Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan

A timeless design rich in Irish heritage, this classic style is crafted in Ireland of the finest merino wool. Our zip-front cardigan sweater's multi-cable pattern finds its roots in centuries of knitting in small Irish fishing villages. Ribbed stand collar, cuffs, and hem. Deep kanga front pockets. Pure wool. Hand wash. County Kildare, Ireland. Sizes: S(6-8), M(10-12), L(14-16), XL(18-20); about 24" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.703 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
63 of 64(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Review 1 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gets compliments!,
February 11, 2015
By: MaryMM
"Selected the rich green color--immediately got compliments the first time I wore it. The sweater is warm and cozy, and the pockets are particularly nice to have on days when you can wear the sweater without a coat. The sweater is generously proportioned, and it's helpful to buy it in a size that permits layering of a shirt or turtleneck underneath. Looks great with jeans!"
Review 2 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My favorite sweater,
February 9, 2015
By: Phalenopsis
from Charlottesville,VA
"I have worn the sweater daily since I have gotten it and just love it. The fit and the light oatmeal color and the warmth are all just perfect. Best new sweater that I have!"
Review 3 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sweater is so good I bought 4!,
February 1, 2015
By: TNRita
from Tennessee
"My first purchase was the oatmeal. I loved the sweater so much I eventually bought one of each color, red, blue, and green. I love them! If worn over a long sleeve shirt, I can dash from the house to the car outside and then from the car into the store without feeling the cold. I like the pockets. I like the zipper. I like everything about this sweater. If I wear wool next to my skin, I get a rash, but I fixed this by wearing a long sleeve shirt underneath it. The sweater has a high collar. One day I wore the sweater with a jewel neck shirt underneath and the wool drove my neck crazy, So the solution! Now I wear a turtle neck with it. Love, love, love these sweaters. Wool cannot be beat for warmth. And I love they are from Ireland. The sweaters wash well, too. Cold water hand wash or if machine like mine has hand wash cycle, that worked for me, too."
Review 4 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Winter Consolation,
January 27, 2015
By: devotedcustomer
from northwestern NJ
"I bought this sweater for a friend who's always cold. She's been wearing it almost constantly, delighted with the consoling warmth and the caressing softness."
Review 5 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm blue irish creation in wool...,
January 26, 2015
By: Barb23
from New Haven, CT
"Exceptional work skill evident throughout this beautiful sweater. It is very warm and it has generated many compliments. I recommend it highly. It is classy."
Review 6 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Nice Sweater,
January 6, 2015
By: FrancesUpstate
from Upstate NY
"This is a very nice and very warm sweater. The reason it got four stars rather than five is because the front where the zipper is, sort of gets mis-shapen after several wearings. Not really bad, but enough to not be perfect. Not enough to reject the sweater for sure. I chose the green one. It is the color of spring grass. I chose size Medium and that is perfect for me. I am 5'6" and weigh 135 lbs, small chest. I do not like tight fitting clothing. The medium fits trim enough to look the right size, without being baggy, but it does not pull and hug my body at all either. The pockets are great. I'm happy with the purchase. Pretty pricey. But most times, you get what you pay for."
Review 7 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderous sweater,
December 25, 2014
By: AnnInSeattle
"Love the red color which blends with many other shades of red during the holiday season. The knitting is of high quality and the zipper has a smooth action with an ergonomic pull that is lovely to the touch. It has barely come off since its arrival."
Review 8 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Irish Sweater,
December 25, 2014
By: Kikilee
from Missouri
"It's beautiful and will be for years to come. Sizing is accurate."
Review 9 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm, Just What I Wanted,
December 21, 2014
By: htweed
"I could tell the difference right away when I put this lovely wool sweater on. It's keeping me very warm, and looking great at the same time!"
Review 10 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Luxurious sweater,
December 19, 2014
By: DrShemp
from Peoria, Illinois
"This was a gift. Luxurious sweater. Looks better than in on line catalog."
Review 11 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
December 16, 2014
By: EFliny
from Glen Head, NY
"Originally ordered a medium and the sweater was huge. the small was a much better fit. The zipper is a bit hard to start on both sizes. It is easier if you hold the bottom of the zipper when you pull it up. Overall, a nice warm sweater. Good quality like most Orvis items"
Review 12 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Sweater,
December 15, 2014
By: KLUB
"I purchased this sweater in red and it is beautiful and warm. I know I will wear many times during the winter. It fit nicely - true to size."
Review 13 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I Bought Five!,
November 28, 2014
By: TNRita
from Tennessee
"I bought the oatmeal color first. I loved this sweater so much that I bought 3 more- I of each color, red, green, blue. It is so warm and I love the cable knit! I love wearing each of my sweaters!"
Review 14 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
November 25, 2014
By: Cherylpurls
from Stowe, VT.
"This beautiful sweater is a must have for sweater lovers. My cousin purchased one for me last year in green and one for herself in red. We both love them. I just bought a red one for this holiday season. Absolutely love it!"
Review 15 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best sweater I have had so far,
November 24, 2014
By: Comfy28
"The blue color is so beautiful. The style is perfect for work and casual. I'm glad that I've got it before it sold out so fast every year."
Review 16 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife LOVES this sweater,
November 21, 2014
By: CdnAggie56
from Waterloo, Ontario
"Using for Christmas trip from a warmer clime back to Canada. She hates the cold and this is helping her over that. Beautiful color, light yet substantial, soft to the touch...,couldn't be happier"
Review 17 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this sweater.,
November 14, 2014
By: ridershrink
from Maryland
"I ordered it in green which closely matches the green in the picture. The kangaroo style pocket is slightly offset, but I love it anyway. Plus, there is no itch to this merino wool."
Review 18 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful blue sweater,
November 5, 2014
By: ElizabethAnne1956
from Arkansas
"I haven't worn this sweater yet. I bought it for a trip to colder weather. It is a beautiful blue that works well for me. The large size fits me very well and the sleeves are not too long, which is usually the case, unless I get a petite. I don't anticipate not being pleased with its performance."
Review 19 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice look but...,
October 27, 2014
By: MyGuy
from PA
"Overall i like the sweater because color is vibrant and it has a good weight. However i will return it for a larger size since i think it runs a bit small and not as soft as claimed. In addition the zipper is hard to use after repeated tries so i'm hoping the new one will be better. At this premium price point i want a this sweater to be exactly right and hoping it will be."
Review 20 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good quality,
September 5, 2014
By: Wubadubdub
from Spain
"I ordered the red one and the colour is more of a wine red rather than the brighter colour that it looks like on line. However, the colour is lovely and rich and the finish of this cardigan is very good. It is also a perfect length, very often too long for my liking but not this one. Have not worn it out yet as the temperature here is still topping 30c but I sure it will be perfect for the winter. Thank you ORVIS"