Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Wool/Cashmere Notched-Crewneck Sweater

The perfect sweater should offer good looks whether paired with a button-down shirt and chinos, or your favorite tee shirt and jeans. This crew neck sweater does just that, with remarkable warmth, rich heathered colors, and a soft hand thanks to a special blend of fine wool and luxurious cashmere. Rib-knit trim at the neck, hem, and cuffs. Our crew neck sweater is made from wool/cashmere. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.707 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
38 of 41(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wool/Cashmere Notched-Crewneck Sweater
Review 1 for Wool/Cashmere Notched-Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
November 24, 2014
By: Montana123
from Minneapolis, MN
"Just as described. Warm and very comfortable. Highly recommend."
Review 2 for Wool/Cashmere Notched-Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
COMFORTABLE -PERFECT FIT,
November 24, 2014
By: JAYDEEDEE
from RIDGEWOOD NJ
"THIS WOOL / CASHMERE SWEATER IS COMFORTABLE ... AND FITS WELL . IN FACT I FORGOT I HAD IT ON .... I PASSED A MIRROR AND SAID TO MYSELF .... HEY , LOOKIN GOOD."
Review 3 for Wool/Cashmere Notched-Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Soft and toasty,
November 19, 2014
By: flyfishpanfish
from Brandywine, DE
"Wore as extra layer for drive to work, left it on because high winds kept office below 65. Soft, and toasty without lot of weight. Well made, no funny odor, sizing as expected even though I'd like a bit more in waist area. Layered nicely over SS polo. I hate too short sleeves so like that arm length is long on me so I stay cocooned even when reaching out for stuff. Wool is my preferred "do all, go everywhere" fabric. After couple wears I'm already thinking I want a second color and wondering " does it come in v-neck?""
Review 4 for Wool/Cashmere Notched-Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nostalgia in sweater form,
November 11, 2014
By: Samphire
from Long Island NY
"I started shopping at Orvis as a result of a conversation about sweaters. We were discussing how sweaters had become thinner over the years -- sort of the way candy bars and cereal boxes have gotten smaller. About that time I discovered that Orvis was still selling old fashioned sweaters -- soft and warm, and (depending on the sweater of course) thick.
This one is a perfect example of the way sweaters used to be. It's sort of a medium weight, a good mid-layer as long as the polar vortex stays away, but light enough for comfortable indoor wear. Good color too. If you were around in the 1970s you'll recognize it instantly."
Review 5 for Wool/Cashmere Notched-Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Sweater,
October 21, 2014
By: sparky1220
from Brunswick, NY
"The wool-cashmere blend sweater
I purchased recently on sale is one
of the best items I have ever bought on-line! It is a perfect fit , a gorgeous color and has zero scratchiness. I am ready to be warm AND stylish!
"
Review 6 for Wool/Cashmere Notched-Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good sweater,
August 28, 2014
By: cvflats
from nc
"fits true to size. got to wear under waterfowl jacket"
Review 7 for Wool/Cashmere Notched-Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater!,
June 3, 2014
By: NewbieCustomer
from Canada
"Just ordered this and it is very nice. Bought the medium and it is a blend of lambs wool and 10% cashmere. This means absolutely no itch whatsoever. I am a 40 short, 5'7 185lbs and this fit fine.
Very good quality!"
Review 8 for Wool/Cashmere Notched-Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
March 3, 2014
By: Marc123
from U.S.
"I found this to be the perfect sweater for city winter cold. Wool was never more welcome on this bod! Not itchy but does the job. Perfect complement to a nice shirt and jacket. Just wore it last weekend and went out to dinner and then braved the cold. Warm but not itchy, looks great. I love the brown complex color and stitching. A classic for my sweater collection."
Review 9 for Wool/Cashmere Notched-Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
February 17, 2014
By: logbook
from Tupelo, MS
"First Orvis purchase in a while and I was not disappointed. The perfect weight for southern winters and the fit is spot on."
Review 10 for Wool/Cashmere Notched-Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Too small,
February 12, 2014
By: JackoJacko
from Michigan
"I have bought four of these sweaters in a size L in various colors. They have a great fit and are good quality. However, I received the green in a size L and it is too small. It is especially obvious at the sleeves. How can 3 be perfectly sized and the fourth be too small? There are quality issues regarding size!"
Review 11 for Wool/Cashmere Notched-Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
February 11, 2014
By: jwhirred
from Columbus, OH
"Warm, well made, sharp looking, great fit. Very soft and wearable with just a t-shirt or collared shirt but I prefer wearing it with just a t-shirt. Warm without being the least bit bulky. Highly recommend it."
Review 12 for Wool/Cashmere Notched-Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy customer!,
February 3, 2014
By: MountaineerLook
from Chicago, IL
"Excellent mixed wool/cashmere sweater in a crew neck as well, perfect for layering and keeping you warm on this northern cold winter... Love the color as well, perfect "earth" type color for that classic Mountaineer/Hunting look... Normal fit!"
Review 13 for Wool/Cashmere Notched-Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice product,
February 3, 2014
By: SteveTX
from Dallas, TX
"Arrived in the mail quickly. It fit well and is very comfortable. Not scratchy like other wool products. Warm, but comfortable."
Review 14 for Wool/Cashmere Notched-Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater!!!,
January 20, 2014
By: DL68
from Saratoga Springs, N.Y.
"This sweater fits great, feels comfortable, and looks terrific. Not only does it look good, but it appears to be constructed so that it will last a lifetime. It is an updated version of the sweaters that we had when we were kids that could take any and all punishment that we handed out."
Review 15 for Wool/Cashmere Notched-Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
classic go to sweater,
January 9, 2014
By: jaybird101
from Byron, Il
"You cant miss when you wear this classic high quality sweater. Unlimited amounts of dress and sport shirts will compliment this sweater. Its your go to sweater when you need to look good. Dress it up or dress it down! Warm and of top quality as expected."
Review 16 for Wool/Cashmere Notched-Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Looks great,
January 3, 2014
By: GooseCutter
from Washington, DC
"I received this as a gift this holiday season and have thus far enjoyed it. One review mentioned it fits a bit small, but Orvis usually runs larger, so the slightly trimmer fit is a welcome thing, for me. Also, it fits about 2" longer than other Orvis sweaters I have, which is great, because while at 6'2", I'm not that tall, an inch or two longer than previous iterations is a welcome change. Great material, too. Not so warm that it is difficult to wear indoors like the normal shetland sweaters I buy, but warm enough under a coat to keep me toasty."
Review 17 for Wool/Cashmere Notched-Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great gift,
January 1, 2014
By: Ivonne
from Boston Ma
"it would make a great gift
it would be a smart purchase
great fit
great material & color
very elegant
"
Review 18 for Wool/Cashmere Notched-Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
close fitting,
December 24, 2013
By: LittleCornball
from Wisconsin
"The most noticeable fault is that this sweater is sized small out side of that i enjoy wearing this product. It is big enough to wear as the outer layer I would just like it to be slightly larger. Comfortable against the skin, and because of the closer fit I have layered over this sweater with another sweater to cut the chill on some really cold days. overall a good offering from Orvis."
Review 19 for Wool/Cashmere Notched-Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
December 24, 2013
By: Angus55
"Both sweaters were "Large" size and very comfortable, except for one feature, i.e. the sleeves were shorted than other "L" my other sweaters. Usually I roll back the cuffs half-way, but not with these two. I need the full length to fit correctly. Therefore, I would give this purchase on a B rating."
Review 20 for Wool/Cashmere Notched-Crewneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort and warmth.,
December 15, 2013
By: DocG
from Lakewood, NJ
"This is a quality sweater that fits true to size. It keeps you warm but not to excess. It is good looking and made well. I would recommend this sweater to all who like quality products and comfort."