Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Wessex Jacket

Cold, damp weather is no match for this Barbour men's jacket's 8-oz. waxed pure cotton shell. Designed with utility in mind, Barbour's six-pocket mountaineering-style jacket offers a perfect, weathertight fit, thanks to a drawcord-adjustable waist and hem. Lined hood. Barbour men's jacket in olive. Waxed pure cotton shell. Wipe clean. Imported.Sizes S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 32" long in size large. Heritage fit: Order one size up for a close fit; two sizes up for a larger fit.
Average Customer Rating:
4.08 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
6
40 of 50(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Review 1 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a few myths about this jacket,
July 27, 2015
By: sometimekingofnewyork
"One is the description of it as the 'perfect Autumn' coat. It's far too thick for Autumn, at least in New York City. I wore it through the winter here and it was fine. Excellent coat and don't believe all this fretting about the sizing being wrong. I usually take a medium and this medium fitted perfectly. Anyway, one of my favourite coats - look after the pocket flaps if you don't want them to bend back all the time."
Review 2 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great coat!,
June 1, 2015
By: Paul2
"Please read the sizing recommendation by Orvis….. I'm a Medium all the way and did not notice that Orvis suggested go up one size. Well a learned the hard way when it came this week I put it on and the medium was way too small….
Thank goodness I bought this in May so I had plenty of time to exchange for a large which fits perfectly.
Highly recommend even though its quite pricy."
Review 3 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really like this Barbour, Wessex!,
January 26, 2015
By: BradG
from Cincinnati, OH
"After 25 years with my last Barbour, I figured it was time for a replacement – I was not disappointed with my Wessex jacket purchase. I especially love the assortment of pockets, hood and drawstring waist cord. I normally fluctuate between a medium and a large (depends on a full vs. slim cut) – chose the large and still have plenty of room for the Orvis duck down vest (color matches the jacket perfectly). The combination is perfect – felt warm last week in Minnesota as well as dry in a driving Kentucky winter rainstorm."
Review 4 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour Wessex,
January 26, 2015
By: Timlin
from Sydney, Australia
"If you want to buy one jacket for all seasons and you want that jacket to last 20-30 years, then look no further than the Barbour Wessex Jacket. The quality of the materials, the construction, the attention to detail is just brilliant. This is something that you could leave in you will to your kids - it really is that good!"
Review 5 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Barbour coat,
December 31, 2014
By: Riccardo
from San Francisco Ca.
"The material that was use for the collar area of the nice looking jacket is very irritating to my neck. Every time I moved my neck it was very rough."
Review 6 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket but be careful,
December 29, 2014
By: Jrysandrs
from Ohio
"Have a number of Barbour jackets and when I saw this I had to have it. It's a fabulous jacket but too warm for late spring, summer and early fall. And even though I waer large, I got an xl knowing Barbour sizing runs small. Well, through the body it was fine but sleeves were so tight had a tough time when wearing sweater or sweatshirt. Just felt 'stuffed'. Just sent back and am going to try the new commando which is a Barbour classic cut and should fit better."
Review 7 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Expensive but so far so good,
December 29, 2014
By: WadeTarzia
from Waterbury, CT
"This was a splurge and risk for me. My only clothing fetish is outdoor jackets, and having been dissatisfied by many on the market (fit and quality), I bet on this one (CONTEXT: My other jacket is an EMS GorTex parka, which is functionally great, but made of light, delicate material easily damaged for this trend in ultra-light camp gear). SWEAT: I hope this Barbour Wessex will not be too sweaty. Only used it in cool weather so far; no problem yet but could use under-arm vents (all waxed jackets should have them). For walking in woods in 35-45F degrees, it has ventilated well because of roomy cut. I hope this will be an October to April jacket: maybe! Have not needed sweater yet -- just a shirt. WEIGHT: It is massive, not for back-packing or faint-hearted! Not bad once worn but friends who pick it up will wonder what steel items you are carrying in pockets. POCKETS: I love all the pockets, quality and location, and actually use most of them. QUALITY: excellent. FIT: Good fit *because* I bought the XXL! Few companies -- even the good ones-- are getting fit right any more! Jeez! Could use a tad more room in armpits, maybe. I am 5'9 180 pounds, not huge, yet I needed the XXL to ensure adequate room for arm motions and loose armpit fit vital for wearing fleece or sweater underneath. The hood is big, which I like. WAXING: Have not yet seen problem with waxed exterior -- has not run and stuck to much, but is wind and waterproof. May be a little breathable; worn in car, for long trips, it has felt OK. SUM: So.... I like it so far, and truly hope it will be a 30 year jacket."
Review 8 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour Wesses Jacket,
December 15, 2014
By: MGT696
"Amazing product, great quality, and really usefull for almost everyday!"
Review 9 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Only a boss wears this,
December 14, 2014
By: chasingthedream
from Palo Alto, CA
"Flat out the best style and warmth in a travel jacket. Numerous pockets and beautiful fit. I'm 6 foot tall and roughly 240lbs. I choose a XXL. I can stand in the rain and watch my sons football or rugby matches. While others head for the safety of shelter I stand strong and hold my ground with the style and warmth of this jacket."
Review 10 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this classic!,
December 5, 2014
By: Marmeeh
"Bought this for my son and it's going to be a great warm coat to take to college!"
Review 11 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Jacket,
December 4, 2014
By: PAOUTDOORSMAN
from Western Pennsylvania
"Excellent jacket, warm, plenty of pockets, great fit, look forward to many many years of great use. This is why you purchase Barbour, only wish I had purchased sooner."
Review 12 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not Fit for my Usage,
November 26, 2014
By: ColonialTraveler
from Hong Kong
"I purchased this jacket as a replacement for a cold weather 3-in-1 travel jacket.
On arrival and unpacking, the wax of the jacket was almost liquid, and would slough off on contact with any other surface, - hands, furniture, clothing.
This is probably due to the ambient temperature where I live being quite warm, and causing the wax to become highly transmittable.
That being said, it was a good looking jacket, although the lining leaves a lot to be desired (harsh hand-feel, not very well fitted).
I returned the jacket, and received a prompt refund, which is a great service from Orvis.
"
Review 13 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wessex jacket (Barbour),
November 24, 2014
By: russl
from mokena il
"I read all the reviews, and then called customer service, and decided to upsize from my usual large to XL, and when it arrived it fit fine, but would note, not a lot of extra room or slop, but a heavy sweater would be fine.
Quality looks and feels great.
I like it.
Russ"
Review 14 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Buyer beware.,
November 14, 2014
By: dustyrhino
from North Vancouver, BC
"The sizing on this product is ridiculous. Nice quality as you would expect from Barbour. I believe they've mixed up women's sizes with a man's line. I'm a huge Orvis fan and purchaser."
Review 15 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unbreakable Barbour,
October 27, 2014
By: chicco
from Verona, Italy
"Amazing, unbreakable, super styling jacket found only from ORVIS! Perfect purchase in style scrambler bikes!"
Review 16 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
October 2, 2014
By: Sbeale
"As previously mentioned the jacket does run a little small. I typically wear a 44 jacket and ordered the XL (46-48) and it fits great. Jacket is durable and warm but not too big/thick. Can't wait for it to get cold and put it to the test!"
Review 17 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bullet proof quality,
September 18, 2014
By: truckermann
from missouri
"I have owned barbour products before, great quality and durability
well worth the price, this jacket will last longer than I will live!!
Highly Recommended you owe it to yourself once in your life to try Barbour, thank you Orvis
"
Review 18 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Fit!,
June 11, 2013
By: VedderMan
"After reading all the user reviews here, I was convinced that I would need to ignore the size chart and order one size larger. However, since Orvis only had the Large available, which is what the size chart indicated I should be, I took a chance. And the size chart was right on the money.
I received the jacket, and it is a perfect fit. My chest measures just about 42 inches, so the large was perfect for me. XL would have been too big."
Review 19 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Order one size bigger,
May 16, 2013
By: LoonLaker
"Fantastic jacket constructed in typical Barbour quality. You MUST order one size larger than normal jacket size. Perfect for cool, damp spring or fall days. Lining extends use into colder fall days. You will not be sorry you purchased this jacket. But do order larger size."
Review 20 for Barbour® Wessex Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect jacket but wrong size,
May 15, 2013
By: orvisbud
from Lansdale Pennsylvania
"Finally saved enough to buy this awesome jacket. Read reviews on line and got worried about it being sized small. Bought a large. Fast shipping etc. Loved the jacket "in person." It was too small. Returned to store. Extra large was not available. Still looking"