Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Powell Jacket

This Cheslea-style winter jacket for men is constructed with polar quilt material for a supremely lightweight, cozy fit. Stand collar lends an edgy feel to the overall design, along with slanted snap pockets and zipper pocket. Zip front with snap storm flap. Rear snap tabs for slight adjustments at the waist. 100% polyester outer. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). Contemporary Fit. See size chart for details.
Average Customer Rating:
4.621 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
27 of 29(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Review 1 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warmest thing around!,
November 17, 2014
By: Tom987
from Chesterland, OH
"I have come to expect very high quality from both Barbour and Orvis, but this coat exceeded my expectations. The craftsmanship in the construction is superb, but what is even more important is that it is incredibly warm and yet slim and lightweight. An early November cold snap arrived just after the coat, and it was everything I needed. The sizing in this coat is trimmer than usual Orvis, but it fit me just fine."
Review 2 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gorgeous Coat and Handsome,
November 5, 2014
By: jelewis
from Boston, MA
"I bought this coat for my husband who is more of a barn / waxed coat wearer. Too my surprise he really likes it and wears it all of the time now. It's well made. Simple, yet elegant."
Review 3 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good purchase- well made!,
October 15, 2014
By: Admiral316
from Milwaukee, WI
"I originally ordered the XL as I went with everyone's recommendation to go up one size. This was too large for me and should have stayed with my normal size. The L fits perfectly with enough room for a heavy sweater underneath. I am 6'1" 185 pounds if that helps."
Review 4 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great business and casual jacket,
October 12, 2014
By: Pitts2014
from Indianapolis, IN
"This jacket is the highest quality and very comfortable. I use it for business travel and then it fits in my carry on perfectly."
Review 5 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ridiculous Sizing,
October 9, 2014
By: Rondo123
"The XL jacket came out of the bag, I put it on, way too small. I doubt if even an XXL would fit. All my other wardrobe pieces are XL. It is on it's way back."
Review 6 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid, stylish jacket,
October 8, 2014
By: TLCV
"Solid Barbour quality as expected. Well made, warm. Slimmer, more stylish fit than a lot of Barbour products."
Review 7 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Paul,
October 3, 2014
By: PaulJT
from Australia
"I travel overseas a lot so look for flexible and smart clothing . This fits both bills perfectly - can't wait to travel with my new purchase .
The fit is 'slim' but The L just works for me . I won't be layering it much but if you like to layer definitely get one size up
"
Review 8 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Toasty,
September 16, 2014
By: Robert0
from Chicago, IL
"1) Definitely buy a size up from what you normally do, these are cut pretty narrow in the shoulders.
2) This coat is very warm, so if you're looking for something like this to wear in 50-60 degree weather get the Chelsea jacket. If you're like me and you live in Chicago where fall is more like 40s and 50s and windy, this is the jacket for you."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So impressed,
September 4, 2014
By: prairiekuchen
from Sioux Falls, SD
"My husband wanted this jacket and I bit the bullet and ordered it. I thought it was too expensive. I opened the package and it is beautiful. Really. It would have taken a lot to impress me - and it did."
Review 10 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fantastic jacket,
May 29, 2014
By: islandskyads
from long island new york
"Super high quality and the fit was perfect. Order a size up."
Review 11 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic product,
March 20, 2014
By: Nhtodd
from Manchester, NH
"As with other Barbour products I have purchased this is a very high quality product. As others have mentioned buy one size larger than normal as I found it ran a little small in the shoulders. Also note it has a European style zipper meaning it zips on the opposite side you are used to. This is a perfect jacket to wear under a shell as it is not bulky at all."
Review 12 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Powell Jacket,
February 3, 2014
By: Bjammin
from Boston, MA
"Great stylish jacket for winter. More tailored than other Barbour jackets. Great quality."
Review 13 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Awesome jacket,
January 27, 2014
By: Micavw310
from Monroe, MI
"Read the reviews and ordered an XL. True to the reviews about the jacket running small, the XL fits me great. Warm, looks good, lots of compliments."
Review 14 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Choice,
January 17, 2014
By: Jason123
from D.C.
"I was in the market for a quilted for quite a while and when I tried on the Powell I was immediately hooked. The fleece liner on the inside makes it a much warmer jacket than most other quilted jackets (Barbour or others). It is worth every penny and I feel the price is lower than other jackets that are similar in style. I will say thought that if you usually wear a Large jacket get the XL if you are ordering online and are not able to try it on. I am 5'11'' and 180 and I wear a L in most jackets but the XL in the Powell is a much more comfortable fit. If you are looking for a warm quilted jacket that you can wear out or to work in the winter months this is a perfect choice."
Review 15 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent weight,
January 16, 2014
By: sgio
from Eastern NC
"great for cold and moderate weather, warm, stylish and comfortable."
Review 16 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing jacket,
January 15, 2014
By: MarathonMom28
"I purchased the Barbour Powell Jacket as a gift for my husband. He LOVES it. (He has many coats!) This is one of his favorites. The fit is perfect and the quality is top notch. The leather piping on the trim ads the perfect finishing touch."
Review 17 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very sharp jacket, runs a bit small,
December 29, 2013
By: Twirlygirl
from Seattle, Wa
"Bought this for my husband. He is a very muscular and broad shouldered man who normally does well in a size which will accommodate a 48-50" chest. (Normally an XXL) Though we are choosing to keep this jacket because it looks so great on him, I would have been better off with a 3XL (which isn't an option) so he won't be able to wear a thick sweater underneath. But the leather trim is awesome and the angled pockets give this coat an updated and contemporary look. The snap tabs in the back are great too because you can narrow the waist if you like. He adores it!"
Review 18 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Style and Function,
December 26, 2013
By: Lynbrook
"Jacket fit great - offers a classic style with a modern look."
Review 19 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
December 25, 2013
By: SGG2013
from Harrisburg, PA
"Purchased this jacket for my 25 year old professional son for a gift. Size was perfect. Looks great. He loves it!!"
Review 20 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Modern style w/ traditional quality,
December 21, 2013
By: NewEnglandPickyShopper
from MA and FL
"Got this for my husband. He loves it for when it's quite chilly but he still wants to look "metro" and "outdoorsy" at the same time. He's very picky about jackets and has bought many in search of just the right ones for the right conditions. He really likes this one. It's masculine and contemporary; designed and constructed well. The L fit is great. Still plenty of room for sweater or polar fleece. Thanks.
(He's 5'11,170lb.)
"