Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

The Businessman's Backpack

Re-designed for business on the road, our improved backpack now has a larger main compartment with a laptop sleeve, an interior zippered security pocket, and ergonomic shoulder straps for comfortable hands-free carrying. In the office, hide the straps away and carry by the briefcase handle. Zippered front bellows pocket sized for a tablet. Two zippered slash pockets on front; leather-trimmed grab handle; side bellows pocket with brass stud/flap closure. Slip pocket for rolling suitcase attachment. Locking zippers on main compartment, brass hardware. Signature plaid lining. Laptop backpacks in green/brown. 18"H x 14"W x 7"D; 1,750 cu. in. Weight is approximately 5 lbs. Personalize with embossing on leather or engraving on a brass plate, up to 6 letters. Specify the characters in the order they should appear. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.627 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (150 reviews)
5 stars
120
4 stars
16
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
5
140 of 150(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Businessman's Backpack
Review 1 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great piece of kit,
July 1, 2015
By: Spingo
from Devon, England
"Just returned from a holiday, used this for loads of stuff I needed to be handy at all times.Comfortable to wear and good looking.Very pleased."
Review 2 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Memorable Purchase,
June 17, 2015
By: Dickster2
from Brimfeild, Ma
"This bag will only get better with age.
My nephew is off to college with it and I am sure it will last him a life time. Upon opening the box he said it even had a wonderful leathery fragrance !
"
Review 3 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bitter-sweet,
June 10, 2015
By: Texdporter1961
from Texas
"The bag is very accommodating in pocketry... I would like for it to be less flimsy. It's more like a sack rather than a protective bag for your valuables while traveling."
Review 4 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battenkill backpack,
June 9, 2015
By: wrclark
"Great materials and construction. Well thought out for it's use."
Review 5 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for work,
May 28, 2015
By: Seger01
from Lubbock, Tx
"This is a great business man's backpack or work bag. It has everything I need when I am away from my office. Glad I made this purchase"
Review 6 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good but needs more,
May 11, 2015
By: bustrvler
"Best backpack for biz in years EXCEPT needs pen and card holders in outside pockets for quick access"
Review 7 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best I have had,
May 7, 2015
By: SCPreacher
from SC
"I have had my backpack for a couple of years now and it sees a lot of hard use. I carry a 15" lap top, an IPad and all the assorted things that go with them to and from work and meetings each day. The color has faded but just gives it a well worn look. The seams, zippers and pulls are holding up well and so no signs of wear.."
Review 8 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not quite what I expected,
May 4, 2015
By: Waybis44
from NY, NY
"The backpack is too big and sloppy looking for business. Quality is good and the green/brown color is excellent. Unless the pack is full the looks are diminishing. Not happy."
Review 9 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Love it but...,
April 28, 2015
By: ChrisF
from long Island and NYC
"I love Orvis and absolutley love this backpack for its proffesional style and comfort.I have used it for years and frequently recieve compliments. My only negative is reflected in a previous comment. It fades badly in a short amount of time. Particularly the straps. Like the previous review I only use it commuting to and from the train. It shouldn't fade so easily. This washed out appearance looks unproffesional. It's time for me to get a new one, and as tempted as I am to repeat the purchase the fade issue may be a deal breaker."
Review 10 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Color fades badly & looks unprofessional,
March 25, 2015
By: Mike8186
from Washington DC
"My wife gave me the green colored Businessman's Backpack for Christmas 2013. I use it to carry stuff to and from work while attired in a business suit. It originally looked great and impressed a co-worker so much, he purchased one himself. I walk about 300 meters to the Metro each way and that is the only sun exposure the pack has received, as I only use it for work. Nevertheless, in 15 months, the green color has faded badly, and now looks worn and is not suitable to carry for work. This is my only complaint, but it is a significant one. Others' reviews are universally positive, but the badly faded backpack has colored my experience negatively."
Review 11 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
travelmate,
March 9, 2015
By: kingfisherphil
from Yotkshire, England
"I used this as my hand luggage for a trip to New Zealand and Australia. A great solution that enables you to take all you need for long journeys including a change of clothes. All the side pockets came in very useful, with added bonus of being stylish and well made. This is a smart buy and equally at home in a smart London hotel, thank you Orvis"
Review 12 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rugged but Professional,
March 4, 2015
By: Huntr1
from California
"Perfect product for my frequent trips across the country for business that requires both lap top and I-pad. Features padding with numerous pockets for the electronic paraphernalia. The feature I have come to most appreciate is the in-pocket secure swivel hook for car keys. The leather and canvas make it durable but still professional looking for the boardroom."
Review 13 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HS Grad Gift,
February 20, 2015
By: Jack4867
from Dalas Texas
"Bought this for a high school student bound for college. Of course, the quality is high and he will get many years use from it. It is super sturdy, attractive and functional. It is all the back pack a student needs! A great gift for man or woman, girl or boy."
Review 14 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it!,
February 13, 2015
By: Ducktillidie
"Good quality, love the style, functionally superior! Exceptionally well thought through!"
Review 15 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST BUSINESS BACKPACK,
January 9, 2015
By: Frank957
from Spring Branch, TX
"I TRAVEL ON BUSINESS AND THIS BACKPACK IS GREAT- NICE SIZE FOR LAPTOP AND / OR TABLET, PLENTY OF GEAR POCKETS- AND GREAT LOOKING"
Review 16 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Backpack,
January 5, 2015
By: Gdubs
from Suffern, NY
"After carrying a briefcase for thirty + years I thought I would try using a backpack, so I bought the tan version for myself. I was so pleased with it and my son admired it. I bought him the green Businessman's Backpack as a Christmas present. He loves it and thinks it looks more professional than a regular backpack."
Review 17 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Backpack for all ages,
January 2, 2015
By: kindle
"This product was purchased for my older grandson when he studied in Europe one spring semester in college. He loved it and has gotten so many compliments on it. I then ordered it for another grandson who is a junior in high school. He was thrilled with the gift as he had always liked his cousins' backpack. It is durable and attractive."
Review 18 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Packing in style,
January 2, 2015
By: Bawanna
from New orleans
"Function & style.
Lots of space well padded reinforced
Well made. Perfect for my son's trip to turkey and a spring semester in Italy. Thanks Orvis !!!
"
Review 19 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product; Well Made,
December 29, 2014
By: trustofficer
from Wernersville, PA
"This is a classy backpack purchased to travel overseas. Not only does it look good, it is well made with plenty of room and storage pockets."
Review 20 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
not typical Orvis quality,
December 26, 2014
By: Landa
from Gonzales, tx
"I have ordered many products from Orvis and have always been very happy except for this backpack. Not only was it not the item pictured in the catalog, it was NOT Orvis quality. I was very disappointed in the quality of this backpack."