent service and product,
September 27, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Bristol
"Our dogs love their new bedding and accepted it from the time we took it out of the packaging. Comfy, and good size for goldies."
Review 2 for Bolster Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful bed,
July 27, 2012
By: Gainsborough
from Cambridge
"Fantastic bed, dog absolutely loves it. Lots of padding and very soft and cosy. I have a smallish labrador and the medium size was a little small so we exchanged it for the large one. All done very efficiently."
Review 3 for Bolster Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super quality,
November 10, 2011
By: Torrance
from Scotland
"Recently purchased this product for our dog,that previously,preferred to sleep on the sofa. From day of delivery she has chosen to sleep in her luxurious new bed.The quality of this dog bed and service provided by Orvis are super. Both are highly recommended."
Review 4 for Bolster Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Zipper does not hold up in washing...,
December 9, 2013
By: TonyBoss
from Edgartown, MA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"First - we love Orvis dog beds and have at least 5-6 of them - however we can not recommend this model bed. After the 2nd/3rd washing the zipper disintegrated. Replacement cost is $129 on a bed that cost $149. We would recommend one fo the flat beds instead."
Review 5 for Bolster Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best dog bed ever,
December 4, 2012
By: Ali101
from Yorkshire, UK
"We have bought this bed in large and medium for our labrador and working cocker spaniel and have found they are the best quality beds we have bought. The quality is so good that I feel the price is very reasonable. They wash very well and are so comfy that our girls just love to lay out at full stretch in them. We wanted a new one but apparantly Orvis won't be restocking this bed. What a shame, am glad we got ours when we did."
Review 6 for Bolster Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AMAZING!,
November 22, 2012
By: MyDogRocks
from Northern California
"I initially ordered the medium sized bed for my 74 Lb Lab mix because she never seemed to keep her whole body on her previous bed. She is 11 now, and stretches out, and always was half on, half off. I wasn't here when the medium was delivered, but my husband told me that she was lukewarm at best. He sent me a picture and i thought, oh, way too small and cramped for her. We returned the medium to our local Orvis store (which saves shipping costs, for both the return and the new large we bought to replace it.) I was here when the large was delivered, and I really wish I had filmed my dog's response when we unpacked it. She actually JUMPED onto it, doing a face plant and letting her whole body somersault into it. It was hilarious!! She just completely sank into it, and was visibly over the moon!!! And ever since she curls into it, she stretches out with all of her body on it, she just is as happy as a clam!! This was a truly wonderful purchase and I am really really pleased and happy to recommend Orvis for the bed and customer service to anyone!!!!"
Review 7 for Bolster Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Bed!,
November 20, 2012
By: HudsonValleyFamily
from Hudson Valley, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"We ordered this bed for our 80+ lb. golden. She LOVES it! Very soft and comfy and a great looking bed even in a living room. Very pleased with the bed and quality. Customer Service was also excellent. The large has plenty of room for her."
Review 8 for Bolster Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally off my bed!,
November 19, 2012
By: elliotte
from Pittsburgh, PA
"For the past two years, I have constantly been fighting my 75 lb Lab and 35 lb Springer from jumping up into our bed during the night. My DH and I finally decided to try these beds after reading the exceptional reviews and splurged on the Bolster Futons. Let me tell you that I am sleeping wonderfully. The dogs LOVE their new beds and stay in them! Finally a good nights sleep for everyone. If you have any concerns about the price - trust me - they're worth it. They are constructed so well and made of such quality materials. I am sure they will hold up for years. I was concerned about the sizing and after going back and forth ordered a Small for our Springer and a Medium for our Lab. The Lab's bed is perfect for her. She's able to lie completely flat and hasn't moved all night since we got them. The small was a little tight for our Springer - she couldn't find a comfortable position where her neck wasn't bent - so we contact Orvis and were able to make an easy exchange for a Medium. Very painless! If you're considering these beds, trust me they're worth it. Your puppies will thank you!"
Review 9 for Bolster Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coziest dog bed ever!,
November 15, 2012
By: JTinMaplewood
from Maplewood, NJ
"Our Australian Labradoodle climbed in right away and after a few minutes exploring, curled up and fell asleep with her head nestled on the cushy side. Most comfy dog bed ever!"
Review 10 for Bolster Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality beds,
November 7, 2012
By: Twinkles
from Surrey, UK
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"We purchased three of these beds in the summer and they are very good quality and do not squash down. They keep their shape, unlike cheaper beds I have bought in the past. My three generations of Ridgeback girls are 25 -26" and weigh around 80lbs each but they curl up or stretch out using the bolster as a pillow in the medium size, and love their beds. Being a rectangle is also very handy as they fit side by side in front of the radiator. My friend recommended Orvis beds to me, she has the old Bagel beds for her Ridgies and they are still good after years of use use. Customer service was also excellent, thank you Orvis!"
Review 11 for Bolster Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Dog Bed,
November 2, 2012
By: 123gracie
from NY state
"This well made soft cushy bed is perfect for our 50lb. lab. She lays with her back supported on the sides of the bed and props her head up on the sides. She loves the soft material against her face. I like the looks of this bed and the fact it doesn't take up as much room as the round bed we had before this one. I hope it washes well. Great buy!!!"
Review 12 for Bolster Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional Quality,
October 9, 2012
By: EnglishPointerShula
from Yorkshire Dales
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"We have had many beds for our English Pointer over the last few years, this one is by far the best quality. OK, so it costs more than a standard bed from a pet shop, but it is worth every penny and our little girl got straight in, stretched out, and started snoring! Not very lady like, but then she'll never be a lady chasing pheasants! We bought a medium, which is amply big enough for our small English Pointer, she weighs 25kg. We would reccommend to everyone, very well made, the cushion is separate to the bolster, well padded and soft and snuggly, a lovely bed, thank you Orvis."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bolster Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best bed!!!,
October 1, 2012
By: Brujita
from Blue Ridge, Georgia
"Tough enough for my rough and boisterous Dobermans, but comfy and snugly at the same time. Love the fact that it comes apart for washing and changing or adding fill. They both enjoy their beds a lot!"
Review 14 for Bolster Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent,
August 22, 2012
By: SnoozyHound
"Very happy with the Bolster Futon, excellent quality and it doesn't collapse over time which is really good. Such a pity that the sizes displayed on the website aren't accurate...it makes working out which size bed to get a bit of a lottery."
Review 15 for Bolster Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect for our dog,
August 14, 2012
By: lillirose
from Kentucky
"We got the medium bolster Futon dog bed for our 45 pound Molly. We weren't sure how she would take to it since she's always just slept on the bed with us, but recently she'd taken to hiding in the closet during thunderstorms on the hard floor. We put the new bed in her hiding spot and after sniffing it for a while she climbed right in and fell asleep. The fit was perfect. Now she goes in the closet even when it's not storming. We may have to get another one to put in the living room toget her to spend time with us!"
Review 16 for Bolster Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Bed!!!,
April 30, 2012
By: FLDogLover
from Florida
"After buying an Orvis bed for my smaller, senior dog, I decided to buy one for my Boxer mix. She likes to stretch out during the day, but at night she likes to curl up, so we got her this one with the high sides so she can nestle in. She is about 55lbs and we got the medium. It's big enough for her to stretch out or curl up. It is super cushy but also firm enough to hold it's shape. Sometimes, I find the cat and both dogs all nestled in this bed together! I'll only buy Orvis beds from now on. They are so worth the money!"
Review 17 for Bolster Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Bed,
March 30, 2012
By: Bairmar
from Denver, CO
"My dog Howard is a curler and the bolsters on this bed are perfect for him. He is an Entlebucher and will grow to about 60 pounds and the medium sized bed has been great fit so far. I also love that the covers are washable as after one particularly muddy day we took advantage of that fact. Great product!"
Review 18 for Bolster Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Forever bed,
February 7, 2012
By: houndlover2
from Essex UK
"Just purchased a bolstered futon for my greyhound. I was going to get a lounger style, but they had mixed reviews regarding stuffing. This one seems very well made and has plenty of stuffing, but beware - the size is NOT as quoted on the website. I bought the large, which is only 47x33, not 49x40 as quoted. I have queried this with Orvis, but am still waiting for a reply!"
Review 19 for Bolster Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 2, 2012
By: DaneLover13
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The bed has been in our home for less than an hour and she already loves it!"
Review 20 for Bolster Futon Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Dog Bed!,
January 21, 2012
By: PippisMom
from Minnesota
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Pippi, our GoldenRetriever mix, got this bed from Santa and absolutely loves it. From the moment we took it out of the box, she gave it "paws up". She's a "curler", and it's perfect. When combined with her favorite blanket, she's in doggie nirvana!"