Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Irish Wool Driving Cap

Made in Ireland from start to finish by a company in Donegal that has been tailoring tweeds for more than 85 years. Every hat is made by hand from Irish woven wool in the traditional driving style with a sewn brim. Polyester lining and a polypropylene sweatband. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: M(7-7⅛), L(7¼-7⅜), XL(7½-7⅝), XXL(7¾-7⅞).
Average Customer Rating:
4.423 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
24 of 26(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Review 1 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fit,
February 25, 2014
By: rabbit45
from San Jose, CA
"I have never owned one of these Driving Caps before, but the fit and feel of the Orvis cap is wonderful."
Review 2 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat!,
February 10, 2014
By: NoFences
from Ohio
"Excellent fit and fashion for my husband who has a tough time finding hats to fit is larger sized head. So happy Orvis makes a few in these bigger sizes!"
Review 3 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my husband loves it,
January 15, 2014
By: bettyann
from rockaway park ny
"i gave this hat to him at christmas and he said it looks and feels great.he said also likes because he can fold it up and put it in his coat pocket when he goes inside."
Review 4 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great cap!,
January 2, 2014
By: Myatt
from Smithfield, NC
"My husband loves his Royal Stewart driving cap that I gave him for Christmas. Everywhere he has worn it someone has had nice comments about it and wanted to know where he got it.
We'll probably order the Black
Watch cap also as that is his family tartan. The red Royal Stewart is primarily for NC State Wolfpack basketball games,
"
Review 5 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Irish driving hat,
December 2, 2013
By: BiscuitMan
from Fleming Isl.,Fl.
"Sorry to say, this is the first product from Orvis that I ordered did not meet expectations. Seems cheap, flimsy not of sufficient quality material. Rated very poor."
Review 6 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Time Buyer,
June 11, 2013
By: alice1914
from Kalamazoo, michigan
"This cap has become my every day cap. Very glad I found Orvis, I will purchase agin."
Review 7 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Light Weight Cap,
May 24, 2013
By: moonie1
from Ann Arbor, MI
"This cap is exactly what I wanted and expected. It is light weight enough to wear throughout the summer. The elastic band ensures a nice snug fit. I am looking forward to years of wearing this beautiful cap."
Review 8 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Red plaid cap,
February 13, 2013
By: MarkL
"Very pleased with the cap. Impressed with the quality and vibrant color. Pleasantly surprised at how nice the fabric was. The cap was a gift for a friend and was a big hit.
Also, really appreciated the helpful service in getting the cap shipped quickly. Thank you very much.
"
Review 9 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Wool Cap,
December 30, 2012
By: gaj72
from St. Charles, MO
"The cap arrived on time and in good condition. However, it seems to be a very light weight wool, not at all like the heavier wool purchased earlier. In any case, my husband likes the colors."
Review 10 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
;>) oops,
December 29, 2012
By: schmoopie
"Was a little surprised at the thinness of the fabric. I have several of this style of hats, an they all have heavier... stiffer fabric. Still luv the color and pattern. I look good in the hat."
Review 11 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Donegal Cap,
December 28, 2012
By: Hanchen
from Noblesville, IN
"I ordered the cap for my wife for Christmas. She has had one even before we were married. She lost hers and she was devastated.
The hat I ordered from Orvis is of a better quality than the one she had previously and the cap is from Ireland.
She is very impressed and it fits her perfectly. She was very excited that I purchased the product from Orvis as she has told me on several occasions that Orvis products are top shelf .
Thank you for the quick delivery and joy it has brought my wife."
Review 12 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice touring cap,
December 27, 2012
By: JohnRB
from Tacoma, WA
"The hat looks and fits well; beautiful black watch plaid; artfully crafted."
Review 13 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Elegant simplicity,
December 4, 2012
By: Bahoo
from Ann Arbor, MI
"There's nothing like a wool cap as the seasons cool down and winter approaches, especially with the right kind of brain bucket! This cap features wool and warmth, plaids that are crisp and colorful. This will no doubt become a favorite as December wears on and January looms after the holidays...Nice job, Orvis!"
Review 14 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tartans,
December 1, 2012
By: Siouxkey
"A lovely cap. I find it amusing that the Irish driving cap fbric options are Scottish tartans and the Scottish driving cap is tweed."
Review 15 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Black Watch Favorite,
November 12, 2012
By: Detroiter
from Detroit, MI
"The Black Watch plaid is one of my favorites, so I couldn't resist buying this cap. Love the quality, style, and fit. Plan to wear it often as the cool weather approached."
Review 16 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Irish Pride Purchase,
September 23, 2012
By: Irishman1
"Your Irish eyes will be smiling with this Irish driving cap :)"
Review 17 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Stylish Driving Cap,
November 25, 2011
By: Jan34
from Rural Helena, MT
"The style and colors are exactly what I was looking for. The sizing must be true as the large size is a bit large for me, and I normally wear a 7 1/2 long oval. This kind of fabric usually shrinks when exposed to the elements. This fabric is lighter weight than I expected, and the cap is grossly overpriced. But, I'm keeping it!"
Review 18 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A hat for all seasons,
November 24, 2011
By: Wallawallawa
"OK, maybe for three seasons. A suitable alternative to baseball caps for those of us who need something on our heads that we can wear when "dressed up." Wish it came in a greater variety of colors and sizes."
Review 19 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great cap, matches my vest!!,
November 22, 2011
By: Nonsense
from San Diego, CA
"Have the Stewart plaid vest I purched from Orvis and saw this in their catalog, so I'll be decked out for the Christmas holiday!"
Review 20 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size has been a problem,
October 4, 2011
By: Danoindenver
from Denver, CO
"This is the perfect driving hat while in my Lotus Elise with the windows up and the top on. It is "spiffy". Something Jackie Stewert might wear in his sportcar. It's a good example of the plad, 100% wool but not made for cool weather."