Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hydros 3D WF Trout

The finest textured fly line for trout you can put on a reel. Fully engineered with features to improve your cast and presentation for greater productivity on the stream. Enjoy the feel of minimal friction in your casting stroke. 3D texturing combined with IS, our most versatile trout taper, the new Hy-Flote Tip, and the new and improved welded loop, combine to offer the finest trout line we've ever offered.
Average Customer Rating:
4.719 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
5 stars
54
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
59 of 64(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Review 1 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
October 19, 2014
By: quailhunter32
from Wichita, KS
"I'm very pleased with the Hydrostatic 3D fly line. It spools as well as it casts."
Review 2 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful,
July 23, 2014
By: Wayzata
from Wayzata, MN.
"Just ended fishing The Snake in WY. with this line. Casts much better than previous experience. This is a winner!"
Review 3 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just buy this line,
June 29, 2014
By: QKSLVR
from Newfoundland, Canada
"Just loaded this line on my 5wt Helios 2. Casts like a dream and shoots like a rifle. Just buy this line. Also love the sound as it flies through the guides."
Review 4 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
May 22, 2014
By: Elliottman
from Gastonia, NC
"I'm new to fly fishing so I bought this line on the advice of a 30 year fly fishing veteran. Boy was he spot on!
Silky smooth and easy to cast. A great product.
"
Review 5 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Hydros 3D Failure,
May 15, 2014
By: GreenManiac
"First use/day using this brand new line on green river in Utah fishing with cicada patterns the first 5 ft of the line was sinking and did not float. Very disappointed. Orvis shop offered to give me my money back and did not care about poor performance of their product!"
Review 6 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casts like a dream,
May 10, 2014
By: Mattroy336
from Bathurst, NB Canada
"This 4Wt line make casting effortless. Floats very well and the olive color makes it very stealthy."
Review 7 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly Line!,
April 7, 2014
By: Taylor62
"Just got the 3D trout line. Love how easy it is to cast. Seems to be almost no friction at all as it passes through the eyes."
Review 8 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great service,
March 12, 2014
By: StanL
from Denver
"It was very convenient to get a new spool for my reel all loaded with new line and backing. The Chat really helped on the product selection."
Review 9 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All I can say is wow!,
November 4, 2013
By: Rookhawk
from Chicago, IL
"This line is remarkably good, arguably the best I've ever used. The product is the ultra premium product offering from Orvis but it is so good that it should be considered for anyone that cares about line sensitivity."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cost too much,
October 22, 2013
By: A111
from Va
"This IS a great product but when does the price overshadow the value? I have never used anything but Orvis lines however this last pruchase will be my last. It's everything they claim but at nearly $100 a spool it's just over the top.
Farewell, Orvis brand lines
"
Review 11 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hugely Better than Sharkskin,
October 4, 2013
By: Patterson60
"An excellent mid point between traditional fly line and the serrated, knife-like texture of the sharkskin line. Really does perform and does not hurt your hands."
Review 12 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice try for first textured line,
September 12, 2013
By: Fishbaydoc
from Richmond, VA USA
"I used this fly line for a year before I wrote this, fly fishing in the Mid-
Atlantic trout fisheries. It casts further than regular line but quickly starts to sink usually by the middle of the day. It needed re-coating (Rio Line dressing) once a day to keep from sinking. I don't think I got sun screen or bug repellent on it it due to fishing in cold weather initially. I had the same problem with the Hydros 3D 8 wt Bonefish line in the Bahamas last year. I will return this line for the regular Hydros line to see if it will work better. Not sure why the line sinks easily; maybe the pits decrease the surface tension... I'm sure Orvis will stand by their products and get it right eventually.
"
Review 13 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfection,
September 3, 2013
By: HackandSnag
from Lubbock, TX
"Well, I thought I had a quality fly line on my reel - this Hydros 3D is outstanding - best line I have ever used! You do get what you pay for. Buy this line without hesitation!"
Review 14 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best fly line,
August 30, 2013
By: Timbikerdude
from Rathdrum, Idaho
"I really like this fly line. It floats very well and shoots thru the rod very well. My only caveat would be that it has a welded loop only on the leader end and not the backing end but a minor inconvenience."
Review 15 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Line,
August 26, 2013
By: Boloni
"I think this is the most amazing line I have ever used. It's designed differently from your typical fly lines. (you can read details of the product for more info). All I can say is that it casts so smooth and so accurate. I can shoot the line so far. I wish Orvis designed a salmon/steelhead line with similarities to this line, because it is so awesome. It is a bit more expensive, but totally worth the money. I will use this line until it breaks, which I doubt will happen anytime soon."
Review 16 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hydros 5 weight,
August 26, 2013
By: Dotts
"My casting improved mightily, and I had so much fun on the Madison!
Thank you Orvis for making it easier for me to make a longer cast, and bring in the lovely rainbow trout!
"
Review 17 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Accurate and Long,
August 20, 2013
By: OldBlueEyes
from Rockbridge, MO
"Changed to this line after fishing the origional line that came with my reel for 14 years. Didn't expect much difference but the ease of casting, accuracy and the distance you get from the line is amazing. Would reccomend spending the extra money for something you will use for years."
Review 18 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best all-around trout-line out there.,
August 17, 2013
By: DaveMCL
from North Carolina
"I recently mated 6-weight Hydros 3D WF Trout to an access reel on a Frequent Flyer 6 weight. So far this line has been well worth the extra money. It is a good all-rounder line for trout fishing.
I am pleased with the taper for dry, streamer and nyphing. I have no problem loading my tip-flex frequent flyer with this taper. It shoots incredibly well.
It turns over large streamers fairly well -- however I will be buying a second spool and intermediate line for 6-weight streamer fishing.
If you have not fished a 3D textured line I highly recommend it. It will change your perception of fly lines and it's supple feel will spoil you!
Don't buy a cheap fly line... get the best. This line is the best for all-around trout fishing."
Review 19 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
6 months later,
July 23, 2013
By: Karoondinha
from Spring Creek Country, PA
"I fish about 2-3 times a week in all sorts of conditions and 6 months later I can say I am still impressed with this line. The line still shoots as well as day one. The 3D texturing results in greater "mend-ability" and easier roll casts. The line is still clean and casts easily. Great line."
Review 20 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great fly line,
July 17, 2013
By: FlyFisher12
from Fort Worth, TX
"I bought this line last year to fish the rivers in Colorado. It is very good fly line: I have it in 5 weight on a 9 ft Sage One rod. It works with both delicate short ranged casts and those across-the-river casts with mend. It feels like it casts itself.
I would have given it five stars but for the fact that the tip sinks pretty quickly. That's not so good when the line drifts beside a feeding trout before the number 16 dry fly floats overhead. I have to continually dry the line to get it to float even a little bit. Otherwise, it's a good line and I'm not changing.
"