Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Leather/Deerskin Collar

Rich, full-grain bridle leather makes up the outside of this finely crafted leather dog collar and lead. For added comfort, the interior of the collar and lead handle are lined with soft, supple deerhide. Rolled edges on the collar prevent chafing. Solid brass hardware. Leather dog collar and lead in dark brown. For correct collar size, measure dog's neck and add 2". Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.621 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 of 29(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Review 1 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
New Collar,
October 22, 2014
By: Dogwood96791
from Hawaii
"Since we haven't had the collar long enough to review its durability, I only gave it 4 stars. This might be a 5 star product though. It's thick and solid making it perfect for our 110lb dog, yet soft on the inside against his fur. We have used a similar Orvis collar in the past and it lasted years through ocean waters and adventures through brush and trees. We expect this to work just as well."
Review 2 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gorgeous collars - excellent material,
September 2, 2014
By: WestieX3Mom
from Western, NC
"Got tired of throwing away fraying collars bought through other sources. Saw these in the store and loved the material. Fit all three of my westies very well. Really nice."
Review 3 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great collar,
August 14, 2014
By: sundown3900
"I bought this to replace the same item that I purchased when my dog was younger (& smaller). The first collar is still in great condition but just a wee bit too small. I like that the collar is lined in soft deerskin. Some less expensive leather collars and nylon collars I had purchased elsewhere were stiff or had seams/stitching exposed that would probably not have been too comfortable. After all, it is all about the dog!"
Review 4 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A High Quality Product,
July 20, 2014
By: Papadean
from Palos Heights IL
"My English Crème Golden Retriever deserves the BEST! The deerskin lined collar is gentle on the dog's neck area. Also, the outer leather is tough enough to withstand scratches and wear and tear of the everyday activity of the dog!
When you purchase the BEST, it is a lifetime purchase!
"
Review 5 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Collars at a Great Value,
April 29, 2014
By: jwk2
from Milwaukee, WI
"I initially purchased two of these collars for my girlfriend's very energetic pit bull mixes. I eventually ended up buying the matching leads as well as one more collar for her parent's yellow lab. We've had the collars on the dogs for about six months now and they still look brand new. They are made to last and look very handsome on the dogs. If you've been searching for the perfect collar, the search ends here. You've found it. It's a great value for the price."
Review 6 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great collar for all my boys,
April 18, 2014
By: HHReed
from Lancashire, UK
"I love this collar and all 4 of my boys love them too. My only problem is that they seem to be out of stock or beig discontinued.
Please keep them on sale, my youngest still needs a few more sizes!"
Review 7 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great looking/handsome collar,
February 10, 2014
By: KTCS
"Great looking and well made leather dog collar. It's fits our 20lb puppy perfectly- not too big or bulky. The golden stitching goes well with our golden's coat!"
Review 8 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good quality,
January 3, 2014
By: LynnB
from Lancaster, PA
"so far this collar is of good quality, fit is perfect, soft deer skin liner"
Review 9 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality Product,
December 30, 2013
By: Huckleberry0325
"Quality material and workmanship. I looked for the perfect leather collar for a while and am happyI chose this one"
Review 10 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mr.,
November 30, 2013
By: Joemac8
from Joemac8
"This dog collar is made from excellent leather that is consistent in color and thickness. The lined inner collar presents a soft connection between you and your best friend. Years of use and wear appear to be the added gift of this fine, brass appointed USA made harness."
Review 11 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Great piece of leather work!,
May 23, 2013
By: Papadean
from Palos Heights IL
"The bridle leather used on the lead is of the highest quality and workmanship! The deerskin lining by the hand grip really feels soft to the touch. Thuis is a high quality Lead!"
Review 12 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog Collar,
February 18, 2013
By: greekjp
"This collar is exceptional. I would recommend it to anyone considering a comfortable, long lasting product for their dog."
Review 13 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Collar & Leash,
January 12, 2013
By: essmom
from Oakland, CA
"Excellent quality leather. Well made. It is difficult to find leather items such as this with brass fittings. Sometimes they are brass-plated. These seem to be solid brass on both collar & leash.
Two criticisms I would mention: The sizing was difficult to nail down. Somewhere I read you should add 2-3" to the dog's neck measurement, which seemed to work for my order. The other was I would have preferred a collar where you could "tuck in" the extra length of the end of the collar, which this lacks. I still highly recommend these products!"
Review 14 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Love This Collar... but it didn't last,
November 24, 2012
By: vinniesmom
from Belmont, CA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Love this collar as I have gone through several collars trying to find one that did not irritate my Boxers neck. This on worked the best.
My only issue is that it has been less than a year and I am having to replace it due to the stitching coming apart making the collar separate. I just bought another one because it works, but am not happy to have to replace it so soon.
Orvis product are always great quality, so I am hoping it was just something wrong with the one we have and the next one won't fall apart as quickly."
Review 15 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very high quality leash and collar,
October 22, 2012
By: EvaT
from Minneapolis, MN
"The collar is very good looking and my dog seems very comfortable in it. There were enough holes to transition my 6 month old golden doodle into adulthood. The leash is of generous length and withstands a puppy chewing!"
Review 16 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Collar,
September 26, 2012
By: ChloeJake
from Cincinnati, OH
"We purchased this at one of your stores and it was too large so we returned it. They didn't have the size we needed so they sent one to us with free shipping. Nice and easy!
The collar is of high quality and is classy without being too flashy. Excellent value - much nicer than one you'd find at a pet store."
Review 17 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best I've seen for this price,
September 21, 2012
By: mikebee
from NY
"This is truly a great collar. Excellent heavy duty hardware. Nice leather, very thick and a comfortable lining for my boxer. He wears it all the time and it still looks brand new. I highly recommend this collar."
Review 18 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Finally a quality leather collar for little fellas,
September 10, 2012
By: My3K9z
from Philadelphia, PA
"These leather and deerskin collars are well made and sturdy. It has been hard finding leather collars small enough to fit the smaller dog ( < 12 in). It would be nice to have a choice of colors and thickness. That being said, I am very happy with my purchase."
Review 19 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Leash,
September 5, 2012
By: OlivetheIrishTerrier
from Baltimore, MD
"This leash is beautifully made. I expect it to last a lifetime. The leather and stitching are tough and the deerskin detail at the "people end" is super soft. Hopefully, that should take a bit of edge off when my dog is pulling me along."
Review 20 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love it,
May 21, 2012
By: Pipershuman
from snowmass, co
"great leash. comfortable hand loop, fairly priced, and classy looking. holding up to wetness so far too."