Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Barbour® Wessex Jacket

Cold, damp weather is no match for this Barbour men's jacket's 8-oz. waxed pure cotton shell. Designed with utility in mind, Barbour's six-pocket mountaineering-style jacket offers a perfect, weathertight fit, thanks to a drawcord-adjustable waist and hem. Lined hood. Barbour men's jacket in olive. Waxed pure cotton shell. Wipe clean. Imported.Sizes S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 32" long in size large. Heritage fit: Order one size up for a close fit; two sizes up for a larger fit.
Average Customer Rating:
3.97 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
4
25 of 33(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Review 1 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Fit!,
June 11, 2013
By: VedderMan
"After reading all the user reviews here, I was convinced that I would need to ignore the size chart and order one size larger. However, since Orvis only had the Large available, which is what the size chart indicated I should be, I took a chance. And the size chart was right on the money.
I received the jacket, and it is a perfect fit. My chest measures just about 42 inches, so the large was perfect for me. XL would have been too big."
Review 2 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Order one size bigger,
May 16, 2013
By: LoonLaker
"Fantastic jacket constructed in typical Barbour quality. You MUST order one size larger than normal jacket size. Perfect for cool, damp spring or fall days. Lining extends use into colder fall days. You will not be sorry you purchased this jacket. But do order larger size."
Review 3 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect jacket but wrong size,
May 15, 2013
By: orvisbud
from Lansdale Pennsylvania
"Finally saved enough to buy this awesome jacket. Read reviews on line and got worried about it being sized small. Bought a large. Fast shipping etc. Loved the jacket "in person." It was too small. Returned to store. Extra large was not available. Still looking"
Review 4 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ridiculously small for a size large,
March 22, 2013
By: colemanjan
"I was warned by the other reviewers on how small this jacket runs but didn't believe it until I tried the jacket myself. Fortunately I also ordered an extra large on the same order and kept it even though XL is more like a tight size L. Problem is when I returned the Large Orvis charged me $6.95 for the use of their return lable."
Review 5 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flexible,
February 21, 2013
By: outthere
from Wilderness
"This jacket was comfortable from the teens to upper 30s in a recent photo outing. Plenty of pockets add usefulness. I would expect long-term durability to be very good.
When light illuminates it, it looks green (due to wax finish). When away from light source, looks exactly as displayed in catalog--a triumph for designers!"
Review 6 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
was real excited about this jacket,
February 21, 2013
By: RReed
from Huntsville Al
"The Barbour line is so missed sized it ridiculous. I have a 46 chest, ordered an XL , could not get the jacket on. if you order, better order 2 sizes larger"
Review 7 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nicely styled, good quality jacket,
February 20, 2013
By: MisterNiceGuy
from Morris Plains, NJ
"Not my first Barbour, but my first "heritage fit" jacket. In a suit, I'm a 46 jacket and after returning the XL size for a XXL, I was feeling a bit enormous, but honestly the XXL is like a L in the real world.
Love the styling and practicality of the jacket, keeps you warm while looking good in the process. The only minor complaint is that when you first put the jacket on and flip the hood back, the orange wool lining isn't tacked to the outer shell and kind of creates this puffy orange balloon behind your head. Not a deal-breaker by any means for buying one, but just a tiny design flaw in my opinion.
All-in-all, a great, comfortable jacket that garners the occasional "where did you get that jacket from" in the grocery store.
"
Review 8 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Utility Jacket,
February 20, 2013
By: Parley
from New London, CT
"This is my second Barbour jacket. It's a heavier and warmer jacket than my first and a perfect all around utility type jacket. The color is good, especially with the orange contrast inner hood and cuffs.
I would strongly recommend ordering one size larger than what you normally wear. Originally I ordered the large, but had to return it for an extra large. Also, the zipper is left handed, but once you get used to it zipping on the opposite side it is no problem. Typical Barbour quality. A functional and great looking jacket. You won't regret getting this jacket.
"
Review 9 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Quality,
February 16, 2013
By: Closeout762
from Houston, TX
"Couldn't be more satisfied. The Medium size fit almost perfectly, and I'm not a big person (38S). Store staff was informed,and I will recommend to my friends."
Review 10 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The jacket until I waited.,
February 1, 2013
By: OlioFirst
from Choisy le Roi/France
"The jacket until I waited for the winter. Quite enveloping hood, linings teases in top form, classical and original at the same time. It's a pity that the pockets of chest are not provided with bellows as on my "Sapper Jacket". They would be more practical! If not, barbour quality is with go. My first order at Orvis US, perfect service and the UPS delivery on France occurred very well. I confirm the other reviews, it is necessary to take a higher size."
Review 11 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sizing issues with the Wessex,
January 21, 2013
By: dwriter
from washington, DC
"I tried on a Barbour jacket in an Orvis store...I took a size XL. So I ordered a XL in the Wessex. Boy was I shocked when I opened the box. A XL in the Wessex is equal to a Medium in any other jacket. It was so small it was funny. I am only 5 10, 180lb...not a big guy. I thought they sent me a kid's jacket. Anyone buying this needs to order at least two sizes bigger than they normally wear. Unfortunately no one carries larger than size XL so that means I can't get a replacement. Why the sizing difference for this particular jacket? It did look nice though."
Review 12 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best jacket to own,
January 21, 2013
By: seacliffer
from Long Island NY
"This has easily become my favorite.
Well made and almost like it was tailored just for me. Truth is the jacket can be adjusted with its draw cords and not only is it aesthetically pleasing, it is surprisingly warm though very light. Th orange accents the classy hue of the fabric, unbelievable value.
"
Review 13 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Piece,
January 21, 2013
By: HLHCEO
"I read all of the reviews on this item before making my purchase. I am 5'6" and 150 lbs. The Large was a perfect fit."
Review 14 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Mixed Emotions,
January 16, 2013
By: Lieut
"I loved this jacket the moment I saw it. I ordered it a size larger than normal as directed. It was still too small (too tight) and the sleeves were too short. I returned it. Your products should be sized correctly."
Review 15 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Terrific Jacket,
January 6, 2013
By: MleC
from NY, NY and Berkshires
"Warm and practical, this jacket was smart buy.
I would agree that it runs somewhat small, but not excessively so. Sizing up 1x is a good idea but no need to go overboard. I also do not find the sleeves to be short at all (I have an athletic physique with muscular arms of average length).
Had 4.5 stars been an option, I would have selected it. The only thing between this jacket and a perfect rating is the hood lining, which is a bit prominent."
Review 16 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Barbour,
January 3, 2013
By: deewit
"This is my first Barbour jacket and I absolutely love it! It is heavy-weight, so it is great for cold weather. I love the waxed cotton as it works perfectly in the rain. The hood keeps me dry in even the wettest conditions. What really caught my eye about this jacket was the orange trim. It is different than a lot of other Barbour jackets and I liked that. As for sizing, this jacket is tiny. I ordered an XL and normally wear a M in Orvis clothing. The XL fits perfectly. As far as the color goes, it is much greener than what appears in the photo. It is a true olive color, so don't be fooled by the picture, which appears more charcoal."
Review 17 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
classic product & service,
December 31, 2012
By: AK49
from Anchorage, Alaska
"After several years of looking, I finally purchased this Barbour jacket. The styling-more contemporary than most appealed to me. I usually wear a size medium to large- I am 5'9" and 170 lbs. I ordered a large based on other reviews. It was too small-tight in the body and arms and I could barely move my shoulders. I loved the look and quality so exchanged for a size x-large. I received it promptly and was please to find I did not "swim" in it. It fit well including the sleeves. It is a good three season jacket alone and with some layering should be effective on many winter days. I've worn it in temperatures of 20-30 degrees around town . Overall I am very pleased with the quality of this jacket and the excellent customer service of Orvis.
I recommend buying one to two sizes larger than normal. If your a large build you still may find the fit tight.
"
Review 18 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Smart details & well built,
December 2, 2012
By: sLevin
from Rutland, VT
"Well designed with good choices of materials. For example, nylon on the inside towards the bottom for sitting on damp surfaces. Arms fit more snugly than torso so layering with a vest is a good option for warmth. Orange wool trim around hood is good for cutting wind and adding low bulk warmth but can chafe skin."
Review 19 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Mountain Jacket,
November 2, 2012
By: DanY
"A nice light weight water resistant jacket. You definitely have to order a size larger because it is cut close. You can't really swing a shotgun in this garment, even when properly sized."
Review 20 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
very small...,
October 30, 2012
By: JWK9
"Reading several reviews I ordered a larger size; but WOW is it small!!! I had to return the jacket. Also, the Wessex is very heavy for a "jacket". Having said that, the quality appears very nice. If Barbour could produce real world sizing I may consider purchasing again."