Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hydros 3D WF Trout

The finest textured fly line for trout you can put on a reel. Fully engineered with features to improve your cast and presentation for greater productivity on the stream. Enjoy the feel of minimal friction in your casting stroke. 3D texturing combined with IS, our most versatile trout taper, the new Hy-Flote Tip, and the new and improved welded loop, combine to offer the finest trout line we've ever offered.
Average Customer Rating:
4.721 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (68 reviews)
5 stars
57
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
63 of 68(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Review 1 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
3D WF Trout Line,
December 15, 2014
By: PaineTrain
from SLC, UT
"This Fly Line is by far the best I've used. It fishes excellent in riffles, long runs, pocket water, and cuts through wind dropping you flies as if you were placing them on the water. You won't regret upgrading to the Orvis 3D line to up your fishability, regardless of your fishing style."
Review 2 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product,
December 4, 2014
By: tka55
from Bend OR
"The line throws exceptionally well I would recommend it to anyone."
Review 3 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Worked well until nicked,
October 30, 2014
By: Bill4321
"The fly line worked very well initially. Good casting capability.
The end was crimped by catching on the boat anchor pulley. The line got nicked near the loop end and the last 6-8 inches consistently sank."
Review 4 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
October 19, 2014
By: quailhunter32
from Wichita, KS
"I'm very pleased with the Hydrostatic 3D fly line. It spools as well as it casts."
Review 5 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful,
July 23, 2014
By: Wayzata
from Wayzata, MN.
"Just ended fishing The Snake in WY. with this line. Casts much better than previous experience. This is a winner!"
Review 6 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just buy this line,
June 29, 2014
By: QKSLVR
from Newfoundland, Canada
"Just loaded this line on my 5wt Helios 2. Casts like a dream and shoots like a rifle. Just buy this line. Also love the sound as it flies through the guides."
Review 7 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
May 22, 2014
By: Elliottman
from Gastonia, NC
"I'm new to fly fishing so I bought this line on the advice of a 30 year fly fishing veteran. Boy was he spot on!
Silky smooth and easy to cast. A great product.
"
Review 8 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Hydros 3D Failure,
May 15, 2014
By: GreenManiac
"First use/day using this brand new line on green river in Utah fishing with cicada patterns the first 5 ft of the line was sinking and did not float. Very disappointed. Orvis shop offered to give me my money back and did not care about poor performance of their product!"
Review 9 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casts like a dream,
May 10, 2014
By: Mattroy336
from Bathurst, NB Canada
"This 4Wt line make casting effortless. Floats very well and the olive color makes it very stealthy."
Review 10 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly Line!,
April 7, 2014
By: Taylor62
"Just got the 3D trout line. Love how easy it is to cast. Seems to be almost no friction at all as it passes through the eyes."
Review 11 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great service,
March 12, 2014
By: StanL
from Denver
"It was very convenient to get a new spool for my reel all loaded with new line and backing. The Chat really helped on the product selection."
Review 12 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All I can say is wow!,
November 4, 2013
By: Rookhawk
from Chicago, IL
"This line is remarkably good, arguably the best I've ever used. The product is the ultra premium product offering from Orvis but it is so good that it should be considered for anyone that cares about line sensitivity."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cost too much,
October 22, 2013
By: A111
from Va
"This IS a great product but when does the price overshadow the value? I have never used anything but Orvis lines however this last pruchase will be my last. It's everything they claim but at nearly $100 a spool it's just over the top.
Farewell, Orvis brand lines
"
Review 14 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hugely Better than Sharkskin,
October 4, 2013
By: Patterson60
"An excellent mid point between traditional fly line and the serrated, knife-like texture of the sharkskin line. Really does perform and does not hurt your hands."
Review 15 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice try for first textured line,
September 12, 2013
By: Fishbaydoc
from Richmond, VA USA
"I used this fly line for a year before I wrote this, fly fishing in the Mid-
Atlantic trout fisheries. It casts further than regular line but quickly starts to sink usually by the middle of the day. It needed re-coating (Rio Line dressing) once a day to keep from sinking. I don't think I got sun screen or bug repellent on it it due to fishing in cold weather initially. I had the same problem with the Hydros 3D 8 wt Bonefish line in the Bahamas last year. I will return this line for the regular Hydros line to see if it will work better. Not sure why the line sinks easily; maybe the pits decrease the surface tension... I'm sure Orvis will stand by their products and get it right eventually.
"
Review 16 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfection,
September 3, 2013
By: HackandSnag
from Lubbock, TX
"Well, I thought I had a quality fly line on my reel - this Hydros 3D is outstanding - best line I have ever used! You do get what you pay for. Buy this line without hesitation!"
Review 17 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best fly line,
August 30, 2013
By: Timbikerdude
from Rathdrum, Idaho
"I really like this fly line. It floats very well and shoots thru the rod very well. My only caveat would be that it has a welded loop only on the leader end and not the backing end but a minor inconvenience."
Review 18 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Line,
August 26, 2013
By: Boloni
"I think this is the most amazing line I have ever used. It's designed differently from your typical fly lines. (you can read details of the product for more info). All I can say is that it casts so smooth and so accurate. I can shoot the line so far. I wish Orvis designed a salmon/steelhead line with similarities to this line, because it is so awesome. It is a bit more expensive, but totally worth the money. I will use this line until it breaks, which I doubt will happen anytime soon."
Review 19 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hydros 5 weight,
August 26, 2013
By: Dotts
"My casting improved mightily, and I had so much fun on the Madison!
Thank you Orvis for making it easier for me to make a longer cast, and bring in the lovely rainbow trout!
"
Review 20 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Accurate and Long,
August 20, 2013
By: OldBlueEyes
from Rockbridge, MO
"Changed to this line after fishing the origional line that came with my reel for 14 years. Didn't expect much difference but the ease of casting, accuracy and the distance you get from the line is amazing. Would reccomend spending the extra money for something you will use for years."