Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan

A timeless design rich in Irish heritage, this classic cardigan is crafted in Ireland of the finest merino wool. Its multi-cable pattern finds its roots in centuries of knitting in small Irish fishing villages. Ribbed stand collar, cuffs, and hem. Deep kanga front pockets. 100% wool. Hand wash. Ireland.Sizes: S, M, L, XL; about 24" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.682 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
43 of 44(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Review 1 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The cardigan I wanted,
February 20, 2014
By: Pellegrina
from Italy
"This is a type of cardigan I've been looking for, and so I'm glad I found it. The fit was good, and the workmanship seems good. The color is a bit more towards the emerald green shade than it appears in the photo.
I ordered two cardigans at the same time from Orvis, both the same size. The other was much too small. So either this one runs large or the other runs small. From the size charts, this seems to be the right size."
Review 2 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good mix!,
January 16, 2014
By: Welsie
from Ruxton, MD
"Great green color!
+
Soft!
+
Warm but not bulky!
+
little bit of Ireland!
=
It's a keeper!
"
Review 3 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
January 15, 2014
By: TheTuff
from Canonsburg PA
"Moving from the Carolina's to the snow globe of Pennsylvania. Perfect sweater with a perfect fit. Love the color too."
Review 4 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well made sweater,
January 15, 2014
By: Schoolhouse
from Pennsylvania
"This sweater is well made,beautiful,and very warm. I would have kept this sweater if it had been a large. But they were all sold out.."
Review 5 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Christmas Red,
January 15, 2014
By: QualitySnob
from Pennington, NJ
"Not only was this a great sweater for the recent stint of frigid weather, it is a great sweater even when it is not so cold. The wool is great in that it beathes so that it is not too warm. I think the sizing is a bit generous. I had to exchange for a smaller size, but now it is great! I can't wait to wear it for Valentine's Day - it is a perfect red!"
Review 6 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wife Loved it,
January 15, 2014
By: kuntur
from tennessee
"I try to purchase my wife a special article of clothing for Christmas each year. I really impressed her with my choice this year. My wife loved the sweater. The fit was perfect and the material and workmanship exceeded my expectations."
Review 7 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cozy sweater!,
January 15, 2014
By: Dogtender
"This sweater is well constructed, beautiful and warm on the coldest winter days! I would buy it again."
Review 8 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
January 7, 2014
By: JimPG
from Beverly, MA
"My daughter and I bought this sweater for my wife as a Christmas gift. My wife loves it and has gotten a number of compliments on it."
Review 9 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great sweater,
December 26, 2013
By: Badname
"Sweater fits, well, is well made, I love the color (royal blue) and it is wonderfully warm. I work in it everyday"
Review 10 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great cardigan,
December 25, 2013
By: Lyndall
from Carmel, Ca.
"This is the nicest Irish knit sweater I've had in many years. Nice pockets,and it's just substantial enough for Monterey Cal.'s warmer sunny winter days, and the blue color is perfect.
With thanks for having such a nice product available online."
Review 11 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely Beautiful,
December 24, 2013
By: Rosey09
from PA
"Beautiful sweater, very nice fit. I wanted a zip front sweater. The pockets are handy, though not really necessary. The knit is very lovely and I get many compliments."
Review 12 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
size error?,
December 23, 2013
By: janbeth
"LOVE the color, but this gorgeous sweater is too small for me. I usually wear a Large. I bought XL so I could wear it over turtlenecks, shirts, etc.
SO DISAPPOINTED! Had to return."
Review 13 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am so grateful !,
December 21, 2013
By: candiris
from GreenValley, AZ
"I am 78, 5'4, weigh 183 and was afraid the style of this sweater will not look nice on me, I took the risk. I like all the four colors, following my husband's advice, pick the oatmeal in large size. The fit was perfect, the style make me look nice and slender, and the color looks beautiful on my light beige skin and white hair. I feel well dress. It was a little itchy on my neck, to avoid that I am wearing it with silk scarfs,
neck shirts or tees. When it arrives, I modeled to my husband. He liked it so much. that he took the sweater, wrap a red big ribbon around it and put a a check for $200. inside a pocket and gave back to me saying: " It looks beautiful on you, let me give it to you as my Christmas present." He was feeling more happy than me! This wonderful feeling is a truth for any human being: It feels better to gift than to receive.
"
Review 14 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful,
December 17, 2013
By: joanc
from Connecticut
"Purchased this as gift for my mom. She loves irish wool sweaters and they are just not easy to come by any more. She's going to love the zip up feature. She is also on the petite side so one word of caution the sleeves fit perfectly, no rolling them up, which is common for her. So if you have long limbs this might not be the sweater for you. But it' s beautiful and expertly constructed."
Review 15 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Almost Perfect,
December 16, 2013
By: Choosytwo
from Dallas, TX
"Love the warmth of this sweater, hard to find good wool sweaters anymore. However, the front neck pokes into my chin - too high. I am going to turn the front neckline in and sew it down into a modified neckline, then it will be almost perfect."
Review 16 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Sweater,
December 11, 2013
By: grosbeak
from Michigan
"The fit and style of this sweater is perfect and the color (red) is just gorgeous. I'm very pleased with the quality of the material and the workmanship. This sweater more than met my expectations - it is warm and stylish!"
Review 17 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Second Time around,
December 11, 2013
By: reldieb
from NE PA
"She liked it so much last year, I bought her a second one, in a different color this year"
Review 18 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful sweater,
December 7, 2013
By: Ann7
"This sweater fit me perfectly and is very warm. I love it!"
Review 19 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful sweater,
December 4, 2013
By: Liupan
from Ohio
"This is one of the prettiest sweater I've ever seen, and I wanted so much to keep it. Unfortunately, I wear a plus size, and though Orvis's XL usually fits me perfectly, this sweater was too snug. I returned it very reluctantly and will buy it again as soon as I succeed in losing more weight."
Review 20 for Zip-Front Irish Tweed Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I needed,
November 22, 2013
By: lizzzzi
from Youngstown, OH
"I wanted a traditional Aran sweater in a color, and expected to have to order from Ireland. I was placing an Orvis order for some other items, so took a chance on this sweater, and am so glad I did. The blue color is gorgeous, and the large is true to size. The zipper seems to be good quality and zips up and down with no snagging, and there is plenty of sleeve length. This sweater comes from Ireland, and is a beautiful, quality product--exactly what I was looking for for casual wear."