Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Faux Lamb's-Wool Coat

This short swing coat in fabulous faux lambswool has plenty of style, from its oversized turn-back cuffs to the big buttons up the front. You'll enjoy it all winter long. Fully lined, with locker loop for hanging and angled pockets. Women's wool coat in natural. Coat: 70% acrylic/30% polyester. Lining: 80% acrylic/20% polyester. Washable. Sizes: S, M, L, XL; about 28" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.415 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
0
37 of 41(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Faux Lamb's-Wool Coat
Review 1 for Faux Lamb's-Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Can't wait for Winter,
September 20, 2012
By: Ivyrose
from Norwich
"This woollen swing coat was exactly as the brochure. Really good fit and not too long for the shorter person. Sure it will be really warm when the temperature drops and looks good with formal and informal clothes,"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Faux Lamb's-Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great add of Jacket,
February 3, 2014
By: Lillibell
from Oregon
"Fun, good looking Jacket, wear anywhere. I like it."
Review 3 for Faux Lamb's-Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cute & Cozy,
January 20, 2014
By: matwep
from Toronto, Ontario, Canada
"This is a lovely little jacket that will be nice on chilly spring or fall days. Well made and does wash well."
Review 4 for Faux Lamb's-Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great, but...,
December 24, 2013
By: Wheelee
from Northern California
"Beautifully made, quality materials, however, it is for a full figured woman. The sleeves are extremely roomy, which didn't work for me because one would catch on my wheelchair joystick."
Review 5 for Faux Lamb's-Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love it!!!,
December 22, 2013
By: Georgiabrown
from Blue ridge mountains
"It is a bit large but you can wear it over anything and it swings around so it doesn't, look or feel big. Just so cuddly I want to sleep in it. The winter white really perks up the drab colors of the season and it looks expensive because of its cut and simplicity."
Review 6 for Faux Lamb's-Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
disappointed,
December 10, 2013
By: reallyhotgrandma
"was not the color shown in catalog... almost a dirty gray cast...also too bulky."
Review 7 for Faux Lamb's-Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Second I Purchased,
December 9, 2013
By: Chazy
"years ago I ordered this jacket in grey and loved it. I recently ordered it in off white and am very happy with it.
Make sure to order you size as they run a bit large.
"
Review 8 for Faux Lamb's-Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous coat,
November 25, 2013
By: Bollymum
from Orpington
"I bought this coat on line having fallen for it totally and have worn it a great deal. However, today I wore it on a flight to Vienna from England and was overwhelmed with compliments! Both from the stewardesses and other folk I met. Yes it is large but it feels SO snuggley that I just don't care - I just LOVE it!!! Get one and you'll feel the same!!!!!"
Review 9 for Faux Lamb's-Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Coat,
November 22, 2013
By: 68chg9n3
from Chicago, IL
"I really like this coat, so cute. While it won't be warm enough for the coldest days in Chicago it's still a warm coat. I usually wear a medium in Orvis products but I got a small in this coat and it fits just right. I got bust measurements from Orvis and chose that way. It's a keeper for sure."
Review 10 for Faux Lamb's-Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Unsatisfactory Workmanship,
November 6, 2013
By: GustavePlace
"I fell in love with this coat upon receiving my catalogue however, upon receipt of beautifully wrapped garment, I discovered that the dart seaming at the shoulders did not lie smoothly and caused slight puckers. I was hopeful that the puckers would work themselves out but after about a month, this has not happened. I also agree that it is a bit oversized."
Review 11 for Faux Lamb's-Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Too much coat.,
November 4, 2013
By: Reprot
"This coat is cute just not on me. I am 5'3 and about 125. I felt like humpty dumpty. I understand it's a swing coat but it felt overwhelming. Also the sleeve opening is too large thus allowing wind up the sleeve. I gave the coat to a 5'7 co-worker and it looks adorable on her."
Review 12 for Faux Lamb's-Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jackets,
September 26, 2013
By: KayBW
from TX
"This is the yummiest feeling jacket. Packed it for WY and it had no wrinkles! It is warm and looks great. Size was my usual Orvis size. I am so pleased!!"
Review 13 for Faux Lamb's-Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fall Jacket,
September 15, 2013
By: surete
from Ontario, Canada
"I saw this jacket in last years catalogue and liked it very much. When I saw it again, I broke down and ordered it. Although I live in Canada, the delivery seemed a litttle slow. When the jacket did arrived, I was glad that I had ordered it. The colour is as shown in the catalogue. I ordered the medium in order to wear it over the heavier fall sweaters, and it fits fine.The lining is very good as well. The only issue I have is that when I opened the box the jacket had a distinct odour. I have hung it up to air and the smell seems to be disappearing."
Review 14 for Faux Lamb's-Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Would be 5 Stars Except...,
January 23, 2013
By: BeJeans
from Near DC
"Love: warm but lighter weight so I don't feel bogged down; somewhat wind proof; great style, washable.
Don't like: like other Orvis items, sizing can be off. I bought this coat a few years ago and wanted a new one. They were a full size off. (I have purchased two identical items in different colors and the sizing has been a size off - with the smaller tagged item actually being the larger one.) Quality control needs to be improved."
Review 15 for Faux Lamb's-Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Coat,
January 18, 2013
By: Stone1953
from Houston, TX
"I bought this coat for my wife, she had told me she would like a faux lambswool coat. I found this coat at Orvis and bought it for her. She absolutely loves this coat. She has commented several times to me on this coat, specifically on the way it wears and looks. She really likes the way you can wear it as a dress coat or simply with a pair of jeans. She mentioned everywhere she goes she gets compliments and on several occasions has been asked where she got it, to which she told them Orvis. Thanks Orvis for another great product!"
Review 16 for Faux Lamb's-Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fun coat,
January 6, 2013
By: remember
from Harrisburg, Pa
"This is definitely a "fun" coat - great with jeans and boots. Would have liked bigger pockets (gloves just barely fit in the pockets) but all in all it is a very nice, cuddly, well made coat."
Review 17 for Faux Lamb's-Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So much promise,
December 31, 2012
By: 4thofJulyGirl
from Medway, MA
"I wanted to love this coat but, sadly, it looked just okay. I ended up exchanging it for a beautiful red coat that looked much more attractive on me."
Review 18 for Faux Lamb's-Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not faux lamb,
December 30, 2012
By: Youarekidding
from Bellevue, WA
"I returned this item. It did not look like lamb but it looked like a fleece jacket. Orvis had a faux lamb jacket a few years ago that was very good. I liked the styling of this one better but the fabric was not faux lamb but fleece like the jippered fleece jackets. Very disappointed!"
Review 19 for Faux Lamb's-Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love it,
December 29, 2012
By: RoanKate
from St. Paul, MN
"I live in Minnesota so there are many winter days when this coat is not warm enough. However, when the temperatures are in the 20s to 40s, it's perfect. I love the fit and have gotten several compliments on it. I't just a very fun coat!"
Review 20 for Faux Lamb's-Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not for grey haired grandmas,
December 29, 2012
By: Idahoan
from Idaho
"This is a beautiful coat I have been admiring. I ordered it. The fit and quality were very good. I returned it because I felt it would be better for a brunette or redhead. I lack the color to wear it well. I returned the coat."