Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

The Businessman's Backpack

Re-designed for business on the road, our improved backpack now has a larger main compartment with a laptop sleeve, an interior zippered security pocket, and ergonomic shoulder straps for comfortable hands-free carrying. In the office, hide the straps away and carry by the briefcase handle. Zippered front bellows pocket sized for a tablet. Two zippered slash pockets on front; leather-trimmed grab handle; side bellows pocket with brass stud/flap closure. Slip pocket for rolling suitcase attachment. Locking zippers on main compartment, brass hardware. Signature plaid lining. Laptop backpacks in green/brown. 18"H x 14"W x 7"D; 1,750 cu. in. Weight is approximately 5 lbs. Personalize with embossing on leather or engraving on a brass plate, up to 6 letters. Specify the characters in the order they should appear. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.628 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (145 reviews)
5 stars
116
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
5
136 of 145(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Businessman's Backpack
Review 1 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good but needs more,
May 11, 2015
By: bustrvler
"Best backpack for biz in years EXCEPT needs pen and card holders in outside pockets for quick access"
Review 2 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best I have had,
May 7, 2015
By: SCPreacher
from SC
"I have had my backpack for a couple of years now and it sees a lot of hard use. I carry a 15" lap top, an IPad and all the assorted things that go with them to and from work and meetings each day. The color has faded but just gives it a well worn look. The seams, zippers and pulls are holding up well and so no signs of wear.."
Review 3 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not quite what I expected,
May 4, 2015
By: Waybis44
from NY, NY
"The backpack is too big and sloppy looking for business. Quality is good and the green/brown color is excellent. Unless the pack is full the looks are diminishing. Not happy."
Review 4 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Love it but...,
April 28, 2015
By: ChrisF
from long Island and NYC
"I love Orvis and absolutley love this backpack for its proffesional style and comfort.I have used it for years and frequently recieve compliments. My only negative is reflected in a previous comment. It fades badly in a short amount of time. Particularly the straps. Like the previous review I only use it commuting to and from the train. It shouldn't fade so easily. This washed out appearance looks unproffesional. It's time for me to get a new one, and as tempted as I am to repeat the purchase the fade issue may be a deal breaker."
Review 5 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Color fades badly & looks unprofessional,
March 25, 2015
By: Mike8186
from Washington DC
"My wife gave me the green colored Businessman's Backpack for Christmas 2013. I use it to carry stuff to and from work while attired in a business suit. It originally looked great and impressed a co-worker so much, he purchased one himself. I walk about 300 meters to the Metro each way and that is the only sun exposure the pack has received, as I only use it for work. Nevertheless, in 15 months, the green color has faded badly, and now looks worn and is not suitable to carry for work. This is my only complaint, but it is a significant one. Others' reviews are universally positive, but the badly faded backpack has colored my experience negatively."
Review 6 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
travelmate,
March 9, 2015
By: kingfisherphil
from Yotkshire, England
"I used this as my hand luggage for a trip to New Zealand and Australia. A great solution that enables you to take all you need for long journeys including a change of clothes. All the side pockets came in very useful, with added bonus of being stylish and well made. This is a smart buy and equally at home in a smart London hotel, thank you Orvis"
Review 7 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rugged but Professional,
March 4, 2015
By: Huntr1
from California
"Perfect product for my frequent trips across the country for business that requires both lap top and I-pad. Features padding with numerous pockets for the electronic paraphernalia. The feature I have come to most appreciate is the in-pocket secure swivel hook for car keys. The leather and canvas make it durable but still professional looking for the boardroom."
Review 8 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HS Grad Gift,
February 20, 2015
By: Jack4867
from Dalas Texas
"Bought this for a high school student bound for college. Of course, the quality is high and he will get many years use from it. It is super sturdy, attractive and functional. It is all the back pack a student needs! A great gift for man or woman, girl or boy."
Review 9 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it!,
February 13, 2015
By: Ducktillidie
"Good quality, love the style, functionally superior! Exceptionally well thought through!"
Review 10 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST BUSINESS BACKPACK,
January 9, 2015
By: Frank957
from Spring Branch, TX
"I TRAVEL ON BUSINESS AND THIS BACKPACK IS GREAT- NICE SIZE FOR LAPTOP AND / OR TABLET, PLENTY OF GEAR POCKETS- AND GREAT LOOKING"
Review 11 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Backpack,
January 5, 2015
By: Gdubs
from Suffern, NY
"After carrying a briefcase for thirty + years I thought I would try using a backpack, so I bought the tan version for myself. I was so pleased with it and my son admired it. I bought him the green Businessman's Backpack as a Christmas present. He loves it and thinks it looks more professional than a regular backpack."
Review 12 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Backpack for all ages,
January 2, 2015
By: kindle
"This product was purchased for my older grandson when he studied in Europe one spring semester in college. He loved it and has gotten so many compliments on it. I then ordered it for another grandson who is a junior in high school. He was thrilled with the gift as he had always liked his cousins' backpack. It is durable and attractive."
Review 13 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Packing in style,
January 2, 2015
By: Bawanna
from New orleans
"Function & style.
Lots of space well padded reinforced
Well made. Perfect for my son's trip to turkey and a spring semester in Italy. Thanks Orvis !!!
"
Review 14 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product; Well Made,
December 29, 2014
By: trustofficer
from Wernersville, PA
"This is a classy backpack purchased to travel overseas. Not only does it look good, it is well made with plenty of room and storage pockets."
Review 15 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
not typical Orvis quality,
December 26, 2014
By: Landa
from Gonzales, tx
"I have ordered many products from Orvis and have always been very happy except for this backpack. Not only was it not the item pictured in the catalog, it was NOT Orvis quality. I was very disappointed in the quality of this backpack."
Review 16 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Back pack,
December 19, 2014
By: jlbrown22
"Great quality! My husband is very excited to use it."
Review 17 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally I have only one carry-on!,
December 17, 2014
By: MonteL
from Columbia, SC
"I travel overseas a lot and for years have taken a backpack and a laptop case on the airplane. To have these combined into one item I can comfortably carry on my back, hands free, is a great advantage. I just made my first flight with my new Orvis Businessman's Backpack, and for the first time I also had more than ample room for all the things I needed to carry."
Review 18 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Businessman's Backpack,
December 8, 2014
By: Drlong337
from Lafayette,La
"Battenkill® Duffle on Wheels was the first piece i bought. Then i bought the Hanging Travel Kit and, then bought the Businessman's Backpack. The quality of the Orvis products are unmatched by anybody on the market. I have used them all trust me. In my line of work i hunt and fish all over the world and, i could not be happier. The Businessman's Backpack is loaded with compartments. the quality is outstanding and, the design with leather and canvas is very masculine. I have converted a few of my fishing buddies to this bag, getting them away from the other substandard bags on the market. Keep up the GREAT work Orvis. I would also like to add , that the service department at Orvis is Outstanding!"
Review 19 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thumbs up to the Businessman's backpack,
December 7, 2014
By: Jurong68
from London, UK
"I had one of these backpacks previously for 6 years and I replaced it recently. I use it mainly for work and it looks great, is extremely functional and stands apart from your average backpack. So much so, that I'm always being asked where I got it from! I should also add that Orvis' customer service is second to none too!"
Review 20 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Businessman' Backpack,
December 5, 2014
By: Lambeau
"Very nice construction. Plenty of storage and good layout for my needs and use."