Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Irish Wool Driving Cap

Made in Ireland from start to finish by a company in Donegal that has been tailoring tweeds for more than 85 years. Every hat is made by hand from Irish woven wool in the traditional driving style with a sewn brim. Polyester lining and a polypropylene sweatband. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: XXL(7¾-7⅞).
Average Customer Rating:
4.415 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
38 of 41(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Review 1 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Irish driving cap,
August 8, 2014
By: howy
from Seatle, WA
"it was exactly what I was lusting for, and in my size. I wanted a cap of that particular shape (different from the Brit driving caps).
I've received several "looks good" compliments in the past week."
Review 2 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
August 2, 2014
By: Marquito
from Cleveland, OH
"This hat is excellent! ordering process was easy and the craftsmanship is excellent. I get a ton of compliments every time I wear it. The colors and fabric weight are perfect for living in the midwest."
Review 3 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Okay, but not recommended,
July 21, 2014
By: Walnuts
"This hat had nice enough fabric. The inner band is uncomfortable, rough fabric that also came with a crease about mid-forehead that becomes kind of painful in a short time. Even without the crease this inner band should be replaced with a finer grit sandpaper. Had this not been a huge reduction in price, it would have gone back. Not up to Orvis standards...."
Review 4 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Waiting for cold weather!,
July 15, 2014
By: Yumacool
from Yuma, Arizona
"This is a nice wool cap from Ireland that will be nice during the upcoming cool season. The fabric does not seem heavyweight, so if you have to deal with serious cold, this cap may not be the one for you. By the way, my hat size is 7.5 and I ordered an XL. It's slightly large but the L was too tight."
Review 5 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cover for my head,
June 27, 2014
By: waltercoxjr
from Lakeport ,Ca
"fit and finish excellent...as usual another quality product from Orvis"
Review 6 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
No cap visor snap,
June 10, 2014
By: capsnap
"I would like the product to have the standard cap visor snap to open up the cap."
Review 7 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look sharp,
June 3, 2014
By: Gamesmaker
from St. Louis, MO
"I got this cap in the Black Watch version, size medium. The fit was perfect. The cap is lighter weight than I had imagined which, in my mind, gives more flexibility. In other words, not just a winter cap."
Review 8 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Irish wool driving cap,
May 26, 2014
By: litletony
from manchester, nh
"Nice cap. wears well. Fits good, looks good. One of the better ones I have."
Review 9 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
An elegant bargain,
May 21, 2014
By: clivealive
"I am very pleased with my tartan driving cap. It is very difficult to find driving caps in my size ( 7 3/4). To be offered such a cap in an admirable pattern at a reasonable price was a welcome discovery."
Review 10 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A favorite of 2 generations,
May 20, 2014
By: Watcher4U2
"My husband always wore this style of cap all the time when driving, taking a walk, playing golf (a lot!) because it was comfortable, small bill protected his eyes without needing sun glasses. Now our sons also wear this style cap for much the same reasons; like father, like sons, I was delighted to find it at Orvis.....they are hard to find. It will be gift to my son who is in need of a new one! Thank you, Orvis."
Review 11 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Quality,
May 12, 2014
By: collector1
from Danville In 46122
"The hat I purchased is the quality I have come to expect from Orvis very pleased with my purchase. Ed Rader This is a five star product"
Review 12 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A+ Replacement,
May 5, 2014
By: DaveAM
from Abbeville. LA
"Lost my last wool Orvis Driving Cap in a Paris restaurant in 2012. Liked it so much I got an exact replacement. Highly recommended."
Review 13 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fit,
February 25, 2014
By: rabbit45
from San Jose, CA
"I have never owned one of these Driving Caps before, but the fit and feel of the Orvis cap is wonderful."
Review 14 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat!,
February 10, 2014
By: NoFences
from Ohio
"Excellent fit and fashion for my husband who has a tough time finding hats to fit is larger sized head. So happy Orvis makes a few in these bigger sizes!"
Review 15 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my husband loves it,
January 15, 2014
By: bettyann
from rockaway park ny
"i gave this hat to him at christmas and he said it looks and feels great.he said also likes because he can fold it up and put it in his coat pocket when he goes inside."
Review 16 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great cap!,
January 2, 2014
By: Myatt
from Smithfield, NC
"My husband loves his Royal Stewart driving cap that I gave him for Christmas. Everywhere he has worn it someone has had nice comments about it and wanted to know where he got it.
We'll probably order the Black
Watch cap also as that is his family tartan. The red Royal Stewart is primarily for NC State Wolfpack basketball games,
"
Review 17 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Irish driving hat,
December 2, 2013
By: BiscuitMan
from Fleming Isl.,Fl.
"Sorry to say, this is the first product from Orvis that I ordered did not meet expectations. Seems cheap, flimsy not of sufficient quality material. Rated very poor."
Review 18 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Time Buyer,
June 11, 2013
By: alice1914
from Kalamazoo, michigan
"This cap has become my every day cap. Very glad I found Orvis, I will purchase agin."
Review 19 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Light Weight Cap,
May 24, 2013
By: moonie1
from Ann Arbor, MI
"This cap is exactly what I wanted and expected. It is light weight enough to wear throughout the summer. The elastic band ensures a nice snug fit. I am looking forward to years of wearing this beautiful cap."
Review 20 for Irish Wool Driving Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Red plaid cap,
February 13, 2013
By: MarkL
"Very pleased with the cap. Impressed with the quality and vibrant color. Pleasantly surprised at how nice the fabric was. The cap was a gift for a friend and was a big hit.
Also, really appreciated the helpful service in getting the cap shipped quickly. Thank you very much.
"