Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Hydros 3D WF Trout

The finest trout fly line you can put on a reel. Fully engineered with features to improve your cast and presentation for greater productivity on the stream. Enjoy the feel of minimal friction in your casting stroke. 3D texturing combined with IS, our most versatile trout taper, the new Hy-Flote Tip, and the new and improved welded loop, combine to offer the finest trout line we've ever offered.
Average Customer Rating:
4.734 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (79 reviews)
5 stars
67
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
73 of 79(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Review 1 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Slippery and noisy line,
August 13, 2015
By: Jklmn
from Island Park, ID
"I fished this line in a WF 5 weight with a Winston 8'9" 5-piece WT rod for ten days on the Henry's Fork. The line is very slippery and does shoot incredibly well if you need the distance. While stripping and casting, the textured surface makes a zipping sound as it clears the guides and can cause some abrasion to the index finger of the rod hand. The most troublesome aspect of this line is that it seems to hold water and sprays it when casting. Needless to say, this made for difficult casting to wary trout on gin-clear, gently-flowing water. While on the water one night, I did think that I would have to get new line for the remaining days of my trip in order to get onto some more fish. If you fish in other than spring creek conditions and want/need extra distance, this line may work for you; otherwise, you should skip the textures 3D surface, save some money, and get a line better suited to your needs. It's probably better to practice your casting and even learn the single or double haul rather than rely on the line to get you the extra distance. You may not want to give too much credence to 5-star reviews from those who haven't even fished this line yet."
Review 2 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Slick Line,
July 21, 2015
By: Bishthefish1
from North Yorkshire
"Just bought a four weight line to go with my 6'6" superfine whilst I was on vacation. I tried it out on the small brook near the holiday lodge and found it very slick and effortless to cast. I had adjust my casting style slightly as it took a lot less effort to achieve the same casting distance I would have acheived with the old line. It also cut through a stiff breeze with ease. The only minor down side I could find was that when the line was wet it was a bit difficult to keep hold of the loops when casting as it was so slippery! However it was such a minor down side compared to benefits I can't justify knocking down the score."
Review 3 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly Line,
February 3, 2015
By: PaulWilkinsFromScotland
from West Lothian, Scotland
"Fantastic product. Take my comfortable casting distance and add 20+ foot its that good. The 3D texture makes for smooth casts and it floats superbly."
Review 4 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly line,
January 23, 2015
By: tocold
from Sheffield
"Casts well with effort or line memory
only used twice but am looking forward to using this coming season
"
Review 5 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
can't wait to get on the river,
January 13, 2015
By: Moosieh
from Shepperton,UK
"I cannot wait to get on the river to show the brownies who is boss with the best line on the market."
Review 6 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great lines,
December 30, 2014
By: SalmotruttaFario
from Wellesley MA
"These are high quality lines that cast well and seem to avoid some of the curliness of the cheaper lines. I found the texture a but odd at first - to the point that I thought that the line had been damaged! However I then realise they are supposed to be like that!"
Review 7 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 25, 2014
By: Zinncity
from Houston, tx
"Great product, and it was on sale making it a killer value in the end"
Review 8 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything Needed,
December 17, 2014
By: JCliff
from Greensburg, PA
"For SWPA & NCPA this is all I need for trout fishing. I got this in WF4 and it set well on reel and kept good balance on the rod and reel. Definintely worth the sale price I got it for."
Review 9 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
3D WF Trout Line,
December 15, 2014
By: PaineTrain
from SLC, UT
"This Fly Line is by far the best I've used. It fishes excellent in riffles, long runs, pocket water, and cuts through wind dropping you flies as if you were placing them on the water. You won't regret upgrading to the Orvis 3D line to up your fishability, regardless of your fishing style."
Review 10 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product,
December 4, 2014
By: tka55
from Bend OR
"The line throws exceptionally well I would recommend it to anyone."
Review 11 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Worked well until nicked,
October 30, 2014
By: Bill4321
"The fly line worked very well initially. Good casting capability.
The end was crimped by catching on the boat anchor pulley. The line got nicked near the loop end and the last 6-8 inches consistently sank."
Review 12 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
October 19, 2014
By: quailhunter32
from Wichita, KS
"I'm very pleased with the Hydrostatic 3D fly line. It spools as well as it casts."
Review 13 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful,
July 23, 2014
By: Wayzata
from Wayzata, MN.
"Just ended fishing The Snake in WY. with this line. Casts much better than previous experience. This is a winner!"
Review 14 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just buy this line,
June 29, 2014
By: QKSLVR
from Newfoundland, Canada
"Just loaded this line on my 5wt Helios 2. Casts like a dream and shoots like a rifle. Just buy this line. Also love the sound as it flies through the guides."
Review 15 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
May 22, 2014
By: Elliottman
from Gastonia, NC
"I'm new to fly fishing so I bought this line on the advice of a 30 year fly fishing veteran. Boy was he spot on!
Silky smooth and easy to cast. A great product.
"
Review 16 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Hydros 3D Failure,
May 15, 2014
By: GreenManiac
"First use/day using this brand new line on green river in Utah fishing with cicada patterns the first 5 ft of the line was sinking and did not float. Very disappointed. Orvis shop offered to give me my money back and did not care about poor performance of their product!"
Review 17 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casts like a dream,
May 10, 2014
By: Mattroy336
from Bathurst, NB Canada
"This 4Wt line make casting effortless. Floats very well and the olive color makes it very stealthy."
Review 18 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly Line!,
April 7, 2014
By: Taylor62
"Just got the 3D trout line. Love how easy it is to cast. Seems to be almost no friction at all as it passes through the eyes."
Review 19 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great service,
March 12, 2014
By: StanL
from Denver
"It was very convenient to get a new spool for my reel all loaded with new line and backing. The Chat really helped on the product selection."
Review 20 for Hydros 3D WF Trout
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All I can say is wow!,
November 4, 2013
By: Rookhawk
from Chicago, IL
"This line is remarkably good, arguably the best I've ever used. The product is the ultra premium product offering from Orvis but it is so good that it should be considered for anyone that cares about line sensitivity."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.