Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

The Businessman's Backpack

Re-designed for business on the road, our improved backpack now has a larger main compartment with a laptop sleeve, an interior zippered security pocket, and ergonomic shoulder straps for comfortable hands-free carrying. In the office, hide the straps away and carry by the briefcase handle. Zippered front bellows pocket sized for a tablet. Two zippered slash pockets on front; leather-trimmed grab handle; side bellows pocket with brass stud/flap closure. Slip pocket for rolling suitcase attachment. Locking zippers on main compartment, brass hardware. Signature plaid lining. Laptop backpacks in green/brown. 18"H x 14"W x 7"D; 1,750 cu. in. Weight is approximately 5 lbs. Personalize with embossing on leather or engraving on a brass plate, up to 6 letters. Specify the characters in the order they should appear. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.701 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (127 reviews)
5 stars
104
4 stars
14
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
3
122 of 127(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Businessman's Backpack
Review 1 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Back pack,
December 19, 2014
By: jlbrown22
"Great quality! My husband is very excited to use it."
Review 2 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally I have only one carry-on!,
December 17, 2014
By: MonteL
from Columbia, SC
"I travel overseas a lot and for years have taken a backpack and a laptop case on the airplane. To have these combined into one item I can comfortably carry on my back, hands free, is a great advantage. I just made my first flight with my new Orvis Businessman's Backpack, and for the first time I also had more than ample room for all the things I needed to carry."
Review 3 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Businessman's Backpack,
December 8, 2014
By: Drlong337
from Lafayette,La
"Battenkill® Duffle on Wheels was the first piece i bought. Then i bought the Hanging Travel Kit and, then bought the Businessman's Backpack. The quality of the Orvis products are unmatched by anybody on the market. I have used them all trust me. In my line of work i hunt and fish all over the world and, i could not be happier. The Businessman's Backpack is loaded with compartments. the quality is outstanding and, the design with leather and canvas is very masculine. I have converted a few of my fishing buddies to this bag, getting them away from the other substandard bags on the market. Keep up the GREAT work Orvis. I would also like to add , that the service department at Orvis is Outstanding!"
Review 4 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thumbs up to the Businessman's backpack,
December 7, 2014
By: Jurong68
from London, UK
"I had one of these backpacks previously for 6 years and I replaced it recently. I use it mainly for work and it looks great, is extremely functional and stands apart from your average backpack. So much so, that I'm always being asked where I got it from! I should also add that Orvis' customer service is second to none too!"
Review 5 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Businessman' Backpack,
December 5, 2014
By: Lambeau
"Very nice construction. Plenty of storage and good layout for my needs and use."
Review 6 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wonderful gift,
December 3, 2014
By: colobuyer
from colorado
"This backpack was purchased as a "repeat" gift for my brother. He lives in China and finds this a great alternative to a briefcase or "climbing" backpack. He found that certain seams became weak over the course of a year, requiring this "repeat" purchase."
Review 7 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Backpack well organized,
December 1, 2014
By: Deac
from Chesterfield, Missouri
"Really like the backpack. There are a lot of compartments to hold many items, and seem to be easy to access. Zippers and canvas are good quality.
Wish it would stand on its own, the only feature to add.
"
Review 8 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful, quality and size,
November 26, 2014
By: Ricardoz
from ct
"As usual Orvis has come through with a "travel" product hard to beat."
Review 9 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PERFECT FOR THE JOB,
November 16, 2014
By: BOSS74
from NORFOLK
"IT DID WHAT IT WAS DESIGNED FOR AND PROVED VERY FUNCTIONAL ON A RESENT HOLIDAY LEAVING HANDS FREE TO DO OTHER THINS"
Review 10 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All that I need,
November 4, 2014
By: usmc0205
from Sun City Center Florida
"This back pack is exactly what I wanted and needed. The quality is superior and workmanship is noteworthy. I use it for traveling and
have received many compliments.
I would expect no less from Oivis.
Thank youj!!"
Review 11 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great pack for traveling,
October 3, 2014
By: Charlie9
from Baldwin County, AL
"Great backpack for traveling with laptop/tablet and all other necessary business gear. I purchased before an overseas trip out of frustration with the hassle of my current soft sided briefcase. This was perfect. Everything was in it's place and right where it should be."
Review 12 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fancy backpak,
September 27, 2014
By: scientist
from Yokohama, Japan
"I was looking for a backpack in replace of the long used old one for weekly commuting with IPAD and others. This pack has more functionality, durability and many outside pockets including one for an umbrella.
I like its fancy design, too.
"
Review 13 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Student,
September 26, 2014
By: TSSCI
from So. California
"After perusing catelogs and websites of numerous brands of backpacks, I opted for Orvis. It was for my grandson's 18th birthday and I wanted a quality product.
I was concerned that he might be put off by an unknown brand name for folks of his age, but he was delighted that it was something different than the everyday backpack that everyone else has.
Quality is impressive and I plan to order one for myself.
Certainly, the durability will be put to the test with grandson's daily activities.
"
Review 14 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great backpack,
September 15, 2014
By: Hencor
from greenwich, ct
"great color and l love the outside pockets. Perfect for key and sunglasses."
Review 15 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great tote bag,
September 10, 2014
By: DLOB
from Findlay, Ohio
"I was looking for tote bag to carry aboard flights and it does the job as well as for other travel applications.Plus it is nice looking."
Review 16 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SUPERB PIECE OF MERCHANDISE,
September 4, 2014
By: SOPHIEINEUROPE
from NORMANDY FRANCE
"I received my bag 1 week after ordering. I am pretty impressed with the quality. I cannot honestly find any fault with this product. I love the look and design of the whole thing. If you have not tried Orvis before, you will not be disappointed."
Review 17 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect quality business backpack,
September 3, 2014
By: Yman
from Richmond,VA
"Everything that comes from Orvis is
ideal.I needed this pack to travel with an overnight set of clothes, MacBook, and tolietries. I chose this item for it's style, functionality and durability. One of many things Orvis delivers is a product that actually looks better than the picture in the catalog.
"
Review 18 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT Businessman's Backpack,
August 28, 2014
By: chrismbwv
"Absolutely love this backpack. It has ample room for everything that I need to carry to work."
Review 19 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply Outstanding Item,
July 8, 2014
By: JerryUK
from Cambridge, UK
"I am a weekly commuter by train and air as I work three days a week at my office abroad and two days per week at home. Hence I need to pack for either a two or three night hotel stay each working week. Anything, literally anything, that I can do to make the commute (between four and five hours door to door including 90 minutes in the air) more bearable is of huge importance to me.
For the past year or so I'd been struggling along with a wheelie bag, and a struggle it was with stairs and escalators galore on the London underground and DLR, together with ramming the thing (a Tumi - it was not cheap either) into an overhead locker on regional jets and turboprop aircraft. It was getting to be a real pain. Part of the problem of course is the standard issue of having too much space, encouraging too much packing.
A recent visit to the wonderful new Orvis store in London saw Jimmy (a real brand ambassador for Orvis if ever there was one) eulogise for a long time on a quiet Sunday morning about how good the Businessmen's back-pack was. Well Jimmy, you are 100% right. My life is transformed.
For an average three night stay, this gem takes a pair of trousers, three shirts, underwear, socks, an Orvis sweatshirt and some Orvis swim shorts all packed neatly into a packing cube (hint, eagle creek makes a perfect large cube which fits this backpack an absolute treat). The internal pockets takes a tie (never normally needed), hides my passport away safely, and could even take my MacBook if I could be bothered to lug it back and forth. Plenty of space for iphone chargers, alarm clock and wash bag, although to speed up airport security, the liquids go into their plastic bag and into the cavernous front pocket, with my Kindle in the brilliantly positioned padded sleeve behind. Someone has really been thinking here when designing this - it is simply brilliant.
Work note books normally find a home in the main laptop sleeve in the main body of the bag, and could share this space with a laptop as it is huge. the expandable side water pocket even accommodates the irritating 750ml bottle size which seems to be all that is available in European airports. Boarding cards go in the zip pocket on the top flap. A pair of deck shoes can also sit in the main pocket with clothes, but I don't normally bother. I can however squeeze in a blazer rolled up and duty free purchases too. This is a real little tardis, and best of all, fits really comfortably on my back thus revolutionising my commute.
Well done Orvis and Jimmy, brilliant item which I am completely awestruck by. Before others think I'm exagerating, I'm an XXL shirt size too, so even with the extra materiel I'm lugging around this backpack just makes light work of it whilst still sliding into small overhead lockers with ease. Very highly recommended, particularly for regular travellers like me."
Review 20 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Need another Computer Bag,
June 27, 2014
By: gunknifefan
from Northeast Florida
"I was looking for a Backpack for my computer and the Orvis Businessman's Backpack was what I needed. Regular computer briefcases get heavy when traveling. I have a laptop that is just over 16" long and it fit on the provided storage slot. There was lots of space for my chargers and other accessories. Another great produce from Orvis."