Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Powell Jacket

This Cheslea-style winter jacket for men is constructed with polar quilt material for a supremely lightweight, cozy fit. Stand collar lends an edgy feel to the overall design, along with slanted snap pockets and zipper pocket. Zip front with snap storm flap. Rear snap tabs for slight adjustments at the waist. 100% polyester outer. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). Contemporary Fit. See size chart for details.
Average Customer Rating:
4.737 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 of 19(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Review 1 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic product,
March 20, 2014
By: Nhtodd
from Manchester, NH
"As with other Barbour products I have purchased this is a very high quality product. As others have mentioned buy one size larger than normal as I found it ran a little small in the shoulders. Also note it has a European style zipper meaning it zips on the opposite side you are used to. This is a perfect jacket to wear under a shell as it is not bulky at all."
Review 2 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Powell Jacket,
February 3, 2014
By: Bjammin
from Boston, MA
"Great stylish jacket for winter. More tailored than other Barbour jackets. Great quality."
Review 3 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Awesome jacket,
January 27, 2014
By: Micavw310
from Monroe, MI
"Read the reviews and ordered an XL. True to the reviews about the jacket running small, the XL fits me great. Warm, looks good, lots of compliments."
Review 4 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Choice,
January 17, 2014
By: Jason123
from D.C.
"I was in the market for a quilted for quite a while and when I tried on the Powell I was immediately hooked. The fleece liner on the inside makes it a much warmer jacket than most other quilted jackets (Barbour or others). It is worth every penny and I feel the price is lower than other jackets that are similar in style. I will say thought that if you usually wear a Large jacket get the XL if you are ordering online and are not able to try it on. I am 5'11'' and 180 and I wear a L in most jackets but the XL in the Powell is a much more comfortable fit. If you are looking for a warm quilted jacket that you can wear out or to work in the winter months this is a perfect choice."
Review 5 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent weight,
January 16, 2014
By: sgio
from Eastern NC
"great for cold and moderate weather, warm, stylish and comfortable."
Review 6 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing jacket,
January 15, 2014
By: MarathonMom28
"I purchased the Barbour Powell Jacket as a gift for my husband. He LOVES it. (He has many coats!) This is one of his favorites. The fit is perfect and the quality is top notch. The leather piping on the trim ads the perfect finishing touch."
Review 7 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very sharp jacket, runs a bit small,
December 29, 2013
By: Twirlygirl
from Seattle, Wa
"Bought this for my husband. He is a very muscular and broad shouldered man who normally does well in a size which will accommodate a 48-50" chest. (Normally an XXL) Though we are choosing to keep this jacket because it looks so great on him, I would have been better off with a 3XL (which isn't an option) so he won't be able to wear a thick sweater underneath. But the leather trim is awesome and the angled pockets give this coat an updated and contemporary look. The snap tabs in the back are great too because you can narrow the waist if you like. He adores it!"
Review 8 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Style and Function,
December 26, 2013
By: Lynbrook
"Jacket fit great - offers a classic style with a modern look."
Review 9 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
December 25, 2013
By: SGG2013
from Harrisburg, PA
"Purchased this jacket for my 25 year old professional son for a gift. Size was perfect. Looks great. He loves it!!"
Review 10 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Modern style w/ traditional quality,
December 21, 2013
By: NewEnglandPickyShopper
from MA and FL
"Got this for my husband. He loves it for when it's quite chilly but he still wants to look "metro" and "outdoorsy" at the same time. He's very picky about jackets and has bought many in search of just the right ones for the right conditions. He really likes this one. It's masculine and contemporary; designed and constructed well. The L fit is great. Still plenty of room for sweater or polar fleece. Thanks.
(He's 5'11,170lb.)
"
Review 11 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A little edgier,
December 7, 2013
By: Doggerel
from Woodbury, CT
"My husband collects Barbour and this caught my eye bec of its leaner look. Be warned therefore--you will have to go up a size.
That said its a great looking jacket
at a very appealing price.
"
Review 12 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 6, 2013
By: musicmaker
from boston, ma
"This jacket is very stylish and yet you can wear it causal, too.
I have been looking for a jacket something like this for a very long time and very happy with my purchase.
"
Review 13 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for late fall or for lightweight winter,
November 12, 2013
By: bmh42
from Boston, MA
"I am a big fan of this coat. It looks really nice and you can wear it casual on the weekend or to a professional work environment. I typically wear a Large and went up a size to an XL so that it would work over layers. If you are really fit or slim you should probably go with your standard size, but if you want it a little less fitted or have a bit larger waistline the go up one size. It's a really nice looking coat and I've received a couple of compliments after only wearing it for a couple of weeks. It was cold/windy today (low 30s) and I was very comfortable. All in all, I would highly recommend."
Review 14 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Barbour powell review,
November 28, 2012
By: Mar12
from New York
"at first, I only heard of Barbour via "Orvis"...then I looked them up and checked their product line , company and so forth....
I'll admit I was toying with geting a "quilted blazer"...but everyone I saw screamed "Dandy"...then I saw this jacket..
Key features that caught my eye, its black meaning it can be worn pretty much anywhere with anything, I like the pocket layout,I wouldnt consider them hand warmers...but thats why they make gloves .I also that it has a " ticket pocket and is a bit fitted"....this follows a trend of the whole "savile row" come back meaning alot of decent blazers are fitted and sport the ticket pocket, in this day and age that little extra pocket comes in very handy for smart phones, even keys providing the pocket or pockets dont bulge from being stuffed . the fitted style is nice,sleeves are fitted aswell (beware of bulky sleeve shirts) gives a bit of a blazer feel with a standing collar, but mind you if you plan to wear a sweater, or just like a little walking room, get one size larger, I can fit a large in most products but opted for the xl just incase....wise choice, i'm 5'9 and the xl fit is perfect, the jacket may hang an inch or two lower but for this kind of jacket that works, and lucky for me the sleeves are acceptable because the ends are finished in a leather like material and to have them taken up would mean losing that extra detail, its comfortable, cozy.
If I were to change anything i would give atleast one proper inside pocket instead of the "to deep" liner space it has now
,water proof would be nice prividing it didint change the color or texture, but overall a good fall/light winter jacket
"
Review 15 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour Powell is fantastic,
November 27, 2012
By: sweetjackt
from Cincinnati
"This is a wonderful jacket. It is all the style of a Barbour coat, incredibly comfortable and very warm. I generally get too hot in winter coats and this jacket is perfect for me. An important note regarding sizing: if you are "between sizes" (for example, I generally go between a L and XL), you should definitely get the larger size. I think this coat runs a little small, particularly because it is a slim tailored-cut. What a great jacket, I strongly recommend it to anyone."
Review 16 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fall/winter jacket,
November 20, 2012
By: rv7700
"Excellent jacket. Fleece lining adds warmth. Stand collar has more contemporary look. Cut is more narrow than described - had to order one size larger than I typically wear."
Review 17 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Jacket,
November 28, 2011
By: amg5t
"This is a terrific jacket, very warm, very stylish, If you are taller than 6'3" it may be a little too short."
Review 18 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warm, Stylish but Extra Slim Fit Jacket,
November 26, 2011
By: ChicagoLobbyist
from Chicago, IL
"Can't fault the jacket, which if it fit would be a keeper. Nice appearance, great material, but awkward fit. Warm quilted jacket, with lined sleeves help get your sleeves in and out without fuss. However, for a 43 Reg, the XL jacket is very snug in the shoulders, back and arms. Better for a tall extra trim man rather than anyone with broad shoulders and chest. The sleeves probably fit someone tall as well; i wear a 34" sleeve and the sleeves on this jackets were about 2-3" too long."
Review 19 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice, but...,
November 14, 2011
By: Anonymous
from White Plains, NY
"Nice-looking jacket, but I had to return it. Sleeves were way too long for me, and the overall length and cut (except the chest/shoulders) were too big & long. I'm 5'4" and 138lbs and it didn't fit. The XS would likely be far too tight in the upper section. A shame; I was looking forward to wearing it :o("