Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Henley Sweatshirt

The Henley style was the traditional pullover sweatshirt worn by English rowers. This collarless three-to-five-button pullover style has since become a staple for casual wear. This sweatshirt has comfortable and less restrictive raglan sleeves and a three-button front with burnt-horn buttons. Straight hem with a slightly raw self-finish at the cuffs, hem, and neck for a bit of an undisciplined look and feel. Contrast stitching at the seams. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.524 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (63 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
57 of 63(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Henley Sweatshirt
Review 1 for Henley Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of Each,
December 4, 2014
By: Brooktrout22
from Ca.
"The Olive Henley Sweatshirt immediately became my go to favorite shirt. I like the comfortable fit and the feel. I liked it so much I now own the Navy as well. These shirts are of the high Orvis quality I have enjoyed for many years. I would recommend this Henley to anyone. I can honestly say I have never been disappointed with any of the Orvis clothes I have purchased for myself. I have also given Orvis clothing as gifts and the compliments keep coming."
Review 2 for Henley Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A very nice henley,
December 4, 2014
By: ontariofarmer
from Zephyr, Ontario
"A quality product intended for cooler weather wear. Good construction with reinforced stitching and the heft of a sweatshirt."
Review 3 for Henley Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fitting Sweatshirt,
December 4, 2014
By: RondoMondo
from San Francisco, CA
"I like everything about this sweatshirt. Thick comfortable fabric and a great fit. Wore once and already received compliments."
Review 4 for Henley Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Heavyweight shirt,
December 1, 2014
By: Lois368
from Georgetown TX
"Perfect when a sweatshirt is too much or a little too casual. Good color, great fabric and fits well."
Review 5 for Henley Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A really nice shirt,
November 23, 2014
By: GHoward
from Greenville, SC
"I got this one to have as a grab-and-go short for cooler days this fall, and it has not disappointed me thus far. It looks good, is ruggedly built, and serves as a nice layer for the cooler weekend days."
Review 6 for Henley Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love it,
November 21, 2014
By: MangoTerry
"i love my new henley i got from orvis! i wish i could wear it inside out so everyone could see the bright orange ORVIS logo and fly embroidered on the neck. very comfortable and warm Thank you orvis"
Review 7 for Henley Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tight in the forearms...,
November 14, 2014
By: DRBauer
"As another reviewer noted the bottom hem did curl on me, but as I always wear tucked in this is a non issue to me really. I do wish the forearms were just a little larger as it would work better with the sleeves pushed up the way I usually wear a henley style shirt and a little more fitted/tapered in the body would also be good. I like the weight of it, though even a LITTLE heavier would be good"
Review 8 for Henley Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Great idea; questionable execution,
November 11, 2014
By: RJC3
from Baltimore, MD
"High expectations for this "in between" a sweatshirt and sweater. Clever idea. The feel is what you would expect; runs large which is fine. After only three washings, however, the bottom hem rolls up and it looks sloppy. At this point it is a "knock around" item at best and therefore a poor value."
Review 9 for Henley Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfortable fit,
November 10, 2014
By: DawnMarie
from Fargo, ND
"I bought this shirt for my husband and it has become his favorite. It is loose enough fitting and so comfortable he wants another color. I would recommend this shirt even though it is alittle expensive compared to other online stores."
Review 10 for Henley Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor stitching,
November 5, 2014
By: Lanesville
"After one wash,the stitching on the hem curled up.Ironing and a rewash had no effect in correcting the problem.This poor quality garment is definitely not what I expect from Orvis."
Review 11 for Henley Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Heavyweight Long Sleeve Shirt,
October 28, 2014
By: Josh13W
from Missoula, MT
"The fit, quality, and appearance are good. This shirt will last a long time. The price is a little on the high side, thus, the reasoning behind the 4 star rating."
Review 12 for Henley Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT SWEATSHIRT,
October 14, 2014
By: Mikey4165
from LEXINGTON, VA
"NICE AND HEAVY THE WAY I LIKE THEM. THE FIT WAS RIGHT WITH PLENTY OF SLEEVE LENGTH. THE SHIRT IS ALSO VERY GOOD LOOKING. THE MATERIAL MAKES THE FEEL RIGHT"
Review 13 for Henley Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Henley Sweatshirt,
October 6, 2014
By: ZOOM1986
from Birmingham,AL.
"This is just not a sweatshirt in the typical sense at all. The first thing you notice is the weight of the shirt. The construction is so durable as is the Orvis standard. This is a great shirt to wear when there is a definite chill in the air!"
Review 14 for Henley Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One great sweatshirt,
August 26, 2014
By: Shirtguy1
from Riverside R.I
"bought this henley sweatshirt from orvis because I love a company you can count on,I was not dissapointed,Great fit ,love the style,very good quality Can not wait for the cool weather to get here"
Review 15 for Henley Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Top Quality,
August 19, 2014
By: RichZ
from Wake Forest, NC
"Hands Down both the material used and the construction of the sweatshirt exceed my expectation."
Review 16 for Henley Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stellar Sweatshirt,
July 14, 2014
By: MarathonMatt
from Perth, Australia
"Arguably the best sweatshirt I own, and I own many. Mid weight seasonal flexibility, very comfortable, and looks good solo or layered. Sleeves can be rolled too, unlike most sweats. If new colours become available I will most certainly be ordering them."
Review 17 for Henley Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweatshirt,
June 5, 2014
By: DDecl
from NYC
"I was not exactly sure about this from the photo but once I received it and put it on I loved it! It is a great shirt to layer and fits perfect. Great material also."
Review 18 for Henley Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rugged and Nice,
April 16, 2014
By: Jonnyb303
from Golden, CO
"This is not really a sweatshirt in the traditional sense. No soft fleece feel on the inside. This is more a heavy weight coarse fabric pull over. Very sturdy and a nice casual look. I will wear this one out fer sure. Would be perfect if there was a little give in the sleeve cuffs, cannot push sleeves up my arm. Looks awesome under a leather jacket."
Review 19 for Henley Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The perfect sweatshirt,
March 24, 2014
By: Crane1010
from Online
"Very warm thick fabric. Really good fit. Get a lot of good comments on both the green and blue versions!"
Review 20 for Henley Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Adventure,
March 11, 2014
By: Recon
from Avon, Ct
"I always wanted a leather jacket. I was getting a little long in the tooth and I felt this was the right time. I search the internet for some time and could not find anything that applied to me:; until I came across ORVIS, I read all the reviews and the one that made up my mine was when the son said dad please leave me that jacket in your will."