Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™

Carry everything you need for a three-day trip—all in our rolling carry-on luggage. New features include signature plaid lining, main compartment with locking zipper design with double-knotted leather pulls. Includes a 10"x 8" clear PVC zippered TSA compliant bag for carrying on 3.5 oz. or less liquids. Smaller zippered compartment on front has leather trimmed neoprene slash pocket for laptop/iPad. Smooth-rolling ball-bearing wheels. Single-hand retractable handle. Three exterior pockets. Detachable cargo hook and leather luggage tag included. Rolling carry-on luggage in green/brown. 22"H x 14"W x 9"D; 2,772 cu. in. Pure cotton canvas and genuine leather. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.405 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
2
35 of 42(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Review 1 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Carry-on,
March 21, 2014
By: JedZeke
from Chestertown, MD
"I got my wife one of these carry-ons several years ago. She raved about it so much I broke down and got one for myself. What a pleasure to use, and it carries a surprising amount of clothes.
The pull-out handle and wheels make it very easy to get around the airports and to transport in general
"
Review 2 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
bag is too small,
March 13, 2014
By: familytraveler
from Long Island, NY
"i already own the entire battenkill set. I decided to get another carry on. Everyone seems to use carry on bags instead of checking luggage when going on a short trip. I was very disappointed to discover that the updated version is about 1-2inches smaller all around. This adds up to a big difference. My new luggage can fit inside the old one. This is too bad because if this is the only bag I use for the weekend, I will not be taking much with me. We will be fighting over the old bag, which I never had trouble as a carry on before. It always fits in the overhead bin. If I realized the difference, I would not have bought it. I may still return it."
Review 3 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great bag,
February 25, 2014
By: Tbwilcox
from San Francisco, CA
""Once" it got here (4days past
Promised delivery date)
Bag itself is extremely well made
And handsome! I have the larger
One (same style & color) 7 yrs old
Which still looks great!
"
Review 4 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Product!,
February 20, 2014
By: OleMissFan
from University, MS
"We just started our second son on this Battenkill luggage collection. Our older son has been using his for several years. This size is perfect for weekend travel."
Review 5 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Caution,
January 20, 2014
By: onthestream
from Dallas,TX
"Bought this piece as a gift for my son who travels a bit for work. On the first trip(flight), the back of the case separated from the extended handle and frame. Not sure exactly how this happened but hoping for an exchange."
Review 6 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well built,
January 13, 2014
By: Atchimo
from Portland, OR
"I've had this bag about 5 years and have never regretted getting it, although with the price I thought about it for a long time before I bought it. Compared to other brands of bags the lining has a softer yet more durable feel, outside doesn't seem to pick up dirt, and the wheels still turn like new. Easy to handle. Fits overhead compartments with end (as opposed to side) facing the aisle. Overall, a well built high quality product. Needs repair after airline somehow tore aluminum in the side handle."
Review 7 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful bag,
December 17, 2013
By: dejapa682
from Staten Island, NY
"I have yet to find an Orvis/Gokey product that was not exceptional. I have Gokey Sauvage Oxfords and Hikers purchased in the '70s that have been repaired (soles and heels) several times and each time they are returned, they are in an almost brand-new condition. This Battenkill Carry-on is of the same high quality. The items may seem pricey, but you get what you pay for."
Review 8 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
November 18, 2013
By: chbieder
"I have owned this case for 19 years and although fading, all the zippers, wheels, and handle still work without problems. i couldn't be happier.
We prchased Orvis's largerst suitcase as well, unfortunately it's zipper broke on the first use. Orvis replaced it very promptly and it has been fine for the last 8 years of regular use by our daughter who overstuffs it every time."
Review 9 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good little bag!,
September 11, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Breckenridge
"I got this bag within 24 hours at a cost but that cost was cheaper than driving to Orvis shop in Denver and back. Good job shipping!
I have used it twice and will use it two more times in the next month. It is sturdy and attactive as the rest of our Orvis bags are. I have been particulary happy about how much stuff I am able to cram into it thanks to the many extra pockets. I am really happy with the bag!
"
Review 10 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Contender not a pretender!,
August 30, 2013
By: fsuRoss
from orlando, fl
"Best carryon out there. I've had 2 roller duffles bite the dust since I bought this one. I travel all over the south and no zipper, wheel issues at all. I liked it so much I bought its larger cousin too!"
Review 11 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carry on,
August 19, 2013
By: 04javaxt
from Boca Raton, Fl
"Great efficient bag I liked it so much I bought one also for my wife"
Review 12 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Quality Service Great Bag,
July 30, 2013
By: AUFanWDE
from Florida
"I had the older version of this bag that I traveled with for over 5 years. I am on the road every week to cities all over the U.S., Canada, and Europe with my job. I have logged over 4 million miles on Delta to give you an idea of what I put my bags through. My first Orvis Carry On finally needed repair (Zipper). Orvis called and said they would not repair it as they don't carry the parts for it anymore but they would ship me the new bag for free! Incredible!! I am pleased even though the new bag is two inches shorter due to airline regulations. I actually like the smaller one better as it fits into the overhead much easier. 2" made no difference to me. I highly recommend Orvis and their travel bags!!"
Review 13 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Won't fit in Airbus overheads,
May 26, 2013
By: MajorDuc
from Butte, T
"I've had this bag for years and feel it is the best carry on luggage I have ever used. As Delta has brought on Airbus planes into their fleet, 22" high is too long to fit in their overheads. As I can't plan my trips to avoid the possibility of being on one of those planes, sadly I have to retire my luggage :( 21" is the maximum length on these planes."
Review 14 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Carry on!,
April 12, 2013
By: Eliz0930
"Best Carry on bag around! I bought this for myself, and have since purchased it has a gift, twice! Its the perfect size for a weekend get-away and for carrying on a flight. Light and easy to travel with, and it really holds up after many trips- great quality!"
Review 15 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
March 6, 2013
By: Sonshine
from Phoenix, MD
"This is the perfect over night carry on bag. It is light and very roomy.I have all the other pieces as well"
Review 16 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift for my son,
December 30, 2012
By: Sandy2
from Huntsville, Al
"My son put Orvis on his Christmas wish list. I thought the price was a bit steep until I saw the quality of the bag. I had his name engraved on it and it looked very masculine. He loved it. I hope to add a larger piece later. This size makes a great carry on and has an attached interior bag for small toiletries."
Review 17 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Bag,
December 29, 2012
By: Ackmimi
"I bought this bag for my husband for Christmas and he bought it for me! We love it -- easy to use, and holds just the right amount for a few days away, The only think I would change is the attached zip compartments -- I would un-attach them so the bag would close easier. All in all, we love these bags!"
Review 18 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid and well made,
December 29, 2012
By: TopOrville
"Bought it after my eldest son adopted my prior rolling luggage. Have had a great experience with the previous Bettenkill soft luggage and figured this would be in the same league. And it is. Lots of storage, the extension handle is longer and sturdier than my other rolling case and I'm predicting it will handle the stress of travel quite well. Looks great too."
Review 19 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Carry-On,
December 29, 2012
By: jabs
from TX
"I have just returned from my first trip with this carry-on. It is light, strong and very functional. I was able to pack enough clothing for a three day vacation trip. I also enjoyed the sturdy clear plastic bag to carry liquids, no more worries about baggies tearing. Excellent product."
Review 20 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great suitcase,
December 29, 2012
By: Beeties
from Houston, Texaas
"Classic carry on rolling bag that is sturdy and good looking."