Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Andros Flats Hiker

A flats fishing boot designed to be worn barefoot with all day wading comfort. The boot features an integrated, fully adjustable neoprene gravel cuff that allows the user to create a tight, but comfortable seal at the top of the boot to keep debris from irritating the foot. Cuff also serves to keep the excess laces under control. Screened drain holes allow water to easily flow from the boot while keeping sand and gravel out. The flats fishing boot is fully-lined for all day comfort while hiking the flats. Non-marking sole is safe for boat decks. Order your shoe size. Weighs 2 lbs. in a size 9. In tan multi. Polyurethane/nylon. Rinse with fresh water after use. Men's whole sizes: 7-14.
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 14(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Andros Flats Hiker
Review 1 for Andros Flats Hiker
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So light!,
April 15, 2014
By: ThiagoFSBrasil
from Brazil.
"The boots are so light and confortable I can wear all day.
Finally a light flats boots!
Congrats Orvis."
Review 2 for Andros Flats Hiker
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
orvis got it right,
April 9, 2014
By: richie0210
from lafayette, new jersey
"Hands down one of the best flats bootie I've worn. For starters no zippers to worry about jamming up with sand. The soles are flexible yet firm enough to crush annoying crabs. The extended uppers offer added protection against sting rays. I just don't know yet how long they will hold up to the erosive effects of salt water."
Review 3 for Andros Flats Hiker
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great flats boot,
January 20, 2014
By: Mtdryfly
from Montana
"This is a really well made pair of boots. Fit is excellent and the stitching is flawless. I bought these boots for a bonefish trip, but I like the fit so well they will be my summer wading boots as well."
Review 4 for Andros Flats Hiker
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flats boots,
January 17, 2014
By: PANDV
from SOUTHERN OREGON
"Quite comfortable, well made, and tall enough to keep sand out of the boot. I think they are a good choice and will know much more after a trip to the Yucatan next month.
The slip on or zip up boots are more likely to promote bleeding underthe toenails."
Review 5 for Andros Flats Hiker
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Wet Wading Shoe I've Ever Worn,
November 7, 2013
By: Kootfish
from Libby, Montana
"I've worn these shoes for two years from Mexico waters to Wyoming rivers to my Montana rivers and streams. I have not worn a better, more comfortable boot or wading shoe than these Andros Flats Hikers. They do not show any wear or have any broken seams, even though I leave them in my drift boat for months at a time exposed to sun, rain, and a couple freezes. The great fit hasn't changed."
Review 6 for Andros Flats Hiker
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gut Feeling Pays Off,
September 16, 2013
By: ACasualObserver
from Jupiter, FL
"The Orvis Andros Flats Hiker flats fishing boots are outstanding! They are light weight, easy to get on and off, comfortable, and keep the sand out. I had placed an order for a pair of Simms Flats Sneakers and really had my heart set on them when I came into a new Orvis dealer in Stuart, FL with my son on a whim. I was a little hesitant to order the Orvis boots, but something inside told me to do it. That gut feeling has already paid off, and I’m confident these boots will be a permanent part of my fishing gear for years to come! I could give a dozen reasons for my satisfaction. Instead, I will just suggest that you never hesitate to recommend these boots to your customers. They will be as pleased as I am."
Review 7 for Andros Flats Hiker
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great summer wading boot,
August 16, 2013
By: huntmt
from NW Montana
"Living here in Montana this boot has been ideal for wading and hiking our smaller trout streams. I also use the boot for white water rafting and have found that the boots provide good foot and ankle protection. Order true boot size and consider using a water sock."
Review 8 for Andros Flats Hiker
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Muddy Bottom,
May 24, 2013
By: NoHackle
from San Marcos, TX
"The fit was great for my wide foot but for the type of fishing I normally do the boots were disappointing. I normally fish muddy bottom warm rivers in central Texas. The integrated gravel guards did not keep the fine decayed partials in the mud out of the boots. I’ll just save them for a trip to the coast to see how they work out in the surf."
Review 9 for Andros Flats Hiker
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Andros hiker boots,
April 23, 2013
By: michaelht1
from Northwest Montana
"boots appear to be well made, the fit was perfect, the materials appear to be of high quality, sadly I have not had them in the waders yet and see how they do in the streams here (the day after they arrived I had a partial rupture of the Achilles tendon so it will be a bit before I hit the streams)"
Review 10 for Andros Flats Hiker
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like wearing your slippers,
February 28, 2013
By: Stimulator
from Hawaii
"Aloha. I just rerurned from a week on Christmas Island. From the first step I knew that you have a quality product. On Christmas you have to walk or stand all day, so quality boots are very important. I'm 75 so confortable shoes & feet are important. I gave my shoes to one of the quides, so now I have to buy another to go to Abaco in April."
Review 11 for Andros Flats Hiker
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent wading boot,
February 17, 2013
By: Geoffkap
"I just purchased these boots for a trip fishing in the flats in the Abacos. THe fit and construction of the boots were excellent providing me with many hours of comfort. The one negative in my case was that no matter how i tried to adjust the gravel guard it proved to be absolutely worthless.I had continued intrusion of sand small shells through the tops of the boots. In the future i will use a neoprene gaiters from an old pair of waders to solve this problem."
Review 12 for Andros Flats Hiker
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Return Trip,
December 29, 2012
By: TNBud
from Smokey Mountains, TN
"Got these after walking the flats for a week in sandals. These are great quality and amazing fit. They did an amazing job on my return trip. Held up to days of walking coral ridges and mangrove stumps. Another great product by Orvis."
Review 13 for Andros Flats Hiker
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Super Boots",
November 5, 2012
By: Scotch1
from Midwest
"Don't call me "Nature Boy," but I love fishing streams in my bare feet or tennies and my cut-offs. These boots are now the BOSS for that sport. I haven't yet been to the Gulf to try them out on the flats, but in a gravel-bed stream, they're just the tops -- not only comfortable on my bare feet, but the sole puts a refreshing spring in my step that makes me feel like I've got bionic feet or put on a pair of Dr. Love's Power Walkers. Also love the neutral gray / tan color that doesn't announce to my quarry: "Here I come, trout, ready or not!""
Review 14 for Andros Flats Hiker
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great lightweight flats boots!,
August 30, 2012
By: BigFlyReel
from Apollo Beach, FL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"On some days and in some places, my kayak is a fishing platform that I don’t leave from launch to landing. On these days, almost any footwear will do to keep the sun and parking lot pebbles off my feet. On other days, the kayak is transportation. It gets me to where I hop off and wade the flats of Florida’s West Coast for hours on end, pulling the boat behind me like a big floating tacklebox. On these days, my feet need more.
I've have spent thousands of hours (really!) on my feet in Orvis waders and wading boots in the Northeast US, and have always been pleased with the quality, comfort and fit. When I lifted Orvis’ new “Andros Flats Hikers” out of the box, my surprised reaction was like unexpectedly lifting a half-empty carton of milk. At a little over 2 lbs. for my big feet, these boots are light! The polyurethane/nylon construction feels durable and well put together, and the non-marking soles won’t scuff up your deck. These are a fully-lined high-top boot, and the extended upper gives great ankle support for walking on uneven bottoms and bars. In addition, I like to think that the higher top gives me a little more protection from the myriad stingrays that cruise the flats (although Orvis makes no such claim).
Any footwear gets uncomfortable once something gets inside and starts abrading your skin. To combat this, the Andros Flats Hikers feature an integrated, fully-adjustable neoprene gravel cuff that does a great job for me in keeping out sand and shells. The soles strike just the right balance with a tread that provides a good grip on the shells, muck, or sand, but doesn’t clog up as you move in and out of softer bottoms. A large finger loop on the back of the cuff does double duty, making pulling the boots on a breeze and retaining the back of the gravel cuff.
Most of my wading boots have drain holes, but I have almost always felt some water between the sole of my foot and the insole of the boot. This is noticeable to me even when I am wearing waders. Not so with the Flats Hikers: these boots have a great drain system that lets the water move out of the boot when you step, and it literally pours out when your foot leaves the water.
There is only one very minor thing I’d change about the boots, but I can’t figure out how: The gravel guard is secured using hook-and-loop fasteners. The hook side is attached to the boot, and the sections that are exposed tend to pick up a little bit of grass if you’re wading in that type of flat. I’ve had no other issues or suggestions.
After wearing them on four or five extended days with long periods of wading, I’m very happy with the weight, comfort and support of the Andros Flats Hikers. They provide great protection for all the sharp points and bumps to be found on the bottom, and are not at all clunky or stiff for the time I spend paddling the kayak.
For me, customer service sells me on a company as much as a great product does. I can’t paraphrase Orvis’ “100% Satisfaction Guarantee” better than they do, so I will quote it here: “For more than 150 years, we have offered the strongest return policy in the business. We will refund your money on any purchase that isn’t 100% satisfactory. Anytime, for any reason. It’s that simple.” In my experience, that’s what they do. Enough said.
If you want to wear these barefoot, order your shoe size. Orvis does sell a thin neoprene sock that can be worn with the boots, but you’ll want to order a size larger."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.