Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Leather/Deerskin Collar

Rich, full-grain bridle leather makes up the outside of this finely crafted leather dog collar and lead. For added comfort, the interior of the collar and lead handle are lined with soft, supple deerhide. Rolled edges on the collar prevent chafing. Solid brass hardware. Leather dog collar and lead in dark brown. For correct collar size, measure dog's neck and add 2". Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.565 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 of 23(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Review 1 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great looking/handsome collar,
February 10, 2014
By: KTCS
"Great looking and well made leather dog collar. It's fits our 20lb puppy perfectly- not too big or bulky. The golden stitching goes well with our golden's coat!"
Review 2 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good quality,
January 3, 2014
By: LynnB
from Lancaster, PA
"so far this collar is of good quality, fit is perfect, soft deer skin liner"
Review 3 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality Product,
December 30, 2013
By: Huckleberry0325
"Quality material and workmanship. I looked for the perfect leather collar for a while and am happyI chose this one"
Review 4 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mr.,
November 30, 2013
By: Joemac8
from Joemac8
"This dog collar is made from excellent leather that is consistent in color and thickness. The lined inner collar presents a soft connection between you and your best friend. Years of use and wear appear to be the added gift of this fine, brass appointed USA made harness."
Review 5 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Great piece of leather work!,
May 23, 2013
By: Papadean
from Palos Heights IL
"The bridle leather used on the lead is of the highest quality and workmanship! The deerskin lining by the hand grip really feels soft to the touch. Thuis is a high quality Lead!"
Review 6 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog Collar,
February 18, 2013
By: greekjp
"This collar is exceptional. I would recommend it to anyone considering a comfortable, long lasting product for their dog."
Review 7 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Collar & Leash,
January 12, 2013
By: essmom
from Oakland, CA
"Excellent quality leather. Well made. It is difficult to find leather items such as this with brass fittings. Sometimes they are brass-plated. These seem to be solid brass on both collar & leash.
Two criticisms I would mention: The sizing was difficult to nail down. Somewhere I read you should add 2-3" to the dog's neck measurement, which seemed to work for my order. The other was I would have preferred a collar where you could "tuck in" the extra length of the end of the collar, which this lacks. I still highly recommend these products!"
Review 8 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Love This Collar... but it didn't last,
November 24, 2012
By: vinniesmom
from Belmont, CA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Love this collar as I have gone through several collars trying to find one that did not irritate my Boxers neck. This on worked the best.
My only issue is that it has been less than a year and I am having to replace it due to the stitching coming apart making the collar separate. I just bought another one because it works, but am not happy to have to replace it so soon.
Orvis product are always great quality, so I am hoping it was just something wrong with the one we have and the next one won't fall apart as quickly."
Review 9 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very high quality leash and collar,
October 22, 2012
By: EvaT
from Minneapolis, MN
"The collar is very good looking and my dog seems very comfortable in it. There were enough holes to transition my 6 month old golden doodle into adulthood. The leash is of generous length and withstands a puppy chewing!"
Review 10 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Collar,
September 26, 2012
By: ChloeJake
from Cincinnati, OH
"We purchased this at one of your stores and it was too large so we returned it. They didn't have the size we needed so they sent one to us with free shipping. Nice and easy!
The collar is of high quality and is classy without being too flashy. Excellent value - much nicer than one you'd find at a pet store."
Review 11 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best I've seen for this price,
September 21, 2012
By: mikebee
from NY
"This is truly a great collar. Excellent heavy duty hardware. Nice leather, very thick and a comfortable lining for my boxer. He wears it all the time and it still looks brand new. I highly recommend this collar."
Review 12 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Finally a quality leather collar for little fellas,
September 10, 2012
By: My3K9z
from Philadelphia, PA
"These leather and deerskin collars are well made and sturdy. It has been hard finding leather collars small enough to fit the smaller dog ( < 12 in). It would be nice to have a choice of colors and thickness. That being said, I am very happy with my purchase."
Review 13 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Leash,
September 5, 2012
By: OlivetheIrishTerrier
from Baltimore, MD
"This leash is beautifully made. I expect it to last a lifetime. The leather and stitching are tough and the deerskin detail at the "people end" is super soft. Hopefully, that should take a bit of edge off when my dog is pulling me along."
Review 14 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love it,
May 21, 2012
By: Pipershuman
from snowmass, co
"great leash. comfortable hand loop, fairly priced, and classy looking. holding up to wetness so far too."
Review 15 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A nice lead,
May 3, 2012
By: jsdme
from Bristol, UK
"This lead is long, we didn't expect it to be twice as long as our current lead, but it works well. Loop it in your hand to have the dog close and when you want a little freedom the dog can road a good 6ft away from you.
I use it every day but my wife prefer the old standard length one. The handle is very comfortable to hold with the deerskin lining.
"
Review 16 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fashionable and functiona,
March 20, 2012
By: TinaC
from Mercer Island, WA
"This great leash adds a classy touch while the Orvis logo still reminds others of the outdoor nature of my dog. It is simple but well made so that it will last through the years."
Review 17 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super leash,
March 6, 2012
By: JannyBoo
from Bethesda, MD
"This 6-ft leash is working great for us. I think the stitching along the full length will make it last a long time."
Review 18 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
New dog - New leash,
February 29, 2012
By: newdogowner
from Chgo., IL
"I like this longer leather leash and prefer leather. I wish there was a product to soften it up, but use will make it happen. Hope I get my $10 discount that didn't get applied for accepting receipt of emails."
Review 19 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Leash,
February 10, 2012
By: Mydog
from Benton Harbor, MI
"Appears well made, however question whether it will be too stiff.
I will have to soak it in neatsfoot oil before I can use it.
Toys - have not purchased any lately because you have stopped selling hard-stuffed toys which my dog really likes. The floppy ones just don't do it!"
Review 20 for Leather/Deerskin Collar
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Deerskin Collar,
February 2, 2012
By: ECU12
from Charlottesville, VA
"I (and my puppy Elaine) are very happy with this well made collar. She looks great in it."