Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Battenkill® Classic Duffle

We've updated this traveller's essential whilst still retaining the best features that have made this travel duffle bag a customer favourite for years. New features include solid-brass riveting with a locking zip design. The zips now have double-knotted pulls. The main compartment features two leather-trimmed neoprene slash pockets plus a moulded soft-shell compartment with zip. Removable shoulder strap. Full leather bottom, curved main compartment with storm flap, outside slash pocket. Travel duffle bag in green. Spot clean. 12"H x 25"W x 12"D; 3,600 cu. in. Personalise with engraving on a brass plate, up to six letters; the brass plate is placed above the leather Orvis logo patch on the duffle's front.
Average Customer Rating:
4.656 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
29 of 32(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Battenkill® Classic Duffle
Review 1 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT luggage for self and as gifts,
May 23, 2015
By: LWD01915
from Boston, MA
"My husband and I have nearly all the Battenkill luggage and have had it for years. We gave our oldest nephew one as a college graduation gift (an expensive one!) which then started a tradition. His younger brother has one, 2 other nephews and our godson (son of our closest friends). My only "beef" is the personalization. There used to be an option where in place of the "Orvis" on the leather "pouch," initials could be embossed but every time I go to order another bag, there's some excuse as to why that cannot be done anymore. And believe me, no 21-year-old male cares much about brass luggage tags which is good because 2x, the tags arrived with the bag and when opened, the letters were so off-how GDB (ordered) come back as QRA is a mystery but it got a good laugh (and then a minor hassle for me to correct). So, buy the bags for yourself or as gifts but skip the personalization and you'll own them for years. My husband has taken them on countless outdoor trips and they come back maybe a bit dusty (he doesn't take care of bags on a fishing trip) but nothing that can't be cleaned off easily. But they are also nice enough to bring to a 5 star hotel and not feel embarrassed at the quality of one's luggage. They hold a lot and are not anywhere as heavy as "hard" luggage."
Review 2 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful and very well build,
January 1, 2015
By: Laboricua
from Texas
"I give this luggage to my son for Christmas and he absolutely love! It's very spacious and tick materIal"
Review 3 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Family tradition,
May 29, 2014
By: 22joy
from Mobile AL
"We so proudly gave this wonderful duffle to our grandson as he goes off to college. Actually, the 4 grandsons preceding him in graduation also got the gift if an Orvis duffle. We have made it the traditional gift to mark passage to college. The Battenbill classic duffle is best if all we have given. He loves the utility, spaciousness and most of all the security of traveling with an Orvis."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great bag,
March 25, 2014
By: OhioShooter
"Very versatile, a great weekend bag or carry-on. I didn't fully understand the reason for having a buckle-down flap in addition to a zipper until I overstuffed the bag and realized that leaving the bag unzipped, with the flap buckled, creates more room. One minor complaint: the leather sleeve that holds the handles together is a bit snug and can be cumbersome to close. Regardless, an extremely functional piece of luggage."
Review 5 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift,
March 13, 2014
By: StAr2k14
"Received as a gift to match my briefcase (also a great gift) that I received three years ago. Great quality and perfect for weekend trips."
Review 6 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
my 3rd review,
March 6, 2014
By: Pickyoldman
from Missouri
"I've written two previous reviews of this bag essentially complaining of questionable quality and service. I am writing again to update. A very nice customer service rep has since refunded my costs in this matter, so I must give service 4 stars. Would be 5 if I hadn't had to harangue someone for two months or longer. Don't know if I'd recommend bag to a friend."
Review 7 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not Bad,
March 1, 2014
By: Treker6
from Stow, OH
"Probably one of the best duffles I have seen. Two drawbacks, it has three buckles which only serve to get in the way and it does not keep its shape when only a few items in it. However, lots of cool pockets which is great for traveling."
Review 8 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THE Bag to have (or give) !,
February 24, 2014
By: Tempslire
from Montreal, QC
"I buy this bag for my dearest and he is really happy ! The perfect bag ! more beautiful in real than on the picture ! Good material, interior and exterior, resistance, chic ! For a lot of good moments in travel !"
Review 9 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a duffle!,
February 21, 2014
By: carolsuzanne
"My husband has had his Battenkill Duffle for many, many years. The quality and construction is outstanding, and the bag looks as good as it did day 1. Our son who wanted this same duffel for his business travels. He just received it and is thrilled. Another generation of Battenkill Duffel owners!"
Review 10 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
update review of 10/15/13,
January 6, 2014
By: Pickyoldman
from Missouri
"I had UPS pack & ship this to Orvis for repair. Cost me $20. I was without the bag for more than two months. The repair work is satisfactory, I think, but I didn't see anything wrong with the bag when it started coming apart at a seam. In today's mail I got a bill From Orvis for $30 for this repair (shipping/handling). I really can't see at all how this is a "100% satisfaction guarantee." The bag is nice. The overall experience with the warranty and service has been unsatisfactory."
Review 11 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High quality and functional,
December 18, 2013
By: bugchecker
from Down south inTiger Land
"This is a high quality functional duffel. When you get this kind of quality you know why you paid a little extra."
Review 12 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roomy Classic Style,
October 28, 2013
By: BronxFlyAngler
from Bronx, NY
"Classically styled with leather trim, roomy and built to last."
Review 13 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
some surprises,
October 15, 2013
By: Pickyoldman
from Missouri
"Bought this for myself 11 months ago. Beautiful bag, seemingly well made. Looks like an heirloom item. Didn't use the bag much until a couple weeks ago, for week long hunting trip. The day I headed for home I noticed the leather strap on top of bag was pulling away from cloth at seam. Called Orvis. Found out I had to ship it at my expense for repair. They will only replace if not repairable. A little disappointing. Haven't gotten it back from repairs yet, so we will see.
Also, I'm not crazy about the zipper opening's offset. While probably more waterproof, more difficult to load."
Review 14 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful Quality!,
October 1, 2013
By: Rickintheham
from Sewanee Tennessee
"This bag is beautiful. My college age son is thrilled with it. Holds a lot and then some. Well organized.
Only negative is that I opted for the monogram plate and I am a bit concerned it wont last long the way the plate is attached to the bag. Seems like it might catch on something and be torn off. Just a concern-hasn't happened. Terrific item overall!
"
Review 15 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
20 mYears and Still Going,
September 14, 2013
By: OrvisVeteran
"Owned this, and two smaller, duffles for over 20 years and after excursions to four continents they still meet expectations, even if they are a few faded shades lighter in color."
Review 16 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome,
September 7, 2013
By: alaska3
from Auke Bay, AK
"My son got one of these as a graduation gift. After seeing his I decided I needed one too. The quality is excellent! Very sturdy and functional. Easy to get your things in or out and holds a lot. Like the accents. It will be a bag that both of us will use for years to come!"
Review 17 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great stuff!,
February 14, 2013
By: Stevenfla
from Florida
"I get 6 days of stuff in this bag for my twice a month business trips to the Caribbean. Great looking bag and very sturdy. Well made and great looking. A classic. Goes great with the matching backpack."
Review 18 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Travel Product,
January 21, 2013
By: NewZealandTraveler
from East Haddam, CT
"With an upcoming overseas trip, I was looking for a durable, convenient travel bag that could survive any obstacle. Your bag is just the item and represents a true value."
Review 19 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
January 1, 2013
By: Zitdoc
from Lexington, KY
"I bought this as a Christmas present for my husband. He has already used it and loves it. The only problem is I ordered the engraved name plate and the rivet on one end was broken when we received the bag so it probably won't stay on the bag for long. Otherwise we are pleased with the purchase."
Review 20 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nicest luggage I own,
December 29, 2012
By: JDPandCNL
from Huntsville, AL
"This bag is a great quality piece of luggage. Looks good, very sturdy and durable, holds all my stuff perfectly."