Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan

A timeless design rich in Irish heritage, this classic style is crafted in Ireland of the finest merino wool. Our zip-front cardigan sweater's multi-cable pattern finds its roots in centuries of knitting in small Irish fishing villages. Ribbed stand collar, cuffs, and hem. Deep kanga front pockets. Pure wool. Hand wash. County Kildare, Ireland. Sizes: S(6-8), M(10-12), L(14-16), XL(18-20); about 24" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (54 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
53 of 54(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Review 1 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
December 16, 2014
By: EFliny
from Glen Head, NY
"Originally ordered a medium and the sweater was huge. the small was a much better fit. The zipper is a bit hard to start on both sizes. It is easier if you hold the bottom of the zipper when you pull it up. Overall, a nice warm sweater. Good quality like most Orvis items"
Review 2 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Sweater,
December 15, 2014
By: KLUB
"I purchased this sweater in red and it is beautiful and warm. I know I will wear many times during the winter. It fit nicely - true to size."
Review 3 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I Bought Five!,
November 28, 2014
By: TNRita
from Tennessee
"I bought the oatmeal color first. I loved this sweater so much that I bought 3 more- I of each color, red, green, blue. It is so warm and I love the cable knit! I love wearing each of my sweaters!"
Review 4 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
November 25, 2014
By: Cherylpurls
from Stowe, VT.
"This beautiful sweater is a must have for sweater lovers. My cousin purchased one for me last year in green and one for herself in red. We both love them. I just bought a red one for this holiday season. Absolutely love it!"
Review 5 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best sweater I have had so far,
November 24, 2014
By: Comfy28
"The blue color is so beautiful. The style is perfect for work and casual. I'm glad that I've got it before it sold out so fast every year."
Review 6 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife LOVES this sweater,
November 21, 2014
By: CdnAggie56
from Waterloo, Ontario
"Using for Christmas trip from a warmer clime back to Canada. She hates the cold and this is helping her over that. Beautiful color, light yet substantial, soft to the touch...,couldn't be happier"
Review 7 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this sweater.,
November 14, 2014
By: ridershrink
from Maryland
"I ordered it in green which closely matches the green in the picture. The kangaroo style pocket is slightly offset, but I love it anyway. Plus, there is no itch to this merino wool."
Review 8 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful blue sweater,
November 5, 2014
By: ElizabethAnne1956
from Arkansas
"I haven't worn this sweater yet. I bought it for a trip to colder weather. It is a beautiful blue that works well for me. The large size fits me very well and the sleeves are not too long, which is usually the case, unless I get a petite. I don't anticipate not being pleased with its performance."
Review 9 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice look but...,
October 27, 2014
By: MyGuy
from PA
"Overall i like the sweater because color is vibrant and it has a good weight. However i will return it for a larger size since i think it runs a bit small and not as soft as claimed. In addition the zipper is hard to use after repeated tries so i'm hoping the new one will be better. At this premium price point i want a this sweater to be exactly right and hoping it will be."
Review 10 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good quality,
September 5, 2014
By: Wubadubdub
from Spain
"I ordered the red one and the colour is more of a wine red rather than the brighter colour that it looks like on line. However, the colour is lovely and rich and the finish of this cardigan is very good. It is also a perfect length, very often too long for my liking but not this one. Have not worn it out yet as the temperature here is still topping 30c but I sure it will be perfect for the winter. Thank you ORVIS"
Review 11 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The cardigan I wanted,
February 20, 2014
By: Pellegrina
from Italy
"This is a type of cardigan I've been looking for, and so I'm glad I found it. The fit was good, and the workmanship seems good. The color is a bit more towards the emerald green shade than it appears in the photo.
I ordered two cardigans at the same time from Orvis, both the same size. The other was much too small. So either this one runs large or the other runs small. From the size charts, this seems to be the right size."
Review 12 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good mix!,
January 16, 2014
By: Welsie
from Ruxton, MD
"Great green color!
+
Soft!
+
Warm but not bulky!
+
little bit of Ireland!
=
It's a keeper!
"
Review 13 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
January 15, 2014
By: TheTuff
from Canonsburg PA
"Moving from the Carolina's to the snow globe of Pennsylvania. Perfect sweater with a perfect fit. Love the color too."
Review 14 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well made sweater,
January 15, 2014
By: Schoolhouse
from Pennsylvania
"This sweater is well made,beautiful,and very warm. I would have kept this sweater if it had been a large. But they were all sold out.."
Review 15 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Christmas Red,
January 15, 2014
By: QualitySnob
from Pennington, NJ
"Not only was this a great sweater for the recent stint of frigid weather, it is a great sweater even when it is not so cold. The wool is great in that it beathes so that it is not too warm. I think the sizing is a bit generous. I had to exchange for a smaller size, but now it is great! I can't wait to wear it for Valentine's Day - it is a perfect red!"
Review 16 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wife Loved it,
January 15, 2014
By: kuntur
from tennessee
"I try to purchase my wife a special article of clothing for Christmas each year. I really impressed her with my choice this year. My wife loved the sweater. The fit was perfect and the material and workmanship exceeded my expectations."
Review 17 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cozy sweater!,
January 15, 2014
By: Dogtender
"This sweater is well constructed, beautiful and warm on the coldest winter days! I would buy it again."
Review 18 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
January 7, 2014
By: JimPG
from Beverly, MA
"My daughter and I bought this sweater for my wife as a Christmas gift. My wife loves it and has gotten a number of compliments on it."
Review 19 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great sweater,
December 26, 2013
By: Badname
"Sweater fits, well, is well made, I love the color (royal blue) and it is wonderfully warm. I work in it everyday"
Review 20 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great cardigan,
December 25, 2013
By: Lyndall
from Carmel, Ca.
"This is the nicest Irish knit sweater I've had in many years. Nice pockets,and it's just substantial enough for Monterey Cal.'s warmer sunny winter days, and the blue color is perfect.
With thanks for having such a nice product available online."