Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hydros 3D Bonefish Line

The ultimate bonefish textured fly line with innovative microtexture “divots” similar to those on a golf ball to offer better casting, enhanced distance, lower memory, easier pickup, and enhanced durability. Stiff, braided monofilament core offers outstanding performance in hot, humid saltwater environments. Color change shows optimum load length.
Average Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Hydros 3D Bonefish Line
Review 1 for Hydros 3D Bonefish Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bonefishing LIne,
April 14, 2014
By: Pembroke
"I have bone fished every year for the last several years and this year I replaced my line with Hydros 3D line. What a great decision! The line is unbelievable and with so few opportunities to fish, I am wondering whether new line is not a bad decision every year I go. No unnecessary loops, straight line and it shoots well. Believe me it makes a difference!"
Review 2 for Hydros 3D Bonefish Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Andros test,
May 29, 2013
By: Steelychick
from Andros, Bahamas.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I took this line with me to the Joulters (north Andros) in the Bahamas for a week of bonefishing. The line casts extremely well but is a bit noisy. The noise is not nearly as bad as the Sharkskin line but still isn't silent. The fish didn't seem to mind, however; I did not cast it during glassy conditions--we always had wind and 70'+ casts! I recommend this line to my fellow anglers."
Review 3 for Hydros 3D Bonefish Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
only way to go,
May 28, 2013
By: perk
"fished 200 days in the Caribbean using the 3D and other lines. The 3D rules. shoots much better. Doesn't get sticky over time. Lasts longer."
Review 4 for Hydros 3D Bonefish Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the best fly line,
April 8, 2013
By: perk
"I've used every generation of hyflote and wonderline and this one far exceeds the others. Not only does it shoot better out of the box, but it retains its shootability far better. Put about 100 saltwater days on one last year and never have had a line maintain its properties so well."
Review 5 for Hydros 3D Bonefish Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Light and rough,
February 6, 2013
By: TampaRedStalker
from Tampa, FL
"8WT feels like 7 1/2 WT. OK for sightfishing and long casts. Texture is very rough so it shoots well but you will need a lycra sleeve or gloves to protect the stripping finger. Therefore not great for lots of blind casting or for quick short casts. So- a bonefishing line, lacking versatility for non-bonefishing situations."
Review 6 for Hydros 3D Bonefish Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice line,
July 30, 2012
By: Redfishkilla
from Amarillo, Texas
"Nice line. I like the way it's slick without being too abrasive. I wish it had a little more weight in the front section."
Review 7 for Hydros 3D Bonefish Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not just for Bone Fish,
June 24, 2012
By: Captainruss
from Chesapeake Bay, Barrier Islands and Coastal
"This is my "go to" floating line for all fishing I do on the Chesapeake Bay. Easy casting, good turnover and no tangles. My fishing clients love this line. I especially like the built in loops on both ends."
Review 8 for Hydros 3D Bonefish Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow,
June 3, 2012
By: Redfishaholic
from Lowcountry, SC
"The performance of this line is stupid it is so good. Yes, it added distance to my cast but what was really impressive is how it performed in the wind. This line sails through the guides with so much speed even cross winds have little efftect on it. The noise going through the guides is much less than with sharkskin. Good balance and just stiff enough to make tight loops easy. This line is worth the money. Great job Orvis."
Review 9 for Hydros 3D Bonefish Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casts well,
May 13, 2012
By: pees
"I like this line. Used it for a week on Andros. It casts well and seems to have less friction against the guides due to its 3D design. It does make a slightly irritating sound going through the guides...both casting and retrieving...but much less than the SA sharkskin lines. I think I will adjust to the sound just like when switching from mono to braided lines when spin fishing."
Review 10 for Hydros 3D Bonefish Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smooth casting,
April 29, 2012
By: mjh96701
from Aiea, HI
"Wow! This is a great line, casting is super smooth, feeds through guides effortlessly. Added about 10-15 ft to my casts, even in breezy trade winds. Will definitely be trying the other Hydros lines."
Review 11 for Hydros 3D Bonefish Line
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
DISAPPOINTED,
March 7, 2012
By: FISHhound3
from FLORIDA
"I FIND NO ADVANTAGE OVER SA TEXTURED LINE WHICH IS LESS EXPENSIVE. I BOUGHT BECAUSE OF ADVERTISED DUEL COLOR BUT FIND THE SAND IS TO CLOSE TO THE YELLOW IN COLOR TO DIFFERENTIATE ON WATER."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hydros 3D Bonefish Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best casting line there is.,
March 6, 2012
By: CreativeFishing
from Flaming Gorge, UT
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"WOW. I purchased a WF-7 and WF-8 for an 8-day trip to the Yucatan fishing for baby tarpon last week. These lines sailed through the guides with ease. The baby tarpon flies turned over and landed on the water gracefully. These lines are as quiet as any lines out there. And the core stiffness was perfect to eliminate any coil problems, yet maintain a degree of suppleness. I had maybe one or two "coil knots" each day, and those were my fault. These are the best saltwater lines I've ever used. A revolutionary improvement over the standard coatings. I'm replacing every warm water line I have with these. BRAVO!"
Review 13 for Hydros 3D Bonefish Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
#1 bonefish line on recent trip to South Andros,
March 5, 2012
By: ACSkruffy
from Syracuse, NY
"I had the opportunity to fish the 3D Hyros Bonefish line while on a recent trip to South Andros. Initially I thought the line was a little light for the Helios rod,but as I fished the line I actually think the friction of the line is so low that the line felt "light". After fishing the line for 1 day, I could not go back to my old brand. When fishing close,the line was gentle on landing and one could quickly change from a 30ft cast to 70-80 ft cast. The line stayed cleaner and shot better than any other bonefish line I have used. My only recommendation would be to make the color change from the rear taper to running line a more defined color change."