Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Powell Jacket

This Cheslea-style winter jacket for men is constructed with polar quilt material for a supremely lightweight, cozy fit. Stand collar lends an edgy feel to the overall design, along with slanted snap pockets and zipper pocket. Zip front with snap storm flap. Rear snap tabs for slight adjustments at the waist. 100% polyester outer. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). Contemporary Fit. See size chart for details.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
42 of 45(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Review 1 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour Exellence,
March 30, 2015
By: FishHuntNY
from New York, NY
"After owning many designer jackets and coats, Barbour, time and time again delivers it's infamous quality. Many quilted jackets do not stand the test of time, and lose their eloquence after a season. Being an owner of a few Barbour products, I decided after years to add to the collection and have been more than happy with my recent purchase of the Powell Jacket. You will not be let down, it's well worth the price paid."
Review 2 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
March 20, 2015
By: ChrisBB88
from Boston, MA
"Delivered on the Barbour brand-name quality. Great fitting and looking jacket with adjustable width on the sides.. perfect for cold and chilly weather through the winter - especially helpful in Boston!"
Review 3 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My New Favorite,
February 19, 2015
By: RyanMB
from Philadelphia, PA
"Wow, let me tell you, I got this jacket on super-sale at the end of the season. I read all the reviews, "sizes run big", "wide in the mid-section", etc.. But I ordered it anyway in the XL instead of the L, although I probably could've fit in the L. I'm 5'8 with an athletic wide-build, and while this is just a bit wide in the midsection, when over a button up with a sweater and scarf it's perfect...tomorrow here in Philadelphia it's going to be a record low of -25 possibly, and the only problem I'm going to have is keeping my face warm because this jacket feels like a million bucks when I put it on and head outside.
The leather and corduroy trim with the liner really make this an amazing buy for the price, I'd recommend to anyone..I'm just hoping the snaps hold up. Thanks!
"
Review 4 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
February 16, 2015
By: DDinKY
from Louisville, KY
"I was looking for a warm, casual, stylish jacket - something in between a ski coat and a formal top coat, and this fits the bill perfectly. Very warm, slim fit but not tight. Great quality you expect from Barbour."
Review 5 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very nice jacket,
February 9, 2015
By: IanJ231
from Traverse City, MI
"I really do like this jacket, I have been wanting to buy it for awhile now and I'm glad I did. There are a couple things I wasn't super thrilled about but nothing major. I was surprised it didn't have a inside pocket, I liked the outer zippered pocket, but a inside one would have been nice. Also it felt a little big to me, good length on everything, but it just felt like it was for a bigger person than me. Very warm though."
Review 6 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
January 24, 2015
By: GregCiv
from Raleigh, NC
"Very pleased. I was worried after reading reviews about sizing. I found the guide to be helpful and it fits perfectly. Quality is unrivaled. Jacket is stylish and functional. Highly recommended."
Review 7 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stylish and classic,
December 31, 2014
By: Deshon
"Received a black one as a gift and overall I'm very pleased. It's both stylish and classic, and so far great in temperatures in the low 30s. Sizing does run small - I'm only 5'8", 155 lbs, and I couldn't move in the Medium. The Large is just right, especially when wearing a sweater."
Review 8 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent value,
December 19, 2014
By: felliott
from St George, UT
"Believe me when I say this well designed and warm jacket is an excellent value. Functional jackets that have even a semblance of tailoring are rare and often expensive. The superb two way zipper is a real bonus when you sit in the car.The craftsmenship is far superior to the price and best of all it fits comfortably. Thank you Orvis and Barbour."
Review 9 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nice but not a true Barbour,
December 18, 2014
By: CarefulSailor
from New Jersey
"I did a Lot of research before ordering this jacket. It is very comfortable and seems to be warm (although I haven't worn it outside), but has a few nagging features which you may be able to look past.
Pros: fleece lining, slim fit, leather(?) trim, Barbour name,
Cons: lack of freedom of movement with sleeves (you could never shoot or fish with this jacket, or drive for a long time), stiff collar, 80's style shape to the shoulders, plastic zipper, difficult to close buttons, more like brown than olive in color, pocket flaps stick out (like the flying nun) when unbuttoned (again, more buttons that are difficult to close).
The zipper is not a normal Barbour metal zipper, like you have on a Beaufort or Bedale. It's plastic colored to look like metal. The pull, however, is what you would expect on a Barbour.
The buttons are difficult to close. There's also a seam down the front of the jacket next to the buttons that, I'm told, is distracting in appearance when you first look at it.
It is definitely slim -- I am a 42R with 34 sleeve -- the Large was snug with a dress shirt and light sweater underneath. It is slim fitting in the mid section -- if you have a belly, take this into consideration because the jacket will accentuate that feature.
The combination of the stiff collar and shoulder shape made it look like a Star Trek uniform.
I ultimately decided to return this jacket because it wasn't what I expected. I am looking forward to Orvis' great customer service in processing my return.
I'll hope Barbour comes out with something better in 2015."
Review 10 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Gem Of A Jacket,
December 17, 2014
By: Nottinghamiron
from Grosse Pointe, MI
"Barbour got it right with this one--it's warm and well made, altogether stylish and yet timeless."
Review 11 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift, great fit,
December 13, 2014
By: Erin0220
from Richmond, VA
"I bought this jacket in olive as a gift for my boyfriend. The fit is true to size, perfect weight, and handsome! He loved it"
Review 12 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Zipper is VERY hard to close.,
December 1, 2014
By: Noname1010
from Memphis Tennessee
"Zipper hard to close
Size is not true ----XXL is a XL
Would NOT purchase a Barbour Jacket again.
"
Review 13 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Slim and great,
December 1, 2014
By: Jgrips
"I was looking to get a Barbour but was concerned about it being bulky. I tried the Powell and was very pleased by the slimmer fit. I ended up getting a large and it fits great. It's tight around my biceps, but l deal with it. 6'2" 180lbs"
Review 14 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great looking very warm,
November 24, 2014
By: honestreview2014
from Atlanta, GA
"I saw several reviews here saying this jacket runs a little small. I have found that not to be true. The jacket runs true to size but is a tailored fit (both in terms of shoulder size and length of sleeves). I would go a size up only if you are larger / muscular.
In terms of the jacket it looks much more nicely made than the Chelsea (tried on both). However you should also know this is a very warm jacket and much thicket/heavier than the Chelsea. Therefore if you are looking for something for 50-60s I would probably go for something lighter."
Review 15 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warmest thing around!,
November 17, 2014
By: Tom987
from Chesterland, OH
"I have come to expect very high quality from both Barbour and Orvis, but this coat exceeded my expectations. The craftsmanship in the construction is superb, but what is even more important is that it is incredibly warm and yet slim and lightweight. An early November cold snap arrived just after the coat, and it was everything I needed. The sizing in this coat is trimmer than usual Orvis, but it fit me just fine."
Review 16 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gorgeous Coat and Handsome,
November 5, 2014
By: jelewis
from Boston, MA
"I bought this coat for my husband who is more of a barn / waxed coat wearer. Too my surprise he really likes it and wears it all of the time now. It's well made. Simple, yet elegant."
Review 17 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good purchase- well made!,
October 15, 2014
By: Admiral316
from Milwaukee, WI
"I originally ordered the XL as I went with everyone's recommendation to go up one size. This was too large for me and should have stayed with my normal size. The L fits perfectly with enough room for a heavy sweater underneath. I am 6'1" 185 pounds if that helps."
Review 18 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great business and casual jacket,
October 12, 2014
By: Pitts2014
from Indianapolis, IN
"This jacket is the highest quality and very comfortable. I use it for business travel and then it fits in my carry on perfectly."
Review 19 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ridiculous Sizing,
October 9, 2014
By: Rondo123
"The XL jacket came out of the bag, I put it on, way too small. I doubt if even an XXL would fit. All my other wardrobe pieces are XL. It is on it's way back."
Review 20 for Barbour® Powell Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid, stylish jacket,
October 8, 2014
By: TLCV
"Solid Barbour quality as expected. Well made, warm. Slimmer, more stylish fit than a lot of Barbour products."