Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Raised Wooden Feeders

Ergonomically designed to improve your dog's comfort while eating (and look great in your home), our raised feeders are crafted from sustainably harvested Honduran pine, a wood comparable to American red oak in hardness. Mortise-and-tenon construction ensures superior strength and durability. In dark cherry. Small 6"H x 16"L x 8½"D, 3¼-cup bowls.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
12 of 15(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Raised Wooden Feeders
Review 1 for Raised Wooden Feeders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Raised feeder,
March 5, 2012
By: Maidie
from Epping Essex
"This feeder is easy to clean, looks tidy and most important . my dog likes it."
Review 2 for Raised Wooden Feeders
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
So-So Product,
February 19, 2012
By: EBEB
from Pasadena, CA
"We were disappointed with this feeder. The look of the feeder is very nice. But, the bowls do not fit snug in the feeder so they move around a lot and are noisy when our black lab eats out of them. It is also a little too short for a lab. We have two of the feed and store raised dog dishes for our other dogs and we love them - they are the right height, the bowls fit snug and they have held up great (we've had them both for 5+ years). Would recommend anyone considering this feeder buy the feed and store instead. I wouldn't buy this one again. It is not up to the usual high quality of Orvis products."
Review 3 for Raised Wooden Feeders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Elkhound Approved,
February 10, 2012
By: DrWild
from Las Vegas, Nevada
"In December, we purchased our 3-yr old Norwegian Elkhound (picture a 50 lb wolf) named Grei Hawk. I was watching Hawk eat out of the bowl the breeder sent with him one day and he looked like a giraffe drinking at a watering hole, with legs splayed out to the sides to simply get low enough to eat/drink. So, I bought the large dark-colored version and the height is perfect for him. I did have to convince him that it was ok to take food from THIS table! Elkhounds can give you such a look!
The only issue I have with it is that the holes seem to have been cut a tad bit too small, as the bowls do not nest completely in; the 1/4" difference makes them jiggle around a bit. It does, however, make it easier to grab the bowls, so uncertain if they are designed this way?
With our previous elkhound, we had a plastic version with a built- in non air-tight food bin. Not a good idea where ants are a concern... I tossed it as soon as our old Elkhound Jaeger passed in Spring of 2011.
The Orvis raised wooden feeder does what it was designed to do simply and elegantly."
Review 4 for Raised Wooden Feeders
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bowls are small,
January 23, 2012
By: SkipG
from Lexington VA
"This is a really nice table, sturdy and just the right size for my dog. The bowls, however, are advertised to be one quart bowls - both in the catalogue description and on a sticker on the bottom of the bowl itself. They hold a maximum of 3 cups and that's pushing it. I measured a one quart bowl before purchasing and thought the size was perfect. It just means that we spend more time filling the bowls. I was disappointed in that aspect and thought that Orvis might be more precise about the product. Overall it works very well for my dog."
Review 5 for Raised Wooden Feeders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it.,
January 3, 2012
By: 9876Dogmom
"Love this feeder. The wooden stand is very solid and durable, doesn't move around at all with an active eater. the bowls fit in nicely and don't 'jiggle' around. My dog seems to spill less having the food and water higher up. When a second dog joins our family, so will a second feeder!"
Review 6 for Raised Wooden Feeders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality,
January 2, 2012
By: GoldenGuy
from Golden, CO
"Sturdy construction and the feeding bowls that accompany it are also durable enough to last a long time. However, it would be helpful if it came with cleaning and maintenance instructions for the wood."
Review 7 for Raised Wooden Feeders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ONE HAPPY DOG,
December 29, 2011
By: CURT4221
from New Albany, In
"Wonderful, Just what my aging Lab needed, I ordered the set for the large breed dog and it's the correct height and has enough lip around the bowls to help limit the amount of dripping when she drinks. Sturdy construction and the wood matches our flooring. Could not be happier!"
Review 8 for Raised Wooden Feeders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great solution!,
December 26, 2011
By: norabaldwin
from Denver, CO
"We bought this b/c our 44lb pointer mix kept choking on her water when she was drinking it on the floor. We think this is really helping! Also, when we picked up the mat on the floor for the food bowls, we found a puddle of water on our hardwood floors! This alleviates those issues as well. Finally, it looks so much prettier than bowls on the floor."
Review 9 for Raised Wooden Feeders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
new bowls for finnegan,
December 11, 2011
By: daj1
"I had been looking for a new bowl set for my chocolate lab and he is about 74 lbs now and this is the perfect hight and love the color of the wood."
Review 10 for Raised Wooden Feeders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Raised Feeding Bowls,
December 9, 2011
By: SteelHunter
from Ameican River, California
"This is a great product. It's well made and does the job it was intended for. My dog has had a spinal injury and now he can feed without having to strain his neck to eat from the floor.
And my wife likes the look of the fine dark cherry wood."
Review 11 for Raised Wooden Feeders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase!,
December 5, 2011
By: Mill
from Harrisburg, Pa.
"I like the raised feeder for the obvious reasons e.g. better digestion for deep chested dogs. I find it easy to clean, plus the improved shape of the bowls makes it easier to stack in the dishwasher."
Review 12 for Raised Wooden Feeders
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Water food stand a little deceiving,
December 5, 2011
By: bogarts
from san tan valley az
"The dog stand I puchased is beautiful, however if you have a dog that slobbers water allover the place this is not the stand for you. Once water gets on the wood repeatedly it leaves stains. Very unattractive!"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamDecember 9, 2011
Orvis immediately contacted this customer and thanked them for their honest feedback. Occasionally water marks will occur on your wooden feeding station. These marks can be removed simply by wiping with a cloth dampened with vinegar. This will keep your feeding station looking new.
Review 13 for Raised Wooden Feeders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sturdy and High Quality,
November 23, 2011
By: jk61809
from Arlington, VA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I love this feeder! I had been searching for a raised feeder that complimented my decor. This raised wooden feeder is perfect. It's very sturdy and well-made which is a plus when your dog's an aggressive eater like mine. (What can I say? He loves to eat!) The feeder has little rubber feet that prevent it from sliding across the tile floor. I was impressed with the quality considering it was so reasonably priced. Orvis really went above and beyond with this product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Raised Wooden Feeders
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not great if using for water,
November 19, 2011
By: Vortvan
"Nice looking and very sturdy but absolutely useless if you want to use for water bowls. The water stains the wood and makes permanent spots. Very disappointing."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service Team December 9, 2011
Orvis immediately contacted this customer and thanked them for their honest feedback. Occasionally water marks will occur on your wooden feeding station. These marks can be removed simply by wiping with a cloth dampened with vinegar. This will keep your feeding station looking new.
Review 15 for Raised Wooden Feeders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My Dog Loves It,
October 20, 2011
By: cplindsay
from Port Orchard, WA
"This is the second one of these we've purchased (the first one is at the ex-wife's home while this was for mine). Wouldn't buy anything else."