Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Battenkill Briefcase

New features of our Battenkill canvas and leather briefcase include: Signature Orvis plaid lining. Double-knotted leather zipper pulls. Improved interior design. Leather handles held together by removable snap closure. Zippered exterior pocket updated to include a neoprene sleeve for storing an iPad. Removable shoulder strap. Leather key leash. Canvas and leather briefcase in green/brown. 13"H x 17"W x 5"D. Cotton canvas/leather. Spot clean. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.677 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
30 of 31(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Battenkill Briefcase
Review 1 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Winner from Orvis,
August 5, 2014
By: Rayell
from Peabody, MA
"I have purchased other Battenkill items in the past and they have all been good for me or the folks I have given them to. Such is the case here. This briefcase is a gift to a 30 year old engineer who is delighted with it. Great for office materials and also a quick clothing change in a pinch. Almost indestructible."
Review 2 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best bag I've ever owned...,
May 29, 2014
By: CoolHandCalvin
from Orlando, FL
"This bag is everything that I hoped it would be...slightly larger than I expected, but that is not a problem...
Empty your pockets...this bag will hold everything you need !"
Review 3 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great business briefcase,
May 6, 2014
By: ajajajaja
from Chevy Chase, MD
"Thoughtfully designed, elegant look, rugged construction."
Review 4 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 7, 2014
By: Will47
"I like the way it stays standing up when you put iut down instead of falling over. It's why i bought it."
Review 5 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great brief case,
February 16, 2014
By: Joe150
"I thoroughly enjoy my brief case ...I would add a strap or other devise so that it can be attached to the roller bag"
Review 6 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Briefcase,
February 1, 2014
By: Jackgill
from NJ
"I'm a Police Lieutentant, and a 25+ year fan of Orvis products. I love this briefcase. I like that I can slig the strap over the passenger seat and have easy access to the compartments. There is a zippered exterior pocket with a neoprene sleeve, perect for my iPad. The leather key leash, is so handy! The front side compartment features three small pouches, great for storing a smartphone, glasses, sunglasses, etc. keeping them easily accessable. There is also a interior zippered folder pocket and a laptop or folder sleeve. The rear compartment has two interior folder sleeves. A hearty shoulder strap. Last, the obvious, great Orvis quality!"
Review 7 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Work Bag,
January 24, 2014
By: AGSNJ
from NJ
"I search for months to replace my old work bag. This bag fit my size needs and had all the compartments I was looking for. My only negative comment about the bag is that Orvis changed the design from the one my friend has to eliminate the pen loops. I use the cell phone pocket for pens, but they are not held there securely and sometimes fall out. Other than this minor issue, its a sturdy, great looking bag that is very functional."
Review 8 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Customer Service,
November 30, 2013
By: fchambersiii
from Minneapolis MN
"Sold out on website with an expected delivery date of Feb 2014. I called customer service and they found the bag in one of the stores. They were very helpful and provided great customer service. The bag showed up with no issues a couple of days later."
Review 9 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Compliments and style,
September 9, 2013
By: cdnrunner4ever
from Halifax, NS, Canada
"This case is the perfect compliment to any business trip.
Lots of space and great styling that goes so well with the other pieces of the Battenkill line that I have.
In airports and hotels I get lots of compliments and questions about this great case!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best gift for new job!,
September 6, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I surprised my boyfriend with this briefcase as an early birthday gift to take to work at his first day at his new job. He was absolutely thrilled and speechless. The quality of this product is superb and it will serve him well for many years to come."
Review 11 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battenkill Briefcase,
August 4, 2013
By: Sparty1988
"Wow what a bag. This was the second briefcase I bought after I started workingin...1991. Now 22 years later it is still my daily briefcase. It has been back for a about three wear related repairs over the probably over 5,000 days of use. I can't part with my old friend. I did buy a new Bullhide leather briefcase for the more formal settings but I still transfer back to my Battenkill for everyday. / Also, I decided to stick with this bag when, as a young exec, the president of our company said "Oh, Orvis." Nice."
Review 12 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fair Purchase,
April 18, 2013
By: pdlhappy
from fredericksburg, va
"This briefcase/satchel has wonderful storage and extremely convenient design. My only draw back is the size. I wish the Battenkill was available one size down, rather large to carry a 13" MACBOOK PRO and iPad. I can assure you I will not be returning it and look forward to many years of use."
Review 13 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Bag; Needs Sleeve for Carryon Handle,
March 19, 2013
By: BillK
"I've had mine for over 5 years and it has held up well, although it is beginning to show some wear. I'm surprised that the bag hasn't been updated to include a sleeve to slip over the handle on the wheeled Battenkill luggage. I love my wheeled carryon, but using this bag with it is a little awkward given the lack of a sleeve to hold it against the handle when wheeling the case."
Review 14 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great bag!,
December 28, 2012
By: Customer2012
"This is such a great bag! Easy to organize. Arrived earlier than I thought it would, monogram was perfect, very pleased!!!"
Review 15 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Son's Favorite Gift,
December 28, 2012
By: KimKim
"My thirty year old son is head of sales for a manufacturing co. He travels weekly and needs a sturdy
and functional briefcase. He uses
several Orvis items and put this at the top of his Christmas list this year.
I was very pleased with my purchase.
However, I thought the shipping charge,even with a discount coupon, was high.
"
Review 16 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just What I Needed.,
December 28, 2012
By: Fivek
from Westchester County New York
"Exceptional quality, great attention to detail, looks fabulous. I could not be more pleased with how functional and practical this briefcase is, not to mention the numerous compliments. I was skeptical due to the price but after 3 briefcases in 5 years I decided to spend the extra money. After seeing the quality I am confident it will pay off in the long run."
Review 17 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Briefcase,
December 20, 2012
By: jtp1981
from Jackson, TN
"This briefcase was perfect for what I needed. I can comfortably carry my laptop and ipad. Very pleased with how durable this seems to be made as I am outside often. Plenty of pocket also."
Review 18 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Gift,
December 13, 2012
By: Shebear
from Wilmington, DE
"Sturdy, classy and great looking case. Pockets are perfect."
Review 19 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shipping Issue,
December 12, 2012
By: maxiene
from NY metro area
"UPS mis-delivered this amazing briefcase and it didn't come as expected. Therefore a birthday was without a gift. Cheers to Orvis for sending out another - no charge! I was SO upset when UPS did nothing for me, but Orvis came through! The original finally did show and I sent back the other immediately. But still, Orvis - you seriously rock. Best customer service ever!"
Review 20 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love my Battenkill BCase!,
December 6, 2012
By: GrandpaRock
from Ohio
"I have used a backpack as a briefcase for the past 10 years. I began to think about how I could improve my professional appearance and no longer look like every other business traveler. What better way than a unique bcase to match my carry on bag. This bag offers all the pouches & pockets needed for me to carry my business needs (files, iPad, phone, pens, etc.). The exterior fabric, zippers, latches and shoulder strap while heavy duty are comfortable and will stand up to anything I could put it through. Thanks Orvis, I don't think I'll need another briefcase anytime soon, if ever."