Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Teva Wet Wading Shoe

These wet wading shoes are tested on expeditions across the globe by members of the Teva Kayak team. Outsole is made of Teva Spider rubber that successfully blends high friction and good durability. Nonmarking, it performs exceptionally well on wet and dry terrain. Wet wading shoes feature two rugged nylon straps cinch down for a secure fit. Drainage ports allow water to escape. 3mm neoprene upper with internal EVA midsole for cushioning. Imported.Whole men's sizes: 7-14.
Average Customer Rating:
3.571 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
1
14 of 21(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Teva Wet Wading Shoe
Review 1 for Teva Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great wet wading shoe,
July 19, 2012
By: boo4499
from Oswego, NY
"These boots were just what I was looking for. On slippery rocks I will wear some treks. They fit well and feel good."
Review 2 for Teva Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not Very Good,
May 12, 2012
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"The idea behind this wet wading shoe is good: quick adjust straps, comfortable, and the top acts like a gravel guard, hugging your ankle. For walking around in gravel, sand, and any other form on flat-bottom river material they grip enough, but trying to stand on anything slick is a challenge in these. That's not my main complaint, however, because I recognize that a rubber bottom without cleats don't work too well on said surfaces. These shoes are extremely difficult to get on. You will need to get them wet but even then it's a bit of a struggle getting them on. The other complaint is the strap system. It becomes loose easily and there is so little tag end given that it is a pain to tighten the straps down. Stick with making other footwear, Teva. Wet wading footwear doesn't seem to be your thing."
Review 3 for Teva Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Light and supportive,
April 12, 2012
By: colemanjan
"Nice light boot for long duration use. Its a bit on the narrow side on the fit, but comfortable."
Review 4 for Teva Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does the job,
April 3, 2012
By: Davidopus
"As the description says, this wet wading shoe is perfect for wet wading. Easy to put on and off. Good grip and comfortable."
Review 5 for Teva Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Flats wading,
March 5, 2012
By: mrbwheat
from Andros, Bahamas
"I bought these waders for walking the flats of Andros for bone fish. They are very comfortable but a bit of a pain to put on. The straps are hard to tighten(and loosen), but once on ,they are great. I wore them the first day out of the box for eight hours and never had any discomfort. The sole is good on and off the boat and the insole has just enough support.
Overall I am pleased with them. Teva just needs to work on the straps.
"
Review 6 for Teva Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
good boots bad straps,
February 24, 2012
By: Greyghost1
from Madison, WI
"The boot is not bad as far as comfort is concerned, but I was not a fan of the strap system on the boot. It is amazing to me how there are no good wading boots out there."
Review 7 for Teva Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pleased so far.,
February 6, 2012
By: Quitty
from Lebanon, Pa
"The discription of these shoes seemed to be just what I was looking for but after reading the mixed reviews I was skeptical. I spoke to a salesman at the Downingtown Pa. store and he recommended them and also suggested buying them in my actual size 11. Well I am extremely pleased with the fit and comfort. I wear them with a thin sock and they fit perfect. The straps are a bit awkward to adjust at first but they are getting easier with practice. All things considered, great look, great fit great shoe."
Review 8 for Teva Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Wading Shoe!,
December 29, 2011
By: CascadeAngler11
from New Zealand
"I used these shoes while on a backpacking/fishing trip in New Zealand and they were comfortable, light weight, and durable.
I hiked all day w/ a pack and didn't get blisters, no complaints."
Review 9 for Teva Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good... but with reservations,
December 20, 2011
By: IndyRower
from Indiana
"These shoes do need to be purchased in a size larger in order for them to be easier to put on. The cross straps are awkward to adjust but do work. There are no pull loops on the back of the shoe so you do have to tug on the back of the shoes to get them on. The biggest problem I have with them is that my feet begin to smell like old wet dogs about 1/2 hour after I get them wet, so I can use these shoes for my own personal fishing, but not when I am guiding. When I get my feet wet at the put-in and then row the drift boat for long periods of time, my feet "stew" inside the shoes and get pretty gamey! So.... they work as advertised and are of good quality. IMHO no company has yet really nailed the perfect wet wading shoe but this one is pretty good."
Review 10 for Teva Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disapointed. Could be so much better,
December 14, 2011
By: JAVR
from Peru
"I was disapointed when I received the Teva boots.
First, someone who want the boots should take in consideration is that you'll need 1 or 2 whole sizes more if you want your feet to fit with the stockingfoot wader on.
Since I leave in Peru, and 'it's more expensive to return the product than to buy a new one, I decided to remove the inner sole to make more room for my feet and consider keeping the boots., I found out that the sewing from the thread tying the outer sole, was not finished or tied, and was only fastened by a piece of masking tape. As you must question: yourselves: Masking tape in a wading boot? right. That's not going to last.
Finally, the straps are not clip-on. They are fixed, and you cant pull the strap from the hook, so it's a very unconfortable moneuver to put your boots on.
So I would not recommend this boots to a friend, until the manufacturer that made this boots catches up with Orvis' usual quality standard, uses clip-on straps, and has the boot sizing chart adjusted in order for a size 10 person to fit with a stocking foot wader on, on a size 10 boot.
I'm not satisfied. $90 + S&H for neoprene wading boots that are suppuosed tho have Orvis' quality."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Teva Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can you say comfortable?,
September 13, 2011
By: Breamfly50
from Central-Mississippi
"I ordered this as an all round water shoe to use for hiking in and for wearing on the raft on a Colorado trip at the end of September. I bought my regular size from the Orvis Store in Pigeon Forge, TN and they were tight. Went up a size and they fit great and are really comfortable. I would recommend these shoes as an all round water shoe but step up a size. They are a little difficult to get on and off but not anymore so than other shoes I have. Well made product at a real reasonable price."
Review 12 for Teva Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wet wading boots,
August 25, 2011
By: Jpink
"These boots were great first time wet wading. Good ankle protection and great traction. A little difficult getting them on and off but overall they're great! Definitely order one size larger!"
Review 13 for Teva Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Better to try it on before ordering it,
August 8, 2011
By: finshingforteaching
from CO
"Very comfortable but...
Like what others said, if your size is 8 you may want to buy 9 or 10, depending how to use them.
To me it looks they were designed for bare feet, not to work well with thick socks or wader.
As for the quality, it looks great from outside; but if you took the Insole out of a shoe, you would be surprised at what you found - a tape is used to organize the open threads (see picture).
Bottom line, you should see the product in stores and try them on by yourself before you place the order.
"
Review 14 for Teva Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works Down Under,
August 2, 2011
By: Colonel1
from Melbourne Australia
"I have used these on charter boats, river and bank fishing and my boat in both fresh water and salt water fishing. I found them really comfortable even after 12 hours. Also good in cold weather to keep the feet warm. The straps restrict the ease of taking the boots on and off but otherwise their great. Got a size 10 and maybe could have gone with a size 11 but they may have been to large."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Teva Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Looking wading shoe,
July 26, 2011
By: Anonymous
from Port Richey, FL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have been looking for some boots to wear on the flats and beaches of Tampa Bay area and purchased a pair of the Christmas Island wading boots. They work very well but I was looking for something a little lighter and more stylish so I tried a pair of the Teva wading shoe. They are very cool looking and give a great deal of protection. Earlier reviews said the straps were hard to use...and they are. I leave the top one loose and use the velcro flaps to secure the boot.
I got a size bigger but they were still tight.
"
Review 16 for Teva Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Beautiful But Questionable Functionality,
July 11, 2011
By: CodyCo
"Beautiful and well made but way too small and the adjustable straps don't adjust.
I've dropped felts and my regular wading boots are studded. I was looking for a second pair for when I'm in a drift boat and the guide won't allow cleats. These look the part, but as others have mentioned they are sized too small. I'd recommend at least one size larger, maybe two. Unfortunately the straps shown are virtually non-adjustable. As a result, they will fit fine over a pair of socks if you are wading wet, but there is no way you can open them wide enough to get them over the neoprene foot of a wader or hipper. Too bad.
I'd not recommend buying them from the catalog. Best to try them on in a shop and see if they will work for your specific application."
Review 17 for Teva Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
TEVA Wet Wading Shoe,
June 27, 2011
By: Kort
from PA
"Outer straps should be velcro also. They are
hard to figure out and adjust.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Teva Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So far, nice shoe,
June 21, 2011
By: bladen
"The reason I couldn't give these 5 stars is that I haven't used them yet. I originally bought a size 10 as I wear a size 10 shoe, however, when I received them and tried them on I found the toe box to be very narrow and overall, they were a tight fit. I returned them and went to a size 11, much better!
Also, I find the straps a little difficult to adjust. Once I've tried these in the water I'll update this posting."
Review 19 for Teva Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Needs Some Work,
June 19, 2011
By: Oldgraymidge
from Raleigh, NC
"I loved the idea. Most of my Smokey Mountain (and much of my Western fishing) is wet wading - as weather permits. These looked like the perfect answer. Sticky rubber bottoms and Teva technology. I love Tevas for beach and paddling shoes. They have a stiff protective and supportive sole. This would be great for this application if I could ever get the upper strap tight enough so that the sole followed the lead of my foot. However, every step resulted in my heel rising significantly off the footbed. Maybe if fiddled around with them long enough they could have worked. After considerable effort I returned them and went back to my previous fishing sandals that worked well right out of the box (but allow pebbles to get under feet)."
Review 20 for Teva Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Purchase,
June 16, 2011
By: flatsfisher
"Used recently on rocky , grass flats wading. These held up, no sand etc in shoes. Only draw back is the way to adjust the tightness of the wader, if too tight very hard to take off. I ordered a size larger than normal.
Good product
"