Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Bostonian Merino Shearling Jacket

Everything about this jacket is superior. Windproof and warm, this jacket's fine merino shearling—toasty natural fleece on the inside, and durable sueded leather on the outside—is perfectly suited to even the harshest New England winters. Plus, without the unnecessary bulk of other winter jackets, this jacket is well adapted to urban life, as well. Full-length solid-brass zipper with button-secured wind flap. Two angled handwarmer pockets with fleece inside. Two zip-closed interior pockets. Securely anchored natural-horn buttons. Contrasting leather trim. In tobacco. Genuine merino shearling. Made in USA.Regular even sizes 36-52. About 38" long in size 42.
Average Customer Rating:
4.467 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
13 of 15(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bostonian Merino Shearling Jacket
Review 1 for Bostonian Merino Shearling Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Magnificent Coat,
January 29, 2014
By: VerdiBaritone
from Boston, MA
"I shopped extensively for a Shearling coat and this one is magnificent. It runs right down the middle of casual and dressy. I can wear it confidently with high-end suits, where it becomes a bit of a fashion statement, or I can wear it with jeans where it often gets, "Wow, great coat!"
Warm down to 10F with only a dress shirt on underneath and comfortable up to 50F loosely zipped for a walk around the block. Comfortable in the car.
My wife and I looked at several Shearlings from Lone Pine, and this one stands apart."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bostonian Merino Shearling Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
A great coat but,
January 29, 2014
By: ppdoc
"I really loved the coat. It is warm and comfortable. But at the price point it is just not worth the money. I love shearling and again the coat was very nice, but just not for what was charged. I sadly returned the product."
Review 3 for Bostonian Merino Shearling Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous jacket,
January 27, 2014
By: Enigmatic
from NYC
"Great coat, extremely warm, durable and, by the number of compliments I have received, very handsome. A bit on the expensive side, but worth every dollar. Long enough to be warm in the coldest of climates, but short enough not to hinder even semi-athletic movements."
Review 4 for Bostonian Merino Shearling Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Beat,
December 27, 2013
By: Longfield53
from London UK
"This is an expensive Christmas gift to myself, but as the saying goes "you get what you pay for." It is luxury with a capital L. Beautifully soft and well made. It is a perfect fit, comfortable and it keeps me warm without the need for bulky sweaters."
Review 5 for Bostonian Merino Shearling Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Rate,
December 23, 2013
By: Timberdoodle
from Vermont
"This coat is nicely made and well-designed, just right for the Vermont winters. One fix would make it better--include an extra set of horn buttons. When one of them pops--as buttons invariably do--it will be impossible to match and replace."
Review 6 for Bostonian Merino Shearling Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Coat I've ever owned,
November 2, 2013
By: psxrex
"The price is pretty steep, but I am a believer in the idea that upi get what you pay for. That said the Bostonian is warm, comfortable, and flexible. I have had mine for over a year and love it. I would recommend it to any one who can afford it."
Review 7 for Bostonian Merino Shearling Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband's favorite coat,
February 25, 2013
By: maxine1031
from Boston, MA
"Purchased for my husband for Christmas. Fits true to size. Very light and comfortable. While expensive, it's exceptional and outstanding. My husband loves it! He's worn it in the bitter cold and he's been comfortable taking a stroll through the mall in it."
Review 8 for Bostonian Merino Shearling Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Really Nice, But Costly,
February 5, 2013
By: DiggerLar
from Wisconsin
"Very Nice coat, not many out there like it. I am 6 ft. and about 210 lbs. and the size 42 fit my 34 inch arms fine, but a bit tight around my chest."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bostonian Merino Shearling Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Too expensive,
January 14, 2013
By: macpar
"I purchased this coat from the catalog without having seen it in person. It is a beautiful coat, the shearling is very comfortable and it looks nice, but it simply was not worth the price. Customer service was great, they allowed me to return it no problems."
Review 10 for Bostonian Merino Shearling Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Coat,
January 2, 2013
By: jes123
from Rochester, NY
"I wanted a coat to replace a shearling that I wore out.
This is a beautiful coat, very lightweight (but very warm), great feel, nice details. It was a bit lighter in color than it looked in catalog -- tobacco, I suppose also varies in color, but I like it fine. A real heirloom coat.
"
Review 11 for Bostonian Merino Shearling Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just excellent,
October 18, 2012
By: muziki1
"Simply the most comfortable coat I have ever put on. What I particularly like is the lightness of it. Some sheepskins can be very heavy. Not this one. And it does this while keeping me warm as toast.. I am not keen on heavy layers underneath, so this suits me perfectly. Beautifully crafted quality, which I would expect for the price."
Review 12 for Bostonian Merino Shearling Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You will like this coat!,
September 30, 2012
By: MarkB
"I had to wait for my size to come in last year. I didn't receive the coat until spring so I never got to wear it. I've kept it hung up in the closet to let the new leather smell fade. I also own the World's Finest Shearling coat. They are both Lone Pines and very similar. I like the darker brown on the WFS coat but that's not a big deal. I think it will be hard to get into the car with this coat and forget about getting to your wallet. But I can't wait to wear this with a sweater and a scarf. Looking forward to the cold weather! The only "complaint" I have is they need stiffeners in the leather that's over the side pockets. I've found that the leather around the opening tends to sag over time. Unlike many other leather coats, this one is made in the USA. I like to stay away from imports when ever possible."
Review 13 for Bostonian Merino Shearling Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth It.,
September 25, 2012
By: YourNameHere007
from Chicago Illinois
"It's worth it. I live in Chicago year round and this is the only piece of outerwear that can be worn from late September to those brisk April mornings. It's warmth is unparalleled while maintains a light jacket feel, never stifling, and looks great over a suit. Best of all, it's from Orvis so you have a lifetime to decide whether or not it is worth the investment, which it is.
This Merino coat is not fitted (shaped) and sits strait. Size drown for a better fit. I am 6'4" with a 48" chest and the 46 size fits magnificent.
"
Review 14 for Bostonian Merino Shearling Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Coat......But......,
February 15, 2012
By: Ihatenicknames
from Cary, NC
"I first want to review the coat.....it is exceptional. Everything you could want and more. Extremely warm and while it is not as "heavy" as it looks in the picture you could probably hike to the North Pole in it and still feel toasty. In short, feels like a medium weight coat, but heats like a MUCH heavier weight. The seams and stitching are all wonderful. There is some leather trim that really sets off the coat as well. Had some cold days recently and I could not believe the number of compliments I got from wearing this....so far I have put it with jeans and boots and it looked GREAT and I have put it with a full suit and it dresses up magnificently. A button did pop off in transit, but was able to get it back on with little trouble.
Now for the review of Orvis. Early-on I had received help from one of Orvis's agents and he was great. Helped me determine size and make sure it was the right coat for my needs. I ordered the coat and had a problem with billing that was 100% my fault. While Orvis should have simply cancelled my order they instead choose to call me and treat me as if I had wasted their time and that if I could not afford such a coat then maybe I should look elsewhere......I honestly could not believe the berating that I received.....as a customer spending $3500 on a coat! If I had not received such good care earlier from the first agent I would have and should have cancelled the order. I have since complained and have been assured that Orvis is re-training their operators to be more polite/respectful....I hope this is the case as Orvis is a fine company and it would be a shame for others to be turned away as I have been. I am a “Top 50” reviewer for Orvis and it will be some-time before I order with them again….if ever."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bostonian Merino Shearling Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Christmas coat,
December 25, 2011
By: Reka
"Beautiful coat. Soft leather and lining. Expensive but my husband loves it and wears it every day it is cold. Fits well and looks great."