Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Barbour® Porchester Leather Jacket

Luxurious washed leather version of a great Barbour style. Detachable cord collar with full throat latch and Barbour tartan lining. Traditional Barbour bellows pockets on the bottom and handwarmer pockets above. Full snap storm flap over front zip. Nylon drip strip. Inner patch pocket. In brown. Leather. Professionally clean. Imported.Sizes XXL(50-52); about 32½" long in size S. Contemporary Fit. See size chart for details.
Average Customer Rating:
3.154 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
1
7 of 13(54%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Porchester Leather Jacket
Review 1 for Barbour® Porchester Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
way small!,
December 18, 2013
By: stevcard
from cal
"nice product but size mismarked, at least 2 sizes too small in xxl. couldn't even get one arm in it! hope I'm not on the hook for return shipping!"
Review 2 for Barbour® Porchester Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice buy!Great looking jacket!,
October 18, 2013
By: 2bornot2b
"I bought this on sale. Looks nice and feels great. Plenty of pockets! I especially like the handwarmer pockets. It is a fine example of a high quality jacket that Barbour always delivers. I recommend you order a size larger than your normal size as I did."
Review 3 for Barbour® Porchester Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not up to the usual Orvis standard,
September 27, 2013
By: Matchman
from Ottawa Canada
"The leather was quite mottled and not the more uniform brown in the picture. It looked well made but I did not care for the fit. I am big in the chest and shoulders and usually take an XL. This one felt restrictive in the shoulders but would have been too large elsewhere if a larger version had been available. Orvis customer service took it back with their usual grace and style."
Review 4 for Barbour® Porchester Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not what it seems,
August 29, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Mass.
"The color is a much lighter then the pictures. It has a very heavy liner in it.
The sleeves have elastic were the liner ends, was not comfortable, I did not like that. The leather was very soft and nice but the fit was not me.
"
Review 5 for Barbour® Porchester Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Careful on the fit,
August 11, 2013
By: MCThree
from NC
"This jacket looks great and the leather is first class. Unfortunately it is not sized like any other Barbour or Orvis jacket I own. If you have shoulders, you need to order one size larger than normal. Good news for those size Large who didn't see it in stock but had to return mine. For this price, if it fits its a great buy."
Review 6 for Barbour® Porchester Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
soft and light,
April 23, 2013
By: aware
"Pleasantly surprised at how light this jacket is. The leather is quite soft. Some oddities - there is an extra inner set of zippers, possibly for an extra liner - will be inquiring of Orvis. Same question about snaps under the collar, which might go with a hood that is not sold with the jacket. So evaluation is a work in progress."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Barbour® Porchester Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best jacket-coat I've ever owned,
December 28, 2012
By: Tom209
from Covington, KY
"This jacket fits better, and is warmer than other coats I have. Also, this leather jacket is very comfortable in that is fits loosely... unlike the bulky thicker heavy winter coats I have. In addition, it get a lot of people's attention... I've had friends walk up and touch it, then, comment about how soft it feels."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Barbour® Porchester Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best gift ever,
December 28, 2012
By: Chava
from Hemet ca
"Love the customer service and happy with the jacket my husband loved it..,,"
Review 9 for Barbour® Porchester Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nice, but...,
October 31, 2012
By: Yankee1
"At first, I loved the jacket. I still do, but after less than a year, the seams are opening up. It isn't the rugged construction that I expected from Barbour. The coat is warm and looks great, or at least it did until the seams started to open up. Mine is worn as a casual to dress coat and doesn't get heavy abuse. I expected something that would stand up to hunting conditions and was willing to pay for that type of quality. What I got was not worth the money."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Barbour® Porchester Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bad Description of a Well Made Jacket,
September 8, 2012
By: FloridaConch
from Florida
"While I certainly think the ovearll quality of this jacket, though overpriced, is in line with other Barbour jackets, Orvis' description of it falls far short of the various strengths and weaknesses of this jacket. Given its $1200 price tag, one would think that Orvis would take more care (and pride) in describing it. This is essentially a Classic Barbour wax cotton jacket (sans hood) in leather. It is a much heavier jacket than described, and has a very large, oversized game pouch in the rear with zippers at both ends. It is also not, as Barbour describes it, a Continental fit. I had to ask several Orvis service folks about sizing and, based on what they told me and the Continental cut, I ordered an XL, which swallowed me whole. My only other problem with the jacket is that Barbour has somehow managed to discolour the leather, which means that instead of the original beautiful colour, it is a bit discoloured and not terribly attractive. On the other hand, it is well constructed but certainly not the jacket advertised by Orvis. So I chose to send it back. I can't imagine anyone would want to spend this much money on what is essentially a very expensive leather field jacket."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Barbour® Porchester Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The long-awaited purchase,
July 27, 2012
By: SC495
from Saint Petersburg, SC
"I am very glad that I finally managed to buy this thing! After all, I was waiting for this moment since November 2011. Due to the inability to export to Russia moshy order was canceled.But during a trip to NYC my order was carried out in three days. Thank you!"
Review 12 for Barbour® Porchester Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Small,
December 26, 2011
By: rrsin
from midwest
"Beautiful coat, but small for size, especially through chest and arms. Other larger sizes sold out, so unable to determine if next larger size would have fit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Barbour® Porchester Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not quite what I wanted,
November 27, 2011
By: gpmdownunder
"the Porchester is of Barbour quality, with some features I wanted, however the coat has other features i did not want and when i asked about them was told the coat did not have them, so was annoying when it arrived to see it did have them. The staff were always polite and as helpful as they could be given the limited information they had. Barbour never contacted me with information I had asked for! It cost me so much to post internationally and then government duty that in the end i gave up in frustration. so whilst I have had other service from Orvis which was fine this rather expensive purchase turned to be less than I wanted."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.