Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

The Businessman's Backpack

Re-designed for business on the road, our improved backpack now has a larger main compartment with a laptop sleeve, an interior zippered security pocket, and ergonomic shoulder straps for comfortable hands-free carrying. In the office, hide the straps away and carry by the briefcase handle. Zippered front bellows pocket sized for a tablet. Two zippered slash pockets on front; leather-trimmed grab handle; side bellows pocket with brass stud/flap closure. Slip pocket for rolling suitcase attachment. Locking zippers on main compartment, brass hardware. Signature plaid lining. Laptop backpacks in green/brown. 18"H x 14"W x 7"D; 1,750 cu. in. Weight is approximately 5 lbs. Personalize with embossing on leather or engraving on a brass plate, up to 6 letters. Specify the characters in the order they should appear. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.66 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (106 reviews)
5 stars
85
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
3
101 of 106(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Businessman's Backpack
Review 1 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply Outstanding Item,
July 8, 2014
By: JerryUK
from Cambridge, UK
"I am a weekly commuter by train and air as I work three days a week at my office abroad and two days per week at home. Hence I need to pack for either a two or three night hotel stay each working week. Anything, literally anything, that I can do to make the commute (between four and five hours door to door including 90 minutes in the air) more bearable is of huge importance to me.
For the past year or so I'd been struggling along with a wheelie bag, and a struggle it was with stairs and escalators galore on the London underground and DLR, together with ramming the thing (a Tumi - it was not cheap either) into an overhead locker on regional jets and turboprop aircraft. It was getting to be a real pain. Part of the problem of course is the standard issue of having too much space, encouraging too much packing.
A recent visit to the wonderful new Orvis store in London saw Jimmy (a real brand ambassador for Orvis if ever there was one) eulogise for a long time on a quiet Sunday morning about how good the Businessmen's back-pack was. Well Jimmy, you are 100% right. My life is transformed.
For an average three night stay, this gem takes a pair of trousers, three shirts, underwear, socks, an Orvis sweatshirt and some Orvis swim shorts all packed neatly into a packing cube (hint, eagle creek makes a perfect large cube which fits this backpack an absolute treat). The internal pockets takes a tie (never normally needed), hides my passport away safely, and could even take my MacBook if I could be bothered to lug it back and forth. Plenty of space for iphone chargers, alarm clock and wash bag, although to speed up airport security, the liquids go into their plastic bag and into the cavernous front pocket, with my Kindle in the brilliantly positioned padded sleeve behind. Someone has really been thinking here when designing this - it is simply brilliant.
Work note books normally find a home in the main laptop sleeve in the main body of the bag, and could share this space with a laptop as it is huge. the expandable side water pocket even accommodates the irritating 750ml bottle size which seems to be all that is available in European airports. Boarding cards go in the zip pocket on the top flap. A pair of deck shoes can also sit in the main pocket with clothes, but I don't normally bother. I can however squeeze in a blazer rolled up and duty free purchases too. This is a real little tardis, and best of all, fits really comfortably on my back thus revolutionising my commute.
Well done Orvis and Jimmy, brilliant item which I am completely awestruck by. Before others think I'm exagerating, I'm an XXL shirt size too, so even with the extra materiel I'm lugging around this backpack just makes light work of it whilst still sliding into small overhead lockers with ease. Very highly recommended, particularly for regular travellers like me."
Review 2 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Need another Computer Bag,
June 27, 2014
By: gunknifefan
from Northeast Florida
"I was looking for a Backpack for my computer and the Orvis Businessman's Backpack was what I needed. Regular computer briefcases get heavy when traveling. I have a laptop that is just over 16" long and it fit on the provided storage slot. There was lots of space for my chargers and other accessories. Another great produce from Orvis."
Review 3 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect as a carry-on,
June 21, 2014
By: Barb67
from Clarksburg, Pa
"I bought this for my husband to take on an international flight. It was perfect to fit a change of clothes, electronics, his medicine, toiletries, paperwork, magazines, snacks, etc. Lots of zippered compartments to keep everything organized."
Review 4 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Convenience with Style,
June 19, 2014
By: CrackerMan
from Alabama
"My wife and I have a trip planed in the near future. She thought we needed a backpack rather than lugging a briefcase with us. I was skeptical that this backpack would meet our needs. How wrong I was. This backpack has multiple pockets in very strategic locations that can hold far more that would appear at first glance. It is stylish and functional. I will be using it not only for travel but for my business needs for years to come."
Review 5 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Efficient and Durable Back Pack,
June 19, 2014
By: Tigerstatic
from SC
"Used it earlier this week on an overnight stay. Satisfied all my needs. Will also use it as s supplemental piece when using a larger matching piece on a longer trip."
Review 6 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly as advertised!,
June 3, 2014
By: ScottyB
from Lake Mary, FL
"This pack is exactly what is advertised. Plenty of storage, quality material and stylish. I am writing this this review from the airport and my Orvis pack is riding shotgun with me. I would recommend this product without hesitation!
Scott-Lake Mary, FL"
Review 7 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pack for almost everything,
June 2, 2014
By: MattM03
from Boston, MA
"I've been using this pack for weekend trips,work and grad school for about 8 years now. It goes everywhere with and has been through the ringer, It's extremely durable and hasn't shown much sings of a gaining other than the color fading a bit. After a few years it's developed a nice weathered looked. It fits a surprising amount of things and there is a spot for everything. It's a classic rugged pack that's just at home on Cape Cod as it is in an office. Great product."
Review 8 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent backpack,
May 2, 2014
By: Steelheading2
from Michigan
"I do a lot of traveling for work and fishing. The backpack makes carrying computers, cameras, etc., easy and more comfortable when trying to get from one wing of the airport to another."
Review 9 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis back pack,
April 24, 2014
By: JackWA
"Nice looking and lots of room. I use it for a briefcase and when I travel there is room for a change of clothes too.
Lots of compliments!
"
Review 10 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The ALL occasion bag!,
April 23, 2014
By: Ls321m
from Portland, OR
"This is a great bag for men AND women (ladies it holds everything!) and is true to the item description on the website. I use it for frequent business trips as well as weekend getaways. I also travel with my friends and our horses. Our luggage often gets tossed into the back of a pickup truck so it needs to be rugged. Space is usually limited due to the amount of equipment needed for the horses, so personal items need to be packed carefully and cover a small footprint. This bag does it all and looks good doing it! Oh, and it's great to take to work when you want a change of clothes for after work fun!"
Review 11 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stylish, roomy and practical,
April 22, 2014
By: Brownbread
from West Sussex
"A perfect mix: luxurious leather, plush interior, room for iPad, laptop, documents and even my lunch! A big
thumbs up from me!
"
Review 12 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what I was looking for,
April 11, 2014
By: 1MMiler
"I travel internationally a lot for business. I'm very picky about my luggage and want something that is easy to handle, durable, versatile and high quality. (I already own two Battenkill duffles.) I needed a very sturdy (but light weight) back pack that will securely contain and segregate a variety of valuables (laptop, camera, passport, cellphone, toiletries). This fit the bill. It's comfortable on my shoulders and easy to carry. Also functions pretty well as a briefcase at my desk.
It's not a problem at airport security, is easy to stow in overhead space and does not seem to be as vulnerable to pickpockets as other, lesser-quality backpacks. Plus, it looks good. I am very satisfied with my purchase.
"
Review 13 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Multi-purpose backpack,
April 10, 2014
By: CountryGent
from Chicago
"I purchased this backpack to use for my carry on bag for flights. It works well as the outside pockets are great for magazines, boarding passes, and keys. The side phone holder pocket is nice for phone and cables. I also use it on family outings for hikes and bike rides. Appears of high quality and worth the expensive price tag."
Review 14 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
What a disappointment,
April 7, 2014
By: Paul67
"I seldom write with an issue, particularly with Orvis, but this Backpack will be returned in the next several days. I thought you would like an explanation. As background, I have the previous version which has been carried over many years and many miles. It has served me well and I have received many great comments. Last week I called a support person at Orvis to inquire about the current version. The call was somewhat helpful, the representative had limited information and with only two pictures available several questions concerning inside pockets etc could not be answered. So on faith, I ordered the backpack.
What a major disappointment! You have cheapened the product, not in materials but in what it has to offer. How can a business bag not have any pen loops? And that is a start. The front pocket is great for putting an IPad in it, but no organization pockets? It is a large void and cavern. The side zipper pocket is of no use - I have a relatively small hand and it does not fit. The other side pocket without a buckle - did anyone try to latch the strap and close it. The bag, on the opposite side, had a spot for a water bottle, but you eliminated the second pocket. You eliminated the back pocket which was great for magazines. And inside, nice try putting the calling card holder inside - I would need to open the large pocket to get at a business card - dumb. The computer slot only allows a notebook computer to be put on the vertical. I have a 13 inch MAC and it sits four inches above the sleeve. If indeed you are carrying a laptop, where does the charger go - without a buckle on the side, no secure place.
Looking at the backpack, my sense was you did everything to make it simple to manufacture and Cheap. Not at sure at all what your designers were thinking at all!! The reviews on the web are not indicative of the product, they must not have had the earlier version."
Review 15 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lots of space,
March 31, 2014
By: Daddin
from Saint Paul, MN
"I recently purchased the backpack after using a messanger style bag for work for years. I love all the seperate compartments and options to keep work materials organized. My 13inch laptop fits perfectly in padded poccket. The materials are high quality, what I have come to expect from Orvis. Looking forward to traveling for the first time with the.new pack in April."
Review 16 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Businessman exact pack,
March 29, 2014
By: Redtinibob
from Williamstown NJ
"This exactly what I was looking for and it's has lots of space to work with. I would like to add one idea the back of the pack has the slip to add to the wheeled bag put a zipper on the bottom and this could be used as a extra pocket in daily use."
Review 17 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Dog,
March 25, 2014
By: Tallpines95
from Southern United States
"Great for traveling, well constructed and definitely would recommend for the traveler who enjoys the outdoors or hunting. Stores very well in overhead bins and underneath the seat in front of you."
Review 18 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Favorite "Man Bag"!,
February 19, 2014
By: BTraveler
from Florida
"Yes, that's right...I will call this my "Man Bag". Whether I am going hunting, a road trip, or flying for business, I don't leave home, mostly, without it. My work requires me to travel quite a bit. My company has provided me a few "free" backpacks but this is the one that I use...always. It acts a foot locker under the seat on planes. I have used spray water repellent on it after a few years. Just because I carry my laptop constantly with me of use and cannot allow it to be compromised but it has been very durable and it looks great after a little use. I have owned this back for at least 4 years. The compartments allow me to always know exactly where everything is. The pockets fit everything I need. This backpack with the Battenkill Expandable Rollercase, I can travel for a week or so with ease. I always get compliments on it as well. I will purchase another when this one finally wears out but I still have another couple years until then."
Review 19 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
businessman's book bag,
February 13, 2014
By: Pirate81
"exactly what I wanted. much better than pulling a carry on behind you."
Review 20 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent for travel,
February 3, 2014
By: petrum
from Maryland
"Very elegant and easy to carry- You can bag a lot of stuff in a very simple way - I have a friend who bought one and he gave me the idea of buying one also for me-"