Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Wessex Jacket

Cold, damp weather is no match for this Barbour men's jacket's 8-oz. waxed pure cotton shell. Designed with utility in mind, Barbour's six-pocket mountaineering-style jacket offers a perfect, weathertight fit, thanks to a drawcord-adjustable waist and hem. Lined hood. Barbour men's jacket in olive. Waxed pure cotton shell. Wipe clean. Imported.Sizes S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 32" long in size large. Heritage fit: Order one size up for a close fit; two sizes up for a larger fit.
Average Customer Rating:
4.023 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
6
33 of 43(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Review 1 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour Wesses Jacket,
December 15, 2014
By: MGT696
"Amazing product, great quality, and really usefull for almost everyday!"
Review 2 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Only a boss wears this,
December 14, 2014
By: chasingthedream
from Palo Alto, CA
"Flat out the best style and warmth in a travel jacket. Numerous pockets and beautiful fit. I'm 6 foot tall and roughly 240lbs. I choose a XXL. I can stand in the rain and watch my sons football or rugby matches. While others head for the safety of shelter I stand strong and hold my ground with the style and warmth of this jacket."
Review 3 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this classic!,
December 5, 2014
By: Marmeeh
"Bought this for my son and it's going to be a great warm coat to take to college!"
Review 4 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Jacket,
December 4, 2014
By: PAOUTDOORSMAN
from Western Pennsylvania
"Excellent jacket, warm, plenty of pockets, great fit, look forward to many many years of great use. This is why you purchase Barbour, only wish I had purchased sooner."
Review 5 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not Fit for my Usage,
November 26, 2014
By: ColonialTraveler
from Hong Kong
"I purchased this jacket as a replacement for a cold weather 3-in-1 travel jacket.
On arrival and unpacking, the wax of the jacket was almost liquid, and would slough off on contact with any other surface, - hands, furniture, clothing.
This is probably due to the ambient temperature where I live being quite warm, and causing the wax to become highly transmittable.
That being said, it was a good looking jacket, although the lining leaves a lot to be desired (harsh hand-feel, not very well fitted).
I returned the jacket, and received a prompt refund, which is a great service from Orvis.
"
Review 6 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wessex jacket (Barbour),
November 24, 2014
By: russl
from mokena il
"I read all the reviews, and then called customer service, and decided to upsize from my usual large to XL, and when it arrived it fit fine, but would note, not a lot of extra room or slop, but a heavy sweater would be fine.
Quality looks and feels great.
I like it.
Russ"
Review 7 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Buyer beware.,
November 14, 2014
By: dustyrhino
from North Vancouver, BC
"The sizing on this product is ridiculous. Nice quality as you would expect from Barbour. I believe they've mixed up women's sizes with a man's line. I'm a huge Orvis fan and purchaser."
Review 8 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unbreakable Barbour,
October 27, 2014
By: chicco
from Verona, Italy
"Amazing, unbreakable, super styling jacket found only from ORVIS! Perfect purchase in style scrambler bikes!"
Review 9 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
October 2, 2014
By: Sbeale
"As previously mentioned the jacket does run a little small. I typically wear a 44 jacket and ordered the XL (46-48) and it fits great. Jacket is durable and warm but not too big/thick. Can't wait for it to get cold and put it to the test!"
Review 10 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bullet proof quality,
September 18, 2014
By: truckermann
from missouri
"I have owned barbour products before, great quality and durability
well worth the price, this jacket will last longer than I will live!!
Highly Recommended you owe it to yourself once in your life to try Barbour, thank you Orvis
"
Review 11 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Fit!,
June 11, 2013
By: VedderMan
"After reading all the user reviews here, I was convinced that I would need to ignore the size chart and order one size larger. However, since Orvis only had the Large available, which is what the size chart indicated I should be, I took a chance. And the size chart was right on the money.
I received the jacket, and it is a perfect fit. My chest measures just about 42 inches, so the large was perfect for me. XL would have been too big."
Review 12 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Order one size bigger,
May 16, 2013
By: LoonLaker
"Fantastic jacket constructed in typical Barbour quality. You MUST order one size larger than normal jacket size. Perfect for cool, damp spring or fall days. Lining extends use into colder fall days. You will not be sorry you purchased this jacket. But do order larger size."
Review 13 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect jacket but wrong size,
May 15, 2013
By: orvisbud
from Lansdale Pennsylvania
"Finally saved enough to buy this awesome jacket. Read reviews on line and got worried about it being sized small. Bought a large. Fast shipping etc. Loved the jacket "in person." It was too small. Returned to store. Extra large was not available. Still looking"
Review 14 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ridiculously small for a size large,
March 22, 2013
By: colemanjan
"I was warned by the other reviewers on how small this jacket runs but didn't believe it until I tried the jacket myself. Fortunately I also ordered an extra large on the same order and kept it even though XL is more like a tight size L. Problem is when I returned the Large Orvis charged me $6.95 for the use of their return lable."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flexible,
February 21, 2013
By: outthere
from Wilderness
"This jacket was comfortable from the teens to upper 30s in a recent photo outing. Plenty of pockets add usefulness. I would expect long-term durability to be very good.
When light illuminates it, it looks green (due to wax finish). When away from light source, looks exactly as displayed in catalog--a triumph for designers!"
Review 16 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
was real excited about this jacket,
February 21, 2013
By: RReed
from Huntsville Al
"The Barbour line is so missed sized it ridiculous. I have a 46 chest, ordered an XL , could not get the jacket on. if you order, better order 2 sizes larger"
Review 17 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nicely styled, good quality jacket,
February 20, 2013
By: MisterNiceGuy
from Morris Plains, NJ
"Not my first Barbour, but my first "heritage fit" jacket. In a suit, I'm a 46 jacket and after returning the XL size for a XXL, I was feeling a bit enormous, but honestly the XXL is like a L in the real world.
Love the styling and practicality of the jacket, keeps you warm while looking good in the process. The only minor complaint is that when you first put the jacket on and flip the hood back, the orange wool lining isn't tacked to the outer shell and kind of creates this puffy orange balloon behind your head. Not a deal-breaker by any means for buying one, but just a tiny design flaw in my opinion.
All-in-all, a great, comfortable jacket that garners the occasional "where did you get that jacket from" in the grocery store.
"
Review 18 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Utility Jacket,
February 20, 2013
By: Parley
from New London, CT
"This is my second Barbour jacket. It's a heavier and warmer jacket than my first and a perfect all around utility type jacket. The color is good, especially with the orange contrast inner hood and cuffs.
I would strongly recommend ordering one size larger than what you normally wear. Originally I ordered the large, but had to return it for an extra large. Also, the zipper is left handed, but once you get used to it zipping on the opposite side it is no problem. Typical Barbour quality. A functional and great looking jacket. You won't regret getting this jacket.
"
Review 19 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Quality,
February 16, 2013
By: Closeout762
from Houston, TX
"Couldn't be more satisfied. The Medium size fit almost perfectly, and I'm not a big person (38S). Store staff was informed,and I will recommend to my friends."
Review 20 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The jacket until I waited.,
February 1, 2013
By: OlioFirst
from Choisy le Roi/France
"The jacket until I waited for the winter. Quite enveloping hood, linings teases in top form, classical and original at the same time. It's a pity that the pockets of chest are not provided with bellows as on my "Sapper Jacket". They would be more practical! If not, barbour quality is with go. My first order at Orvis US, perfect service and the UPS delivery on France occurred very well. I confirm the other reviews, it is necessary to take a higher size."