Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Vintage Automatic Timepiece

Modeled after the watches worn during big-game hunts in the 1940s, this men's automatic watch incorporates all the features required for long days spent in the bush and out in the vast, sweltering veldtlands. Crafted with a tough, matte-finished brass case, it features large easy-to-read numerals and a sweep second hand with a luminous dot on the tip. Automatic self-winding mechanism is viewable via the see-through back. Crown guard. Case diameter 37mm; water resistant to 150 feet. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 13(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vintage Automatic Timepiece
Review 1 for Vintage Automatic Timepiece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Watch,
September 22, 2014
By: jkrochmalny
from Sylvania, OH
"Recently purchased this watch and it has exceeded my expectations. The leather watch band was of good quality and the watch appearance added to it's vintage look. I've received several compliments on this watch. My return to the analog world had been well rewarded."
Review 2 for Vintage Automatic Timepiece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Watch,
September 12, 2014
By: RNB61
"The watch matched exactly to the website discription. The big face is easy to read, even in the dark. I have very large wrists and the watch is very comfortable."
Review 3 for Vintage Automatic Timepiece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect,
September 9, 2014
By: ivamae
"my husband had it marked in the catalog many times. I wasn't sure but ordered it for his 65th birthday . it's really good looking and perfect size. he's a happy man"
Review 4 for Vintage Automatic Timepiece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great watch -- great price,
August 20, 2014
By: Paul0808
from Lynn, MA
"This watch looks and runs great. I especially like that the face is a more traditional size as it seems most new watches are dinner plates on wrist bands."
Review 5 for Vintage Automatic Timepiece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A timely purchase,
August 18, 2014
By: Dinki
from High Point, N.C.
"I bought this watch to have as a second watch. So far, I have enjoyed using it. The workmanship is excellent and it is attractive with a sporty appeal."
Review 6 for Vintage Automatic Timepiece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good watch,
August 9, 2014
By: John345
from Pennsylvania
"Bought this watch for travel and as a backup. Looks and works as advertised. Wanted an automatic to avoid changing batteries, always ready when needed. Overall good watch."
Review 7 for Vintage Automatic Timepiece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for watch lovers,
July 17, 2014
By: timagrfx
from El Granada, CA
"I love this watch. It's a "vintage" watch, and it's the best looking one I've seen.
After looking up mechanical versus quartz movements on the Internet, it was interesting to find that watch afficionados prefer the mechanical movements. It's apparently because of the greater craftsmanship that goes into making mechanical movements in the first place. So it's nothing to do with the fact that quartz movements are more modern and reliable."
Review 8 for Vintage Automatic Timepiece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fine Quality and Looks,
June 30, 2014
By: Pat34
from Charlottesville, VA
"This is not only a fine looking watch, but it is also easy as it is an automatic winding watch and my husband is so enjoying it."
Review 9 for Vintage Automatic Timepiece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thank you, Orvis!,
June 11, 2014
By: Grumpyguy
"When my "dress watch" was reassigned to daily service, I took the opportunity to upgrade its replacement to a self-winder, like those which gave me good service decades ago.
Although I've only worn it on a few occasions, it has exceeded my expectations and suspect it will outlast my need for a chronometer!
Even though i'm 60 pounds lighter and 3 shirt sizes smaller than when I retired, the face diameter does not appear overly large and the tightest adjustment on the fine leather band
accommodates my wrist. If a smaller-faced model were available,
my wife would want one as well.
"
Review 10 for Vintage Automatic Timepiece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Time to Boast,
May 28, 2014
By: Gavino
from Gainesville, Florida
"This is the second time you folks have asked me to review this product. I don't mind doing this again because I think this is the best watch I've ever owned. My friends have given me great compliments, the last being "beautiful and masculine." The strap is really special but my wrist is thin and I'm down to the last hole with the end of the strap sticking out, but that's okay because I love my watch!"
Review 11 for Vintage Automatic Timepiece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Time to boast!,
May 27, 2014
By: Gavino
from Gainesville, Florida
"This is the best watch I've ever owned. I've lost count of the compliments given me about my watch. "It's so beautiful and so masculine" was the latest.
The watch has to be worn full time for about three days for the automatic winder to do whatever it does to keep the watch running, but Orvis tells you this in the instructions. No problem. It's was kind of cool to wake up those first three nights and see the hands glowing.
The band that comes with the watch is a beautiful stitched leather, but unfortunately my wrists are narrow and I'm down to the last hole with a bit of strap sticking out the side. I wish Orvis made a strap that would fit me better. But who cares! I love the watch and the strap is still very good looking, even if it sticks out a bit. By the way, I never wore a watch to bed... ever, but I just don't like being without it.
"
Review 12 for Vintage Automatic Timepiece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid Watch,
March 19, 2013
By: dovepond
from Grapevine, TX
"I like the timeless design and ruggedness of this handsome watch. Along with being an instant heirloom, its highly accurate too. Ive gotten several comments from folks on its good looks. Great watch."
Review 13 for Vintage Automatic Timepiece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
March 8, 2013
By: outdoorsloveraz
from Scottsdale, AZ
"I really like this watch! It is difficult, these days, to find a good looking, self-winding watch that is reasonably priced. This time piece is all of that and more."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.