Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Powell Jacket

This Cheslea-style winter jacket for men is constructed with polar quilt material for a supremely lightweight, cozy fit. Stand collar lends an edgy feel to the overall design, along with slanted snap pockets and zipper pocket. Zip front with snap storm flap. Rear snap tabs for slight adjustments at the waist. 100% polyester outer. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). Contemporary Fit. See size chart for details.
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
30 of 33(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Review 1 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift, great fit,
December 13, 2014
By: Erin0220
from Richmond, VA
"I bought this jacket in olive as a gift for my boyfriend. The fit is true to size, perfect weight, and handsome! He loved it"
Review 2 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Zipper is VERY hard to close.,
December 1, 2014
By: Noname1010
from Memphis Tennessee
"Zipper hard to close
Size is not true ----XXL is a XL
Would NOT purchase a Barbour Jacket again.
"
Review 3 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Slim and great,
December 1, 2014
By: Jgrips
"I was looking to get a Barbour but was concerned about it being bulky. I tried the Powell and was very pleased by the slimmer fit. I ended up getting a large and it fits great. It's tight around my biceps, but l deal with it. 6'2" 180lbs"
Review 4 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great looking very warm,
November 24, 2014
By: honestreview2014
from Atlanta, GA
"I saw several reviews here saying this jacket runs a little small. I have found that not to be true. The jacket runs true to size but is a tailored fit (both in terms of shoulder size and length of sleeves). I would go a size up only if you are larger / muscular.
In terms of the jacket it looks much more nicely made than the Chelsea (tried on both). However you should also know this is a very warm jacket and much thicket/heavier than the Chelsea. Therefore if you are looking for something for 50-60s I would probably go for something lighter."
Review 5 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warmest thing around!,
November 17, 2014
By: Tom987
from Chesterland, OH
"I have come to expect very high quality from both Barbour and Orvis, but this coat exceeded my expectations. The craftsmanship in the construction is superb, but what is even more important is that it is incredibly warm and yet slim and lightweight. An early November cold snap arrived just after the coat, and it was everything I needed. The sizing in this coat is trimmer than usual Orvis, but it fit me just fine."
Review 6 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gorgeous Coat and Handsome,
November 5, 2014
By: jelewis
from Boston, MA
"I bought this coat for my husband who is more of a barn / waxed coat wearer. Too my surprise he really likes it and wears it all of the time now. It's well made. Simple, yet elegant."
Review 7 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good purchase- well made!,
October 15, 2014
By: Admiral316
from Milwaukee, WI
"I originally ordered the XL as I went with everyone's recommendation to go up one size. This was too large for me and should have stayed with my normal size. The L fits perfectly with enough room for a heavy sweater underneath. I am 6'1" 185 pounds if that helps."
Review 8 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great business and casual jacket,
October 12, 2014
By: Pitts2014
from Indianapolis, IN
"This jacket is the highest quality and very comfortable. I use it for business travel and then it fits in my carry on perfectly."
Review 9 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ridiculous Sizing,
October 9, 2014
By: Rondo123
"The XL jacket came out of the bag, I put it on, way too small. I doubt if even an XXL would fit. All my other wardrobe pieces are XL. It is on it's way back."
Review 10 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid, stylish jacket,
October 8, 2014
By: TLCV
"Solid Barbour quality as expected. Well made, warm. Slimmer, more stylish fit than a lot of Barbour products."
Review 11 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Paul,
October 3, 2014
By: PaulJT
from Australia
"I travel overseas a lot so look for flexible and smart clothing . This fits both bills perfectly - can't wait to travel with my new purchase .
The fit is 'slim' but The L just works for me . I won't be layering it much but if you like to layer definitely get one size up
"
Review 12 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Toasty,
September 16, 2014
By: Robert0
from Chicago, IL
"1) Definitely buy a size up from what you normally do, these are cut pretty narrow in the shoulders.
2) This coat is very warm, so if you're looking for something like this to wear in 50-60 degree weather get the Chelsea jacket. If you're like me and you live in Chicago where fall is more like 40s and 50s and windy, this is the jacket for you."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So impressed,
September 4, 2014
By: prairiekuchen
from Sioux Falls, SD
"My husband wanted this jacket and I bit the bullet and ordered it. I thought it was too expensive. I opened the package and it is beautiful. Really. It would have taken a lot to impress me - and it did."
Review 14 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fantastic jacket,
May 29, 2014
By: islandskyads
from long island new york
"Super high quality and the fit was perfect. Order a size up."
Review 15 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic product,
March 20, 2014
By: Nhtodd
from Manchester, NH
"As with other Barbour products I have purchased this is a very high quality product. As others have mentioned buy one size larger than normal as I found it ran a little small in the shoulders. Also note it has a European style zipper meaning it zips on the opposite side you are used to. This is a perfect jacket to wear under a shell as it is not bulky at all."
Review 16 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Powell Jacket,
February 3, 2014
By: Bjammin
from Boston, MA
"Great stylish jacket for winter. More tailored than other Barbour jackets. Great quality."
Review 17 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Awesome jacket,
January 27, 2014
By: Micavw310
from Monroe, MI
"Read the reviews and ordered an XL. True to the reviews about the jacket running small, the XL fits me great. Warm, looks good, lots of compliments."
Review 18 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Choice,
January 17, 2014
By: Jason123
from D.C.
"I was in the market for a quilted for quite a while and when I tried on the Powell I was immediately hooked. The fleece liner on the inside makes it a much warmer jacket than most other quilted jackets (Barbour or others). It is worth every penny and I feel the price is lower than other jackets that are similar in style. I will say thought that if you usually wear a Large jacket get the XL if you are ordering online and are not able to try it on. I am 5'11'' and 180 and I wear a L in most jackets but the XL in the Powell is a much more comfortable fit. If you are looking for a warm quilted jacket that you can wear out or to work in the winter months this is a perfect choice."
Review 19 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent weight,
January 16, 2014
By: sgio
from Eastern NC
"great for cold and moderate weather, warm, stylish and comfortable."
Review 20 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing jacket,
January 15, 2014
By: MarathonMom28
"I purchased the Barbour Powell Jacket as a gift for my husband. He LOVES it. (He has many coats!) This is one of his favorites. The fit is perfect and the quality is top notch. The leather piping on the trim ads the perfect finishing touch."