Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Vintage-Washed Canyon Leather Jacket

Goatskin leather is remarkably soft and is perfect for a supple and comfortable jacket. Distress the leather and soften it even more by washing, and you have an incredibly rich and comfortable leather jacket that shows a fine pebble-grain character from the beginning. This sophisticated waist-length jacket with full zip front has four external front pockets with security zips and metal pull tab. One internal welted pocket with button-down tab. Fully lined with acetate between a soft cotton yoke and bottom. Two-position snap cuffs. Tonal contrast collar. In brown. Goat leather shell. 100% acetate lining. 97% cotton/3% elastane kicker and lining trim. Professionally clean. Made in USA. Regular even sizes 44,50.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 12(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vintage-Washed Canyon Leather Jacket
Review 1 for Vintage-Washed Canyon Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chic magnet jacket,
April 7, 2014
By: Bulldog1
from Upstate New York
"This is the third Canyon Leather jacket also called Johnny B Good that I have owned. The first one was taken by my 26 yr. old son who told me that it was a chic magnet jacket and that he was only taking it to protect me :- ) I received a second one as a gift and my 29 yr. old other son took it but grudgingly gave it back. So this one is for him. The leather and stitch work is superb and is superior to the imports. Made in the USA it is the best quality and the most handsome leather jacket I have ever seen and apparently everyone else thinks so, too!"
Review 2 for Vintage-Washed Canyon Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase Ever,
February 27, 2014
By: Gersan
"I was reluctant at first just because of the price, but after I received it, it's worth every penny. It looks great, and the leather quality is awesome. Best purchase ever, like all Orvis' products."
Review 3 for Vintage-Washed Canyon Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handsome and Quality Combined,
February 11, 2014
By: BMcDoug
from Calgary, Canada
"Here is a well made and very good looking jacket of the first order. Love the quality of the leather, its' colour and style. Well made of top notch leather that I bet will last well into the future and only look better with time. I know this will become my 'go to' jacket for almost all occasions. One suggestion: add another zippered interior pocket."
Review 4 for Vintage-Washed Canyon Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful coat!,
February 4, 2014
By: VirginiaWahoo94
from Lakeland, TN
"A beautiful jacket, I am 6'3" and 225, a size 44 fit me perfectly (slightly oversized as other reviewers have noted). The jacket tapers down nicely for a trim appearance."
Review 5 for Vintage-Washed Canyon Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
(Butter) Leather Jacket,
January 29, 2014
By: Stonie
from NW Ohio
"Wonderful jacket. Cut a tad big which is great for a dude 6'4" and 36 inch sleves. Not overly insulated so it works in three seasons. The leather is like butter. Not cheap, but looks very expensive..."
Review 6 for Vintage-Washed Canyon Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fantastic jacket,
October 24, 2013
By: JBRC
"Excellent quality. Fantastic jacket. My only complaint is that the zippers could have been of better quality. Excellent fit."
Review 7 for Vintage-Washed Canyon Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket, but Q re description,
May 24, 2013
By: Purchaser64
"I like this jacket very much, and recommend it. Q: In the description, it suggests that you can "wash" the jacket to make it softer, or perhaps more "distressed." Has anyone actually put this in the washer/dryer? Does it shrik? Does the color change at all?
Thanks very much."
Review 8 for Vintage-Washed Canyon Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AWFUL, TERRIBLE,
February 4, 2013
By: BigBadJohn
from Dorset, VT
"Shhh, please don't tell anyone how truly spectacular this jacket is, i don't want everyone else buying and wearing what is quite possibly the nicest fitting, best looking, leather jacket out there. My son already asked me if I will leave it to him in my will...but I'll probably wear into the afterlife. This jacket is indescribably good.
As for sizing, it covers regular and long in the size. I am a 44 long but this 44 regular fits perfectly, and if you are a 44 regular, I know this will fit as well, maybe a tad long in the sleeve but that's so much better than too short.
"
Review 9 for Vintage-Washed Canyon Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
One of a kind...,
December 26, 2012
By: Cahill
"Beautiful jacket... Definitely an heirloom item. I ordered a XXL and It seems to run a little small. I generally need a tall anyway so I had to send it back."
Review 10 for Vintage-Washed Canyon Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not as expected,
November 26, 2012
By: coltnm
from denver, co
"The coat was a fine leather jacket, but was a very different color than the web site photo--it was darker and looked more suede than in the photo. In addition, I asked online "chat" about the weight (light, medium, etc) of two jackets including the Canyon jacket. The other (Lambskin jacket), I had tried on in an Orvis store. Both jackets were described as medium weight. The Canyon jacket is substantially heavier than the Lambskin jacket On this information and the photo I ordered the jacket. Was disappointed in the outcome and returned the Canyon jacket in favor of the much lighter weight Lambskin jacket."
Review 11 for Vintage-Washed Canyon Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful Coat,
October 19, 2012
By: Walkerscay
"Very supple leather. Solid zipper which some expensive coats do not have. Fits great!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vintage-Washed Canyon Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pricey Perfection,
November 1, 2011
By: Oxon
"You get what you pay for. I've never seen a jacket with more richly-textured leather or better craftsmanship. The fit is large; I had to return a 40 for a 38. But once you're in the right size, you're walking around in rugged but stylish perfection. The picture does it justice. I'd just add that there are two interior pockets, not one. We're still not into winter, but I'm finding this jacket plenty warm, and obviously windproof. Big plus for me is it's American-made. Makes the purchase price an act of altruism."