Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Battenkill Briefcase

Our canvas and leather briefcase's new features include Signature Orvis plaid lining, Orvis branding on zips and brass rivets. Zips have double-knotted leather pulls. Both main compartments have locking zips. One side has double-leather trimmed slash pockets, the other side has a leather-trimmed neoprene laptop sleeve, neoprene and leather trimmed pockets, molded soft-shell slot for camera/PDA/iPhone and leather business card sleeve. Interior zip slash pocket. Zippered exterior pocket now includes a neoprene sleeve for storing an iPad. Removable padded cotton webbing and leather shoulder strap. Leather key leash. Canvas and leather briefcase in green/brown. 13"H x 17"W x 5"D. Spot clean.
Average Customer Rating:
4.595 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
35 of 37(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Battenkill Briefcase
Review 1 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great look and feel!,
December 29, 2014
By: Muskydan
from Elgin, IL
"This is the second Orvis briefcase I've owned and I'm very happy. Functionally, it has plenty of room and each compartment is easily accessible. The exterior tells my clients I'm a successful professional. Just looking at it makes me want to go to work!"
Review 2 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
December 28, 2014
By: RiceOwl6971
from Houston, Tx
"This replaces a similar briefcase that I have used for many years, but was too small for lap-top plus incidentals such as notebooks, binders, etc. Plus a friend's bird-dog chewed the handles a bit. This case has the space for lap-top plus everything else I need to carry. All of the attachments for handles and shoulder strap and zippers are heavy-duty and designed for longevity."
Review 3 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The casual briefcase,
December 25, 2014
By: millhom
from Houston
"My husband is a scientist, so he isn't the starched collar and tie type. He needed a new briefcase but wanted one a little more casual than usual. This one fit the bill. Lots of pockets for cords and ear phones and a good padded section for his laptop. It is also very stylish and he is thrilled with the new "look""
Review 4 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A very good purchase,
November 17, 2014
By: JMV1971
from Spain
"Saw this briefcase on a trip to NY but could not buy it.
Back from that trip I could not find something simmilar so just bought it through Orvis web site."
Review 5 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
shoddy workmanship,
September 28, 2014
By: unhappy410
from Bethesda, MD
"A brand new version of a prior model "battenkill" briefcase was a gift. On the first day, the leather that held the rings for the strap ripped off completely. I called the store and the representative told me they would replace or even upgrade the bag if I brought it in. I went to the store and they switched up that oral warranty, telling me my bag was "too old" (even though it was brand new) and that they wouldn't replace it for a substantially similar Battenkill model. They very easily could have done so. Orvis banks on "workmanship" and "quality" of their luggage and leather goods, but won't back it up."
Review 6 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Winner from Orvis,
August 5, 2014
By: Rayell
from Peabody, MA
"I have purchased other Battenkill items in the past and they have all been good for me or the folks I have given them to. Such is the case here. This briefcase is a gift to a 30 year old engineer who is delighted with it. Great for office materials and also a quick clothing change in a pinch. Almost indestructible."
Review 7 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best bag I've ever owned...,
May 29, 2014
By: CoolHandCalvin
from Orlando, FL
"This bag is everything that I hoped it would be...slightly larger than I expected, but that is not a problem...
Empty your pockets...this bag will hold everything you need !"
Review 8 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great business briefcase,
May 6, 2014
By: ajajajaja
from Chevy Chase, MD
"Thoughtfully designed, elegant look, rugged construction."
Review 9 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 7, 2014
By: Will47
"I like the way it stays standing up when you put iut down instead of falling over. It's why i bought it."
Review 10 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great brief case,
February 16, 2014
By: Joe150
"I thoroughly enjoy my brief case ...I would add a strap or other devise so that it can be attached to the roller bag"
Review 11 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Briefcase,
February 1, 2014
By: Jackgill
from NJ
"I'm a Police Lieutentant, and a 25+ year fan of Orvis products. I love this briefcase. I like that I can slig the strap over the passenger seat and have easy access to the compartments. There is a zippered exterior pocket with a neoprene sleeve, perect for my iPad. The leather key leash, is so handy! The front side compartment features three small pouches, great for storing a smartphone, glasses, sunglasses, etc. keeping them easily accessable. There is also a interior zippered folder pocket and a laptop or folder sleeve. The rear compartment has two interior folder sleeves. A hearty shoulder strap. Last, the obvious, great Orvis quality!"
Review 12 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Work Bag,
January 24, 2014
By: AGSNJ
from NJ
"I search for months to replace my old work bag. This bag fit my size needs and had all the compartments I was looking for. My only negative comment about the bag is that Orvis changed the design from the one my friend has to eliminate the pen loops. I use the cell phone pocket for pens, but they are not held there securely and sometimes fall out. Other than this minor issue, its a sturdy, great looking bag that is very functional."
Review 13 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Customer Service,
November 30, 2013
By: fchambersiii
from Minneapolis MN
"Sold out on website with an expected delivery date of Feb 2014. I called customer service and they found the bag in one of the stores. They were very helpful and provided great customer service. The bag showed up with no issues a couple of days later."
Review 14 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Compliments and style,
September 9, 2013
By: cdnrunner4ever
from Halifax, NS, Canada
"This case is the perfect compliment to any business trip.
Lots of space and great styling that goes so well with the other pieces of the Battenkill line that I have.
In airports and hotels I get lots of compliments and questions about this great case!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best gift for new job!,
September 6, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I surprised my boyfriend with this briefcase as an early birthday gift to take to work at his first day at his new job. He was absolutely thrilled and speechless. The quality of this product is superb and it will serve him well for many years to come."
Review 16 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battenkill Briefcase,
August 4, 2013
By: Sparty1988
"Wow what a bag. This was the second briefcase I bought after I started workingin...1991. Now 22 years later it is still my daily briefcase. It has been back for a about three wear related repairs over the probably over 5,000 days of use. I can't part with my old friend. I did buy a new Bullhide leather briefcase for the more formal settings but I still transfer back to my Battenkill for everyday. / Also, I decided to stick with this bag when, as a young exec, the president of our company said "Oh, Orvis." Nice."
Review 17 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fair Purchase,
April 18, 2013
By: pdlhappy
from fredericksburg, va
"This briefcase/satchel has wonderful storage and extremely convenient design. My only draw back is the size. I wish the Battenkill was available one size down, rather large to carry a 13" MACBOOK PRO and iPad. I can assure you I will not be returning it and look forward to many years of use."
Review 18 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Bag; Needs Sleeve for Carryon Handle,
March 19, 2013
By: BillK
"I've had mine for over 5 years and it has held up well, although it is beginning to show some wear. I'm surprised that the bag hasn't been updated to include a sleeve to slip over the handle on the wheeled Battenkill luggage. I love my wheeled carryon, but using this bag with it is a little awkward given the lack of a sleeve to hold it against the handle when wheeling the case."
Review 19 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great bag!,
December 28, 2012
By: Customer2012
"This is such a great bag! Easy to organize. Arrived earlier than I thought it would, monogram was perfect, very pleased!!!"
Review 20 for Battenkill Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Son's Favorite Gift,
December 28, 2012
By: KimKim
"My thirty year old son is head of sales for a manufacturing co. He travels weekly and needs a sturdy
and functional briefcase. He uses
several Orvis items and put this at the top of his Christmas list this year.
I was very pleased with my purchase.
However, I thought the shipping charge,even with a discount coupon, was high.
"