Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Boiled Wool Stand-Collar Jacket

Boiled wool has been prized for centuries for its lightweight, warm, and soft qualities. Our flattering shaped jacket combines the comfort of boiled wool with a sophisticated silhouette. Stand collar. Front-button closure. Welt pockets. Fully lined. Wool stand collar jacket for women in teal blue, dark raspberry. Wool outer; polyester lining. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: XS(4), S(6-8), M(10-12), L(14-16), XL(18-20); about 23" long.
Average Customer Rating:
3.96 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
8
1 star
1
38 of 50(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Boiled Wool Stand-Collar Jacket
Review 1 for Boiled Wool Stand-Collar Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Jacket,
July 28, 2014
By: Loua
from Fort Worth, TX
"This is a beautifully fitting jacket, true to size. The color is more blue than the picture but a very pretty color. I will enjoy wearing this this fall and winter."
Review 2 for Boiled Wool Stand-Collar Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gorgeous color,
July 4, 2014
By: Cheney
from Deep South
"This jacket is a gorgeous, rich teal blue that's hard to find. I've given it 4 stars rather than 5 only because I had to exchange it for the next larger size. I found it wide at the shoulders, long in the arms but close across the bust. I could have worn it unbuttoned but would have been uncomfortable. Larger size is a bit big, but I have the option of moving the buttons. Overall, very warm fabric; nice looking; exceptional color. I look forward to wearing it this fall. Should be great with mock turtles, stand collar blouses or a scarf at the neck."
Review 3 for Boiled Wool Stand-Collar Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Jacket purchase,
June 10, 2014
By: ElversonWalker1
from Elverson, PA
"This jacket does not disappoint. The fit and size are true. It is one of the most comfortable jackets I've ever had."
Review 4 for Boiled Wool Stand-Collar Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not quite as online picture,
May 21, 2014
By: o000
from Collierville, TN
"The Jacket is beautiful and will be a great gift for my wife. However, I thought from the picture it would be more of a Teal Green color, it actually is a Teal Blue color. I believe it will still go with the skirt I bought as well, but would have rather have had the more green color as pictured in the online add!"
Review 5 for Boiled Wool Stand-Collar Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Boiled Jacket Color,
May 13, 2014
By: Lamby
"While I admired the style of this jacket, the color in the catalogue read much lighter than the turquoise it turned out to be. I therefore returned the jacket. I fully realize the chance with color that one takes when ordering from a catalogue source."
Review 6 for Boiled Wool Stand-Collar Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Real Classy Look,
May 12, 2014
By: MJBskro
from The Dalles, OR
"When I bought the white standup collared blouse, I love it, but when I found the Boiled Wool Stand-Collar Jacket to wear with it, what a perfect combination. They look great together, and the jacket is really trimming to the body. The only thing I had to do was have the arms shortened on the jacket since my arms are shorter than most people. I would highly recommend this to anyone."
Review 7 for Boiled Wool Stand-Collar Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
May 12, 2014
By: Arpie
from New York, NY
"The turquoise one I ordered was not the same color shown either in the catalogue or on the web. Much darker, so disappointing."
Review 8 for Boiled Wool Stand-Collar Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality impeccable,
April 9, 2014
By: BarbRN1981
from On line order
"Absolutely fabulous. Quality is true to Orvis and is hard to beat. This jacket is ffully lined, warm for cool nights and comfortable during the daytime. I would definately reccomend this article of clothing, as it has the high quality of the Orvis clothing line. Thank you to Orvis."
Review 9 for Boiled Wool Stand-Collar Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A wool addict,
March 25, 2014
By: AWG5
from Wisconsin
"I have many boiled wool jackets/coats and thought I would try this Orvis boiled wool due to the price. I love the style, boiled wool texture and teal color. However, I normally wear a small or petite medium by Orvis and found this jacket to be very over-sized. Pewter buttons would have made this jacket very classy verses the dyed-to-match ones. I continue to shop at Orvis because you have high-quality clothing and excellent service."
Review 10 for Boiled Wool Stand-Collar Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stylish jacket,
March 5, 2014
By: Ingepan
from Conroe, TX
"I love this jacket. It feels comfortable and looks chic. The size is what it should be. The sleeves run a bit at the long side.
The jacket leaves enough room for a blouse and a tee underneath.
"
Review 11 for Boiled Wool Stand-Collar Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not for me,
February 28, 2014
By: geth
from Meriden, CT
"Did not like the color; it was not as pretty as on line. Also, the collar area was not satisfactory. Hard to find a blouse to wear under it and yet a turtleneck wasn't right either.
The sleeves were too long. Being wool it would have meant going to a tailor to have them properly altered. I returned the jacket.
"
Review 12 for Boiled Wool Stand-Collar Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Jacket!,
February 16, 2014
By: Simplyscott
from Fredericksburg, Va.
"I simply love this jacket. It fits beautifully and is well tailored and nicely finished in every way. The shaped silhouette is very slimming and flattering, and the fabric is lovely, warm, and comfortable to wear, not at all stiff. I didn't think the raspberry color would suit my complexion, so I bought the teal, which is a soft, understated color, exactly what I expected and a good color for me. Sizing seems just about perfect, and the jacket looks great whether I button it up or not. I've worn it dressed it up with a silk scarf tucked into the neckline, and I've made it go casual with a turtleneck underneath. Altogether, it's a classy piece that I'll enjoy for years to come. I'd definitely buy other colors if Orvis expanded the options."
Review 13 for Boiled Wool Stand-Collar Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just what I wanted.,
February 12, 2014
By: SZlovesDogsandStreams
from Snowmass Vlg., CO
"I wanted a jacket to wear over my sleeveless dress in the colder weather. This jacket is lined, with nice boiled wool and is a perfect fit. I would like to see nicer buttons. But, I will wear this jacket a lot!"
Review 14 for Boiled Wool Stand-Collar Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jacket gift,
February 10, 2014
By: anno
from Salisbury, CT
"I gave this jacket to my daughter from online and it was perfect in every way. thank you."
Review 15 for Boiled Wool Stand-Collar Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A pretty jacket!,
January 22, 2014
By: allegria8
from San Francisco Bay Area
"I have a collection of Austrian boiled wool jackets and I found the Orvis version comfortable and not itchy at all. This is a shapely style and happy to report that it looks great on me. The Medium is perfect: I am short-waisted, 36 B and have been told I have a 'broad' back....I tend to buy Large items at other stores because that's what fits but am thrilled that I am a Medium here at Orvis. I bought the Raspberry to wear with a skirt for a February wedding. I recently got the Blue because of this happy shopping outcome."
Review 16 for Boiled Wool Stand-Collar Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely Jacket,
January 16, 2014
By: CallyMac1
from West Tn
"I love the teal color combined with boiled wool, and this boiled wool is much softer and more comfortable than traditional boiled wool."
Review 17 for Boiled Wool Stand-Collar Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boiled Wool,
January 16, 2014
By: Haydn
"I bought this for my wife for Christmas. She loved it!! The quality of the workmanship and the stylishness were excellent. It was a perfect fit and a great Christmas."
Review 18 for Boiled Wool Stand-Collar Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I was looking for,
January 5, 2014
By: SweaterLady
from Alaska
"The quality of this jacket is not under-represented in the description. The work to create this is done very well. I enjoy the feel of sliding into this jacket. I love the color and the feel. It will be my new "go-to" jacket."
Review 19 for Boiled Wool Stand-Collar Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Made the Cut!,
December 27, 2013
By: BradN
from Hanover, NH.
"Every year I buy my wife clothes, and every year she say's, "It's nice, but I won't wear it".
This is code for "I am returning it"!
However, this year is a first. The Teal boiled jacket is a hit and she likes it and PLANS TO KEEP IT!"
Review 20 for Boiled Wool Stand-Collar Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great jacket,
December 22, 2013
By: Hillheadseal
from Hampshire
"Saw a friend wearing this, asked where she got it, went onto the website and bought it that evening. Love it. Particularly like the way it will blend with a variety of other colours, and can be worn with different neck styles beneath - round neck, polo, shirt etc."