Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Andros Flats Hiker

A flats fishing boot designed to be worn barefoot with all day wading comfort. The boot features an integrated, fully adjustable neoprene gravel cuff that allows the user to create a tight, but comfortable seal at the top of the boot to keep debris from irritating the foot. Cuff also serves to keep the excess laces under control. Screened drain holes allow water to easily flow from the boot while keeping sand and gravel out. The flats fishing boot is fully-lined for all day comfort while hiking the flats. Non-marking sole is safe for boat decks. Order your shoe size. Weighs 2 lbs. in a size 9. In tan multi. Polyurethane/nylon. Rinse with fresh water after use. Men's whole sizes: 7-14.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
18 of 21(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Andros Flats Hiker
Review 1 for Andros Flats Hiker
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Womens sizes,
November 23, 2014
By: BlueDog1961
from Massachusetts
"You guys are a drag. Say you support women's fly fishing but don't offer a full line of gear. Men's size 7 won't fit most all women."
Review 2 for Andros Flats Hiker
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
not what I was hoping for,
October 23, 2014
By: Bonefisher2
from Cape Cod
"I wore this boot for a couple of hours fly fishing for stripers and ended up with blisters on both feet. There is a seam where the tongue is stitched to the side of the boot with a little flap that rubs with each step. I don't think it makes a difference if you wear socks or not, I did. The cuff does not keep out sand and is too high for comfortable walking. It is well made but needs modification to be considered a good flats boot. I may be able to use it with stocking foot waders."
Review 3 for Andros Flats Hiker
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best flats boot for ANKLE SUPPORT!,
October 15, 2014
By: LochFisher
from Ontario, Canada
"I've worn these flats hiker boots on several trips Redfishing the Texas Gulf Coast, and they are SECOND to NONE!! Incredible ANKLE SUPPORT which is so important for wading soft-bottom flats, and the thicker rubber sole gives peace-of-mind against sharp objects (coral, etc.) poking through when wading. The fact there are no steel parts too, is great, so there's no chance of rusting in the saltwater. They fit perfectly when I ordered my shoe-size, so no need to up-size by one. And I wear the Orvis fold-over neoprene socks in them for perfect comfort wading saltwater flats for a day at a time. They dry quickly overnight too, if you store them upside down, or on an angle. Even though I also have the Orvis Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots, I've retired them in favor of the Andros Hikers! Keep up the great work on great products, ORVIS!!!"
Review 4 for Andros Flats Hiker
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great comforatable Boot,
August 18, 2014
By: Hardcor
from Canada
"Wore these on the river to break in. Fished all day hiking through some tough terrain. The boots were incredible, comfy and fast drying."
Review 5 for Andros Flats Hiker
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy On/Easy Off,
July 16, 2014
By: Aggie70
from Laguna Madre, Texas
"Used twice (since purchase) in shallow water sand flats for 4 hour wade trips! Lightweight but great foot support. Quick draining. Best feature is quick lace up which allows easy donning and doffing. Time will tell how these hold up in salt water environment."
Review 6 for Andros Flats Hiker
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My feet are in Heaven!!!!,
July 15, 2014
By: Anonymous
from Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
"I'm very happy to say that the Andros flats Hiker is by far the best purchase of foot wear I could have possibly made !!! I have waded the flats every day for the last 6 days and can honestly say they're the best!!! The construction of this wading boot is superior to anything I have worn in my 20+ years of guiding in some of the most unpleasant terrain you can experience.They are the BEST!!
They are well made, good looking, abrasion resistant and extremely comfortable, with plenty of support . I have recommended them to all my clients and fellow guides.
"
Review 7 for Andros Flats Hiker
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Money well spent!,
May 16, 2014
By: TK421
"I am strictly a fly fisherman. I fish mostly bass and pan fish. If you've ever been to rivers in the Midwest, you know you're gonna have to get wet to get the angle on fish. These are worth their weight in gold as far as comfort and keeping gravel and trash off your feet. Worth every penny!"
Review 8 for Andros Flats Hiker
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So light!,
April 15, 2014
By: ThiagoFSBrasil
from Brazil.
"The boots are so light and confortable I can wear all day.
Finally a light flats boots!
Congrats Orvis."
Review 9 for Andros Flats Hiker
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
orvis got it right,
April 9, 2014
By: richie0210
from lafayette, new jersey
"Hands down one of the best flats bootie I've worn. For starters no zippers to worry about jamming up with sand. The soles are flexible yet firm enough to crush annoying crabs. The extended uppers offer added protection against sting rays. I just don't know yet how long they will hold up to the erosive effects of salt water."
Review 10 for Andros Flats Hiker
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great flats boot,
January 20, 2014
By: Mtdryfly
from Montana
"This is a really well made pair of boots. Fit is excellent and the stitching is flawless. I bought these boots for a bonefish trip, but I like the fit so well they will be my summer wading boots as well."
Review 11 for Andros Flats Hiker
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flats boots,
January 17, 2014
By: PANDV
from SOUTHERN OREGON
"Quite comfortable, well made, and tall enough to keep sand out of the boot. I think they are a good choice and will know much more after a trip to the Yucatan next month.
The slip on or zip up boots are more likely to promote bleeding underthe toenails."
Review 12 for Andros Flats Hiker
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Wet Wading Shoe I've Ever Worn,
November 7, 2013
By: Kootfish
from Libby, Montana
"I've worn these shoes for two years from Mexico waters to Wyoming rivers to my Montana rivers and streams. I have not worn a better, more comfortable boot or wading shoe than these Andros Flats Hikers. They do not show any wear or have any broken seams, even though I leave them in my drift boat for months at a time exposed to sun, rain, and a couple freezes. The great fit hasn't changed."
Review 13 for Andros Flats Hiker
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gut Feeling Pays Off,
September 16, 2013
By: ACasualObserver
from Jupiter, FL
"The Orvis Andros Flats Hiker flats fishing boots are outstanding! They are light weight, easy to get on and off, comfortable, and keep the sand out. I had placed an order for a pair of Simms Flats Sneakers and really had my heart set on them when I came into a new Orvis dealer in Stuart, FL with my son on a whim. I was a little hesitant to order the Orvis boots, but something inside told me to do it. That gut feeling has already paid off, and I’m confident these boots will be a permanent part of my fishing gear for years to come! I could give a dozen reasons for my satisfaction. Instead, I will just suggest that you never hesitate to recommend these boots to your customers. They will be as pleased as I am."
Review 14 for Andros Flats Hiker
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great summer wading boot,
August 16, 2013
By: huntmt
from NW Montana
"Living here in Montana this boot has been ideal for wading and hiking our smaller trout streams. I also use the boot for white water rafting and have found that the boots provide good foot and ankle protection. Order true boot size and consider using a water sock."
Review 15 for Andros Flats Hiker
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Muddy Bottom,
May 24, 2013
By: NoHackle
from San Marcos, TX
"The fit was great for my wide foot but for the type of fishing I normally do the boots were disappointing. I normally fish muddy bottom warm rivers in central Texas. The integrated gravel guards did not keep the fine decayed partials in the mud out of the boots. I’ll just save them for a trip to the coast to see how they work out in the surf."
Review 16 for Andros Flats Hiker
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Andros hiker boots,
April 23, 2013
By: michaelht1
from Northwest Montana
"boots appear to be well made, the fit was perfect, the materials appear to be of high quality, sadly I have not had them in the waders yet and see how they do in the streams here (the day after they arrived I had a partial rupture of the Achilles tendon so it will be a bit before I hit the streams)"
Review 17 for Andros Flats Hiker
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like wearing your slippers,
February 28, 2013
By: Stimulator
from Hawaii
"Aloha. I just rerurned from a week on Christmas Island. From the first step I knew that you have a quality product. On Christmas you have to walk or stand all day, so quality boots are very important. I'm 75 so confortable shoes & feet are important. I gave my shoes to one of the quides, so now I have to buy another to go to Abaco in April."
Review 18 for Andros Flats Hiker
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent wading boot,
February 17, 2013
By: Geoffkap
"I just purchased these boots for a trip fishing in the flats in the Abacos. THe fit and construction of the boots were excellent providing me with many hours of comfort. The one negative in my case was that no matter how i tried to adjust the gravel guard it proved to be absolutely worthless.I had continued intrusion of sand small shells through the tops of the boots. In the future i will use a neoprene gaiters from an old pair of waders to solve this problem."
Review 19 for Andros Flats Hiker
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Return Trip,
December 29, 2012
By: TNBud
from Smokey Mountains, TN
"Got these after walking the flats for a week in sandals. These are great quality and amazing fit. They did an amazing job on my return trip. Held up to days of walking coral ridges and mangrove stumps. Another great product by Orvis."
Review 20 for Andros Flats Hiker
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Super Boots",
November 5, 2012
By: Scotch1
from Midwest
"Don't call me "Nature Boy," but I love fishing streams in my bare feet or tennies and my cut-offs. These boots are now the BOSS for that sport. I haven't yet been to the Gulf to try them out on the flats, but in a gravel-bed stream, they're just the tops -- not only comfortable on my bare feet, but the sole puts a refreshing spring in my step that makes me feel like I've got bionic feet or put on a pair of Dr. Love's Power Walkers. Also love the neutral gray / tan color that doesn't announce to my quarry: "Here I come, trout, ready or not!""